Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2017
10.0

The location is ideal if you want hostel that close to the airport. There is a safe train to Rosenank in the city, where you can find restaurants and shops. Highly recommend. Very nice owner who helps with everything including airport transfers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.9

It's the perfect place to relax before a flight. Rob is a perfect host and can assist with whatever you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.6

If you just need a quick stopover before heading out of Joburg then I definitely recommend this hostel. Rob was great at communicating and picking us up late from the airport. Includes a small free breakfast as well. Not a place to socialize but it gets the job done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
3.4

No hotwater, very bad beds, not clean, dirty facillities, a real disappointment. Hard to find, bad directions on the web site.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.9

Rob was a great host! Easy pick up from the airport and drop off for our flight the next day. Tasty restaurant within walking distance. Room was beat up but clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
4.3

This place is pretty sad. The owner is nice and the breakfast was good. But the dorm was gross. Sad mattresses, broken windows, mosquitos everywhere, no lock on the dorm room door. I would look elsewhere and just get a cab or uber

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Rob was a wonderful host. He picked me up from the airport when I was ready and took me to the Lodge. It is right behind the airport so very convenient for stopovers. The house is nice, across the road from the Protea Marriott (which serves great food at good prices). Rob makes sure you are well looked after and I definitely recommend this place, eapecially is being near the airport is important. I'll definitely return when I'm in Johannesburg next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Enjoyed our stay. Very close to the airport and some shops to get food and money out. Owner was lovely, took us down the street and drove us to the airport. Was very quite, but what we wanted before our flight the next day. Good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.6

Very close to the airport and the train station of Rhodesfield where you can go to city centre quickly. Staff is nice and he give me a free ride from airport and also drive me to the train station. Here is not a place for party but surely you can meet different people instead of party animals only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
7.1

A good airport option. Rob, the owner, is great with rides to the airport and Gautrain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.