X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shiralea Backpackers Resort Reviews

58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao West, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
165 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent place to stay, I agree with the earlier review that a table tennis table would be great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for supporting us on hostel world. I will take the idea of a table tennis into consideration and next time you come to visit we may have a table waiting for you. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon. Kind regards Shiralea

91%

Excellent set up with great helpful staff. Could only be improved with the addition of a table tennis table 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We do have great facilities at the resort but it's a combination of our great staff and the awesome guests that create the special atmosphere so unique to Shiralea. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back on the island again soon. Until then Sabai, Sabai Shiralea

94%

Staff are so down to earth and friendly! Really good swimming pool and bar/restaurant. Only 2min walk to beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We have a great team at Shiralea who have a real passion for their jobs. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon. All the best Shiralea

49%

Rudest female worker on arrival, was standing with my 20kg pack on my back and she shoved past me. Stayed in a private bungalow. Room was dirty, floor so so so sandy before we even stepped foot inside! Shower blocked so sprayed out little 'needles' of water, toilet didn't refill itself so had to refill manually to flush! Food and drinks over priced but still yum. Very far away from everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. The staff member that bumped into you is one of our cleaners and has very very limited English skill. I'm sure that she wasn't meaning to be rude but couldn't communicate with you. I do apologize on her behalf. We some times have problems with the water if you had brought this up with any staff member we could have fixed it for you. Thanks for Staying with us and i hope that you enjoy your time in Thailand. Kind regards Shiralea

97%

We loved staying here. The property is gorgeous and very close to the beach. The atmosphere was social and the staff organized fun events (trivia night, body painting parties) that made the nightlife really fun. Our room was simple, but comfortable. I would recommend getting an AC room if possible. The fan was strong but it was still warm. My only issue was the shower in our room (18) was terrible. It felt like cold needles hitting your skin and barely had enough full pressure to wash hair.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us. The resort has a great atmosphere were people from all over the world can come together and have a great time. Or room are simply but are a perfect base to explore the island from. With all the power cuts recently we have had issues with the water pressure, i do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the resort soon. Kind regards Shiralea

80%

Slightly more expensive than everywhere else we've stayed, but this was most likely down to the full moon party. Was really impressed to find out that the 48 bed dorm we had booked was in fact 6 dorms of 8 beds. The location is a bit of a let down, very far from the full moon party and could take up to 2 hours to get back afterwards. However, bar & pool area is amazing and the beach is less than a 5 minute walk away.


94%

Best hostel that I've stayed at especially when it comes to socialising, atmosphere, staff, food and location. We met so many people during our stay here and we were sad to leave. All of the staff were amazing ,they made you feel comfortable and nothing was too much hassle; especially herby who helped us plan our onward travel even when he had finished work. We ate here every meal during our stay it was a reasonable price and tasted good. Good location full moon a taxi drive away.


100%

A M A Z I N G ! ! ! BEST HOSTEL IN KOH PHANGAN! Amazing food, amazing drinks, amazing beach close by, amazing staff, amazing activities in the hostel, amazing facilities, amazing rooms! LOVED IT!!! STAY HERE!


86%

Great location only seconds from beautiful Haad Yao beach. We went for full moon and it was perfect because this area was clean and quiet during the daytime knowing you to relax/ recover and the hostel arranges transport to the parties. Only complaint was that wifi didn't work in the dorms but the dorms themselves were spacious, clean, and comfortable !


20%

Very Bad Hostel. Smelly, dirty disgusting.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed in a cute little bungalow for 2 nights was great and the staff were so helpful orgainsed taxis for us gave us help with anything we asked arranged taxis for us when we were leaving, the location of shiralea is a bit out the way you either need a taxi or a scooter to get places but it was great for us as we wanted a few chill days before the full moon and the placr has everything u need great food cheap booze and 5 mins for the beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing us a great review! We are a little out of the way, but Haad Yao is a great base to explore the beautiful North West of the island. We try to offer great service at Shiralea so that you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Its awesome to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Until then Sabai, Sabai Shiraela

89%

Awesome staff, culture, and vibe. Great food and drinks as well.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Shiralea. Shiralea has a great front of house team that make you feel at home from the moment you arrive at the resort. We attract some amazing guests that create the fun and unique atmosphere that makes a trip to Shiralea so special. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Shiralea

89%

Awesome place to stay. Good staff and a good vibe, nice to be away from Haad Rin too.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay with us. We pride our selves on offering great personal service so that every guest feels like home from the moment they enter the resort. We are situated in a very nice part of the island close to beautiful beaches and surrounded by coconut tree, the perfect island get away. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the resort next time you come to Koh Phangan. Regards Shiralea

77%

Have not seen hostel with a pool before. It is close to the sea beach with 5 mins walk.not many people.So you can enjoy a quiet vacation. You can book different tours from the hostel. The front desk is all western, so do not worry about English problem.The food there is good.However you need to pay attention to two things. The location is not very convenient you need to book a taxi. and If you send clothes to laundry, please notice that you need to wait 24 hours or more to fetch.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff definitely make this place - so helpful and friendly. Great place to chill after full moon - ended up staying 5 nights instead of the booked 2. Not particularly close to too much but this hostel makes up for it. 7-11 and a few restaurants and beach are all within 10 min walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have a fantastic young front of house team that strive to make every guest feel at home from the moment they walk through the door. Its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you next time you find your self on Koh Phangan. Until then... Sabai, Sabai Shiralea

91%

Great hostel! Good big lockers in the dorm, great vibe and close to the beach. It's a popular spot for travel groups such as Contiki, but they just add more fun and life to the place. The staff is awesome - very easy to talk with about anything, and they are very helpful and informative about things to do on the island, transport and further travel! I booked for 3 nights but ended up with staying 6 nights, and was sad to leave. I had an amazing time at this hostel and would def. recommend it!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My girlfriend and I stayed at shiralea a few days before full moon and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were great, the rooms were very clean and it had a huge clean shower room. We stayed in the dorms and enjoyed how they had a big locked cabinet that fit our backpacks and also had air conditioning. The only down fall of shiralea is the location due to it being so far away from Haad Rin and kinda in the middle of no where. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Koh Phangan! :)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay in Shiralea. The facilities are great and the staff and the people there give the hostel a good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us at Shiralea. I'm super happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort. Our guest and staff create the atmosphere that makes a trip to Shiralea so special. From the whole Shiralea team, thanks for choosing to visit our little piece of paradise and we hope to see you back on the island again soon. Regards Shiralea

83%

Great place for the price. My experience was not the best because my roommates in the dorm were very rude, but otherwise this is a great spot despite being far away from things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm really sorry to hear that the other guests in the dorm room were rude. Unfortunately we can choose who stay with us, but on a whole we tend to attract great guests. I'm glad you you enjoyed the other aspects of the resort and we hope to see you back again soon.

86%

Great place to meet people and have fun! Staff are super engaging and helpful! Hard to leave. It's not central to the party beach, but you can easily cab, and it's so fun that I didn't want to go anywhere else!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. It's good to hear that the staff were very accommodating, they always like to hear that guests had a good time. We really hope that you choose Shiralea for your next trip to Koh Phangan. Regards Shiralea

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback