X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5790 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This place had the most amazing hot breakfast FOR FREE! Nothing like getting pancakes or French toast in the morning to start your day right. However, the fact that there was no drugs or alcohol allowed in the hostel did give it a very different vibe than a normal hostel. Nothing bad, just not very...rowdy. The kind of place where you go for a break from all the partying rather than staying out until 3am.


100%

We stayed for 4 nights at the Jordan hostel. The staff are very friendly, thoughtful and helpful and make a good atmosphere. The building is clean and tidy. The food in the cafe was superb and we chatted a lot there and made new friends making for pleasant and relaxing sociable evenings. Bike hire was the cheapest around with good bikes and the location is perfect for sightseeing. I look forward to next time. Mike Czech Republic

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Shelter Jordan was the perfect place for me to explore Amsterdam as a solo traveler! The staff was incredibly kind and friendly, and the common room made it really easy to meet new people. Breakfasts are free and dinners are affordable. The shelter is 10-20 minutes from many major sites and it is in a lovely neighborhood that is well worth exploring. The front desk has great advice on things to do, and best prices on bike rentals, canal tours, etc. Everything I could have hoped for!


97%

Excelent place to stay in Amsterdam... Close to everything you need, clean and quiet. The staff will always help and answer any question with a smile. It was a smart choice!!! Higly recommended!

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The blanket on my bed had some hair, looked dirty. Besides that, others are good. Location is convenient,quite place. Staff are frindly with smile

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

self cooking facility if made available would be very thoughtfull... for some people come from different parts of the world with different dietary habits.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff are very nice and helpful, but the facilities is quite old and dirty, and there is no lift, which is quite inconvenient for those who carry large luggage.


83%

Overall loved the shelter, lovely staff, all of which volunteer, the breakfast was amazing as was the location, toilets where mostly clean but hair built up in one of the showers so that wasn't great and the lockers weren't huge. All in wall would recommend/10


94%

Breakfast was amazing, we even got a takeaway breakfast as we had to leave early on our last day. Staff were extremely helpful. Would stay again.


94%

Good hostel, cheap for Amsterdam! The staff is awesome, very friendly and helpful. Very secure, there is always someone at the reception controlling who has access to the hostel and to the luggage room. The location is really good, in the middle of the lovely Jordan district, 10 minute walking to the Dam Square and 20 minute walking to the Centraal Station. The hostel has a nice common area, with a lot of games to play and books to read. The rooms are ok, clean, but nothing special about them.


94%

A very nice hostel with friendly and smiley staffs. Each bed is equipped with a bed light and power outlet which is great. Toilets were clean. I enjoyed my stay there very much. Thank you.


86%

they should prominently note that they are a Christian hostel and the associated rules and activities occurring on a regular basis.


100%

Excellent hostel with very good location. The staff was awesome! Thank you!


43%

The hostel had friendly staff, however I found the hostel very unclean and felt dirtier leaving the showers than when I went in. This needs to improve.

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

no lock for locker,


46%

had to left to a hotel last night. impossible to sleep withthe people that was in the room when i told the staff about my isue, they gave me a card with a pray

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay at Shelter Jordan. The friendly staff and atmosphere made the stay really enjoyable and I would definitely recommend the hostel to others. Excellent to see the hostel using this as a means of outreach and to spread the Good News of the Gospel.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

A little bit far from center, 15 min.. You have a small locker but you need to have a padlock, or you can pay for one at reception. Girls at reception were really nice and helpful.. Rooms with many people, so there was noise all the time.. Normal for big rooms.. Nice breakfast included..


71%

Too much noise. Doors noisy. Nowhere for people to gather and talk downstairs so they gather and talk loudly And laugh loudly until 2 in the morning in the hall outside the bedrooms.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel, great atmosphere, good location and delicius breakfest, I think everything travelers wany.


(204 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback