Hostelworld.com

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Shiralea Backpackers Resort Located at 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan.
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surat Thani 84280 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West
87% 308
9.7789304 99.9685048
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • iinaniemi
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Great place to chill out. Swimming pool and pool table were great. Close to a beach and just next to a scooter rental place to get you around easily. Room was clean and comfortable, one thing that could be improved is the shower, which at least for us had no warm water. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
6.9

The resort was really nice, especially the pool and the bar. The atmosphere was really good for the full moon party. The hostel dorm was nice enough and the beds had curtains for privacy. The bathrooms were really dirty and always covered in flies. The pool got really dirty afternoon few days - not sure if it got cleaned. Some of the staff were a bit sassy at times - sometimes seemed annoyed to have to work when we ordered something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for reviewing us - we always appreciate feedback to improve things for future guests. Great to hear you made the most of the pool and enjoyed the atmosphere around the resort. Unfortunately the Thai toilet system of having showers and 'bum guns' around the toilets can make it very easy for dirty feet to make a mark, but we do clean all bathroom areas daily, and also if we get reports of uncleanliness. As much as we try we cannot control the insects, but we would have tried our best to resolve this if it were brought to our attention. I apologise for any shortness in our service - the full moon period can be a lot of stress on our staff, and the full moon seems to affect different people in different ways. I hope the enjoyable parts of your stay with us will outshine the complications. All the best for your future travels :) Kind regards, Matt, Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th May 2016
8.9

Favourite place, wish there was enough room to stay for full moon:(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aw no! Unlucky. Maybe next time :)

4th May 2016
9.1

Really nice hostel. Great atmosphere for all types of people. Lots of activities and they'll facilitate all the transport for full moon etc. Cleanliness was questionable as they didn't seem to change the bottom sheets on the bed. But amazing food. Close to the best beaches on the island and a pool is always nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you had a great time at Shiralea and that we could help you seek activities/transport around the island. We only change bed sheets for new guests or upon request, as mentioned in our guest booklets - new sheets are always just a conversation away :) So pleased you loved the cuisine and the neighbourhood, I hope the rest of Thailand could supply the same comforts. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Shiralea Family

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

Amazing resort in a nice quiet area - exactly what we wanted after partying in the south of the island. Easy to see why people book for a couple nights and extend! Dorm area and toilets could probably do with a bit of sprucing, but for the price, it's a steal. But I would pay more to bring them up to line with the rest of the resort, as it is so fab

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We do get a lot of people booking for one or two nights and end up staying for a week (or more) . Great to hear you enoyed your time with us. I'll have a look into the dorm area. All the best, Matt, Shiralea

22nd Apr 2016
6.9

Lot of westerners and easy to meet others there. The staff can be a bit clicky at times.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us with a review - as always is much appreciated. Kind regards, Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.6

It is a beautiful resort and the photos don't do it justice. There was always a great atmosphere in the bar/pool area and staff made a great effort to ensure you are having fun. I can't recommend this place enough! We were there for the full moon party and they organized everything you needed. The only downfall is the Thai women on reception was pretty rude, but this may be due to a language barrier, who knows. Also, the beds were a little uncomfortable, but everything else made up for it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review - we aim to please! Always great to hear (mainly) positive feedback about the resort, so be sure to tell your friends! Sometimes I can imagine it could be a little frustrating trying to communicate in a different language, but I"m sure our reception staff didn't mean to come across as rude - they are normally very pleasant! Anyway I'm glad you enjoyed yourself here, and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again. All the best, The Shiralea Family

20th Apr 2016
8.9

Good for backpackers as it's easy to meet people. 2 minutes away from the beach that gives you an amazing view of the sunset. Would deffo come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We do pride ourselves on our sociable atmosphere. We're currently implementing a new social app here that will make it even MORE sociable, so that's exciting. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. All the best for your future travels, Matt Shiralea

18th Apr 2016
5.7

Food made us all Ill, been suffering for 4 days! was in the middle of know where, need to rent a moped if you want to do anything! L rooms are nice not to sure on the partying every night if you wanted an early night, pool area and staff are average at best

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to supply us with feedback about your stay. I’m saddened to hear you had some disappointments during your stay with us. It seems your stay at the resort coincided with 2 large tour groups around the Full Moon period, so naturally there was a bit of festivity at this time. We try to be as up-front as we can that we do have quite a spirited nightlife on certain occasions, but by no means is it an everyday occurrence. I’m afraid we have different views on our location, as we are quite pleased with our close proximity to many of the island’s best activities such as diving schools, yoga retreats, beautiful beaches, temples, waterfalls… Many of our guests do rent a moped, which can be heaps of fun and great for getting around the island – we do not see this as negative. I see you also rated our security very low, which confuses me, as criminality is generally not an issue here. Each room has a lockable door plus a padlocked safety box for your valuables. You should have talked with the staff if you felt unsafe or insecure at any point. I’m sorry to hear you were ill during your stay with us. It is not uncommon for foreign visitors to get ‘Thai Tummy’ from the cuisine if you’re not used to it, though it is very possible to get sick from another source too. Difficult to say for sure. I hope you didn’t encounter these problems during the rest of your travels, and that your time on Koh Phangan was overall a positive experience. All the best for the future. Kind regards, Matt Shiralea

9th Apr 2016
9.1

This is such a beautiful resort, it was a bit pricier than our normal (very low) budget but is definitely worth the extra couple of pounds. The dorms are best we've had, big bed, curtain, air con and own locker and space to hang clothes. Pool is so nice and clean too! Bar area is really cool and food is great, cannot complain at all. The only slight negative is that there is very little to do (mainly at night) in the area, is it low season though so it's quiet everywhere. Hire a bike to explore!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you kindly for your review, it means a lot that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great to get away from the hustle and bustle of the busy populated areas, though some people do feel the need to be closer to the action. As you said, a bike can be a great way to get around the island and many of our guests have done this. Glad you liked what the resort had to offer and hope to see you again someday. All the best, The Shiralea Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.