Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shuyuan International Party Hostel Reviews

No.2 Shunchengxixiang, Nanmen Li, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2279 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Took a fellow travellers advice when booking this hostel and couldn't have been happier! The service there was amazing, all staff spoke great English and we're always happy to help out whether it be directions, transport bookings, good places to eat etc. The bar below is a real little happening place, don't miss it. There was never any issue with hot water supply and also free filtered water available to drink. Great directions to the hostel on here too - very rare for China! Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your valuble time to leave comments here! We are glad to know that you had a nice stay here. All our staff are trying our best to serve the guests. We wish you a happy new year and hope to see you next time! Best wishes from Shuyuan Hostel.


Good: Cool location and stuff Bad: Internet, Loud noise in my room (3210) due to aircon or somtehing like that. even in the night. A loot of moscitos. The hostel/restaurant is soo expensive and soo bad at the same time.


was a nice place. just the lack of English speaking guests made it difficult meeting people as majority of the guests where Chinese . however the bed was the most uncomfortable thing ive ever slept in . could literally feel springs into your body...


The staff were fantastic! Comfortable beds and small lockers in each dorm. Amazing tour to the Terracotta Warriors- would definitely recommend!!


The building is beautiful and the staff go to a lot of trouble to give you information and see that everything is ok. Noise is a bit of a problem, especially on a Saturday night when the band plays very loudly til 1.30am. Ear plugs are not enough for that level of noise. If you like to stay up late, no problem.


This hostel is very nice, it was very cool with the different "gardens" inside the hostel with the plants and stuff. The rooms were a bit small, i stayed in a 6 bedrom dorm, but it was no problem for me since i didn't spend alot of time in the room. The staff was so nice and very helpful, and the location is good, right next to the city wall. The restaurant in the hostel has very good food, especially the pizzas! I would definitely stay here again.


This hostel has some great facilities and social spaces including a restaurants, hidden basement bar and three open courtyards. There are, however, limited toilet facilities (one toilet per floor) - additionally, the rooms can be smoky if located near the open courtyards. The hostel provided a great organised tour to the Terracotta warriors - this is a must see!


This was a truly horrible hostel. I'm totally shocked how it got so many good reviews. First of all, the bar is fantastic. I'd definitely recommend the bar. GO to the bar but DO NOT stay here. One of the worst rooms I've ever seen in my life, for 200 RMB..absolutely shocking. Ragged old bed, broken door, leaking toilet, old worn out towels, no toilettries. Just disgusting. They are totally taking advantage of foreigners who don't know what an acceptable standard is in China.

Owner Comment (Hide)
LePoidevin,Thank you for staying shuyuan hostel in Xi'an.the shuyuan hostel opening 13 years until today,the 1st hostel in west of the China.In order to show the local culture that the hostel choose many old furniture in room and courtyard.the door ,the bed,the towels was old but not broken,we have check the toilet and repaired after you told us ,the bar was under the 2nd yard ,your room at the 1st yard .We are so sorry for the more troubles .Have a nice trip in China.


Great location, minutes walk to the Muslim Quarters, Bell Tower, and adjacent to City Wall. Bar scene below ground was a cool place to chill at night. The staff were friendly and accommodating. My wife and I would have given it higher marks had our actual rooms been much cleaner. We checked out early due to the mosquitoes and roaches in the room. For backpackers looking for a centralized, hip place to stay, its worth staying here. If you have a kid or kids, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Staff service so Good


Great localization. Good place and really nice bar. The bathroom is clean more than a lot of in China. Closest town.


Great hostel. Great location and amazing staff. I very goood choice in Xian.


Great location and great bar :)


Great hostel. Rooms are packed, but hostel has a great atmosphere. Next to the city wall, bus stop nearby. Bar underneath the hostel! :D


A solid hostel in a great location with a great bar. Clean and easy with helpful staff.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback