X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
339 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 59%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

You don´t feel very welcome if you arrive the silver fern hostel. Perhaps it was because I was too early for check-in. I met a very bored staff member at the reception who even didn´t look up to me when I arrived but continued reading his book. After I introduced myself he answered very shortly that check-in is at 11 am. I was suprised that he agreed to store my luggage. But when I asked for the free WIFI which is promised at the homepage he told me that I´ll get the PIN for that at 11 am but...

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

It is a shame how expensive is for what you get. Every morning we got to look for a bowl or a mug, people in the backpacker are so unrespectful with the others. There is only one light switcher in each room, no space for your stuffs. AND THEY LIE--> They say on internet FREE BREAKFAST it is just tea bags and instant discount coffee ! The staff is very rude, and last but not least, they ask you to pay if you want to leave your luggages for the day, even if you stayed there for a few days !!!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Didn't Like the place much, had decent people in it but the owner seemed hardly interested in his guests. Signs around telling you you'll be fined for doing x,y or z. Proof of address? 10 dollars please. Stash your bags here for a few hours? 4 dollars. Wait in the hostel until your flight leaves? pay the day rate. All/Most entertainment facilities are off limits after 10. 50$ key deposit on top of it all. Facilities are fine for hostel standards. Staff was pretty pleasant, as the guests

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

I decided not to stay the minute I walked into the room.


51%

Room was extremely hot and messy cause of some live ins. Not enough power points in the room. Area is a bit dodgy.


37%

Kitchen's dirty, not friendly staff. We stayed for 2nights and when we wanted to book for one more night, they charge us an extra 10nzd, because that's the price for staying just one night. The thing is we stayed 3. I've should have read the comments before booking here, they are right. Auckland is not that big, any other choices are better than this.


26%

So disgusting, there were flies everywhere but especially in the kitchen. Dirty kitchen in general. No toiletpaper, soap etc. Really smelly commonroom. Slept in dorm with a 62-year old alcoholic homeless man. Not recommended for backpackers who plan to meet other backpackers in Auckland.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Stayed in a 12 bed dorm and it was absolutely boiling, one tiny wall fan for 12 people was ridiculous. Staff weren't particularly friendly especially the man on front desk. Not a bad location, 5 min walk onto queen street. Lots of other better hostels to stay in Auckland


89%

Need your earplugs for this one is you want to get any sleep. Start of the motorway is very close so there is endless traffic for about 20 hours/day and the guests party into the early hours with no consideration for others.


69%

Decent hostel for what you pay. Location is good if you'll be walking around downtown or to nearby sites; easy walk down the hill to Britomart. Lots of long term people who have their own cliche going. Be prepared to have to elbow your way through the mass of smokers to get in or out of the hostel. Bathrooms and kitchen are kept clean and the kitchen has all the basics for making a meal. A little noisy, but to be expected of a backpackers.


97%

Fun hostel to be in. Plenty of good vibes here.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to start of your travels in New Zealand. Manager is very knowledgeable about N.Z. Hostel is fairly central to most things, only short walk to bus terminal Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, other guests very nice.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel it self was ok. People at the hostel where nice and lots of friendly travellers. They had a very poor wifi system that you only get 3 hours free and after that you must pay $5 for another 3 hours every time you run out. The staff are rude and lack the very basic of customer service. Had to have an argument with one of the staff who tried to charge me twice for a late arrival fee. And then proceeded to try lecture me on my ways of travel. Would never stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


80%

Stood there 2 nights... considering how i hate hostels in big cities this one was quite okay... not to big, a hangout area where u can have some beers and talk to people...seemed to be quite secure too... price of 26NZD for a 12doorm seems decent... the basement room with the tiny window was a bit noise though, caus the window is towards the road and there is a strange deep sound going in the night...


57%

Was the last dorm room that was left in akl. Paid a horrendous price 34$ for a four bed dorm. My top bunk had no ladder to climb up which made it very difficult to reach my bed. Staff was unfriendly and disorganised. Internet didnt work. Bathrooms are very dirty. Kitchen is way too small and poorly equipped. The people who stayed in the hostel were fun. Wouldnt recommdend this hostel.


97%

Overall a great hostel, clean and tidy, good kitchen and guest facilities. Fast wi-Fi , helpful staff and a hostel with a carpark.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Do yourself a favour and just do not stay here. Unless you have no expectations or standards. Rooms are disgusting, they stink, they're dingy, they are awfully messy with belongings everywhere. No room to even put your bag let alone lockers for them. People seem to stay there long term and do no tidy up after themselves. Bathrooms are like a dirty old school gym changing room. Soap and paper towels non existant. Man at reception unhelpful and have to wait around to be served. I could go on...


49%

Not an enjoyable stay

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The hostel is very dirty. The bathroom at the below level is full of pees and all what is humanly possible to leave.


20%

The biggest hole I've ever had to stay in in my entire life. A 50 dollar key deposit is the first thing you are greeted with in this sh.ithole. On top of this the internet is not free and you must pay something ridiculous like 30 dollars a week for it. This place is not backpacker friendly and you can forget about getting any sleep here because you won't. There is a cop station at the end of the block. The guy who runs this place is only interested in robbing of your hard earned money.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback