Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Skye Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Skye Backpackers Located at Kyleakin, , Isle of Skye.
Skye Backpackers
Scotland
Isle of Skye IV41 8PH Kyleakin
81% 447
57.2723611 -5.7304000
Skye Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Aug 2016
2.0

Horrible experience, I was booked for two nights but only stayed one. Unusually late check in, no luggage storage available anywhere in the hostel. My room was a caravan in the garden. It smelled of mold and the roof leaked when it rained. The lights outside the caravan and on the outdoor toilet weren't working during the night so you walk in the dark. The indoor toilet has a hole in the floor patched with duct tape. Staff was very unwilling to offer assistance or a refund for my second night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

Grungy, but good. Friendly staff and a good location just over the bridge

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pieromarlia
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.1

The Spanish hostel manager was a very friendly, fun and cool girl who helped us in everything. The hostel could be a bit cleaner but it was sufficiently clean overall. The location is right past the Skye Bridge in the nice town of Kyleakin which is good on a sunny day and convenient to reach by car or bus The only minor disappointment was that the washing machine got broken and we couldn´´t wash our clothes - this didn´t trigger a discount unfortunately.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.4

My experience at the hospital was very good. I am fortunate to play some music With Daniela and the gal at reception ( I 'm sorry I don't have her name) attempted to meet my every need. The hostel was busy and the clothes washer was broken which put some extra stress on to her explaining to the guests, but she was very gracious about it .The accommodations were a bit cramped, and the Internet dodgy, but I rested well and enjoyed visiting with other hostelers. thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
4.0

We were not told that we would be staying in a trailer and that the toilets were not within the same physical structure, and there was no wifi in the trailer. Unacceptable to not have known this beforehand. The other major problem was the overcrowding. 4 toilets for what could have been 50 people is woefully inadequate (on our second night they allowed tents in the yard so who knows how many it was). Abysmal location for seeing Skye (do NOT stay in kyleakin without a car).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.9

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, but it is really cute and can be a great place to breath fresh air. Staff are really loud at night so they dont respect the travelers. But the atmosphere is great, and the kitchen too with facilities. There is a bad smell in all the hostel which is really irritating

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
7.4

Great staff, but you can't rely on public transportation on the island

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Skye Backpackers is pleasantly informal, comfortable, budget accommodation, in a great location, which is also a good jumping-off point for the rest of Skye. It did get a bit hectic at meal-times, but not impossibly so. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
5.1

The dorm was in a glorified caravan that smelt demp and made our clothes smell damp. It had no toilet, you had to head outside for a toilet in a shed. Confusing which doors they lock after 10pm. The showers light sensor turned off every 15-30 seconds. There are only 4 showers so exspect long ques. The hand soap was waterd down. The building is horriblely layed out and nothing except the kitchen and communal area is convenient. Everything looks like it refurbishing. Only the bare minimum is done.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kerli4065
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.0

On the morning of my supposed arrival they wrote me about double booking and that I need to find a new place to stay. The whole island was basically fully booked and it wasn't easy. I think they should have located me to another place. Wasn't very happy about the situation and bad experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.