X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
395 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

This is maybe the worst backpacker hostel I ever been too. Positive: Have it´s own kitchen, okay room for sosialising, okay shower and toilet facilities. Negative: Crowded room (6 persons room i stayed in), no system of wich bed is yours, not very clean room, many of the people living there sleeps in different beds, cold water in shower the day I arrived, loud people screaming and shouting all night and morning, internet was down half my stay. Maybe I am just a little to old for this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry rooms were all full as The Eagles Concert was playing the next day. The showers are on instant gas, you just have to let the water run for a minute if it is cold, and then it will be hot. Remember backpackers are mostly for the 18-30 age group.

43%

Great as a last minute accommodation option as everywhere else was booked, relatively cheap, and it had the basics, however: - hardly any wall pugs in the room - Dodgy fan with dodgy cord - Disgusting room, very messy - Poor greeting on arrival, a smile and welcome would be great (and also a nice way to feel welcome and safe). - Showers/bathrooms had no rubber mats, water everywhere, went cold, annoying 30sec button, - $50 key deposit is over the top and unusual. - Did not feel safe.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry staff can't be everyones parents in the hostel and constantly tell people to be tidy. You were in a room with 3 sets of twin plug sockets , enough by most standards.

1 2 Next » last »
(22 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback