X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
294 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

This hostel is desgusting... No body clean the rooms... Just don't go there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You know full well the rooms are cleaned everyday, you paid to stay another night, so you must of enjoyed it. It's a shame you are so dishonest Vito Tito.

71%

work up on second morning with bites on my arms, legs, face, hands, torso which became itchy. The last morning i was there i squashed a bug on my neck. Not sure think they were bed bugs. Room 15.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Are rooms are constantly checked for any pests, we were unable to find any thing, we noticed you had a sleeping bag, so I hope you are not carrying anything within it.

54%

No free wiFi, only 30mb free when you arrive! No freezer! Not really a good backpackers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wi-Fi is not unlimited or everyone would be down loading 24hours a day and speed would become very slow. A freezer is not necessary we have 2 supermarkets next to the hostel, you can buy fresh food everyday.

57%

There was hair everywhere in our bathroom and used bars of soap from other guests. At around 9pm someone came into our room unannounced and none of the staff could tell us who it was. Great location close to a lot of great places but I did not feel safe leaving my things in the room when we were not there.


100%

Good location, nice modern hostel.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you again

86%

Good time spend in Aukland. I enjoyed staying at the hostel with the great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing, hope you enjoy the rest of New Zealand

89%

Just off queen st with good staff and very clean. Good facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, hope you will be back one day.

89%

Bathroom and toilets were very clean, and comfortable beds. Place was nice and warm.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great feed back, thanks for writing.

57%

Very rude and unhelpful owner/manager. The hostel was in a good location but the dorms were boiling despite it being autumn and the parking was $8 from 11-11 meaning even if you arrive at 7pm you still have to pay $8 until 11 the next day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind comments, our bedrooms are nice and warm , its great to be warm & cozy during Autumn and Winter as most of our guests appreciate it. NZ is a western country we have a fixed price system, we don't haggle over carparking prices. There's no where else in Central Auckland where you can park for $8 for 24 hours. You arrived at 5pm, 18 hours of parking for $8.

1 2 Next » last »
(29 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback