X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shoestrings Airport Lodge Reviews

85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
543 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Super friendly host. Very helpful and welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The host, Rob, is most helpful and very accommodating. He provided transportation to/from airport, shopping dropoff and pickups and is an interesting, informative chap.


74%

Rob, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate, not more. Could have used some real coffee and actual food for breakfast rather than instant Riccaffe and corn flakes and white bread.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

For people looking for a nice, clean space to sleep that is close to the airport, Shoestrings is an excellent option! Rob is a very warm host, the airport pickup is perfect, and there is a good food option nearby. Perhaps not so much in the city for exploring, but an A++ location for those with an early flight. The double bed rooms are clean and comfortable.


83%

We were very happy with our stay in the double room With bath ensuite. Rob arranged AirPort transfers and also transportation to sightseeing, by sharing a taxi with other guests. Enjoying your breakfast in the sunny garden is a great start of the day. The restaurant in the nearby Protea Hotel serves buffet and a la carte dishes and is good enough for one dinner or two. We stayed here twice.


71%

It was fine. Your run of the mill hostel, bit tatty, but perfectly serviceable. The owner is really nice, and does a lot to make your stay good.


66%

Good value for money for a one night staying waiting for your connection. The owner is very friendly and the airport shutte he offers to the airport for free makes a big plus to the service becuse taxies are expensive even for a 2km distance (I have paid 10 euros for a three minutes drive!). The only think that the place need soon to be done is a big refreshment as wall repairment and new paint as well as new forniture. Everithig is very old.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff is really really friendly. We waited one day for our luggage to arrive in Johannesburg and lost our creditcard. The owner helped us to manage these problems and drove us to the airport few times. Thanks a lot for that!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The host was really nice to us, helping with the flight we almost miss and driving us on a rush to the airport. There was no WiFi on the bedroom, so we had to go to the living to use whatsapp, fb etc.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Rob is an amazing host and very helpful! Location is great if looking for somewhere close to the airport. Would definitely recommend staying here!


89%

Really nice guy, Rob take us at airport very fast and bring us back the following morning. Also free good breakfast.


46%

The location close to the airport is good but the facility is in very poor condition. The furniture is a collection over the past 30 years, most of the dining chair seats are broken, the sofa is very much worn out. It is very difficult to find staff, especially if you arrive in the later evening. I only met the manager, who is friendly. So it is difficult to even get a glas of water.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

I saw rats running around in the garden near heaps of garbage, I felt a bit uncomfortable about the rats. The linen was also uncomfortable and outdated. Some of the doors were also unlocked at night, and upon arrival there was no reception, anyone could just walk in and cause damage or theft.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff, is very helpful, close to airport so there great with pick up and drop off, bit far from town but an area where you can get around from. Can help with tours I did not need have family SA but still turned me on to few things they did not even know about.! I'm staying back there on my return flight SA. Breakfast over all good, nothing to complain about. Some complain about not 24-7 internet but is that what a hostel is all about..? 3G works great at there location..!


71%

This hostel was very cozy, more like a house than a hostel. That was a nice touch because I was traveling alone. The staff was very nice and courteous, though I was sometimes confused as to who was staff and who was staying or living there. The location was very close to the airport as well as a hotel that does dinner service and only a few minutes walk from some shops/convenient stores.


91%

I stayed at the hostel during a stopover in J'burg, and was met by the owner who was very nice and accommodating. Its a 5 minute drive from the airport and the owner kindly gave us a lift to the airport for free. There is a fantastic hotel opposite the hostel and its really good for food if you don't fancy cooking or going far and its a very good price. The rooms were comfortable and there's a nice living room to relax in.


100%

Spacious beautifully maintained green property. Plus: tremendous thank you to owner Rob not only for ride to airport but for doing it twice to retrieve the winter coat I had left behind!

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff was rude and we didn't feel welcome at all. We felt like we were a nuisance more than guests. The property was very old and worn out, and dirty. The only good thing is that it's located close to airport. WIFI was available four hours a day - 2h in the morning, 2h in the evening.. pathetic! They should have mentioned that in the description! Breakfast consisted of white bread, cereal and milk....


91%

Staff was very nice and helpful. The free airport pickup was great.


80%

This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a hostel close to the airport or for a quick stopover. The owner was extremely helpful and understanding given my delayed flight.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(384 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback