Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.3
Silverfern Backpackers Located at 234 Hobson Street, , Auckland.
Silverfern Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1010 234 Hobson Street
65% 683
-36.8536342 174.7589206
Silverfern Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.9

We booked 2 nights on the website at 25$ and when we ask a third night the price was suddenly 30$.the explanation was "the website is only for find the hostel. The hostel is completely different. It is business." so 30$ for a room in the basement with a kitchen that close at 10pm (and you can't cook after 9.30pm)... So it means if you work late or you are hungry or just thirsty... You are ducked mate. The staff didn't been very friendly... Well we won't recommend it to our friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
6.0

Pros of this hostel. It's the cheapest and you can drink your own alcohol which creates a nice environment to meet people. Cons ,the owner is really rude and isn't helpful at all..you have to pay $2 for a cup, the rooms are really hot and stuffy, lots if people stay long term and makes the rooms stink , it's a block away from the homeless shelters which doesn't make it safe as its a dark street and there was a fight with with 2 drug effected (meth) people who were staying at the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
5.4

One of the dirtiest hostels I've stayed in... the sheets were so threadbare I wasn't entirely sure if they'd been washed or not. On the other hand almost all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly as were all the guests (only the "cleaners" who were fellow backpackers who preferred their phones than work). All the guests I met also agreed that it was a disgusting hostel but the atmosphere made up for it. Seemed a bit of a party hostel but easy to get away from the party if you wanted

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.6

Location good. Clients doing drugs in common areas and toilets. Mattresses and room old and dirty. Warning signs everywhere over what you can't do. General atmosphere not pleasant.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
4.9

The rooms are awful, over crowded and poorly organized. The room we stayed in first had hardly any space for 8 people's stuff. We were then moved rooms into a slightly larger room but we found that the beds had no real ladders. The owner however was helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
4.0

Key deposit is $50! If you pay by card they don't do a block/ take details like everywhere else they make you pay and will give a refund (still waiting for ours). Room and bathroom smelt horrible and bathroom was dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
7.1

For a typical hostel, it is very clean. Updated interior with decent bathrooms. The female staff, who are also travelers living there, keep the areas very clean and are quite friendly. I cant say much for the male staff tho, as none have been friendly enough to even say hello to me. There seems to be a lot of long term travelers, understandable as rentals are expensive in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
5.7

Cheap Hostel/ they just give you the sheets you have to to all the work / facilities weren't the best/ it has to be cheaper for smt. Like that

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
7.1

It's alright. The kitchen a good size and well facilitated Social room is okay, dark, dirty but good size Rooms are very average, thick layer of dirt on the window sill, which is lazy. I took it spoon myself to give it a wipe with the girlfriends make up wipes, it took 30 seconds. So why hasn't anyone done it for a year (ever). Lead for fan didn't reach the plug... Beds and sheets were okay, but well used and everything was rather...thin. Would stay if had nothing else. It's okay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
4.3

Not clean, loud and overcrowded, not enough facilities for number of guests. Internet didn't work for much of our stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.