X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shoestrings Airport Lodge Reviews

85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
571 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is clean, safe, and well-run, and the owner is very nice. The free airport transfer is a great bonus as well. It is ideal for people staying in Johannesburg only overnight (which was my situation). However, if you are staying in Johannesburg for a longer period of time and want to see the city, I recommend staying somewhere else. This hostel is also rather quiet and not particularly lively, so it wasn't a fun place to meet new people like many other hostels.


91%

This is an older hotel - kind of like visiting your grandmother's home. Old, but has charm. The owner Rob is very helpful. Will pick you up at the airport and bring you back. He provides everything you need for breakfast. Everyone was friendly. I liked it there and this will be my stop-over whenever I'm in Jo'berg.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Rob was wonderful! I arrived clueless about everything, and he helped me set my itinerary for Johannesburg and SA. I found him really caring: he took me to the train station, gave me clear directions for exploring the city, and lent me necessities. I was the only one in the dorm room, which I found cozy because of the comforter, despite the cool winter weather. Breakfast is basic carbs, the bathrooms are spotless, wi-fi is limited to 2 hrs in am and 3 hrs at night. Oh and this place is safe!! :)


100%

A fantastic place! Really well located near the airport! The owner/manager went out of his way to help us out. Cannot recommend this place enough!


57%

The staff is perfect and a location but the room was uncomfortable, not very clean, smelly and cold.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The value for the accommodations was great and the airport pick up and drop off was so easy and efficient


100%

Rob was awesome! We really appreciated the free airport pick up and drop off, and he even made sure we got food and stopped by a gas station so we could get some snacks. The location was super close to the airport and the room was nice and clean

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

airport pickup was a winner and very quick. the garden was good for chilling all day and Rob is super helpful. it's a perfect place to stay over waiting for the flight without having to drag all your kit into Joburg


97%

Love this backpackers, a home away from home! I was very comfortable there and rob was so lovely. The airport pickup/ drop off service is a treat!! I love that you can cook your own meals there and breakfast was provide in the morning. Will def stay here again!

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Rob and his team did a wonderful job. Down to earth. Value for money. As a start of a (backpack) holiday this place is perfec.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The owner, Rob, is extremely accommodating and very nice. The location is great if you're looking for a place close, about 5-10 mins from the airport. It's also pretty quiet. The facilities, however, are a bit run down, but adequate. It's got warm showers with good flowing water and they have corn flakes and toast , coffee or tea for breakfast. It has plenty of room to handle last minute requirements.


100%

Rob is lovely, and the airport transfer is such a bonus! Really comfortable beds, and good breakfast. Thank you!


83%

Wifi is very restricted. They should specify that. Other than that they were really good.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The Hostel is very far from the city center, but close to the airport. If you want to get know Jo'sburg, you will be better offat a more central location. The room I was in was in a sort of a wooden shack, and the walls were built in a way that is possible to see the interior (the wooden logs where too far from each other). The heater was small and unable to heat the room. The staff was helpful, though


100%

Great hostel. Host provided pick-up from the airport which was very convenient. Thanks!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The owner was very helpfull, kind and there for us. There's a nice home-like feeling.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Super friendly host. Very helpful and welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The host, Rob, is most helpful and very accommodating. He provided transportation to/from airport, shopping dropoff and pickups and is an interesting, informative chap.


74%

Rob, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate, not more. Could have used some real coffee and actual food for breakfast rather than instant Riccaffe and corn flakes and white bread.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

For people looking for a nice, clean space to sleep that is close to the airport, Shoestrings is an excellent option! Rob is a very warm host, the airport pickup is perfect, and there is a good food option nearby. Perhaps not so much in the city for exploring, but an A++ location for those with an early flight. The double bed rooms are clean and comfortable.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback