Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Shoestrings Airport Lodge Located at 85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, Johannesburg.
Shoestrings Airport Lodge
South Africa
Johannesburg Johannesburg 16 85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619
85% 662
-26.1248869 28.2321596
Shoestrings Airport Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.1

Really helpful staff that go the extra mile. Great value and location for if you need to be by the airport too. Stayed in the dorm room. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Very simple but great for a quick trip. Run by a really nice guy and the free pickup/drop off is great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.4

You can't get any closer to the airport! This is a great location when you have to catch a flight. The owner was great, and fun to talk to. Rooms were nice with everything you need. Security was good for joberg.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.9

Perfect one night stop 5/10 mins from the airport. The guy who runs it was very friendly and made us feel right at home!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
9.7

Amazing place to stay! The owner Rob was most helpful in helping me and my girlfriend piece together our itinerary in South Africa and surrounding countries! Top notch service with the Airport pickup and drop off and he really took the time to give us valuable advice on what to do and what not to do. Highly recommended and I already booked my next stay in this backpacker friendly hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marielinn
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
7.7

Rob is a wonderful friendly and reliable host. When he picked me up at the airport I felt home already. Unfortunately they don't have the best beds. But as I only stayed for one night and had a connecting flight, it was totally fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.7

I wanted something cheap and close to the airport to lay my head until my next flight which is what I got. With the free airport transfers it makes it worthwhile. Owner friendly enough but I wouldn't fancy it for a longer stay as very dated, could do with new matresses in dorms and refresh bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
10.0

All round outstanding. Super relaxed. Could not possibly get better value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
5.7

Old rooms, old furniture, ants in the room (for no more than one night stay)...but it's near to the airport, free wifi and free shuttle

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
10.0

We stayed for one night and we felt very welcomed. We phoned for a pick up to the hostel from the airport and it was very easy and the owner met us there with no problems. We booked to stay in a double bedroom and it was big, spacious, clean and had a huge ensuite bathroom. The owner was very helpful the whole stay and showed us various activities we could do as well as nearby restaurants. He also drove us back to the airport so we could hire a car, free of charge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.