X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
383 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very Central. Good WiFi, Comfy Beds

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good social atmostphere here, everyone I met was nice.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Very bad internet.Stupid deposit value,you have to pay extra for all (towell,locker,glasses) poor kitchen.The best is Samanta (receptionist).


100%

Good cozy hostel to stay in over winter. Good group of people staying there.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel is very convenient for city.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks for the nice stay

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place, friendly staff and nice rooms. The location is great, not to close to the main road and not to far away either!


63%

Staff members are friendly. If you discuss at movie room you might trigger a lot of tenants out of their rooms with louder sounds. Wifi signals are bad at ground floor even in the lobby. Because of too much storage (guess a lot of working holiday tenants stay there), the kitchen is not always clean, especially the trash cans.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Lockers for your stuff? WiFi not just in one room? Some more electricity outlets?

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is plenty of shelving in the 4 bed dorm you were in, there is 3 twin power point outlets in the room, more than enough for 4 people. Wi Fi is available throughout the hostel, set your power settings to high on your computer to get the best reception.

97%

Over all a great hostel, its just the right size to meet up with people and make friends. Kitchen, and bathrooms very clean. Some of my room mates were untidy but that's not really the hostels fault. Price is good and free wifi is always a bonus.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Probably one of the best city hostels in Auckland. Good social atmostphere you can bring in and drink your own beers unlike Base or Nomads which ban you from doing this. Decent sized hostel you can get to meet people here and have a great time. Staff are fun and keep the place secure and clean.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place and plenty of free wifi

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our Fibre optic wifi is the fastest of all the city hostels. Hope you enjoy the Cook Islands.

97%

Good secure hostel, happy staff and good amenities.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response, hope you will be back later during your travels.

37%

This is maybe the worst backpacker hostel I ever been too. Positive: Have it´s own kitchen, okay room for sosialising, okay shower and toilet facilities. Negative: Crowded room (6 persons room i stayed in), no system of wich bed is yours, not very clean room, many of the people living there sleeps in different beds, cold water in shower the day I arrived, loud people screaming and shouting all night and morning, internet was down half my stay. Maybe I am just a little to old for this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry rooms were all full as The Eagles Concert was playing the next day. The showers are on instant gas, you just have to let the water run for a minute if it is cold, and then it will be hot. Remember backpackers are mostly for the 18-30 age group.

43%

Great as a last minute accommodation option as everywhere else was booked, relatively cheap, and it had the basics, however: - hardly any wall pugs in the room - Dodgy fan with dodgy cord - Disgusting room, very messy - Poor greeting on arrival, a smile and welcome would be great (and also a nice way to feel welcome and safe). - Showers/bathrooms had no rubber mats, water everywhere, went cold, annoying 30sec button, - $50 key deposit is over the top and unusual. - Did not feel safe.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry staff can't be everyones parents in the hostel and constantly tell people to be tidy. You were in a room with 3 sets of twin plug sockets , enough by most standards.

60%

You don´t feel very welcome if you arrive the silver fern hostel. Perhaps it was because I was too early for check-in. I met a very bored staff member at the reception who even didn´t look up to me when I arrived but continued reading his book. After I introduced myself he answered very shortly that check-in is at 11 am. I was suprised that he agreed to store my luggage. But when I asked for the free WIFI which is promised at the homepage he told me that I´ll get the PIN for that at 11 am but...

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Way overpriced. Staff is not friendly. Washroom didn't even lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Booking at the last minute on the day Australia v's NZ at cricket you were lucky to even have a bed. Next time book earlier when big events are happening in Auckland.

40%

It is a shame how expensive is for what you get. Every morning we got to look for a bowl or a mug, people in the backpacker are so unrespectful with the others. There is only one light switcher in each room, no space for your stuffs. AND THEY LIE--> They say on internet FREE BREAKFAST it is just tea bags and instant discount coffee ! The staff is very rude, and last but not least, they ask you to pay if you want to leave your luggages for the day, even if you stayed there for a few days !!!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Summertime is an expensive time, Foo fighters brought in a lot of people for the concerts. We only say Free Breakfast on the internet, during winter months. Most places charge for luggage, airports, train stations, bus stations etc.

57%

Didn't Like the place much, had decent people in it but the owner seemed hardly interested in his guests. Signs around telling you you'll be fined for doing x,y or z. Proof of address? 10 dollars please. Stash your bags here for a few hours? 4 dollars. Wait in the hostel until your flight leaves? pay the day rate. All/Most entertainment facilities are off limits after 10. 50$ key deposit on top of it all. Facilities are fine for hostel standards. Staff was pretty pleasant, as the guests

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
With out rules you have anarchy, you must hate flying with all the rules they have at airports nowadays.

40%

We stayed here just one night. Booked room for 2 ppl in 4 bed shared room but got separated into 2 rooms with 4 ppl. Reception was either empty (lady was cleaning hostel facilities) or queued with waiting backpackers. Hostel was dirty and ugly, located in loud area so forget about good sleep. I was sleeping on upper twin bed and didnt have stairs to my bed, so I had to climb through my neighbours bed. This hostel should not hold the name of NZ national symbol - silverfern. Sorry :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Booking dorm beds doesn't mean you will always be in the same room. You booked the last 2 4 bed dorm beds very late on a very busy weekend. You will find all city hostels are noisy at the weekend, because people like to come to the city to party. The Kiwi bird is actually NZ national symbal.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(204 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback