X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Silverfern Backpackers Reviews

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
334 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Accueil moyen. Patron désagréable, comme une bonne partie du personnel! Propreté qui laisse franchement à désirer .. Un peu loin sur hobson street, qu'il faut remonter, en sachant que ce n'est pas la rue la plus funky... Ceci dit ambiance sympa pour les jeunes..


57%

Didn't Like the place much, had decent people in it but the owner seemed hardly interested in his guests. Signs around telling you you'll be fined for doing x,y or z. Proof of address? 10 dollars please. Stash your bags here for a few hours? 4 dollars. Wait in the hostel until your flight leaves? pay the day rate. All/Most entertainment facilities are off limits after 10. 50$ key deposit on top of it all. Facilities are fine for hostel standards. Staff was pretty pleasant, as the guests

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Room was extremely hot and messy cause of some live ins. Not enough power points in the room. Area is a bit dodgy.


37%

Kitchen's dirty, not friendly staff. We stayed for 2nights and when we wanted to book for one more night, they charge us an extra 10nzd, because that's the price for staying just one night. The thing is we stayed 3. I've should have read the comments before booking here, they are right. Auckland is not that big, any other choices are better than this.


26%

So disgusting, there were flies everywhere but especially in the kitchen. Dirty kitchen in general. No toiletpaper, soap etc. Really smelly commonroom. Slept in dorm with a 62-year old alcoholic homeless man. Not recommended for backpackers who plan to meet other backpackers in Auckland.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Stayed in a 12 bed dorm and it was absolutely boiling, one tiny wall fan for 12 people was ridiculous. Staff weren't particularly friendly especially the man on front desk. Not a bad location, 5 min walk onto queen street. Lots of other better hostels to stay in Auckland


89%

Need your earplugs for this one is you want to get any sleep. Start of the motorway is very close so there is endless traffic for about 20 hours/day and the guests party into the early hours with no consideration for others.


69%

Decent hostel for what you pay. Location is good if you'll be walking around downtown or to nearby sites; easy walk down the hill to Britomart. Lots of long term people who have their own cliche going. Be prepared to have to elbow your way through the mass of smokers to get in or out of the hostel. Bathrooms and kitchen are kept clean and the kitchen has all the basics for making a meal. A little noisy, but to be expected of a backpackers.


97%

Fun hostel to be in. Plenty of good vibes here.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to start of your travels in New Zealand. Manager is very knowledgeable about N.Z. Hostel is fairly central to most things, only short walk to bus terminal Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, other guests very nice.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel it self was ok. People at the hostel where nice and lots of friendly travellers. They had a very poor wifi system that you only get 3 hours free and after that you must pay $5 for another 3 hours every time you run out. The staff are rude and lack the very basic of customer service. Had to have an argument with one of the staff who tried to charge me twice for a late arrival fee. And then proceeded to try lecture me on my ways of travel. Would never stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


80%

Stood there 2 nights... considering how i hate hostels in big cities this one was quite okay... not to big, a hangout area where u can have some beers and talk to people...seemed to be quite secure too... price of 26NZD for a 12doorm seems decent... the basement room with the tiny window was a bit noise though, caus the window is towards the road and there is a strange deep sound going in the night...


80%

Hatten ein Zweibettzimmer mit Doppelbett Regal 2 Sessel und lcd TV. Also das Zimmer war sauber und Extras wie Kissen und decken gab es ohne Probleme auf Anfrage. Die Küche ist zu klein für die hostel größe, 3 kochmöglichkeiten bei manchmal bis zu 26 Personen in der Küche waren echt zu klein fur die hostel größe. negativ Punkt 50 $ Schlüssel Pfand. Rückgabe nach abreise via Kreditkarte mit Glück, bekamen unsere erste Tage später nach Anfrage warum sie nicht auf dem Konto ist.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Grosse auberge de jeunesses, beaucoup de passages donc pas toujours très propre (cuisine, douches, matelas) Bien situé à 5 minutes du centre à pied. casiers payants ...


57%

Was the last dorm room that was left in akl. Paid a horrendous price 34$ for a four bed dorm. My top bunk had no ladder to climb up which made it very difficult to reach my bed. Staff was unfriendly and disorganised. Internet didnt work. Bathrooms are very dirty. Kitchen is way too small and poorly equipped. The people who stayed in the hostel were fun. Wouldnt recommdend this hostel.


71%

In Flyern werben sie mit free breakfast und free wi-fi. Ich habe einen Zettel bekommen, mit 1GB freies Internet. Ich wollte es mir einteilen, also checke ich nur facebook, e-mails usw und nach 1 Stunde funktioniert gar nichts mehr. Also die Aufsparung umsonst. Auch war da kein Pool Table, wie es in der Anzeige stand. Und als ich spaeter am Tag kam, musste ich eine fee zahlen, weil die Rezeption eigentlich geschlossen ist. Von der fee wurde aber nirgends etwas erwaehnt, was ich unverschaemt finde

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Overall a great hostel, clean and tidy, good kitchen and guest facilities. Fast wi-Fi , helpful staff and a hostel with a carpark.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Do yourself a favour and just do not stay here. Unless you have no expectations or standards. Rooms are disgusting, they stink, they're dingy, they are awfully messy with belongings everywhere. No room to even put your bag let alone lockers for them. People seem to stay there long term and do no tidy up after themselves. Bathrooms are like a dirty old school gym changing room. Soap and paper towels non existant. Man at reception unhelpful and have to wait around to be served. I could go on...


49%

Not an enjoyable stay

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The hostel is very dirty. The bathroom at the below level is full of pees and all what is humanly possible to leave.


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback