Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Skye Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
Skye Backpackers Located at Kyleakin, , Isle of Skye.
Skye Backpackers
Scotland
Isle of Skye IV41 8PH Kyleakin
78% 474
57.2723611 -5.7304000
Skye Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Sep 2016
6.6

Well situated for lots of walks around Skye. Ended up in 8 bed caravan despite booking into 10 bed dorm room. Disorganised staff given high turn around rate resulting in staff member sleeping in one of our beds on the first night. Only other bed available was in with three men (we were a group of three girls) and my friend didn't want to take that bed so opted to sleep on the floor of our room. Hostel not only refused to refund her a night's stay but were also very unapologetic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tamarakerr
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.7

Was a cheap easy hostel to stay at. Beds weren't the most comfortable but shouldn't expect too much from hostels. Breakfast was well priced and great location across from the water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
8.9

Great place to stay to visit the Island All you need for a short stay Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel, nice place to base yourself when exploring Skye. Staff were great, really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
4.9

Information sent on the booking confirmation didn't mach the actual situation. Woman at the reception was unwilling to rectify the errors. So I have lost my deposit but refused to stay there. Found much better accomodation few buildings down the road. Would not recomend the place unless one big disappointment is what you are looking for!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
2.0

Horrible experience, I was booked for two nights but only stayed one. Unusually late check in, no luggage storage available anywhere in the hostel. My room was a caravan in the garden. It smelled of mold and the roof leaked when it rained. The lights outside the caravan and on the outdoor toilet weren't working during the night so you walk in the dark. The indoor toilet has a hole in the floor patched with duct tape. Staff was very unwilling to offer assistance or a refund for my second night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

Grungy, but good. Friendly staff and a good location just over the bridge

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pieromarlia
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.1

The Spanish hostel manager was a very friendly, fun and cool girl who helped us in everything. The hostel could be a bit cleaner but it was sufficiently clean overall. The location is right past the Skye Bridge in the nice town of Kyleakin which is good on a sunny day and convenient to reach by car or bus The only minor disappointment was that the washing machine got broken and we couldn´´t wash our clothes - this didn´t trigger a discount unfortunately.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.4

My experience at the hospital was very good. I am fortunate to play some music With Daniela and the gal at reception ( I 'm sorry I don't have her name) attempted to meet my every need. The hostel was busy and the clothes washer was broken which put some extra stress on to her explaining to the guests, but she was very gracious about it .The accommodations were a bit cramped, and the Internet dodgy, but I rested well and enjoyed visiting with other hostelers. thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
4.0

We were not told that we would be staying in a trailer and that the toilets were not within the same physical structure, and there was no wifi in the trailer. Unacceptable to not have known this beforehand. The other major problem was the overcrowding. 4 toilets for what could have been 50 people is woefully inadequate (on our second night they allowed tents in the yard so who knows how many it was). Abysmal location for seeing Skye (do NOT stay in kyleakin without a car).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.