Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
Shoestrings Backpackers Located at 12 West Drive, , Victoria Falls.
Shoestrings Backpackers
Zimbabwe
Victoria Falls 12 West Drive
68% 213
-17.9333333 25.8333333
Shoestrings Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2016
7.4

Not as bad as described in other reviews, but could be better, comparing to other backpackers hostels in Africa. Pros: - good location, in walking distance to centre and Falls - sociability - cheap - there is air-con (at least in 8-bed dorm) - quiet if you get 8-bed dorm - it is far from bar Cons: - bar is very loud until 1 a.m. (music and TV) - paid Wi-Fi (and not very fast); I found cheaper and faster to buy Telecel SIM - huge number of flies - mosquito nets only on some beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
4.9

Not a great place to stay , stayed one night that was long enough , ordered food from the restaurant and my burger wasn't even cooked properly and the waitress just said they would try and do it better next time ..wtf?? Felt pretty dirty there and buying wifi and drink tickets and all that was inconvenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Oct 2016
5.7

We've stayed at dozens of backpackers around the world, and several in Africa. So we're not at all high maintenance, and we love the vibe of travellers exploring the world on a shoestring. However, we found the staff surly and unfriendly most times, and the the pool was way too murky and dirty to swim in, even though it was the height of summer. The pictures and description of the property mention the pool, so we thought this was definitely misleading and they misrepresented themselves.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
7.1

Staff were lovely and friendly. Not so much the owners though. Bossed staff around in front of guests which isn't good. Very chilled. Has a bar travel desk shop cafe and spa. Had facial and massage which were excellent. My dorm was good and spacious but air-conditioning didn't work and fan had no effect so way too hot. Shower was Good. Lots of hot water. Saw another dorm and it was horrible. Dark and cramped. Pool was typical standard I'd seen in Africa. not clear but Probably ok .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The grounds are very large with a lot of space for lounging around. I had the 8 bed dorm to myself. Room was fine with all conveniences. Showers and toilet were only a few meters away and the room was far enough away from the bar to not cause any problems sleeping. Food was available on-site and was descent. The bar gets very full at night. Overall was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel with great staff. 2 minute walk into town and 10 minute walk from the falls. Be warned, there is a bar at the hostel and it gets very loud until the late hours of the night. If you're into that atmosphere, more power to you. If you're looking for a good nights sleep and are easily disturbed, keep this in mind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
6.6

Great party place. It's basically a bar with a funky cool vibe at night that you can stay at. Stayed in the 6-bed "large dorm" which only has 1 key for all 6 people, so the door was just kept unlocked the whole time. First night I asked for a mosquito net & they said they didn't have any more because people steal them, but when I asked the next day, they gave me one. Also had no blanket the first night. Food is decent. The dogs (Morgan & Mojo) & & the rocking chairs were the b

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
5.1

The hostel has very good security and is in a good location. The staff who checked me in were very rude and unhelpful. The room was tiny and not pleasant, I had to fight with the door to get it closed and open every time, the bathroom door was just a piece of wood stuck on and so also didn't close, the shower was dirty and dripped constantly. The bathroom was unclean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.0

I liked my stay although the building really needs doing up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
3.7

Your stadig should be more helpful. Your beds are falling apart and the mattress are very bad. It's dirty everywhere. I would never come back

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.