Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.0
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.0
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
2.9

If you enjoy muggy basement rooms with no windows, uncomfortable bunks without enough space to sit up, sitting down on pee covered toilets, and the threat that you could be charged at any time for an unknown rule or standardly provided item, and overcrowding to the point of fire hazard, this place is for you! With its wonderful Hobson St location, you can even buy the finest drugs to inject and pass out on the street after taking. The homeless that night sure got better sleep than we did.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
4.9

Staff is very unfriendly and the hostel is quite dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • prosoftnz7294
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Feb 2017
4.3

No free wifi unless you book a week. No lockers in rooms. Noisy till 2 am.. Not very clean, staff not very helpful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
4.9

Staff weren't especially friendly. No air con meant rooms were very stuffy and uncomfortable to be in. Booked for me and a friend and we were put in different rooms. Hostel wasn't very clean or nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Feb 2017
4.9

If solo female traveller avoid. I checked out after only 1 night. People doing drugs in the bathrooms. You have to pay for everything. Get groped on the road on way to hostel late at night. Put you in room as only female in 12 bed dorm. No warning. Wont change room for you until next day. Horrible atmosphere. Staff rude. Dirty. Smelly. Showers freezing. Im not usually fussed with hostels, if its a bed and running water it will do. This is an exception!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
4.3

Location was close to where we wanted to be. The room was in the basement, very small for two people. No windows no ventilating. A fan was in the room but was not sufficient so we asked for another fan to sleep and breathe at night -not enough. Wanted to leave door open throughout the nights but wouldve been a safety risk for us. The place was fully booked. Couldnt sleep on top bunk due to lack of air so slept 4 nights sitting up on two chairs. Couldn't wait to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
5.7

Expect to be charged for everything. $50 key deposit. $2 for a mug to drink out of. No sleeping bags allowed in the rooms, if you're cold you have to rent a blanket. No free wifi. Stayed in a 14 bed room in a literal basement. Showers on a timer and non adjustable. Very social hostel, which was nice. Nice location, very near city center.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
3.7

Staff at check in were rude and unhelpful would rather have a chat to a mate than do their job- same girl and a French one who cleaned the room were rude. room had no fan- eventually we got one but we payed extra money for a 4bed dorm and it was more pleasant staying in an 8bed dorm!! Such a shame as I had told my boyfriend how amazing Auckland was and how friendly the hostels were (he didn't want to stay in a hostel) and it's the 1st one Iv ever been disappointed with- wifi was hit and miss

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
6.9

NO FREE WIFI, unless you stay at least a week. When I walked in, and saw all the signs, it wasn't the friendliest of hostels, where the key deposit was $50, a cup cost $2, and there were papers everywhere with the rules and fees for breaking them. The Hostel itself was reasonably spacious, staff was alright. The water wasn't running for some time on my last day. Overall decent, but there are definitely better hostels in Auckland, for a lower price, with free wifi...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.9

We booked 2 nights on the website at 25$ and when we ask a third night the price was suddenly 30$.the explanation was "the website is only for find the hostel. The hostel is completely different. It is business." so 30$ for a room in the basement with a kitchen that close at 10pm (and you can't cook after 9.30pm)... So it means if you work late or you are hungry or just thirsty... You are ducked mate. The staff didn't been very friendly... Well we won't recommend it to our friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.