Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
87% 327
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Booked under the impression the room would have aircon. This was not the case. In fact, the room had what was quite possibly the loudest fan in the world. It meant the conditions for sleeping were not good. This was the only major downside to the resort.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Shiralea was the perfect hostel for our time at Koh Phangan. It is located quite far away from Haad Rin, the Full Moon Party beach, but close to other nicer and quieter beaches. The atmosphere at the hostel is 10/10, with super friendly staff and travellers eating and drinking at the bar. The dorm rooms are spacious and have lockers at the end of each bed for bags. The air con is super cold, but the wifi doesn't work in the dorm rooms, only closer to the bar area. Beautiful island and hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.3

The atmosphere is the best thing about this hostel if you want to meet people plus it being a two minute walk from the beach. Great staff, pool and food as well. Don't try and be savvy like us and book a twin room and move the beds together as they don't move. It wasn't overly dirty just a bit tired. Good for partying at night and chilling on the beach or by the pool the next day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2016
5.7

If you need a hostel with good wifi DON'T come here, they have no wifi in the dorm rooms and when we arrived they said the wifi was playing up and will be ok in a couple of days- and that's how long we were there for. The dorm rooms themselves are good tho with nice large lockers and the staff are friendly and helpful, oh and if you don't like bugs don't come here because the dorm toilets are outside and there are all sorts of bugs and flys that get inside there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and I'm glad you liked the dorms. Shiralea's tropical island location means that we do indeed get all types of wildlife visiting us on a daily basis and it's part of island life. We've recently upgraded our internet and offer great service throughout the communal areas, but I apologize if the service was not operating properly during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • KabirDhupelia
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2016
10.0

This was my first ever stay at a hostel so I had no idea what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this! What an amazing place. The dorms were quite nice because you get your own personal space and your own cupboard. The place is located very close to a beach and if you get a scooter, it's 10 minutes away from the town. The people were really helpful and friendly and the bar area was something else. Overall, it's just a really nice place to be. Im just that I had to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the fantastic review! I'm glad you found your first hostel experience to be such a great one with us. The dorms are a good value for money option, but do offer little comforts, like storage and your own space. I'll pass your comments onto the staff and It's great you enjoyed the bar area. We look forward to welcoming you back any time!

16th Jun 2016
8.0

Pros: It's a party away from the party. If you don't feel like going out anywhere, they have a bar, restaurant, and pool. Pricey, but it's a chill atmosphere. There's a beach walking distance away. The beds are nice (private curtains) and the showers were always hot. Cons: Location. We were there for FM and other parties and spent a lot of money on taxis back and forth. It's at least 30 minutes away from everything. You can rent a bike, but if you'd like to drink I wouldn't s

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere of the resort. The island is quite remote and not densely populated, so not everything is on your doorstep at the resort. As you mentioned, scooters are the best way to explore if you wish to leave the resort, but you are also right that drinking and driving is a definite no-no! It sounds like you had a great time over Full Moon and we look forward to see you again

13th Jun 2016
9.1

Wouldn't have expected to stay at a resort whilst backpacking! The air con dorm was amazing, beds come with a light, plug sockets and a curtain. They also give you the biggest locker you'll ever see - you could fit 3 backpacks in there! Staff give you a plastic card as you check in and every transaction you make is made on that card. Food was great, just a tad expensive!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st May 2016
9.1

Really really nice hostel :) a Bit away from the party and drunk people but you can still party in the hostel if you want to! Or just rent a scooter next door and cruise around the Island. great staff and the perfect dream holiday athmosphere!!! Pool and awesome chill out area with bar. Facilitys are clean and the beds and bungalows really nice. Absolutely reommended!!!!! I will come back. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review - glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Our resort is a bit of a drive away from the Full Moon party, but we are thankful for this because we are far away from the noise and drunk mischief that happens in the early hours of the morning. But like you said, we do ourselves have a great party atmosphere when the occasion arises. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort - hopefully soon :) All the best, Matt, Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

Had a lovely time here, the staff are all really friendly and helpful and the bar area is really good value for money if you eat the Thai food (also cooked by locals) most of the staff are English/Aussie so sorting stuff out was easy. The proximity to the beach is a definite winner and the beach was lovely. One downside was on our last night two tour groups turned up and were up at the bar till 2-3am and were very loud but this was just unlucky. Brilliant place would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - always appreciated. Apologies for the late night noise, sometimes our festivities do go into the night but we try to tell our guests to be considerate of others. Great that you enjoyed the neighbourhood and the staff, your stay with us was an absolute pleasure. All the best for your future travels, The Shiralea Family

  • iinaniemi
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Great place to chill out. Swimming pool and pool table were great. Close to a beach and just next to a scooter rental place to get you around easily. Room was clean and comfortable, one thing that could be improved is the shower, which at least for us had no warm water. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing us! Great to hear you liked it here at Shiralea. Apologies about the shower, I don't know why it had no warm water... As far as I know the showers are all functional. Hopefully we'll see you back at the resort in due time. All the best, The Team at Shiralea

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.