X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers Reviews

15 Sydney Street, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
154 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Overall had a good stay here, nice chilled hostel only a 5 minute walk down a hill to the centre of town . Compared to Base, where you have to pay for wi-fi and aren't allowed alcohol this hostel is much more relaxed. However there are no lockers so you have to be pretty trusting and the wi-fi causes redirection to some spam sites.


91%

I stayed her only for one night but was so impressed by the room, it was very clean and welcoming! The staff were really friendly and helpful and it had great vibes!

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to stay, friendly staff and good quality for the price! There should be some warning that there is a cat that wondering the facilities in case of allergies or anything. It did wonder into my room once when a roommate left the door open (wasn't happy about that). Toilets and showers could be cleaner, too. Aside from that its close to down town and well heated in the winter!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Place was grand for one night.. When I raised I stood at reception for awhile before anyone aknowledged me but that was grand like they were busy trying to clean the rooms. Anyways the twin room was tidy ya just had enough space to put your bag down.. Not open it and pull things out.. Its good for people who like to party as at 4 am there was a lot and I mean alot of banging and crashing shouting from the hall and next door room. Staff were helpful and friendly

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Cute and cozy

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Pool was not working, heaters didn't really work and no lockers...but it was comfortable. Although it was full every night, there was little atmosphere, I had to get people to,drink or to chat...otherwise everyone had their head in their phones...maybe get some more organised things as a hostel


49%

This place should be avoided unless you're smashed all the time & don't mind sleeping somewhere as comfortable as an old couch. Good: free wifi & soup. Bad: really uncomfortable sagging noisy bunk beds with no support, messy dirty kitchen with overfilled fridges, tiny toilets (some without sinks) with wet floors and a huge hole in the wall covered with paper, cold bedroom with just a duvet & no bed sheets or extra blankets, loud & inconsiderate guests.


83%

Overall a very enjoyable stay. Free soup at night, friendly helpful staff, good atmosphere and easy to meet people at night, a fun pub crawl on Tuesday night and good location. Boiler room padlock wasn't secure and shower drains were blocked were the only negatives.


91%

The staff were awesome. Really liked this place and I would definitely book again.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great social environment! The hostel has a family feel where everyone hangs out with everyone. They organize group bar crawls that are free and are an awesome time. Free hot soup every night which is a huge bonus. The building is older and in mid winter a few of the rooms can get a little cold, and the limited amounts of plug-ins in rooms is a bit of a downer but other than that this hostel has everything you need. The people who run it are great!


86%

Friendly staff, could maybe do with new frying pans. But very quiet at night whilst still being in town and a good selection of films.


80%

Definitely a party hostel but most amazing place to meet people, drinks every night, many movies to choose from and an amazing atmosphere. HOT TUB DOES NOT WORK AND HAS NOT BEEN WORKING FOR A WHILE!


80%

Good hostel. Location from central queenstown is not great, but the friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere made Up for it.


74%

Really helpful awesome staff, loved the free soup too, wifi had a heap of popups though, and didn't love having to walk outside from the main area to my room

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Unreal time, staff had great banter which was a bonus

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The atmosphere and staff were great and really nice and helpful. The setup of the building was inconvenient with most rooms outside of the main building and mattress wasn't very comfortable. But overall great backpackers place and the atmosphere made it a lot better.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Helpful staff, good atmosphere!


86%

I checked in on a snowy afternoon and my booking was upgraded for no cost from 4 bed dorm to private room, thanks to the lady in charge.The stay was pleasant.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Was very nice. They have a alcohol curfew at 10pm which I found quite nice since it avoids drunk loud people in the hostel. Very cosy common room and eating room. Room was nice, too bad there was only one plug for the room though. I really liked the decoration and the free soup every night at 6.


31%

The place just wasn't clean, there were no cups to use for tea and in the middle of the night there was a fight in the dorm, I was able to sleep only 3 hours. I will never stay there again.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback