Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silver Gate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jul 2017
8.6

Very basic. No great common room or bar or balcony to meet people and hang out, but solid hostel overall. Great location in city center. Helpful staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
7.7

I was the only one in all of the hostel for 2 nights I think so didn't really meet anyone and didn't have any problem with shower or bathroom avail ability. I got the bed of my choice as well and the staff was very accommodating. Staff was also very courteous and helped with what to do. I am not sure how it will be when the hostel is all full. Location is awesome! Right in front of the city gate which is extremely convenient

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
5.1

Bad smell People could easily walk in and out of your room One shower between all girls sharing the hostel No sink in the kitchen so people had to wash dishes in the bathroom making it very dirty Poor quality for the price paid Very poor atmosphere in the hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jun 2017
7.1

I only stayed here for one night but it was pretty average - my room was the entry to another large room so people were always walking through. There were also no ladders on the top bunks so as a short girl I found this fairly annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jun 2017
7.1

Good place to stay for a night or two, not much in the way of kitchen facilities. Had to walk through another dorm to get to mine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.0

Good location and value for money, we had booked a 6 bed dorm bit tgere was another dorm off our room which meant a lot of people passing through which was a bit annoying

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.3

Bad side: Very old building ((You're in Split old town and shouldn't expect otherwise)) It only has 2 toilettes for the 20-30 guests it may receive ((These were always very well cleaned)) Hard to get any privacy as the doors don't really close (too old) and you have to get through some rooms to get to the others. Good side: Good environment. Great location. Clean. Relaxed. Relatively safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.4

Awesome location to enjoy Split (: lovely staff too! Dorm is clean. Recommended to include a personal light and charging port to each bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

What a great place! Location is superb. Ante, the receptionst is a cool and friendly guy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Really awesome location, friendly and entertaining staff, and was always clean. Right near the main harbour for the ferrys trains and bus stations. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.