Hostelworld.com

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
88% 318
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • KabirDhupelia
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
10.0

This was my first ever stay at a hostel so I had no idea what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this! What an amazing place. The dorms were quite nice because you get your own personal space and your own cupboard. The place is located very close to a beach and if you get a scooter, it's 10 minutes away from the town. The people were really helpful and friendly and the bar area was something else. Overall, it's just a really nice place to be. Im just that I had to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Pros: It's a party away from the party. If you don't feel like going out anywhere, they have a bar, restaurant, and pool. Pricey, but it's a chill atmosphere. There's a beach walking distance away. The beds are nice (private curtains) and the showers were always hot. Cons: Location. We were there for FM and other parties and spent a lot of money on taxis back and forth. It's at least 30 minutes away from everything. You can rent a bike, but if you'd like to drink I wouldn't s

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st May 2016
9.1

Really really nice hostel :) a Bit away from the party and drunk people but you can still party in the hostel if you want to! Or just rent a scooter next door and cruise around the Island. great staff and the perfect dream holiday athmosphere!!! Pool and awesome chill out area with bar. Facilitys are clean and the beds and bungalows really nice. Absolutely reommended!!!!! I will come back. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review - glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Our resort is a bit of a drive away from the Full Moon party, but we are thankful for this because we are far away from the noise and drunk mischief that happens in the early hours of the morning. But like you said, we do ourselves have a great party atmosphere when the occasion arises. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort - hopefully soon :) All the best, Matt, Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

Had a lovely time here, the staff are all really friendly and helpful and the bar area is really good value for money if you eat the Thai food (also cooked by locals) most of the staff are English/Aussie so sorting stuff out was easy. The proximity to the beach is a definite winner and the beach was lovely. One downside was on our last night two tour groups turned up and were up at the bar till 2-3am and were very loud but this was just unlucky. Brilliant place would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - always appreciated. Apologies for the late night noise, sometimes our festivities do go into the night but we try to tell our guests to be considerate of others. Great that you enjoyed the neighbourhood and the staff, your stay with us was an absolute pleasure. All the best for your future travels, The Shiralea Family

  • iinaniemi
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Great place to chill out. Swimming pool and pool table were great. Close to a beach and just next to a scooter rental place to get you around easily. Room was clean and comfortable, one thing that could be improved is the shower, which at least for us had no warm water. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing us! Great to hear you liked it here at Shiralea. Apologies about the shower, I don't know why it had no warm water... As far as I know the showers are all functional. Hopefully we'll see you back at the resort in due time. All the best, The Team at Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.7

We stayed here for only night in a bungalow which was great and we would have loved to stay longer! Only drawback: there wasn't water for much of the time we were here, but this seems to be a general problem in this area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
6.9

The resort was really nice, especially the pool and the bar. The atmosphere was really good for the full moon party. The hostel dorm was nice enough and the beds had curtains for privacy. The bathrooms were really dirty and always covered in flies. The pool got really dirty afternoon few days - not sure if it got cleaned. Some of the staff were a bit sassy at times - sometimes seemed annoyed to have to work when we ordered something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for reviewing us - we always appreciate feedback to improve things for future guests. Great to hear you made the most of the pool and enjoyed the atmosphere around the resort. Unfortunately the Thai toilet system of having showers and 'bum guns' around the toilets can make it very easy for dirty feet to make a mark, but we do clean all bathroom areas daily, and also if we get reports of uncleanliness. As much as we try we cannot control the insects, but we would have tried our best to resolve this if it were brought to our attention. I apologise for any shortness in our service - the full moon period can be a lot of stress on our staff, and the full moon seems to affect different people in different ways. I hope the enjoyable parts of your stay with us will outshine the complications. All the best for your future travels :) Kind regards, Matt, Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th May 2016
8.9

Favourite place, wish there was enough room to stay for full moon:(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aw no! Unlucky. Maybe next time :)

4th May 2016
9.1

Really nice hostel. Great atmosphere for all types of people. Lots of activities and they'll facilitate all the transport for full moon etc. Cleanliness was questionable as they didn't seem to change the bottom sheets on the bed. But amazing food. Close to the best beaches on the island and a pool is always nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you had a great time at Shiralea and that we could help you seek activities/transport around the island. We only change bed sheets for new guests or upon request, as mentioned in our guest booklets - new sheets are always just a conversation away :) So pleased you loved the cuisine and the neighbourhood, I hope the rest of Thailand could supply the same comforts. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Shiralea Family

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

Amazing resort in a nice quiet area - exactly what we wanted after partying in the south of the island. Easy to see why people book for a couple nights and extend! Dorm area and toilets could probably do with a bit of sprucing, but for the price, it's a steal. But I would pay more to bring them up to line with the rest of the resort, as it is so fab

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We do get a lot of people booking for one or two nights and end up staying for a week (or more) . Great to hear you enoyed your time with us. I'll have a look into the dorm area. All the best, Matt, Shiralea

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.