Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7
Silverfern Backpackers Located at 234 Hobson Street, , Auckland.
Silverfern Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1010 234 Hobson Street
69% 651
-36.8536342 174.7589206
Silverfern Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
6.6

The place is relatively cheap but they do charge a $50 key deposit, kind of silly, esp. in a dorm where people coming in and out you almost never get to use the key anyway The hangout area is a bit crammed and the pool table is right next to the dorm rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
2.6

Worst hostel I ever stayed in!!! Room was very very dirty when I arrived! The People at the reception are unfriendly and dont care about your wishes or problems... After I asked if they could clean the room they said they will do it but after one hour waiting in the room nothing happend... The guy at the reception is so unfriendly and was mad after my question to clean the room. After the second time asking if they could clean my room they came and took just the trash out of the trashcan.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
4.3

Most of the staff are unfriendly and the hostel is really dirty, specially my room. It was desgusting. Maybe I am getting to old to this kind of hostels. Maybe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
6.9

Best thing -busy kitchen and living room which a lot of people use so great for getting chatting to people. Worst thing -often hardly any hot water even during non busy times (afternoon) and nowhere to lock your valuables apart from a small box behind reception which they charge for. Good location. Mixture of long and short stayers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
4.9

- "Free internet" is only a voucher for 1Gb, for rest U have to pay - U have to do and undo your bed but your own - there is like a 1000 of notices every where in the hostel what is not allowed and that you will get a fine for everything - for such rustic service price is to high, in general overpriced place - mass place, no athmospere + plus is location , really good

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Oct 2016
5.7

It was okay, not in a great location but very sociable. Kitchen was dirty and very busy but cinema room looked cool and another lounge area. Bathrooms were okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
8.9

Staff were all help full. Good value for money. no microwave in the kitchen. but would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
4.0

Place smelt really bad!! mould and dirt everywhere. Lack of toilets and showers. Druggies in my room made me feel so unsafe. Would not recommend staying here if you are a female travelling travelling alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
7.1

Not a bad hostel. The biggest disadvantage is, that they allow to drink in the premises, so in the common room there was some mess in the morning and the hostel attracts also a bit more free-spirit people though. The carpet in my room/dorm stank a little bit, I would say after a puke thrown on the carpet some time ago. But anyway, after spending a half a year camping in the car, I was OK with the hostel. But a young German roommate - a girl was quite shocked and moved out next day :).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Oct 2016
5.7

Good atmosphere in the hostel and good facilities but the dorms seem to be never cleaned... Never. Was in a dorm with empty beer crates all over the place, a complete mess, half-drinken beers were there when I arrived, and still there when I left... Lockers are small and Internet was a pain, got better Internet with the free one provided by Auckland city. Definitely not the best hostel but not the worst either as I could read on other comments. Just alright with lower expectations.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.