Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
86% 340
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.6

Beautiful location away from the crazy parties down island. Super close to nice beach, loved the pool. Food at restaurant was good but expensive. Staff not the most friendly, and would blast music early in the morning while cleaning. Otherwise felt like I was staying at a resort for dorm prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Shiralea is in a great location as it is a minutes walk from a lovely beach which also gets the sunset. The pool and bars are clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is always welcoming and it is a great place to meet other travellers. Also it is not too far from the Full Moon or Jungle parties and taxis or bikes can be easily requested. The rooms included your locker at the end of your bed which was every useful and it is a fun place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to see you had such as good time during your stay with us and enjoyed the atmoshere and location. Our dorm rooms have small extra touches to make your stay more comfortable, such as the lockers and curtains to maintain privacy. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel! Staff were the best! The pool was beautiful and the bar/resturant was tasty! It was located far away from things but that didn't stop us from having a good time. Always cold drinks and places to relax but at night it gets wild!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. It's always nice to hear when guests have a good time with us and enjoy the facilities and welcome from the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

17th Aug 2016
5.7

DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU ARE A SOLO BACKPACKER. After reading the reviews I expected this hostel/resort to be very social and fun. However, this resort typically hosts group tours and they are only social among one another. The staff was also not the most helpful. Sure they'll take your order but never engage with the you the way real backpacker hostels would. They would talk among themselves and not pay attention to you. Very far away from everything. Facilities were good. Food was overpriced

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We pride ourselves on our atmosphere at the resort, with the staff normally being outstanding at making everyone feel welcome, whether solo or in a group. It's disappointing to hear you did not get this feeling from us. Our location is on a fairly-sparsely populated island, so you do need to travel if you want to see the sights of the island, although scooters are easily rentable. Thanks for taking the time to review us

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.4

The facilities were great, particularly the hostel bed area- it was nice to be able to unpack a bit! The pool was lovely and the bar had a nice relaxed vibe. There was a contiki group there at the same time as us and while it made for a fun atmosphere there wasn't much effort to integrate. We were lucky that we had great room mates the night of the Full Moon because the staff that were there didn't try to include us. A relaxing break but at times a bit disappointing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's great to see you enjoyed the hostel accommodation whilst you stayed with us and made use of the bar and pool. The groups that come through are indeed socialable and I'm glad they added to your experience. I'm sorry you didn't find the staff as friendly as they have the reputation for being, but hope you will return in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.0

this place is a party hostel with unwelcoming staff. seemed like we were a nuisance because every day we had to asked for toilet paper (God forbid they give us extra considering we were there for almost 2 weeks). we left the resort daily to go find another beach because haad Yao isn't the best for swimming. That meant we needed to call for a taxi which also seemed like a difficult task for staff. we also spent most of our time away from the resort because the pool/bar was overrun by contiki.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We do have groups coming through the resort, and I apologise if they took away from your experience with us, we unfortunately cannot control the guests movement and actions. The beach is normally a high point for guests, so it unusual to hear the beach was not up to standard for you. Our amenities are normally in sufficient supply, and I'm sorry if the staff made you feel you were a 'nuisance', they are highly rated on their level of service historically. Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Booked under the impression the room would have aircon. This was not the case. In fact, the room had what was quite possibly the loudest fan in the world. It meant the conditions for sleeping were not good. This was the only major downside to the resort.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I apologise that the room did not have the facilities you were expecting. We do have a range of room types, from dorm accommodation up to air-con room, to rooms with a fan, which you stayed in. I'm happy to read you found the rest of your experience with us so positive. Thanks for your review.

9th Jul 2016
8.0

Really great vibes here. Perfect balance between chill hostel and beach resort, a little party atmosphere sometimes but if you don't want to party it's not overwhelming. The dorms were nice and air conditioned which was great. The bungalow were okay, not as nice as expected but nicer than others on the island. Some of the staff were above and beyond with hospitality, helpfulness, competence, and accommodative, others not so much, but all in all they were all very nice and very relaxed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated the atmosphere we strive to achieve for our guests. The dorms are ideal for travellers on a budget, and it's great to hear you liked the set up in there. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Shiralea was the perfect hostel for our time at Koh Phangan. It is located quite far away from Haad Rin, the Full Moon Party beach, but close to other nicer and quieter beaches. The atmosphere at the hostel is 10/10, with super friendly staff and travellers eating and drinking at the bar. The dorm rooms are spacious and have lockers at the end of each bed for bags. The air con is super cold, but the wifi doesn't work in the dorm rooms, only closer to the bar area. Beautiful island and hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you found the hostel rooms suitable for your needs, and being quite new, the aircon is super efficient, as you discovered! We strive to offer a warm welcoming atmosphere and I'm happy you experienced that during your stay with us. Thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.3

The atmosphere is the best thing about this hostel if you want to meet people plus it being a two minute walk from the beach. Great staff, pool and food as well. Don't try and be savvy like us and book a twin room and move the beds together as they don't move. It wasn't overly dirty just a bit tired. Good for partying at night and chilling on the beach or by the pool the next day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. I'm happy to read that the staff and facilities were good and that you enjoyed our location for getting out and about. We are constantly carrying out maintenance to the resort - every part of it can't always look new, but we aim to keep a clean resort at all times. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.