X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
376 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Kitchen's dirty, not friendly staff. We stayed for 2nights and when we wanted to book for one more night, they charge us an extra 10nzd, because that's the price for staying just one night. The thing is we stayed 3. I've should have read the comments before booking here, they are right. Auckland is not that big, any other choices are better than this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry Aida all the cheap beds had been sold for the day you wanted to extend on, so you would of been upgraded to a smaller room. Staff weren't able to accommodate your wishes doesn't mean they are unfriendly.

26%

So disgusting, there were flies everywhere but especially in the kitchen. Dirty kitchen in general. No toiletpaper, soap etc. Really smelly commonroom. Slept in dorm with a 62-year old alcoholic homeless man. Not recommended for backpackers who plan to meet other backpackers in Auckland.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The man you are describing is not an alcoholic or homeless, he is a New Zealander builder and has every right to stay in a hostel. There is plenty of soap and toilet paper, the kitchen is clean, you are a very silly girl.

54%

Stayed in a 12 bed dorm and it was absolutely boiling, one tiny wall fan for 12 people was ridiculous. Staff weren't particularly friendly especially the man on front desk. Not a bad location, 5 min walk onto queen street. Lots of other better hostels to stay in Auckland


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Need your earplugs for this one is you want to get any sleep. Start of the motorway is very close so there is endless traffic for about 20 hours/day and the guests party into the early hours with no consideration for others.


69%

Decent hostel for what you pay. Location is good if you'll be walking around downtown or to nearby sites; easy walk down the hill to Britomart. Lots of long term people who have their own cliche going. Be prepared to have to elbow your way through the mass of smokers to get in or out of the hostel. Bathrooms and kitchen are kept clean and the kitchen has all the basics for making a meal. A little noisy, but to be expected of a backpackers.


97%

Fun hostel to be in. Plenty of good vibes here.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to start of your travels in New Zealand. Manager is very knowledgeable about N.Z. Hostel is fairly central to most things, only short walk to bus terminal Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, other guests very nice.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel it self was ok. People at the hostel where nice and lots of friendly travellers. They had a very poor wifi system that you only get 3 hours free and after that you must pay $5 for another 3 hours every time you run out. The staff are rude and lack the very basic of customer service. Had to have an argument with one of the staff who tried to charge me twice for a late arrival fee. And then proceeded to try lecture me on my ways of travel. Would never stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


80%

Stood there 2 nights... considering how i hate hostels in big cities this one was quite okay... not to big, a hangout area where u can have some beers and talk to people...seemed to be quite secure too... price of 26NZD for a 12doorm seems decent... the basement room with the tiny window was a bit noise though, caus the window is towards the road and there is a strange deep sound going in the night...


57%

Was the last dorm room that was left in akl. Paid a horrendous price 34$ for a four bed dorm. My top bunk had no ladder to climb up which made it very difficult to reach my bed. Staff was unfriendly and disorganised. Internet didnt work. Bathrooms are very dirty. Kitchen is way too small and poorly equipped. The people who stayed in the hostel were fun. Wouldnt recommdend this hostel.


97%

Overall a great hostel, clean and tidy, good kitchen and guest facilities. Fast wi-Fi , helpful staff and a hostel with a carpark.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Do yourself a favour and just do not stay here. Unless you have no expectations or standards. Rooms are disgusting, they stink, they're dingy, they are awfully messy with belongings everywhere. No room to even put your bag let alone lockers for them. People seem to stay there long term and do no tidy up after themselves. Bathrooms are like a dirty old school gym changing room. Soap and paper towels non existant. Man at reception unhelpful and have to wait around to be served. I could go on...


49%

Not an enjoyable stay

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The hostel is very dirty. The bathroom at the below level is full of pees and all what is humanly possible to leave.


20%

The biggest hole I've ever had to stay in in my entire life. A 50 dollar key deposit is the first thing you are greeted with in this sh.ithole. On top of this the internet is not free and you must pay something ridiculous like 30 dollars a week for it. This place is not backpacker friendly and you can forget about getting any sleep here because you won't. There is a cop station at the end of the block. The guy who runs this place is only interested in robbing of your hard earned money.


60%

Staff were very rude and grumpy. Facilities good but no lockers in rooms. 10 minute walk into town. Ok value but there are better hostels closer to the centre with much more helpful and friendly staff for the same price.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Reception unhelpful at best, make no effort to make you feel welcome, give you the bare minimum in information. Lacks friendly environment/atmosphere like most other hostels I've been to. The rooms are cramped, feel unclean. And of course, worst of all....my bed had bedbugs. Unfortunately I didn't notice until the day I checked out, but one was crawling over the sheets and I realized I had bites all over my body. When I notified reception, no effort at reimbursement was made. Wifi rarely works.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

This hostel was pretty messy, everything was difficult to find. No personal lockers. Met some really cool people but the owner or staff worker just couldn't care less to show anyone around.


49%

The manager claims Hostelworld keeps 100% of the money paid as a deposit on the room as a fee for reserving through the website and then charges the full cost of the stay upon arrival. Swindling backpackers out of their hard earned cash is despicable. All facilities including the office are closed between 10pm-7am which means if you're leaving outside of those hours, in order to collect your $50 key deposit you must write your visa details on a piece of paper and slide it under the office door

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is very large with quite spacious rooms to the other hostels I stayed at in Auckland. The rooms were separated for short term and long term stays which felt was a good decision as it made it a lot more social with similar expectations of the people in the dorms. Rooms were clean and so were the bathrooms when I was there. Only issue I had was with the staff. Felt like they had a bit of an attitude when you caught them at bad times. Maybe she was having a bad day


(201 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback