Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Its a peaceful and quiet place with a big garden and the free airport shuttle is a nice extra. The owner Rob was super friendly and we felt very welcome. The house is very clean with comfy big beds but could need a make over. Perfect for a good night rest from the airport, def recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Rob is fantastic and great to chat with. Location is amazing, 5 mins from airport. Facilities are a bit worn down. Breakfast is toast with butter and cornflakes with milk. Perfect for an overnight before an early flight. Worked well for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

A great hostel close to the airport- very convenient for people traveling to and from Johannesburg. The owner Rob is a great guy who makes you feel at home! Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
4.6

Positive point: the location is just some minutes from the airport. Very convenient for who needs just to spend one night and go to the airport, but I would recommend another place. The place looks dusty, dirty and old. At the night I was there, there was no water on the bathrooms. The place is located far from supermarkets, restaurants or anything, and you need to take a taxi if you want to go anywhere. Doens't look safe, as every place in Johannesburg!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

The owner was great and was ideal for an overnight stay before a flight, lovely garden area too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.4

Very convenient for a one night stopover, free airport transfer is an absolute bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
5.7

It was very cold at night and it was unfortunate that they weren't any heaters , the couches were terribly uncomfortable. The taps were running water , sad to see that water is wasting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • wag5131
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Rob helped me a lot with my travel plan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
10.0

The owner is very kind. The location is perfect for Airpoet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
6.9

I found the staff here very kind and helpful, showers were hot and it's close to the airport. However, it wasn't very clean, the beds in the dorm weren't very comfortable and there weren't any lockers. So if you need a cheap place to stay near the airport, it's fine. But it definitely wasn't as nice as a lot of other hostels I've stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.