X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Ski Haus Reviews

Carroll St, PO Box 79 National Park, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
21 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

We booked ski haus but when we arrived there is no one (not even staff) in it. We need to call the staff and their reply was they moved everything to YHA and asked us to walk to YHA. However, we gave another phone call because it's quite impossible for us to transit with our broken luggage under the big rain. There's a Chinese staff whos very helpful and agreed to drive us there.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

No heater in the communal areas, one electrical plug for 8 beds dorm room, Wifi too expensive, far from the bus stop,... I forgot something but they never reply to my emails. Definitly the worst hostel where I have been!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A lot things can be clarified for your comments: 1)If you look down in your room, you should found 2 plugs close to heater. If you look for more than that, we can offer you the extension on your request. 2) You can spot bus stop from our window. Intercity bus stop is just in front of us, though not Naked bus or other bus you chose with. 3) Never reply to your email?! I still have sent-out copies of my replies to you in my email box. We had more to say, felt sorry for the comments like this

80%

No lockers About a 5 min drive to the national park Very friendly and helpful staff, was very busy while we were there, so sometimes we waited a while for someone at reception. Super calm hostel, quiet and chill. Fireplace was awesome to warm up to. Fairly clean bathrooms and kitchen. Excellent value for money.


86%

Budget accommodation does not have to have a cheap mattress. The mattresses on the beds were ready for renewal. Although adequate for a short stay the Ski Haus stood out in the area as being shabby and will need some money spent on it soon. As the property is aimed at a younger adult the internet access will need to be improved.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

It was all good except the showers - bad pressure and for a tall person a bit of a nightmare.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Tongariro National Park Hostels

Please give us your feedback