Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motels Located at 8-10 Cron Street, , Franz Josef.
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motels
New Zealand
Franz Josef 7856 8-10 Cron Street
82% 552
-43.3893470 170.1834583
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jun 2016
6.0

We arrived and they told us that they had us booked in a 6 bed room even though we booked a 4 bed room. They ended up giving us a discount and kept us in the 6 bed room because the hot water was not running in half the hostel. The pool was out as well for the same problem. They had pretty good soup though at 6pm for free which was nice. Breakfast/ coffee/tea were also free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Great place. Staff very friendly and helpful. There wasn't much atmosphere when we stayed but it was winter so it is expected. Perfect location for all of the walks around Franz Josef, shops and bus stop nearby. The free soup and breakfast added bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place.. I had a pretty epic 3 days there, very comfortable place and even when it rains all day there are things to do!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th May 2016
7.7

Great location. Older hostel but had that 80s ski-lodge kind of feel. Private rooms were old but well kept.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2016
8.0

Good little hostel, stayed in private room with ensuite - basic but fine. Soup on arrival good. Kitchen a bit grubby. Over all a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
7.4

If you're 21, this hostel is awesome. I wouldn't stay again though. My room (stables) had a little common room, which was where the party was from about 8p to 1am. The vibe of the place is great if you're social, or want to be. Downside: I was there on a rainy night in April. As there was a party in my room, I went to the lobby to chill. It has great couches, but was FREEZING. And the kitchen is seriously gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
9.4

friendly stuff, a lot of things included in price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
6.3

The bed I was in had a rafter about a foot above it on one side so I hit my head on it a couple times during the night. The room that the toilet was in was tiny so the toilet was about a foot away from the wall. I couldn't even use it...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.3

A good hostel with comfy, clean rooms. It also has sociable common areas and a basic free breakfast (also free soup at night). It's in a prime position for access to the glacier and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are basic and could be a bit cleaner but that's a small criticism. Recommended for budget travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

Great value for money, free wifi, free soup and pastries in the evening, free breakfast - the only thing you needed to buy was lunch. Some good facilities, spa pool etc and the vibe is also nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.