Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
84% 360
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

Bedroom simple but does the work. Outside area very good and beautiful. Staff not very helpful, don't expect them to offer anything like solutions, tourist information or smiles.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I can only apologise if the staff were not as welcoming and helpful as they normally are, and are expected to be. I'm glad you found the room and surroundings to your liking. Thanks for reviewing us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
6.6

Not a place for backpackers looking to meet new people. It's quite secluded and out of the way. It was quite expensive to get from the hostel to the nightlife in taxis. The bar was really expensive too and not much atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We normally pride ourselves on the atmopshere in the resort and especially the bar, I'm sorry it was not up to par on your visit, although in low season there are not as many guests to mingle with as usual. We do try to ensure our prices are in line with other local bars and do offer a wide range of local and imported drinks. Thanks for your review

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.9

Shiralea is the perfect location if you're not wanting to enjoy a quieter part of the island and not be amongst Haad Rin, although they do offer full moon trips. The beach is just a 2 minute walk away. The resort itself is beautiful. Dorms are well sized and clean and the bungalows aren't much more expensive. They have a great restaurant and a pool. When we changed our plans last minute they refunded the extra night which was really nice of them. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear you had such a good time with us, and that you liked the facilities during your stay. We do and try to be flexible with our guests with regards to changes of plan and I'm happy that we could help you. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
7.4

The staff weren't overly friendly during my stay.. Especially when they realised I wasn't there for the party scene! So I found the atmosphere a little off... But generally it was fine. Koh Phangan in general was very quiet during my stay, so I don't think any hostel was particularly busy. The beds were comfortable and they had giant lockers which was a real bonus. The beds has curtains so it felt more private. Bathrooms could have been cleaner, but for the price it wasn't bad at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing a review of us. I'm sorry the staff were not more welcoming but I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the standard and facilties of our dorm accommodation. It is low season here at the moment, so it is a little quieter than normal! Thanks again

18th Sep 2016
8.6

Best location if you want to stay near the beach, just 2 minutes walking from the hostel. Wi-Fi doesn't work at the dorms, but they have comfortable beds and clean toilets. Food at the restaurant was okay, not exactly expensive for that region in the island, but honestly was not that tasty, and they could definitely consider including fresh juices and coconut water on their menu...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. It's great to see you had a good time with us. Our restaurant does serve a wide range of food and drinks, and we are constantly updating our range, so we'll take your suggestions on board. Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.1

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it. The beds were very comfortable, the food was good and the atmosphere was great! The staff were helpful and brought liveliness on the nights. Good value for money and would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us. Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.1

It SUCKS. just kidding we Had a great time, very clean! Although we found one cock roach in our bed which freaked us out a bit, not to worry though. The staff was friendly and made amazing smoothies and food! Charley with an IE was great too. Every night the bathrooms were fully sudded and cleaned out. Very refreshing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such great feedback! Living on an island, we do get bugs of all descriptions, but I'm glad it didn't spoil your time here!

24th Aug 2016
8.6

Beautiful location away from the crazy parties down island. Super close to nice beach, loved the pool. Food at restaurant was good but expensive. Staff not the most friendly, and would blast music early in the morning while cleaning. Otherwise felt like I was staying at a resort for dorm prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing us. I'm glad you liked the location and the value for money we provide. Our food is priced in line with other restaurants in the area and we offer a wide range of food, including western, which is more expensive than the local Thai food to source. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Shiralea is in a great location as it is a minutes walk from a lovely beach which also gets the sunset. The pool and bars are clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is always welcoming and it is a great place to meet other travellers. Also it is not too far from the Full Moon or Jungle parties and taxis or bikes can be easily requested. The rooms included your locker at the end of your bed which was every useful and it is a fun place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to see you had such as good time during your stay with us and enjoyed the atmoshere and location. Our dorm rooms have small extra touches to make your stay more comfortable, such as the lockers and curtains to maintain privacy. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel! Staff were the best! The pool was beautiful and the bar/resturant was tasty! It was located far away from things but that didn't stop us from having a good time. Always cold drinks and places to relax but at night it gets wild!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. It's always nice to hear when guests have a good time with us and enjoy the facilities and welcome from the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.