Hostelworld.com

Shoestrings Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed here by myself for a few days and loved it! Great value for money, the atmosphere is good and the staff are so helpful and friendly! They helped me book activities, were very prompt in acting when the wifi was down and provided great banter. I stayed in the dorms with a mosquito net but unfortunately no air con, but I didn't mind. The only negative thing I have to say is about the shower and toilet facilities. They could be better - I had cold showers but I didn't mind as it was so hot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.6

Really good night life, not far from town. Has a tourist information desk which was helpful. Dorms weren't in the best conditions but they had air conditioning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

Could use with more cleaning and also mosquito nets

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
7.4

Not as bad as described in other reviews, but could be better, comparing to other backpackers hostels in Africa. Pros: - good location, in walking distance to centre and Falls - sociability - cheap - there is air-con (at least in 8-bed dorm) - quiet if you get 8-bed dorm - it is far from bar Cons: - bar is very loud until 1 a.m. (music and TV) - paid Wi-Fi (and not very fast); I found cheaper and faster to buy Telecel SIM - huge number of flies - mosquito nets only on some beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
4.9

Not a great place to stay , stayed one night that was long enough , ordered food from the restaurant and my burger wasn't even cooked properly and the waitress just said they would try and do it better next time ..wtf?? Felt pretty dirty there and buying wifi and drink tickets and all that was inconvenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Oct 2016
5.7

We've stayed at dozens of backpackers around the world, and several in Africa. So we're not at all high maintenance, and we love the vibe of travellers exploring the world on a shoestring. However, we found the staff surly and unfriendly most times, and the the pool was way too murky and dirty to swim in, even though it was the height of summer. The pictures and description of the property mention the pool, so we thought this was definitely misleading and they misrepresented themselves.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
7.1

Staff were lovely and friendly. Not so much the owners though. Bossed staff around in front of guests which isn't good. Very chilled. Has a bar travel desk shop cafe and spa. Had facial and massage which were excellent. My dorm was good and spacious but air-conditioning didn't work and fan had no effect so way too hot. Shower was Good. Lots of hot water. Saw another dorm and it was horrible. Dark and cramped. Pool was typical standard I'd seen in Africa. not clear but Probably ok .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The grounds are very large with a lot of space for lounging around. I had the 8 bed dorm to myself. Room was fine with all conveniences. Showers and toilet were only a few meters away and the room was far enough away from the bar to not cause any problems sleeping. Food was available on-site and was descent. The bar gets very full at night. Overall was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.