X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sleepzone Reviews

Bothar na mBan, Wood Quay, Galway, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5003 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Our room was terrible! It was so small, you couldn't pass each other beside the bed. The door had a window of milk glass (because there was no window in the room) with gaps in it. So the privcy was about zero. On the other side of the wall there was the entrance door to a car park which made a terrible noise when it opened. This happened about every 5 minutes from 7am. Most exepsive of 6 hostels on our trip but one of the worst.


97%

Great hostel in Galway city centre! The staff is really helpfull and kind, the location is good because it's just a 3-5 min walk to the real heart of the city. The rooms are very clean and also the bathrooms (who are en suite) are nice and spacious. You have all the facilities you need in Sleepzone: kitchen, relaxing room, tv, wifi,... You can even book excursions at the hostel itself and the main advantage of this, is that the bus picks you up right in front of the hostel. Real value for money!


97%

Very good place to stay, cleanliness is really impressive (staff constantly running around cleaning) and staff extremely nicre and always ready to help. They also have free lockers and loads of common areas with couches, books tv and dvds, even two free internet position (plus of course free wifi throughout the building). The only downside is that the kitchen is always full of ppl, but overall this is definitely a minor issue.


100%

We had a great stay in beautiful Galway thanks to sleepzone!


91%

Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy this hostel as much as we woulda liked ! But the staff was great and were very sympathetic of me being at the hospital all night !! My best advice is NEVER to get sick in Ireland ! Hospitals are horrible ! Very centrally located ! The bus stop is very close and staff can give great advice ! I highly recommend going to see the cliffs of moher and the bus will pick you up right out front of the hostel ! Have fun finding this place but once u do your set!


57%

Having to check out and check in all days is not funny. Bad organization. As they want to earn more money by accepting big groups ( is understandable cause is a bussiness) they make you change room cause you are travelling alone (and that is not understandable at all. Way to go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You had a 3 night booking and had to move once during your stay with us. We always do our best to keep people in the same room for the duration of their stay but during a busy High season in August it is not always possible. We trust you were satisfied with the discount offered for this minor inconvenience.

83%

Great value for money.


74%

Twin private room was nice and clean. Location is good! But having to switch rooms every day for horrible when we had pre-booked tours and had to get up even earlier every morning to re-pack and not getting a chance to just settle in and relax. Kitchen was good when just having to share it with the other twin private room. But when you can't even find a frying pan, you get seriously irritated.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The location, the facilities and the rooms are good. But I didn't like the atmosphere that much. It felt like a factory without any personal touch. Not familiar or cosy. The staff was friendly but unfortunetely not very helpful. They didn't really have information about the tours, tips where to go or any other recommendations.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was the most expensive hostel where we stayed, but also it was the best hostel. The breakfast was perfect and the kitchen was clean and big. The dorm had a bathroom inside so we didn't have to share with all the floor.


94%

Situated in strategic position, reception open 24h, very fast check-in and check-out.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nearly everything was very good. Just with the breakfast I wasn't satisfied. Because there are too less toasters!


97%

I couldn't be happier with this hostel. It was very safe, the staff was amazing and it was close to everything I needed such as pubs and shopping. Great place to stay!


63%

Nice hostel, but the rooms on ground floor are a little bit too noisy (everyday early in the morning there is a street cleaner passing by)


91%

The location is ok, about 5 minutes from the bus. The staff was friendly and helpful. Atmosphere isn't that great, it gets quite crowded, but that's how it goes in big hostels. The only thing I wasn't too satisfied with is the security of the luggage room, it's near the entrance, which is wide open during the day. It's closed at night, though, and only guests can enter. There doesn't seem to be many shared showers, yet somehow we managed to shower without waiting in lines. Would recommend!


97%

The best hostel we' ve ever been to!


100%

Loved this hostel! Our room with a bunk bed was one of two rooms in what felt like an apartment. Fantastic stay, really felt like renting a private place. Excellent security, clean dining room, extremely helpful front desk. Right near city center. You can park in a nearby lot for 4 euro/day, which was great. Would stay here again.


100%

A wonderful hostel!


86%

Very good location. Close to the Coach Station. Very clean and the staffs really helpfull. I recommend...


94%

The staff were amazing and very helpful with getting around Galway and getting small things taken care of while staying at the hostel (like laundry). I only wish the breakfast offered in the morning was a bit more than just cereal and toast because that can be a little monotonous at times when you are traveling to many places and every hostel has the same simple breakfast.


(164 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback