Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silver Gate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.5
Silver Gate Hostel Located at Hrvojeva 6, , Split.
Silver Gate Hostel
Croatia
Split 21000 Hrvojeva 6
79% 637
43.5082619 16.4413726
Silver Gate Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Aug 2016
6.3

The best thing was its location! Right outside one of the main enterances to the palace, close to two supermarkets, bus station, green market and the port. Room and bed were clean. The hostel was very quiet and I was the only one in my room for most of my stay (going solo, I like to seek out more social hostels) and the guy with the beard was more interested in entertaining his girlfriend than working. They didn't ask me if I had any questions about the area and were generally unapproachable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
6.9

Nice place, excellent location next to the Diocletian Palace and the main attractions of Split. Only bad thing is there is no kitchen and the lounge is quite small, other than that the place is good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.0

Silver gate is very well located right in the heart of the markets and the palace. It isn't very well marked but we found our way eventually. It is close to the port which was convenient for us also. No kitchen or breakfast is included. Showers for females were limited but never created an issue for us. Beds were comfortable and everyone had their own locker. Staff were friendly and recommended the pub crawl which was well worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

loved this hostel! so nice and absolutely the best location in split, so close to the palace. we'd lost our luggage with the airline and everyone at the hostel was very accommodating and helpful in resolving the matter. definitely recommend staying, had a really good time at silver hate!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.6

This hostel just isn't a good hostel, don't stay here if you have other options. Beds are small, squeeky and without a ladder for the top bunk. The rooms don't have keys to lock them, one room is basically a corridor to another room. There are 2 toilets and 1 shower per gender. No where near enough. The shower head holder on the wall was missing... There are no real kitchen facilities, kettle and microwave, not even a kitchen tap. Night staff guy was just groaned instead of speaking

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
4.9

There is only one shower per gender, and if you want to take a hot shower you must wait 1 hour at least. The rooms have no key, and we had no light for a whole day. Lockers are thin (not to store luggage). Despite this, the staff was always friendly and the place it's clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
7.1

A bit small (only two showers, no stove or oven) but really great location and friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

absolutely great place! the l perfect cozy hostel to stay at. close to many spots in the city center and has the nicest staff. they were even nice enough to point me to the nearest shop when I had one too many drinks one evening. great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.3

Helpful staff. Hard to access if you have a lot of bags because of the stairs but very central. Phone number on website needs to be updated. I would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.6

Close to the main port. Right in the markets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.