Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.4

Very convenient for a one night stopover, free airport transfer is an absolute bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • wag5131
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Rob helped me a lot with my travel plan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
10.0

The owner is very kind. The location is perfect for Airpoet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
6.9

I found the staff here very kind and helpful, showers were hot and it's close to the airport. However, it wasn't very clean, the beds in the dorm weren't very comfortable and there weren't any lockers. So if you need a cheap place to stay near the airport, it's fine. But it definitely wasn't as nice as a lot of other hostels I've stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Cheap place by the airport - it's not the most modern or cleanest, but it was comfy enough for a night before catching an early flight the next day. Very close to the airport and they also offer a free airport shuttle which is fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a great stay. Rob is more than helpful with anything you need -rapid pickup from airport, answering questions, general advice, etc. also good sense of humor. Hospitality made me feel right at home instantly. Not the place to meet other travelers but peace & quiet were exactly what I needed. Building is aging, but the immaculate cleanliness and African ambience made it all a great experience. Definitely recommend & I would stay here again especially if flying through JNB.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2017
10.0

The location is ideal if you want hostel that close to the airport. There is a safe train to Rosenank in the city, where you can find restaurants and shops. Highly recommend. Very nice owner who helps with everything including airport transfers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.9

It's the perfect place to relax before a flight. Rob is a perfect host and can assist with whatever you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.6

If you just need a quick stopover before heading out of Joburg then I definitely recommend this hostel. Rob was great at communicating and picking us up late from the airport. Includes a small free breakfast as well. Not a place to socialize but it gets the job done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
3.4

No hotwater, very bad beds, not clean, dirty facillities, a real disappointment. Hard to find, bad directions on the web site.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.