X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
375 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good cozy hostel to stay in over winter. Good group of people staying there.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Die erste über das Internet gebuchte Nacht kostete 18$ pp, als wir unseren Aufenthalt verlängern wollten sollte das 26$ kosten, auf die Frage ob ich nicht über ein online-Booking für den günstigeren Preis verlängern könnte bekam ich ein unhöfliches "das geht nicht" als Antwort Das Hostel ist gut ausgestattet und ziemlich Sauber, bucht bis zu 3 nächte online für eine günstige Unterkunft ;)

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel is very convenient for city.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks for the nice stay

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place, friendly staff and nice rooms. The location is great, not to close to the main road and not to far away either!


63%

Staff members are friendly. If you discuss at movie room you might trigger a lot of tenants out of their rooms with louder sounds. Wifi signals are bad at ground floor even in the lobby. Because of too much storage (guess a lot of working holiday tenants stay there), the kitchen is not always clean, especially the trash cans.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Lockers for your stuff? WiFi not just in one room? Some more electricity outlets?

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is plenty of shelving in the 4 bed dorm you were in, there is 3 twin power point outlets in the room, more than enough for 4 people. Wi Fi is available throughout the hostel, set your power settings to high on your computer to get the best reception.

31%

Eines der schlechtesten Hostels in Neuseeland. Sehr dreckig, laut, mega heiß, obwohl es draußen nicht warm war. Die Mitarbeiter sind auch nicht gerade freundlich, man wird ohne Info downgegraded (nur auf Nachfrage die Differenz zurück bekommen). Würde ich keinem empfehlen, ich hatte allerdings kaum eine Wahl, da fast alles ausgebucht war. Die anderen Bewertungen sprechen ja auch für sich.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You were one of the worst guests we have had in our hostel, you were drunk ad very rude to the receptionists, disrespectful of the other guests in your dorm. You should be ashamed of yourself.

97%

Over all a great hostel, its just the right size to meet up with people and make friends. Kitchen, and bathrooms very clean. Some of my room mates were untidy but that's not really the hostels fault. Price is good and free wifi is always a bonus.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Probably one of the best city hostels in Auckland. Good social atmostphere you can bring in and drink your own beers unlike Base or Nomads which ban you from doing this. Decent sized hostel you can get to meet people here and have a great time. Staff are fun and keep the place secure and clean.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place and plenty of free wifi

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our Fibre optic wifi is the fastest of all the city hostels. Hope you enjoy the Cook Islands.

97%

Good secure hostel, happy staff and good amenities.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response, hope you will be back later during your travels.

34%

Une horreur, plus jamais. Bruyant, sale, mal fréquenté et l'un des membres du personnel très irrespectueux. Plus jamais !


37%

This is maybe the worst backpacker hostel I ever been too. Positive: Have it´s own kitchen, okay room for sosialising, okay shower and toilet facilities. Negative: Crowded room (6 persons room i stayed in), no system of wich bed is yours, not very clean room, many of the people living there sleeps in different beds, cold water in shower the day I arrived, loud people screaming and shouting all night and morning, internet was down half my stay. Maybe I am just a little to old for this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry rooms were all full as The Eagles Concert was playing the next day. The showers are on instant gas, you just have to let the water run for a minute if it is cold, and then it will be hot. Remember backpackers are mostly for the 18-30 age group.

43%

Great as a last minute accommodation option as everywhere else was booked, relatively cheap, and it had the basics, however: - hardly any wall pugs in the room - Dodgy fan with dodgy cord - Disgusting room, very messy - Poor greeting on arrival, a smile and welcome would be great (and also a nice way to feel welcome and safe). - Showers/bathrooms had no rubber mats, water everywhere, went cold, annoying 30sec button, - $50 key deposit is over the top and unusual. - Did not feel safe.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry staff can't be everyones parents in the hostel and constantly tell people to be tidy. You were in a room with 3 sets of twin plug sockets , enough by most standards.

51%

Very hot in the rooms, bad smell everywhere, 15 mins walk to center and generally not a great atmosphere. Ok for just one night but would definitely recommend another hostel. 50$ key bond!


60%

You don´t feel very welcome if you arrive the silver fern hostel. Perhaps it was because I was too early for check-in. I met a very bored staff member at the reception who even didn´t look up to me when I arrived but continued reading his book. After I introduced myself he answered very shortly that check-in is at 11 am. I was suprised that he agreed to store my luggage. But when I asked for the free WIFI which is promised at the homepage he told me that I´ll get the PIN for that at 11 am but...

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Way overpriced. Staff is not friendly. Washroom didn't even lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Booking at the last minute on the day Australia v's NZ at cricket you were lucky to even have a bed. Next time book earlier when big events are happening in Auckland.

54%

You just get what you pay for. The staff seems to be a bit overburnended with checking in and managing the bookings. You'll need a 10minutes walk to the city, the suburb does not seem to be a very friendly one. I feared a bit going to the hostel at night...


40%

It is a shame how expensive is for what you get. Every morning we got to look for a bowl or a mug, people in the backpacker are so unrespectful with the others. There is only one light switcher in each room, no space for your stuffs. AND THEY LIE--> They say on internet FREE BREAKFAST it is just tea bags and instant discount coffee ! The staff is very rude, and last but not least, they ask you to pay if you want to leave your luggages for the day, even if you stayed there for a few days !!!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Summertime is an expensive time, Foo fighters brought in a lot of people for the concerts. We only say Free Breakfast on the internet, during winter months. Most places charge for luggage, airports, train stations, bus stations etc.

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback