X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
472 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Rooms were too hot and so were the showers.


77%

good place, maybe for the price the rooms could have been a little more ventilated, maybe some cheep aircon would be an idea or more fans situated about the hostel. and sort the wifi out, ridiculously slow!!!!!!!!!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The Wi-Fi you must PAY for.. they should say this in the online booking stages. Staff were very unfriendly, the rooms were horrible and muggy, was staying a week but left after the first night.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay at Silverfern I stayed in a mixed dorm. The room was a comfortable once all giuests had their bags in there, but it was clean and well furnished, beds are solid and comfortable.. There are nice-sized, clean shelving to put valuables in. Bathrooms were pretty clean, and the kitchen is huge. I didn't cook in it, but there are a ton of fridges to keep groceries/leftovers in, which is super helpful. Overall there's a great energy here- the staff is friendly. It's about a 10-15 m

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I came to Auckland on my own, and I've visited many hostels and this one is the best one. Awesome location, clean Bathrooms & Showers, usually tidy shared dorms, clean and big kitchen, and the most important thing, which makes the big difference against the other hostels, it's the great atmosphere. The hostel has got a courtyard where you will always meet nice people, everyone will talk you back if you speak to them, and the staff is really friendly. I would recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to hook up and meet other travellers.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel with excellent staff! I really had a good time here! Liked the lounges , always people to meet there. Rooms are very clean . Free coffee and tea to start your day with. Kitchen has plenty of facilities to cook a meal. Location is very central, so great place to start and plan your adventure in NZ.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff very Kind. Room spacious and clean. Many Japanese Restaurants nearby.

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great helpful staff, bedrooms are clean ,large opening windows, kitchen designed nicely with plenty of kitchen equipment. Toilets and showers were very clean. Location was very central. High price for a key deposit, but you get it back.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's nice to meet real backpackers, enjoy your future journeys.

94%

Good value

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good clean hostel, service was good , close to downtown and not to noisy.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to give us a review .We hope to see you on your return through Auckland.

46%

The entire building needs ventilation.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Awful hostel, I would never stay here again. Loud and unclean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am afraid the hostel was clean until you decided to vomit in the bathroom and not clean it up. The $20 fine was given to the poor cleaner who had to clean your mess up.

34%

I had the worst experience ever in a hostel. You have to pay for everything such as internet, or even to use a cup. The room smelled bad. I received only sheets with no blankets. The owner (not the employers) was rude and made me pay 18 dollars extra for doing mi check out 10:30 instead of 10 am. Not recommendable at all.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You were in a room just by yourselves, so the only smell was yourselves. There are 2 signs at reception informing that blankets are available on request. It's summer time we don't issue blankets in summer only on request. You checked out at 10.57am so you were charged 2 late fees of $5 each plus you wanted to leave luggage in our storeroom to 9pm which was a further $4 each per person. You are moaning about only paying $32 each for a room which you had to yourselves. If you were in Sydney at this time of year you would of paid about $200 plus.

37%

To much money for value. Awful beds, dirty kitchen, and most of all: the 'living room' was filled with smelly sofas, white TL light, no music,.. not very pleasant place to stay.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are one of the few who don't find our beds comfortable, the night before was New Year's Eve , some beer or champagne might of been spilled on our sofas, but these would of been shampooed by 2nd Jan. We find most people prefer to listen to their own music or they switch on the TV in the lounge. Perhaps next time you should spend New Years Day in a hotel where they have softer lighting and designer furniture.

94%

Well organized Backpackers, Central location, nice hot showers and clean kitchen. Quiet at night and good mattresses. Staff were charming and helpful.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Incredible dirty & disgusting, no free wifi, incredible smell & no possibillity to open a window. You need to pay for erything.


20%

DO NOT STAY HERE. Dirty and smelly everywhere in all rooms! The stoves didn´t work in the kitchen and flies everywhere. Expensive wifi. A bit from town, no athmosphere, had to wait 2h to check in. In general we didin´t wanted to be in the hostel at all during our stay in Auckland which made our visit in Auckland worse than it should have. People and staff left the room doors open, hot romms with no ventilation, no soap in the ladies bathroom, and toilets without paper.


37%

DON'T GO THERE ! Welcome to Nightmare Hostel. If you're looking for a safe, nice, clean and welcoming hostel, you're definitely at the wrong place. You have to PAY for : Internet?! (wtf!), a MUG (WTF?!), Lockers (!?), your Proof of Residence! Key Deposit is 50$ (wtf?!). Kitchen is Hell's Kitchen : people are stealing from each other, it's very oily and dirty and nobody washes anything. Bathroom : you get out of there more dirty then clean. Rooms : Stinky, dirty, chaotic, 12 people..


43%

When I called that I would arrive late due to my flight coming in late, the owner told me this was not his problem and that check in is till 10.30pm and that this is part of the booking agreements. Since all other hostels were full I had to spent my night on the street. I checked the info page of hostelworld and it doesn't state anything about late check ins. however no refund was given. Worst experience with a hostel ever.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It says in 3 places on our site Reception hours, 7am to 10.30pm, look under Facilities, Map & Directions , Things to Note. You said you would arrive at 10pm not 2am in the morning. Please name a business in Holland which is going to open up for you, because you arrive 4 hours late.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback