Hostelworld.com

Sir Cedric's Fox Glacier Pod Hostel & Inn

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Feb 2017
3.4

The only thing I can rate well is the location, other than that I don't have anything good to say about!! Kitchen is filthy, what ever few cooking pots are burned and stoves are dirty, drying clothes are filthy, seems not changed for days. My bed squeaks every time I turn, whole bunk shakes when someone moves. Curtains hanging off and carpet are dirty, I don't even want to look behind the bed!! One of the worst hostel I stayed ever!! I chose it because of good rating!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
3.1

This hostel vastly overcharges.The welcome did not meet high NZ standards.Bedding was clean but the rest of the room needed a really good clean.Showers and toilets weren't but the kitchen and dining area left a lot to be desired.Filthy tea towels left around, surfaces not cleaned thoroughly,implements, pans etc old and impossible to bring up to a reasonable hygienic standard.Recreation and dining area inadequate for the number of guests.$300 charged for a double room for 2 people for 2 nights.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
4.3

Not made to feel welcome. Room for 4 far too small. Bunks squeaky metal. Good point, several sockets for phone chargers in lounge aeas

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
6.0

The bad: The kitchen was very dysfunctional. Most of the stoves did not work. The free soup was pretty gross. The wifi was not worth using. Many of the outlets in my room did not work. The good: The rooms were very cozy. Nice location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

The free breakfast isn't much more than toast and cornflakes but it is sufficent. There is free soup in the evenings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Jan 2017
7.7

Location great, walk to glacier is lovely if you are car-less. Atmosphere not great if solo, but free breakfast and hot tub a bonus. Not all the dorms have pod beds! No sockets, curtain ect would have been fine but really tiny room, barely enough space for backpacks and creakiest most noisy bunks I have ever seen. Couldn't move without the whole thing sounding like it would collapse for a solid minute. Don't think I slept at all for fear of being crushed when it broke!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
4.0

Toilets downstairs were never clean. Manly staff was rude and didnt want to have a decent converstation about how we experienced the way they approached US. Rooms are Tiny, beds are shaky and the window was too small. Not worth 50$. Musical of the bar was too loud for too long and you could hear it almost everywhere in the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed thisbhostel. The pod beds add some privacy and it was really well thought out how there was space for bags in the room. The check in staff were awesome. Sadly they told me about few soup for dinner but it was gone when I went up, and there was also supposed to be breakfast which was not out yet at 730. As my coach was early I do not know what time breakfast starts. The place was clean and comfortable. All in all I was happy and would stay again. Oh and there is a hot tub!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.1

we stayed and ground floor, so you can hear the walking sounds from upper floor while u sleep . Other than that the hostel its value for money .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jan 2017
4.6

I was really disappointed with this place! After driving for more than 4 hours and wanting to rest, I had to wake up several times during the night to ask people that were shouting in the corridor to shut up and let people sleep. When I woke up in the morning the bathrooms and the corridor were a mess since someone threw up everywhere! Maybe this is not normal in this place and I was the unlucky one but it really was a bad experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.