X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Reviews

100 meters north from the bus stop, or 100 meters east from the Super Compro, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
458 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice place. Owner is friendly and keen to help out. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good for travelling on a budget, it's got a good kitchen you can use.


54%

it's clean and near the bus stop. tour booking is efficient and the family is very nice. breakfast is ok. but I found that it lacked atmosphere and it has no real communal area to chill


80%

Nice Family, good location, quiet hostel, lots of information about tours etc provided and good place to meet other backpackers!!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The man at the front desk wasn't as friendly as I was used to and there was loud music playing all night, but the facilities were great.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

As a whole the experience great. One of the nights we stayed here bunch of bugs came out of a hole in wall. Using the kitchen was awkward because it felt like the family's space. Overall was clean and owner was great.


100%

Stay here! Ronny and his family are very welcoming and helpful with everything, especially planning activities in monteverde and the surrounding areas. The hostel is great-- hot showers, clean, big bathrooms, fully stocked kitchen, breakfast includes fresh fruit, granola, eggs, toast and coffee. Felt very secure and there were also lockers in the rooms.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good Hostel, the staff was very helpful! I recommend.


97%

Out of all of the hostels I've stayed at In Costa Rica, this was by far the best hostel. The room has more of a hotel feel to it. It was clean, had nice beds, nice bathrooms (with warm showers!) and a great breakfast included. It is located right in the middle of everything -- a short walk from the bus station and a short walk to restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helped book a zip lining tour and night hike. Breakfast included coffee, granola, fruit, eggs, and toast. It was Awesome.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

For the most part we enjoyed our stay at Sleepers. It is in a great location, the room was clean (we got a twin private), and breakfast was provided. The only thing we had to comment on was that the owner was a little pushy when it came to what zip-lining excursion we should do, not overly so, I just noticed that he was trying to steer us in the direction of a particular company.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

we had a great time at sleepers sleep cheaper hostel.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice family-run business. Staff are very helpful and informative. Honest too. It didn't seem like they were encouraging you to take their expensive tours, unlike other places in Costa Rica. Free breakfast is freshly made for you and very extensive. Cereal, fruit platter, eggs and coffee - very good. Lockers are located in reception area which closes quite early at night, so if you leave early in the morning or need anything from your locker for the evening, be aware.


80%

No internet in the top floor. Amazing breakfast! Cool staff. City is kinda dead at night.


89%

Great base location for activities, sandwiched between other popular hostels. The staff was very helpful in planning our excursions as well as extremely friendly. The manager even met us at the bus stop to show us where the hostel was!

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location to bus and restaurants Lots of excursions at good prices


100%

Great spot in Santa Elena, the host family was very helpful and friendly to us! Great hostel to stay at if you are visiting Monteverde. :)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were extremely helpful and they made us breakfast every day. Great value only $12.50 per person for a two bed private room with your own bathroom. They only charged us $5 for a load of laundry. Great location, right in the middle of town. Shuttles picked us up right from the hostel, it was very convenient. I went here with a friend from high school, we would definitely come again.


77%

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms were ok, nothing special, with just the bare minimum. The large beds in the room were fine, but the twin beds were really uncomfortable. Location was good, lots of restaurants and a supermarket nearby. Wi-fi was spotty unless you were in the common room.


51%

Unfortunately, we stayed in one of the upper rooms and there was no water pressure. Thus, we were unable to shower for the three days we stayed there. Furthermore, there was an issue with the toilet, it wouldn't flush. We know there were empty rooms, but they let us stay in the same room and didn't fix the toilet till two days later. Room was good, nice common balcony's, but the water and toilet issues totally ruined the stay for us.


49%

Paid for a single room with no towel, no soap, not the most clean room, not the most attentive staff


86%

Ronny and family are great to deal with. Would stay there again.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Monteverde Hostels

Please give us your feedback