X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shiralea Backpackers Resort Reviews

58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
180 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

this is how backpacking should be done. other establishments, take notes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words of support! It was great to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back at the resort soon. Kind regards Shiralea

91%

Really nice hostel - good atmosphere and good location (bIt quieter but closer to better beaches) Some of the staff were amazing, some were a bit arrogant (only downside)


94%

Excellent stay here! The rooms are quite basic & showers could do with updating but most of your time will be spent on the beach which is just down the road or at the pool or the hostel bar which is run by fantastic staff! Really social and good mix of guests. Really enjoyed this hostel. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us. Our room's are basic but they are cheap and are a perfect base to enjoy koh phangan. We are located in a great part of the island with a beautiful beach only moments away. Were are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the resort and we hope to see you again soon. Shiralea

91%

Had a great couple of nights here and would definitely stay again. Staff were good fun and really helpful, beds were comfy and secure and the food was good. There is always something going on at the hostel and that is a credit to the staff. Thanks and see you again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Koh Phangan. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and had some fun with the boys out the front. Shiralea has an awesome atmosphere that is a testament to the staff and our amazing guests. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you back some time soon. Until the next time Sabai, Sabai Shiralea

91%

Great hostel! The dorm beds all have curtains and storage so it's like having your own small room. I lucked out and had an entire dorm to myself for a few nights. Pool and bar were lovely and it was just a short walk down to the beach. It's a bit far from some of the other parts of the island but good if you want to escape the craziness of some of the party beaches. Still plenty to do though!


74%

This was a great place, right next to the beach and supermarket. Unfortunately, the price of taxis to anywhere on the island meant that we had to leave here and go elsewhere. Nevertheless, the atmosphere was wonderful here and had great facilities. If you are not interested in partying and want to quiet time on the island, then this place is perfect for you.


94%

Wicked place .. Thoroughly recommend.. Clean beds and personal lockers which is great. Great staff and atmosphere.


97%

What a place ! Stayed here for 4 nights over the full moon party and it couldn't have got much better ! Really nice dorms of 8 , great atmosphere and top place to make friends . The pool was a decent addition and the beach was only a 2 minute walk ! Being far away from the full moon doesn't matter as they sort transport and it's cheap anyway. The food served is good as well all in all great chilled / party hostel !

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very far away from haad rin beach good for a chilled couple of days but there wasn't much else going on. Comfy beds nice showers and toilets in separate girls/boys block.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay at Shiralea. We are quite away from where the full moon party is but that's part of the charm of Shiralea as you can get away from the noise and just relax. Its great to hear that you found the dorms comfortable and you enjoyed you stay with us. We hope to see you next time you come to Koh Phangan. Regards Shiralea

91%

Excellent place to stay, I agree with the earlier review that a table tennis table would be great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for supporting us on hostel world. I will take the idea of a table tennis into consideration and next time you come to visit we may have a table waiting for you. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon. Kind regards Shiralea

91%

Excellent set up with great helpful staff. Could only be improved with the addition of a table tennis table 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We do have great facilities at the resort but it's a combination of our great staff and the awesome guests that create the special atmosphere so unique to Shiralea. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back on the island again soon. Until then Sabai, Sabai Shiralea

94%

Staff are so down to earth and friendly! Really good swimming pool and bar/restaurant. Only 2min walk to beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We have a great team at Shiralea who have a real passion for their jobs. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon. All the best Shiralea

49%

Rudest female worker on arrival, was standing with my 20kg pack on my back and she shoved past me. Stayed in a private bungalow. Room was dirty, floor so so so sandy before we even stepped foot inside! Shower blocked so sprayed out little 'needles' of water, toilet didn't refill itself so had to refill manually to flush! Food and drinks over priced but still yum. Very far away from everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. The staff member that bumped into you is one of our cleaners and has very very limited English skill. I'm sure that she wasn't meaning to be rude but couldn't communicate with you. I do apologize on her behalf. We some times have problems with the water if you had brought this up with any staff member we could have fixed it for you. Thanks for Staying with us and i hope that you enjoy your time in Thailand. Kind regards Shiralea

97%

We loved staying here. The property is gorgeous and very close to the beach. The atmosphere was social and the staff organized fun events (trivia night, body painting parties) that made the nightlife really fun. Our room was simple, but comfortable. I would recommend getting an AC room if possible. The fan was strong but it was still warm. My only issue was the shower in our room (18) was terrible. It felt like cold needles hitting your skin and barely had enough full pressure to wash hair.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us. The resort has a great atmosphere were people from all over the world can come together and have a great time. Or room are simply but are a perfect base to explore the island from. With all the power cuts recently we have had issues with the water pressure, i do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the resort soon. Kind regards Shiralea

80%

Slightly more expensive than everywhere else we've stayed, but this was most likely down to the full moon party. Was really impressed to find out that the 48 bed dorm we had booked was in fact 6 dorms of 8 beds. The location is a bit of a let down, very far from the full moon party and could take up to 2 hours to get back afterwards. However, bar & pool area is amazing and the beach is less than a 5 minute walk away.


94%

Best hostel that I've stayed at especially when it comes to socialising, atmosphere, staff, food and location. We met so many people during our stay here and we were sad to leave. All of the staff were amazing ,they made you feel comfortable and nothing was too much hassle; especially herby who helped us plan our onward travel even when he had finished work. We ate here every meal during our stay it was a reasonable price and tasted good. Good location full moon a taxi drive away.


100%

A M A Z I N G ! ! ! BEST HOSTEL IN KOH PHANGAN! Amazing food, amazing drinks, amazing beach close by, amazing staff, amazing activities in the hostel, amazing facilities, amazing rooms! LOVED IT!!! STAY HERE!


86%

Great location only seconds from beautiful Haad Yao beach. We went for full moon and it was perfect because this area was clean and quiet during the daytime knowing you to relax/ recover and the hostel arranges transport to the parties. Only complaint was that wifi didn't work in the dorms but the dorms themselves were spacious, clean, and comfortable !


20%

Very Bad Hostel. Smelly, dirty disgusting.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed in a cute little bungalow for 2 nights was great and the staff were so helpful orgainsed taxis for us gave us help with anything we asked arranged taxis for us when we were leaving, the location of shiralea is a bit out the way you either need a taxi or a scooter to get places but it was great for us as we wanted a few chill days before the full moon and the placr has everything u need great food cheap booze and 5 mins for the beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing us a great review! We are a little out of the way, but Haad Yao is a great base to explore the beautiful North West of the island. We try to offer great service at Shiralea so that you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Its awesome to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Until then Sabai, Sabai Shiraela

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback