Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • smithy_3612150
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

Potential to be a very good hostel, staff are helpful . Location is very close to everything and the majority of facilities (bar, food and kitchen) are good. The toilet and shower facilities let down what is a quite expensive place to stay. Money needs to be invested to make sure the toilets flush and they all have seats. Some showers where missing shower heads and the water was always cold. Investment in some small improvements will boost the hostels value 👍

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ghodge
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.6

Great vibe! Best place for a party in the eve. Some showers have no hot water and rooms are loud in the evenings - music switches off around 12 I think. Say hi to Benny the artist. Great guy and very friendly. Works in the common area. Always willing to help you out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
8.3

A convenient location just a few minutes walk from the town center. Helpful staff, an informative travel office, a bar and a restaurant - all for guest's conveniences. However, bar music was loud until midnight and food ordered at restaurant took about 1 to 1 1/2 hours to be served! Overall, it was still a cool place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Great value. Walking to the Falls. Everything is as good as it could be, really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful place. i would stay there for sure if I ever have the chance to go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
4.3

Room don't have eletricity, sooo hot, bed is terrible I had back ache for 2 nights sleeping there. There was a cat in my room sleeping! Showers are cold. Toilets are terrible! I didn't like this hostel for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.1

It's a nice mix of socializing and tranquility. Nice chill, relaxing vibes throughout the day. The staff are really helpful and have a dedicated department just to assist in tours (etc, Vic Falls, Bungee Jumping, zip-lining, etc). I met a lot of amazing people of whom I have kept in touch with till this day. Would definitely recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
6.9

Close to falls and citycenter. Nice but a bit Dirty and during my stay you Could not See the Pool floor. The Staff is Very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed here by myself for a few days and loved it! Great value for money, the atmosphere is good and the staff are so helpful and friendly! They helped me book activities, were very prompt in acting when the wifi was down and provided great banter. I stayed in the dorms with a mosquito net but unfortunately no air con, but I didn't mind. The only negative thing I have to say is about the shower and toilet facilities. They could be better - I had cold showers but I didn't mind as it was so hot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.6

Really good night life, not far from town. Has a tourist information desk which was helpful. Dorms weren't in the best conditions but they had air conditioning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.