Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st May 2017
7.4

Nice hostel good location 5min walk to city centre. Our room was more like a shed. For using all facilities we had to go to the main house. Tuesday free Chili con carne and the daily soup was three days the same. But you can borrow free towels and hairdryer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.0

Great place but in winter, the outside rooms need better bedding. I was cold even with the heater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th May 2017
8.9

Great hostel situated very close to centre of Queenstown. Relaxed and staff very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Apr 2017
6.3

We were staying 3 nights over there. Our room was at outside of the building and was a bit far from the toilets and other facilities. The cleanliness and tidiness of toilets and kitchen can be improved. The kitchen was small and the equipment was old and not sufficient. The location is alright.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
2.0

Overbooked the hostel and only let us know 2 days before. Therefore all accommodation was booked up in Queenstown. No effort was made to find us alternative accommodation, despite promises to do so and we were not contacted after my request. Rude staff on the phone at Cedrics although the receptionist at Bungee was more polite, but still unhelpful. I understand it was a system glitch, however this was not any fault of ours and yet no effort was made to rectify the mistake. Poor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Apr 2017
3.4

Very dirty. The filthy sheets, the grimy floors, the bathrooms were all disgusting. Everything stank like mould. Decayed items lying around the bathrooms. So unhygienic I couldn't wait to get out of there. Yuck.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.3

Not sure why, it should be a nice hostel, but the people I shared room with are always messy and smelly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Apr 2017
4.0

The only positives about this hostel was the staff and the friendly cat. It's dirty as! The room I was in was covered in alcohol bottles, old food and People's stuff! It smelled so bad! The toilets and showers were nasty and the kitchen wasn't nice either. The hostel seems full of long term stayers who weren't friendly at all. You feel like an intruder. And the partying and noise went on all night and the front door never gets locked, so people walked right in at all hours. Bad place!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
4.6

Good location causes an issue with parking Value was low but expect what you pay for as they need a big upgrade to bring it up to par with other hostels around New Zealand Room was smelly with wet carpets Avoided the kitchen and bathrooms as much as possible

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
6.3

Getting a little old and tired - it turns out that for about the same $$ I could've stayed somewhere a lot newer and modern - however I enjoyed my stay anyway 😄

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.