Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
5.4

Windows are not proper and outside air comes in all the time. Too hard to stay in winter. Absolutely annoying when you have to stay additional day. The policy of the backpacker is that once you check in and later you cannot book online for another day and they charge $30 for one night which is abolutely not worth it. What is the point on making yourself show on internet when you dont allow to book. Worst service i would say. I would never ever prefer to go in this backpacker again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
9.7

Had a great stay, room was clean, staff were friendly mattresses were good quality, nice warm hostel far better than other places in Auckland. A lot of long term guests stay here so you get the best tips about where to go out at night and places to visit. I will be back again later in the year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
5.4

Not really a hostel it is more designed for long term stays for workers. Place stunk and mattresses were brown, rooms were never cleaned. Place is in desperate need of a refurb and clean. It's very cheap but for a couple quid more you could stay in better hostel we only stayed here due to rugby being on and everything else was taken. Ps.. you have to buy your own mugs...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
6.0

Room was a mess. Boys living there hadn't kept it tidy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Jun 2017
5.4

We booked online before we left from home, and then when we arrived we decided we wanted to stay another night because we were jetlagged and it seemed like a decent place and we didn't want the hassale. After booking online again however our booking was cancelled and the manager tried charging us the full amount not the discounted internet rate and cancelled our booking, we tried explaining we but were promptly kicked out after one night. Boo. Wouldn't speak to us either so we left.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
4.3

I paid top dollar for two nights, but was not able to sleep peacefully for either night. The first night, one of the beds in my room was double booked - the reception had "evicted" one paying guest in favor of another paying guest. Result: ruckus at 3 am. The second night, a group of three or four in Room 20 were unable to enter at 3am because their key wasn't working. They started banging and woke people up. Simple problems - could be solved by having emergency no. I want my money back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
6.3

Staff is very unfriendly and is very clear they dont care at all. Would not stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels on my trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

Ended up staying here for around a week while I sorted my onward journey out. Dorm went from nearly empty to nearly full to nearly empty again. Not a bad place to stay, showers always clean and hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
4.9

Bedding cleanliness was questionable and very old. Dorm stunk and had too many beds in. Bed too close to the door (put the sofa there instead). Only a couple of plug sockets in a 12 bed dorm. Whole place needs an update and a good clean. No lockers in room and no space to put backpack. Miserable guy on checkout and the place had a weird atmosphere all around. Stayed in many budget hostels around the world but this was the worst. Pay a few more dollars and stay somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.