Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Skye Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Skye Backpackers Located at Kyleakin, , Isle of Skye.
Skye Backpackers
Scotland
Isle of Skye IV41 8PH Kyleakin
84% 418
57.2723611 -5.7304000
Skye Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Skye Backpackers is pleasantly informal, comfortable, budget accommodation, in a great location, which is also a good jumping-off point for the rest of Skye. It did get a bit hectic at meal-times, but not impossibly so. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
5.1

The dorm was in a glorified caravan that smelt demp and made our clothes smell damp. It had no toilet, you had to head outside for a toilet in a shed. Confusing which doors they lock after 10pm. The showers light sensor turned off every 15-30 seconds. There are only 4 showers so exspect long ques. The hand soap was waterd down. The building is horriblely layed out and nothing except the kitchen and communal area is convenient. Everything looks like it refurbishing. Only the bare minimum is done.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kerli4065
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.0

On the morning of my supposed arrival they wrote me about double booking and that I need to find a new place to stay. The whole island was basically fully booked and it wasn't easy. I think they should have located me to another place. Wasn't very happy about the situation and bad experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.9

The staff were wonderful. Very helpful in planning Skye activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tommytommy
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Very friendly welcome, lovely hostel full of wee personal touches and things on the wall, well stocked kitchen although we ate at the hotel round the corner which is definitely recommended. Stayed in a double bunk room which was cosy but comfy. The drying room was excellent and well needed! Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Loved it here! Kyleakin is small, but right on the water and so beautiful! The hostel was clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful. We were actually staying in a caravan outside of the main building, which was quirky but actually quite lovely, located close to a washroom and meant no curfew! Would definitely go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
4.9

The building is old and worn out. Beds in the caravan is good, but should habe been more clearly stated when you book. Staff is nice, but could not help with the easiest of things, such as bus tables and how to get to Glasgow. Wifi was OK, as always a bit on and off at hostels. No wifi in the caravan, which was bad. Too few power outlers both in house and in the caravan. Kyleakin is in the middle of nowhere – DO NOT GO THERE WITHOUT A RENTAL CAR. Then a day trip of the island is better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
7.7

Great hostel, but could use for toilets. The morning was inconvenient with the lines for every toilet and sink

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.6

The dormitory wars stinking of sweat which made it not very pleasant to sleep there. Otherways everything was very nice. Nice staff, clean kitchen, nice atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
9.1

I really really loved my stay at Skye. The people are great, the staff was so helpful, and you really can't beat the view! Wifi was a little spotty, but that's to be expected in Skye. I would definitely come back, experience was magical.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.