Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
Shoestrings Backpackers Located at 12 West Drive, , Victoria Falls.
Shoestrings Backpackers
Zimbabwe
Victoria Falls 12 West Drive
74% 208
-17.9333333 25.8333333
Shoestrings Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The grounds are very large with a lot of space for lounging around. I had the 8 bed dorm to myself. Room was fine with all conveniences. Showers and toilet were only a few meters away and the room was far enough away from the bar to not cause any problems sleeping. Food was available on-site and was descent. The bar gets very full at night. Overall was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel with great staff. 2 minute walk into town and 10 minute walk from the falls. Be warned, there is a bar at the hostel and it gets very loud until the late hours of the night. If you're into that atmosphere, more power to you. If you're looking for a good nights sleep and are easily disturbed, keep this in mind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
6.6

Great party place. It's basically a bar with a funky cool vibe at night that you can stay at. Stayed in the 6-bed "large dorm" which only has 1 key for all 6 people, so the door was just kept unlocked the whole time. First night I asked for a mosquito net & they said they didn't have any more because people steal them, but when I asked the next day, they gave me one. Also had no blanket the first night. Food is decent. The dogs (Morgan & Mojo) & & the rocking chairs were the b

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
5.1

The hostel has very good security and is in a good location. The staff who checked me in were very rude and unhelpful. The room was tiny and not pleasant, I had to fight with the door to get it closed and open every time, the bathroom door was just a piece of wood stuck on and so also didn't close, the shower was dirty and dripped constantly. The bathroom was unclean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.0

I liked my stay although the building really needs doing up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
3.7

Your stadig should be more helpful. Your beds are falling apart and the mattress are very bad. It's dirty everywhere. I would never come back

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
7.7

Very nice place for evening chills!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
7.4

Very well located. Nice food in the bar, if you dont want to go out to eat. The bar is a bit too noisy on the weekends nights tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

Only had one key for the dorm room that we had to leave at the front desk. On weekends lots of locals would come to hang out and dance, was fun. Great atmosphere around a bonfire every night too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ucantseeme_cena5133
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

Its really near the town centre and very convenient to get out there to shop, eat and wander around. Wifi isnt free though. Limited hot water showers. the 4 bed room is a little small too. That being said, im not sure if other hostels in Victoria falls area are any better. the music from the bar is really loud and ends at around midnight.. but if you fancy socializing around then it is a good place to do so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.