Hostelworld.com

Silverfern Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
Silverfern Backpackers Located at 234 Hobson Street, , Auckland.
Silverfern Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1010 234 Hobson Street
71% 546
-36.8536342 174.7589206
Silverfern Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
10.0

I had an Excellent stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Had a super but short time here, staff were super helpful and friendly. Hostel is in good location one of the closest hostels to Sky Bus Terminal. Rooms were painted nice, lounge was warm and they have ovens for proper cooking in the kitchen. Other guests were friendly and they get a lot of people with cars and campervans staying here as they are the only hostel in Auckland with a carpark. This is good as I was able to get a lift heading South. Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
2.0

I felt scammed. Initially I booked for one night at the 8dorm, but I wanted to extends one more. After asking to the receptionist if there were beds available at the 12dorm, she said the dorm was full. I checked in hostelworld and it wasn't. I extended to one more night thru HW, and the next day when I went to pay, the owner told me that I had to pay the 50% more because the prices in HW are just for newcomers. Unbelievable. If you book directly to the recepcion, by call, or you want to extend,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
5.7

Horrible place. The sheets were thin af, the atmosphere was weird, couches and beds were old and some falling apart, and they tried to charge you for literally everything (they try to sell you mugs at reception and there are fines for SO MANY THINGS), which came off as a bit hostile. Would not stay here again, rather spend some extra money and stay somewhere else. They also don't have free wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • laurilarjo
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st May 2016
5.7

Its a cheap place so I didn't expect too much, but I was still left with a negative impression of the place after a few months stay. most of the staff is nice and helpful, except the grumpy owner. The kitchen is equipped poorly with pots and pans about to break up, some ovens and hubs not working, and it's overall really messy all the time. Rooms were fine but just everything is very worn out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
10.0

It was raining very heavily in Auckland and freezing outside, but the Silverfern was warm and cozy inside. Large dorm was nice and clean the bathrooms were modern and spacious. Lots of mirrors and good sinks. The kitchen area is well equipped with utensils and has plenty of fridge space. The staff were fun and helpful, I ended up staying an additional 3 nights since it was such a nice place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.4

Stayed in a 12 bedroom mixed dorm .The hostel is located in a great part of the city with a very cool Irish pub close by that I'd recommend going to The feel of the downstairs is great. A nice feel downstairs, with a courtyard and table soccer, pool table (snooker). Bathrooms are clean. I liked it a lot. It's sleek and clean and the beds are decent. The staff is very friendly and I would go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th May 2016
4.9

Dirty, uncomfortable and noisy. Also, people is partying all the time, all days. And you have to pay for a wifi that works really slowly... Not good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Better than most hostels I have stayed in Auckland, people here talk to each. Staff are helpful, rooms are tidy, price is very cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
3.1

This place felt like a scene from Lord of the Flies except with significantly more alcohol and possibly smellier. If you like juvenile anarchy and a film of something sticky on everything, you'll like this hostel. The guy at the front desk was oblivious to human existence and nearly devoid of any signs of customer service skills. Every few steps offered a new and distinct backpacker stench. Cleaner maitresses can be found in a dumpster. We ran away because everyone was wasted by 8pm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.