X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sinbad Hostel Reviews

Kucuka yasofya Mah. Demirci Resit sk., No3-5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
120 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Has an amazing location, near of the center and the mosques. The cleanning is not wow but its ok. The receptionist is really nice and helpful, the rooms are not so confortable. If you are in a cheap trip this is your hostel.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location but not very clean. The staff was great and very nice but their was not a lot of mingling with other guests.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

In terms of location, the hostel is great -- it's right near all the main sights. But the bathrooms were unbelievably filthy. The walls have big holes in them where there's dust and dirt falling out, and some kind of ventilation or wires? The showers were dirty, cracked tiles, mud tracked all over the floor. They weren't cleaned in the 5 days we were there. The bedrooms were reasonably clean, but there was only one plug for 6 people, and it was hanging precariously out of the wall.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Location is perfect and stuff is very friendly, but everything else leaves much to be desired. Bathroom had a broken tap, leaking sink, loose shelves... rooftop bar has a great view but steep prices (during our stay nobody was ever there). Windows didn't really close/open, one window didn't even have curtains so the sun was shining into our faces every day for 7am on. All in all the place is ok if your plan is to be sightseeing the whole time but it's not a place to chill and meet people.


57%

the room was wrecked. the stream of water was sometimes burst and sometimes the water was weak. there were electricity exposed. the blanket was scratchy. the stairs were hard to climb with the bags. the room was close to a pub of the hotel and the sound of prayers kept us awake.


91%

Very nice place where you feel good !

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

There is only one plug in 6 beds room. What??? How could charge my phone... And steal bunker was made much noises when people climb the ladder.


86%

Stayed here for a night. Arrived at 7am, and the staff kindly let me check in early coz my bed was empty. Just needed to wait about 1 hour so I won't disturb the other guest who were still sleeping. While waiting at the common area, they gave me tea for free, truly turkish hospitality. Bed was okay. Linen is a bit old but clean. Cleanliness could be better, especially for shower and toilet. Stayed in 6bed dorm, room felt a bit damp and lack of air circulation. However all staff are very nice


34%

This place was disgusting. There was hair and dirt all over the seemingly 25+ year old mattress. I took one look at the filthy bed and bathroom and left immediately. Spend $5 more and stay at Taksim Sopha in Taksim. It's much cleaner with a better location and atmosphere.


40%

Although it is a budget hostel, cleanliness and security was an issue. Waking up; no toilet paper or soap available to wash my hands. There are no lockers within the room to put your things when you leave the room and are staying with other people. Finally, there is only one key for the whole room which can be inconvenient.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Staff and location are good (close by to attractions, restaurants etc). I stayed in a 6 dorm room, there was only 1 key for 6 people so not very practical or secure. Not so much of an atmosphere, they promote a cafe on the rooftop but it was empty, only staff watching tv. The cleanliness was less than average, bathrooms were disgusting. Wifi works so-so, almost non-existent in the dorm. No common room or kitchen really, some tables inside and outside (good for smokers :))


66%

The hostel is located very near the attractions but it can be quite a bit scary to return back to the hostel at night. The cleanliness is acceptable.


80%

Very good location. Nice and welcoming staff. Good value for money. Wifi wasnt working very good in the room.


89%

Simple but the value for money is great. Clean, good bed. staff was helpful


97%

Good place to meet people from other countries, sit, speak and drink apple tea. :) The best crew- more than good friends than just a workers-they will help with anything. Deffinately place to come back. :) Location perfect for those who enjoy walking around historical areas.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I would say the hostel has everything to offer what traveller actually wanted; warm hospitality and needed guidance. Very importantly I like Its location; centre and just walking distance to all important places;and the food nearby hostel is so cheaper and good that anyone going there could not stop eating :) I am happy to be in Sinbad.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
49%

awful facilities and cleanliness

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I am very confused because place is great, very close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and others. Spectacular view from the roof. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Should be kept better standard of cleaning. Breakfast is always the same what is terrible. The owner has to improve everything if he wants to still exist. Good luck !


91%

Everything is exellent but we can't use terrace all day except in the morning


40%

I did not like my stay in Sinbad hostel, unfortunately. Even if it is hostel, the conditions should be confortable and clean for stay. I booked private room and I couldnt stand the smell of sewage, the bathroom was in a very bad condition, no warm water from tap, the shower was broken. What to say about the room with no conditions. It didnt worth the price I paid. I do not recommend this hostel.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tajikistan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback