X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
394 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

This place is designed to rip you off. I booked two nights and mistakenly booked it for two people but still couldn't cancel the second night cause in this place one day is apparently not enough notice. Not to mention that even though I used the 2nd bed to put my stuff on it was still taken during the night. When mentioning this to the reception their response was that they cannot control who sleeps where. Really? I was honestly afraid that they will even find a reason to take my $50! deposit.


46%

Bad smell comming from bagpacker, cold water comes in shower at any time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry we can't help it if your room mates smell, we can't force guests to wash their clothes or take showers. Perhaps next time choose a smaller dorm.

54%

Dirty and smelly, too many drunk and rude boys.


20%

This hostel is a absolute rip off. I have stayed in over 100 hostel over the years but never has a hostel took money off my deposit because I was late to check out. The walls r full of little sighns that say if u do this we will charge u. If u use the wrong exit doordoor if u dont wash ur plate even if u ask for a letter to say u r staying in the hostel for the bank just a printed paper 10$. And they charge u more in hostel than if u book online but they won't let u book online ones u get there

Owner Comment (Hide)
You checked out at 12.15pm, checkout time is 10am, staff need to clean your room at 10am. So you got charged for late checkout. You must of enjoyed staying here as you stayed an additional 5 nights, so your review is not at all honest.

100%

Great team working there, you can drink your own grog in the lounge, clean bedrooms, good security. No complaints.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, staff do the best to make your stay enjoyable.

94%

Stayed in the 12 bed dorm, comfortable and clean. Nice atmosphere at the hostel, everyone very friendly.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review, hope to see you again.

74%

It´s the best value for money that hostelworld has to offer in Auckland. The Argentinian girl from the staff (i'm sorry i don´t remember your name) was extremely nice and helpful with all the stuff we needed while staying there :D Thank you again!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

94%

Very Central. Good WiFi, Comfy Beds

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us, hope your boyfriend can get off work and join you.

100%

Very good social atmostphere here, everyone I met was nice.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Very bad internet.Stupid deposit value,you have to pay extra for all (towell,locker,glasses) poor kitchen.The best is Samanta (receptionist).

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have no thefts her unlike other city hostels, as the higher key deposit keeps the bums away. Hostels in general world wide don't provide towels for dorms. We have fibre optic internet, fastest in NZ, it is often your computer which is at fault as you haven't adjusted the power settings for wifi.

100%

Good cozy hostel to stay in over winter. Good group of people staying there.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel is very convenient for city.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks for the nice stay

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place, friendly staff and nice rooms. The location is great, not to close to the main road and not to far away either!


63%

Staff members are friendly. If you discuss at movie room you might trigger a lot of tenants out of their rooms with louder sounds. Wifi signals are bad at ground floor even in the lobby. Because of too much storage (guess a lot of working holiday tenants stay there), the kitchen is not always clean, especially the trash cans.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Lockers for your stuff? WiFi not just in one room? Some more electricity outlets?

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is plenty of shelving in the 4 bed dorm you were in, there is 3 twin power point outlets in the room, more than enough for 4 people. Wi Fi is available throughout the hostel, set your power settings to high on your computer to get the best reception.

97%

Over all a great hostel, its just the right size to meet up with people and make friends. Kitchen, and bathrooms very clean. Some of my room mates were untidy but that's not really the hostels fault. Price is good and free wifi is always a bonus.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Probably one of the best city hostels in Auckland. Good social atmostphere you can bring in and drink your own beers unlike Base or Nomads which ban you from doing this. Decent sized hostel you can get to meet people here and have a great time. Staff are fun and keep the place secure and clean.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place and plenty of free wifi

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our Fibre optic wifi is the fastest of all the city hostels. Hope you enjoy the Cook Islands.

97%

Good secure hostel, happy staff and good amenities.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response, hope you will be back later during your travels.

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback