Hostelworld.com

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers Located at 4 Isle St, Queenstown, Queenstown.
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown South Island 9300 4 Isle St, Queenstown
81% 472
-45.0301560 168.6584910
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.3

unfortunately I was in a room with long term residents it was messy and smelly and the beds aren't very good. The plug sockets are not secure and not enough having only 2 in a 6 person bedroom. The kitchen is not well designed to get around and too small. however the staff tried to be helpful by making the people tidy their stuff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

Great spot, cool people, and good vibes. Easy access to city, comfy and great showers. You'll have a good time at Southern Laughter!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Highly recommend this place for anybody staying in Queenstown. We also stayed at Nomads, which was very young and loud. Sir Cedrics had a much more laid back atmosphere (less of a party vibe) and provided free soup for dinner each night. The beds were cozy and there were bathrooms in each shared dorm. The cabins were nice and there is a jacuzzi for guests to use. The staff was helpful in recommending activities, and the location was really close to the gondola and Ben Lomond track.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • claudia_wollmann1821
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.3

Good hostel, good vibe. Staff was very nice. Place is right beside the bus stop. The room I staid in had no bunk beds which was awesome but very messy. restroom was very dirty and the kitchen was dirty too. Wouldnt stay longer than a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
9.1

Free soup! This hostel was one of my favorites for atmosphere. I arrived not knowing anyone and left with 8 new mates from my 8 bed dorm. It was a really fun place to stay and get meet some people to experience Queenstown's famous night life. But it was also easy to have a quiet chill night in if needed, people were really respectful. It definitely isn't the cleanest or nicest hostel I've stayed in as it's an older place, but I really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Linalina96
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.4

I really liked the hostel! It's very "homefriendly" with a tv with free movies, free popcorn and free soup everyday :) and ofc free wifi! :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jolie_lawrence2207
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.3

Nice hostel very close to the centre of town. Stayed in a twin room which was a bunk bed without any frills (no furniture otherwise in room), towel provided. Separate bathroom was very damp and cramped. Communal hangout spaces small and not particularly well equipped - everyone seemed to sit around watching TV. Free soup each night in the kitchen. A satisfactory but in no way outstanding hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 81 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.6

Great location. Our double room was a bargain and very nice. Shower next door was great too. Staff were also helpful and friendly. Only downside is that anyone can just walk in off the street to use the facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.3

I didn't like my room. I had to go trough the TV room all the time to reach the bathroom. People lying on the ground so you have to step over them. Pretty awkward

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
6.0

The nice thing was the staff was very friendly. They had free soup the day we came. Being able to watch a movie in the lounge was great. The bed wasn't comfortable and the pillow worthless. The bathroom in the dorm wasn't clean but the one in the lobby was. That could be a classic case of bad roommates. Didn't smell good, hard to sleep. The other dorms seemed to be nicer. It was fully booked maybe we caught them at a bad time. Not a 8.0 hostel but good environment and location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.