Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 9.0
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
86% 350
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Sep 2016
8.6

Best location if you want to stay near the beach, just 2 minutes walking from the hostel. Wi-Fi doesn't work at the dorms, but they have comfortable beds and clean toilets. Food at the restaurant was okay, not exactly expensive for that region in the island, but honestly was not that tasty, and they could definitely consider including fresh juices and coconut water on their menu...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.1

It SUCKS. just kidding we Had a great time, very clean! Although we found one cock roach in our bed which freaked us out a bit, not to worry though. The staff was friendly and made amazing smoothies and food! Charley with an IE was great too. Every night the bathrooms were fully sudded and cleaned out. Very refreshing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
8.6

Beautiful location away from the crazy parties down island. Super close to nice beach, loved the pool. Food at restaurant was good but expensive. Staff not the most friendly, and would blast music early in the morning while cleaning. Otherwise felt like I was staying at a resort for dorm prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing us. I'm glad you liked the location and the value for money we provide. Our food is priced in line with other restaurants in the area and we offer a wide range of food, including western, which is more expensive than the local Thai food to source. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Shiralea is in a great location as it is a minutes walk from a lovely beach which also gets the sunset. The pool and bars are clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is always welcoming and it is a great place to meet other travellers. Also it is not too far from the Full Moon or Jungle parties and taxis or bikes can be easily requested. The rooms included your locker at the end of your bed which was every useful and it is a fun place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to see you had such as good time during your stay with us and enjoyed the atmoshere and location. Our dorm rooms have small extra touches to make your stay more comfortable, such as the lockers and curtains to maintain privacy. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel! Staff were the best! The pool was beautiful and the bar/resturant was tasty! It was located far away from things but that didn't stop us from having a good time. Always cold drinks and places to relax but at night it gets wild!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. It's always nice to hear when guests have a good time with us and enjoy the facilities and welcome from the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

17th Aug 2016
5.7

DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU ARE A SOLO BACKPACKER. After reading the reviews I expected this hostel/resort to be very social and fun. However, this resort typically hosts group tours and they are only social among one another. The staff was also not the most helpful. Sure they'll take your order but never engage with the you the way real backpacker hostels would. They would talk among themselves and not pay attention to you. Very far away from everything. Facilities were good. Food was overpriced

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We pride ourselves on our atmosphere at the resort, with the staff normally being outstanding at making everyone feel welcome, whether solo or in a group. It's disappointing to hear you did not get this feeling from us. Our location is on a fairly-sparsely populated island, so you do need to travel if you want to see the sights of the island, although scooters are easily rentable. Thanks for taking the time to review us

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.4

The facilities were great, particularly the hostel bed area- it was nice to be able to unpack a bit! The pool was lovely and the bar had a nice relaxed vibe. There was a contiki group there at the same time as us and while it made for a fun atmosphere there wasn't much effort to integrate. We were lucky that we had great room mates the night of the Full Moon because the staff that were there didn't try to include us. A relaxing break but at times a bit disappointing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's great to see you enjoyed the hostel accommodation whilst you stayed with us and made use of the bar and pool. The groups that come through are indeed socialable and I'm glad they added to your experience. I'm sorry you didn't find the staff as friendly as they have the reputation for being, but hope you will return in the future.

1st Aug 2016
10.0

This is easily one of my favorite places I have ever stayed in my years of traveling! The dorm beds have huge lockers w/ a shelf and room to hang clothes. The pool is great and they frequently have pool parties/BBQ, sooo good! The restaurant/lounge area is cozy and the food is excellent. And the staff are amazing! Ness, Adam, Ellie, Natasha, Connor and Tom are so much fun and go out of their way to be sure everyone has the best time possible during their stay. Definitely recommend a stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.0

this place is a party hostel with unwelcoming staff. seemed like we were a nuisance because every day we had to asked for toilet paper (God forbid they give us extra considering we were there for almost 2 weeks). we left the resort daily to go find another beach because haad Yao isn't the best for swimming. That meant we needed to call for a taxi which also seemed like a difficult task for staff. we also spent most of our time away from the resort because the pool/bar was overrun by contiki.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We do have groups coming through the resort, and I apologise if they took away from your experience with us, we unfortunately cannot control the guests movement and actions. The beach is normally a high point for guests, so it unusual to hear the beach was not up to standard for you. Our amenities are normally in sufficient supply, and I'm sorry if the staff made you feel you were a 'nuisance', they are highly rated on their level of service historically. Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Booked under the impression the room would have aircon. This was not the case. In fact, the room had what was quite possibly the loudest fan in the world. It meant the conditions for sleeping were not good. This was the only major downside to the resort.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I apologise that the room did not have the facilities you were expecting. We do have a range of room types, from dorm accommodation up to air-con room, to rooms with a fan, which you stayed in. I'm happy to read you found the rest of your experience with us so positive. Thanks for your review.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.