Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay here. The water stopped working in our Hut, so we got a free upgrade to an air con room. Staff were friendly and the pool was very nice... Bit far away from everything though.. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2017
7.4

I had a private room which was beyond basic and arguably clean. Unfortunately the water was out when I stayed which may have hindered my experience as I couldn't take a shower, flush toilet etc. The manager however was very open to refunding the room and helping find another place. Great swimming pool and bar!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

Definitely feels a lot fancier than a hostel. Great pool, massage service, pool table. Unfortunately for the whole duration of my stay, there was no running water, I would have liked the hostel to provide bottled water as a replacement. The beach at Haad Yao is amazing. The staff were nice with the exception of one Cockney English bloke who was a bit of a pig.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.7

Great place to stay, all bar staff were very friendly nice pool area reggae bar 5 mins away very chill

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th May 2017
9.1

Really liked this hostel, felt more like a resort with the lovely pool and being so close to the beach. Own big lockers, curtains and plugs within the beds. There was an issue with someone bringing 'bugs' into the hostel but the next morning there were a small army of staff cleaning the place from top to bottom! The female blonde manager and the male bar staff were lovely and very helpful throughout. Only complaints are the mosquitos in shower and cold rooms at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
9.1

Nice bar and restaurant. Food and drinks are decent and reasonable prices. Great staff and easy to get involved in the organised fun if you want but easy to stay away too. A little bit far from anything but the beach near by is really nice and with a scooter it's perfect. Great pool, really clean and nice pool area. Standard double room doesn't have air con which we weren't expecting, the website doesn't make this too clear but a fan room was well priced. Overall great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • SlothBroils
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
9.1

The staff were amazing! I ended up staying a further 5 nights as I enjoyed myself so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eleonorhughes
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
10.0

This place is literally a backpackers paradise, you're missing out if you don't visit! The staff are amazing, the pool is lovely, the food is good, the dorms are clean and spacious with huge locker space. The only downside is the mosquitos in the shower area but you can't really help that too much. Don't hesitate to book!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.6

Unfortunately, I only got to stay 1 of my 3 nights booked due to an infection & subsequent hospitalization. The staff was great though, recommending me to a great hospital on the island & helping refund me for one of the nights I missed in the booking. The beds were comfortable & nice to have curtains/locked storage right beside the bed, even on the top bunk. Atmosphere seemed awesome in the restaurant but food was overpriced & ferry bookings, too ! I recommend eating & booking in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th May 2017
7.4

Really nice place but it is quite out of the way, so if you don't have a car or scooter you're pretty limited in getting about and especially places to eat. The beach a 2 min walk away is perfect though, the bar hasn't a great atmosphere and the food was really nice aside from the one night I go to food poisoning. Really lovely and friendly staff as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.