Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Silver Gate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.3
Silver Gate Hostel Located at Hrvojeva 6, , Split.
Silver Gate Hostel
Croatia
Split 21000 Hrvojeva 6
79% 603
43.5082619 16.4413726
Silver Gate Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.3

My mate and I from Australia stayed at SilverGate over the Ultra Croatia weekend. The location is great and is within walking distance to everything. The only negative is that we paid extra for a smaller bed dorm to be given a room which was the access corridor for another room in the hostel- a bit annoying when the door is being constantly opened throughout the night and you're trying to sleep off the hangover. I would definitely recommend it to those on a shorter stay in Split.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Only stayed here for one night but enjoyed it - very bright and sunny rooms! The hostel is on the smaller side so you're not sharing things with a ton of other people. Nice bathrooms. Location right across from one of the entrances to Diocletian's Palace and super close to the main bus/ferry terminal was awesome. Staff were nice and accommodating but not hugely friendly. Beware all the stairs going up if you have heavy luggage!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.0

Had to walk through other people's room to get to your own, made no sense. Rooms were not locked. Security of the hostel wasn't very good at all, also didn't have a luggage room, were told to just leave bags 'anywhere'. Only one shower between all females staying at the hostel, shower always cold and it didn't drain properly. No mirrors etc in rooms so had to crowd around 2 sink mirrors available for all female visitors. No ladders to top bunks. Only saving grace was the fact there w

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
6.9

Very basic standard hostel with average staff. Not the kind of hostel if you're looking for a fun, friendly atmosphere or any organized events or social aspect. Just basically a decent place to stay with a good location, clean bed, air conditioning and a clean bathroom. I also don't like when the lockers aren't big enough to lock up all your belongings .. just a small cubby where you can fit your most valuable possessions but otherwise leaving your bag unattended all day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Fantastic location, nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.0

Overall a good hostel! Staff was very welcoming and helpful, rooms were clean and location was great. Atmoshphere was pretty relaxed as it wasn't very busy while we were staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
6.9

This hostel is good to stay at for a short time. The rooms are a good size with decent sized lockers. My only complaint was that one receptionist told me there would be breakfast available but in the morning there was nothing! The kitchen supplies are also very limited. I only saw 1 coffee mug which I had to wash in the bathroom sink.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Best place to stay in split! Staff were super friendly! Location was great and away from all the noise. Air con worked, wifi was great, depending on who is staying there atmosphere was good! I've stayed in a few places in split this is my number one pick! Would most definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Lauren1987
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

Only one shower for all girls - queues huge. Only enough hot water for the first person. The shower tray didn't drain well, so you had to wait ages to add more water. There was nowhere to put the shower head - so it was really hard to wash your hair one handed. There's an extra for towels and they were old, rough and grubby. No kitchen sink - had to get water from bathroom sink, which was gross. Hostel generally dirty/tired. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Great staff, location and cleanliness. Only one shower for females and one shower for males.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.