X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

It wasn't the most clean hostel and it wasn't very cozy.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You choose the largest dorm and you had a room just to your selves which was spotlessly clean. It may not of been cozy because it was not full, We have a lot of cozy areas in the hostel where you can read a book or play on your computer or Ipad.

100%

The hostel has everything you would need, good location, nice staff and good value for money.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope you will be back one day.

66%

The two main fators for us staying at your Hostel (for the second time now) is the central location that gives easy access to town on foot. As well as the parking right in front of the Hostle which seemingly does not come wich many other Hostels in Auckland. It was a little inconvenient that the reciept machine was broken throughout our stay (4 nights) but we hope to get around this when re-imbursing our employer.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, if you still need a receipt we can email you one.

100%

I had a good time here, good facilities, nice to have a bedroom with windows. Avoid the hostels in Auckland which don't as the rooms stink.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to add a comment, I agree it is a shame that a lot of Auckland hostels don't have windows,(in most countries it would be illegal, as it encourages mould and bed bugs). Hope to see you back again.

97%

Hostel was good value for money, good staff and clean.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with us, we hope to see you soon.

66%

This hostel is desgusting... No body clean the rooms... Just don't go there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You know full well the rooms are cleaned everyday, you paid to stay another night, so you must of enjoyed it. It's a shame you are so dishonest Vito Tito.

71%

work up on second morning with bites on my arms, legs, face, hands, torso which became itchy. The last morning i was there i squashed a bug on my neck. Not sure think they were bed bugs. Room 15.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Are rooms are constantly checked for any pests, we were unable to find any thing, we noticed you had a sleeping bag, so I hope you are not carrying anything within it.

54%

No free wiFi, only 30mb free when you arrive! No freezer! Not really a good backpackers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wi-Fi is not unlimited or everyone would be down loading 24hours a day and speed would become very slow. A freezer is not necessary we have 2 supermarkets next to the hostel, you can buy fresh food everyday.

57%

There was hair everywhere in our bathroom and used bars of soap from other guests. At around 9pm someone came into our room unannounced and none of the staff could tell us who it was. Great location close to a lot of great places but I did not feel safe leaving my things in the room when we were not there.


100%

Good location, nice modern hostel.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you again

86%

Good time spend in Aukland. I enjoyed staying at the hostel with the great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing, hope you enjoy the rest of New Zealand

89%

Just off queen st with good staff and very clean. Good facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, hope you will be back one day.

89%

Bathroom and toilets were very clean, and comfortable beds. Place was nice and warm.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great feed back, thanks for writing.

57%

Very rude and unhelpful owner/manager. The hostel was in a good location but the dorms were boiling despite it being autumn and the parking was $8 from 11-11 meaning even if you arrive at 7pm you still have to pay $8 until 11 the next day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind comments, our bedrooms are nice and warm , its great to be warm & cozy during Autumn and Winter as most of our guests appreciate it. NZ is a western country we have a fixed price system, we don't haggle over carparking prices. There's no where else in Central Auckland where you can park for $8 for 24 hours. You arrived at 5pm, 18 hours of parking for $8.

100%

Hostel staff were very kind & helpful, the location is good as is only a short walk to bus station & Queen St, the beds were really comfortable & hostel looked clean and well maintained. I will stay again on my return to Auckland.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you back soon.

94%

Good fun hostel.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you back soon.

94%

Thanks for the stay

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your staying, hope to see you back soon.

97%

Nice Hostel, friendly guests & staff

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you back soon.

71%

I wasnt happy with changed room.i ordered single with ensuite but got 6 bed with disabled bathroom.also you advertised free breakfast but thete wasnt any breakfast provided.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You got a single room with ensuite like you asked you had all the room to yourself, breakfast was never included, only available during winter.

100%

Silverfern is located close to Sky tower so it was easy to find, the reception staff checked me in and were kind and helpful. My bedroom was full of interesting people and they quickly showed me around the hostel , there is many lounge areas and a great kitchen with all the kitchen utensils. It seems many people find work in Auckland and they drift here from other hostels as they say it is the best for value in Auckland.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the stay, glad you enjoyed our hostel.

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback