Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Silverfern Backpackers Located at 234 Hobson Street, , Auckland.
Silverfern Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1010 234 Hobson Street
78% 602
-36.8536342 174.7589206
Silverfern Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
3.1

It wasn't tidy, too busy so couldn't relax, toilets wasn't pleasant, not a lot of parking spaces, didn't help with planning nz travelling, atmosphere was terrible. Won't be going back anytime soon.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
3.7

Property was very unclean, both the rooms and common areas. Staff was not helpful at all when asked questions about the area. One of our room mates came home drunk repeatedly at 5AM and urinated on the floor of the room and was not kicked out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
5.7

Place was dirty and a little smelly. For whatever reason, it attracted a rough crowd including one guy who had peed in his bed a week before and for some reason was let back into the hostel only to do the same thing. I don't know how they have the high rating they do. Bathrooms ran out of soap, and they charge for *everything*, including coffee mugs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
6.9

This was a standard backpackers. Check-in was friendly and helpful. Good security at entrance with fob needed to enter from reception. Fairly quiet at night, but stayed mid-week so weekend could be louder. No lockers in dorms! This was a let-down, as I think personal security should be something that comes as standard in any kind of shared accommodation...rating would be higher if this was the case. Decent location, short walk to Queen Street and SkyTower, but slightly unsavoury neighbourhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
5.4

Generally not a great place to be. Stayed in a 12 bed dorm and although the people were nice it just wasn't a great place. Had to get bedding from reception and I know it's cheap but it's not asking a lot to have a bed made for when I arrive. Everything seemed like it was an additional cost. Generally I would avoid.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2016
5.1

DO NOT STAY HERE!The place was disgusting so dirty, kitchen didn't look like it had been cleaned in weeks no one put away dishes! The rooms were dark and dingy walls and curtains dirty. The bed covers given were covered in stains and looked like they had been used for years! The area itself is quite dodgy if walking back at night although quite close to town. There are other hostels which are much nicer in Auckland. If you read the other reviews - nice staff which is true but stay clear!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
4.3

I have stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this is definitely up there with one of the worst. From the minute you walk in you get this awful smell of damp, stale drink sank in to the carpet and smoke from the night before. The kitchen is dirty. The wifi is poor. The noise at night is insane and the beds were uncomfortable. As we left we were tripping over bottles and cigarette butts. The girl in reception was friendly apart from that, never again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.4

This hostel was perfectly located within walking distance of very many attractions, eateries, and night life. The staff were really relaxed and created a positive atmosphere in the hostel. They all looked like they were enjoying themselves which was great to see. If you are catering yourself, kitchen is very workable and extremely well equipped - there are 2 electric ovens and cooktops and a gas counter top cooker, two washing up areas, 4 large fridges etc. The bathrooms were so clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.6

No lockers in the room! And the weird thing is that you can book your stay online via Hostel world for NZD 24 per night but if you book at the reception directly you'll have to pay NZD 28 per night. But once you booked for 1 night via Hostel world they won't allow you to book any consecutive nights for that cheaper price. The kitchen and WiFi is okay. Too bad they have a Playstation in the TV-room, results in 1 or 2 people gaming whilst no one else can watch a movie/TV.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.6

Having only stayed in one hostel in new Zealand it's difficult to really rate this place. Basically the people make it, the girls that work the hostel are great and super friendly. The long term people living there also great and had some great laughs. However the facilities i think are pretty poor. No locker or storage in room and the cleanliness is seriously lacking. Overall I would stay again just because the atmosphere was great not necessarily because of the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.