Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • andreacabassi
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
6.6

Great location if you need an accommodation close to Johannesburg airport, very nice and helpful staff (free airport pick up service provided), security is ok (I walked by myself to a restaurant nearby during the evening), cleanliness acceptable but accommodation and appliances quality is really below the average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.7

Excellent location if you want to be near the airport either on your way in or out of Johannesburg. The airport shuttle service was very convenient and much appreciated. Rhodesfield Gautrain Station is an easy 15-minute walk from the lodge. We stayed in a private double. Room was basic, but spacious and clean. Washrooms were clean and the shower had really good water pressure and very hot water (best shower on my entire trip!). Very simple breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.7

Great location for airport and the free shuttle service makes an overnight stay easy. But the windows were cracked, the mattresses were old, thin and sagged in the middle, there was no handsoap in the bathroom, some of the appliances didn't work or didn't look safe, and the indoor fire filled that half of the house with smoke. Overall, it was fine for what i needed (an overnight stay before my flight) but it has been left to deteriorate so if you're staying more than one night look elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.6

This hostel is a great value for a quick one night stay near the airport on your way in or out of Johannesburg-- literally a 5 minute ride from the airport and the hostel does free transfers! Rob was more than accommodating even with a late pickup and early drop off! Hostel is right across the street from a major airport hotel if you need a meal. The hostel is aging and no frills, so probably not best for a longer stay, but perfect for a budget airport lodge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.9

The guy running this hostel is really great. Very friendly and super helpful. The location near the airport was incredibly convenient as well. The only oddities were that there was no shower in the private room (just a bathtub with no stopper) and no lock to the door. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
4.0

I absconde from the place. Disgusting.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Its a peaceful and quiet place with a big garden and the free airport shuttle is a nice extra. The owner Rob was super friendly and we felt very welcome. The house is very clean with comfy big beds but could need a make over. Perfect for a good night rest from the airport, def recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Rob is fantastic and great to chat with. Location is amazing, 5 mins from airport. Facilities are a bit worn down. Breakfast is toast with butter and cornflakes with milk. Perfect for an overnight before an early flight. Worked well for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

A great hostel close to the airport- very convenient for people traveling to and from Johannesburg. The owner Rob is a great guy who makes you feel at home! Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
4.6

Positive point: the location is just some minutes from the airport. Very convenient for who needs just to spend one night and go to the airport, but I would recommend another place. The place looks dusty, dirty and old. At the night I was there, there was no water on the bathrooms. The place is located far from supermarkets, restaurants or anything, and you need to take a taxi if you want to go anywhere. Doens't look safe, as every place in Johannesburg!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×