X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Reviews

100 meters north from the bus stop, or 100 meters east from the Super Compro, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
450 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stay here! Ronny and his family are very welcoming and helpful with everything, especially planning activities in monteverde and the surrounding areas. The hostel is great-- hot showers, clean, big bathrooms, fully stocked kitchen, breakfast includes fresh fruit, granola, eggs, toast and coffee. Felt very secure and there were also lockers in the rooms.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good Hostel, the staff was very helpful! I recommend.


97%

Out of all of the hostels I've stayed at In Costa Rica, this was by far the best hostel. The room has more of a hotel feel to it. It was clean, had nice beds, nice bathrooms (with warm showers!) and a great breakfast included. It is located right in the middle of everything -- a short walk from the bus station and a short walk to restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helped book a zip lining tour and night hike. Breakfast included coffee, granola, fruit, eggs, and toast. It was Awesome.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

For the most part we enjoyed our stay at Sleepers. It is in a great location, the room was clean (we got a twin private), and breakfast was provided. The only thing we had to comment on was that the owner was a little pushy when it came to what zip-lining excursion we should do, not overly so, I just noticed that he was trying to steer us in the direction of a particular company.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

we had a great time at sleepers sleep cheaper hostel.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice family-run business. Staff are very helpful and informative. Honest too. It didn't seem like they were encouraging you to take their expensive tours, unlike other places in Costa Rica. Free breakfast is freshly made for you and very extensive. Cereal, fruit platter, eggs and coffee - very good. Lockers are located in reception area which closes quite early at night, so if you leave early in the morning or need anything from your locker for the evening, be aware.


80%

No internet in the top floor. Amazing breakfast! Cool staff. City is kinda dead at night.


89%

Great base location for activities, sandwiched between other popular hostels. The staff was very helpful in planning our excursions as well as extremely friendly. The manager even met us at the bus stop to show us where the hostel was!

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location to bus and restaurants Lots of excursions at good prices


100%

Great spot in Santa Elena, the host family was very helpful and friendly to us! Great hostel to stay at if you are visiting Monteverde. :)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were extremely helpful and they made us breakfast every day. Great value only $12.50 per person for a two bed private room with your own bathroom. They only charged us $5 for a load of laundry. Great location, right in the middle of town. Shuttles picked us up right from the hostel, it was very convenient. I went here with a friend from high school, we would definitely come again.


77%

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms were ok, nothing special, with just the bare minimum. The large beds in the room were fine, but the twin beds were really uncomfortable. Location was good, lots of restaurants and a supermarket nearby. Wi-fi was spotty unless you were in the common room.


51%

Unfortunately, we stayed in one of the upper rooms and there was no water pressure. Thus, we were unable to shower for the three days we stayed there. Furthermore, there was an issue with the toilet, it wouldn't flush. We know there were empty rooms, but they let us stay in the same room and didn't fix the toilet till two days later. Room was good, nice common balcony's, but the water and toilet issues totally ruined the stay for us.


49%

Paid for a single room with no towel, no soap, not the most clean room, not the most attentive staff


86%

Ronny and family are great to deal with. Would stay there again.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Highly recommended ! We arrived really early and yet they managed to get us a room quite fast. Nice breakfast with fruit, toast, egg, cereales, milk, coffee. Helpfull staff!

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful family run hostel.. Stay here!.


80%

Basic hostel with nice staff and a good atmosphere in the centre of the small town. Easy to get to the cloud forest by bus from here. Onward travel can be arranged by the hostel. Breakfast is good.


94%

Very affordable with nice ensuite rooms available, right off the main drag in the center of town. Comfortable beds, good wifi, nice breakfast included. You can book your tours right in the hostel.


80%

Nice place to stay but a bit cold and noisy at night cause of the wind (we are high near a cloud forest so it's humid) Staff friendly, though laundry is a bit expensive


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Monteverde Hostels

Please give us your feedback