X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Reviews

100 meters north from the bus stop, or 100 meters east from the Super Compro, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
549 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thank you for helping us with everything Ronny!!!! We hope to visit Santa Elena again soon! Kevin & Minh

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Dorm rooms were good at Sleepers, and so were the bathrooms. Kept very clean and in a great location. Breakfast included was excellent. There were good kitchen facilities but was shared with the family so felt like you were imposing on their house as they were always there. Not ideal for single travellers as there is not a lot of atmosphere. No where to hang out apart from in yyour room which is not ideal in such a small town.


100%

Loved the stay, Great family environment and very helpful!


97%

Really nice place, the staff are so so nice! Only thing is you pay for breakfast, but if you have to get a 6am bus like most people then do you don't get it, but other than that, it was the cleanest hostel too!


100%

The hostel gave a lot of bang for your money. I would recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Monteverde. You get a pretty good breakfast, access to a full-size kitchen, and your room for really cheap! The owners are extremely on time and efficient!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed in a private room for 4 nights. Best hot shower we had in Central America :) Very good breakfast to start the day with eggs, bread, fruit, cornflakes, coffee or tea. Also good kitchen available. They provide all the necessary information for tours, busses,... Also have a good laundry service. Ronny, Mauro and family, thank you so much for our very nice and relaxing stay! Definitely recommend!


89%

Excellent place to stay. Very good value for money, especially as includes (basic) breakfast. Very clean. Staff were helpful and approachable. They can arrange any tours/transfers you need with good rates. They even leant me their rain coat! They offer a laundry service- reasonably priced. Located amongsts the shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this place to others. Note- towels only available at extra cost (cheap). No security safe in room but lockers available in reception.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I booked a 4 bed room ensuite, and I was surprised upon arrival that there were only 2 full size beds instead of 4 singles. Other than, Ron and his brother were very hospitable, the beds and bathrooms were clean, and they offered a lot of helpful info on the activities like ziplining, suspension bridges, and sky tours. The only thing I didn't understand was why none of the bathrooms had soap. Other than that, it was definitely worth the money and would recommend it again.


100%

Awsome place awsome staff great breakfast and cozy clean rooms. Can't wait to go back, oh and Monteverde is beautiful.


94%

We had a fabulous three nights at the Sleepers Sleep Cheaper hostel. It felt more like you were staying in their home rather than a hostel, a relaxing atmosphere. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and a private room, both were spacious and the beds comfy, although an extra rug would be nice. The ensuit bathrooms were large and had hot water. The kitchen was well stoked and breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this hostel if you are in Monteverde. Extremely good value!!


97%

Super Hostel, we received great advice for the tours and breakfast was delicious.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Ronnie and wife were great hosts. Amazingly helpful for planning excursions and sorting out the good tours from the not too good. Ronnie was always there and helpful....good breakfast and great value for money.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

These people have been the friendliest most helpful and accommodating host I've encountered thru my travels in Costa Rica! Great price, excellent host that go above and beyond for their guests.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Ronny and his family are amazing! Had an awesome stay. They were super helpful in helping us book excursions and getting a shuttle to get back to the airport. Place is clean with bathrooms in the dorm. Close to everything you need. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. =)


94%

We booked 2 beds in a 4-dorm room and it had a large and clean private bathroom. The owners welcomed us warmly and helped us organizing our excursion to the Santa Helena reserve and they booked a night tour visit for us. The breakfast was very good and we could use the kitchen to cook. Nice stay!

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I think they are under selling themselves with their description of the hostel! In the perfect place for all the food, drinks and activities! The most helpful staff, they booked our trips and then also gave us really detailed instructions as to how to get to where we wanted to go next! So helpful, very clean, homely and lovely bathrooms! Really good position in town! When the shops were closed and I had no water the manager gave me his new bottle and they made us lots of tea.


100%

rooms are clean and there are hot showers! the owner is super nice and extremely generous with helping you with your recreation and transportation plans!


89%

Great deal. Not a party place. Which was nice. Cheap without having to deal with drunk 21 year olds.


86%

Great place! Breakfast was good, dorm was nice and clean with a big private bathroom, and the staff/the family was nice!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The owners of SSC are what set this place apart. They were happy to explain all the different tour options and didn't push one company over another. They made breakfast each morning as well. When my girlfriend and I got food poisoning one day, they allowed us to make a last-minute decision to stay an extra night and also cooked our ramen noodles for us. Great people! The room itself was nice, good size, comfortable bed, lumpy pillows. Street noise is loud during the day, but great location!


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Monteverde Hostels

Please give us your feedback