Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Apr 2017
4.9

The staff are not friendly and are not willing to help either! We had to go to Haad Bay view resort to ask for a taxi and help with the boats because neither of the staff there helped us! Also the restaurant has overpriced dishes in comparison to the same resort in front of the beach, I mean it's just a backpacker

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
6.3

Whats up with the white mould everywhere? The app said I should be in an ac room by the description but when I arrrived I was not. The only way to really see was on a pc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Mar 2017
9.7

Booked for 2 nights, stayed for 14! Great staff and great atmosphere where it is easy to decide to be alone or mingle with people depending on your mood. Bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly every morning, so it's as clean it gets. Very sad to leave here, but I'll definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Location is fantastic - literally a 1 minute walk down to a huge and not overly crowded beach where you can get a massage, rent a kayak and have a meal. The hostel Restaurant was good, a bit pricey but it was very tasty and I never had a bad meal. The staff in the Shiralea are brilliant- they are all so friendly. Atmosphere is chilled out and age of people tended to be about 25+ so if you're looking to meet lots of younger people it's unlikely to happen. Huge lockers and comfy beds with curtains

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Shiralea. We are located just moments from an amazing beach with a wide variety of restaurants and activities near by. Shiralea attracts people from all over the world and from every age group. Some time we do have an older crowd but i'm sure you still meet some amazing people. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort some time soon. All the best Shiralea

4th Mar 2017
8.0

I stayed in the dorm for 7 nights, I extended my stay by 4 days I liked the place so much, no mosquitos, curtains and lights, nice bar to hang if you are into that sort of thing, close to snorkeling from beach areas is what I liked, I would stay at shiraleas again, dorms do not hear the lively music in the bar, the aircon in my dorm broke down and was quickly fixed and back to normal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for letting other travels in on your experience staying with us at Shiralea. Its great to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much that you extended your stay. We created the hostel with comfort and privacy in mind. Our guest experience at the resort is very important to us and i'm very happy we were able to resolve the issue with the air conditioner in your room in a timely manner. Thanks for choosing Shiralea and we hope to see you back on the island some time soon. All the best Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Surreal!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes! A trip to Koh Phnagan and a stay at Shiralea can be a Surreal experience. Thanks for thanking the time to review us on Hostel World and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again some time soon. Until then Safe travels. Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.9

I had a great stay at Shiralea's! Location is amazing, 2 minute walk from the beach! The dorms have loads of privacy and are a good distance away from the bar that you always have the option whether to party and socialise or to relax and have an early night. Would definitely recommend staying here if you want somewhere away from the busy/ party part of Koh Phanang and next to a beautiful beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for offering some feed back on your recent stay with us at Shiralea. We have tried to make the hostel a comfortable and homely place. We are a little ways from the action of Haad Rin or Thongsala but we are just a stones throw from one of the nicest beaches on the island. Thanks for choosing Shiralea and we really hope to see you again soon. Safe travels Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
7.1

Overall the hostel is nice, it has a lot to do - with the games area and the bar - and it is close to the beach in that area. They also had festivities before the full moon party. The rooms were very clean and cleaned daily, but the bathrooms were only cleaned in the morning. They were disgusting by sunset and for the rest of the night! Our experience with the staff wasn't great. The check in was very slow and the check out staff was very rude. and inpatient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We try to offer a fun and friendly place were people can come together and have a good time. We do clean the bathrooms twice a day at 7am and 2pm. But over full moon its difficult to keep them very clean with all of the use. Im sorry that you didn't find our reception staff friendly they must have been having an off day. That is no excuse and i have had a word with the girls. Thanks for the feed back and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon. Safe journeys Shiralea

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.7

Not a great location if you're there to party. A lot of the things I wanted to do were far away and I was constantly spending more money than I wanted on cabs so I switched hostels. Do some research if what you want to do is near before booking! The staff were helpful and the bar staff in particular were nice and helpful. Location was the only thing that made me leave! They do arrange transport for you though, which is nice and was decently priced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us. We are located on the north west of the island and it is a bit of a journey to where the parties but its only a taxi ride away. Its nice to be able to get away from the noise and relax in the day, sipping a cold beer by pool chilling out preparing you self for the next event. Its great that you found the staff helpful and friendly. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we are hoping to welcome you back again some time soon. All the best Shiralea

9th Jan 2017
9.1

Great set-up at Shiralae. The hostel is centered around a large pool and large bar/restaurant area. Close walk to the beach and scooter rental. Some of the taxi drivers have trouble finding it, but if you have a map, they can figure it out. Its far from Haad Rin (full Moon Party) and there isnt too much nightlife in the immediate vicinity. This is more of a "stay and play" place rather than an "in the action" kind of place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.