Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shoestrings Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Aug 2017
9.1

Had a short but fun stay. Helpful staff, fun vibe, lots of space to relax and interesting vibe with both backpackers and locals around the place. Dorm beds are fairly priced but food is a little expensive, although it is Vic Falls prices so more than the rest of Zimbabwe. Only other suggestion is fixing some locks for doors to toilets and showers. Regardless, would happily stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Aug 2017
6.6

Located within walking distance of main road and shops, restaurants, supermarket. I booked some tours on-site and was very satisfied with the service I booked a private room but it was a bit run-down and poorly lit. There was no towel provided and I had to find out by myself that I could get one with a deposit. I ordered dinner in the on-site restaurant but service was very slow. Very dark in the courtyard at night and I had to be very careful walking to/from my room and reception/restaurant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
8.9

The grounds are quite nice and dorm sufficient. The bar is one of the main party spots in Vic Falls which is great if you're looking for a loud and upbeat crowd; not great if you want to mellow out a bit. Food is good and met some interesting people. Walking distance from the town and Vic Falls park. Great hostel minus the crazy weekend parties.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.7

I loved my stay at Shoestrings! While the water wasn't always super warm and the wifi was slow, the staff were exceptional and the dorms were pretty solid. I loved going to bar because Irvine always made it fun. Excellent atmosphere and place, I definitely recommend!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
3.7

The staff were quite rude upon arrival and throughout the stay. The facilities could have been much cleaner. We did not receive the type of room we booked, which was very upsetting because that was one of the major factors of booking at this place, if I knew this was the case, I would have booked somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • smithy_3612150
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

Potential to be a very good hostel, staff are helpful . Location is very close to everything and the majority of facilities (bar, food and kitchen) are good. The toilet and shower facilities let down what is a quite expensive place to stay. Money needs to be invested to make sure the toilets flush and they all have seats. Some showers where missing shower heads and the water was always cold. Investment in some small improvements will boost the hostels value 👍

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ghodge
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.6

Great vibe! Best place for a party in the eve. Some showers have no hot water and rooms are loud in the evenings - music switches off around 12 I think. Say hi to Benny the artist. Great guy and very friendly. Works in the common area. Always willing to help you out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
8.3

A convenient location just a few minutes walk from the town center. Helpful staff, an informative travel office, a bar and a restaurant - all for guest's conveniences. However, bar music was loud until midnight and food ordered at restaurant took about 1 to 1 1/2 hours to be served! Overall, it was still a cool place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×