X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sleepzone Reviews

Bothar na mBan, Wood Quay, Galway, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5760 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

good irish hostel


100%

Our Family of 7 stayed at your facility from Aug 2nd thru Aug 4th. We have stayed at the Sleepzone in the past and had such a good experience that when we decided to book this trip we decided to stay there again. We wish the weather had been better but we had such a good time in all the wonderful pubs it didn't really matter. We would like to recommend Murty Rabbits as a lovely spot out of the maddness for a good pint and Four Star Pizza across the street for a late late late night veggie pie.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If you can change the water system in the bathrooms that wouls be great... Pressing that thing every 30 sec was tyering

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was fine for the price although there are things that should be improved. Our room smelled a bit of urine and then the smell changed to something weirdly undefineable. Some facilities were out of order (e.g. one sink in a bathroom and an oven) and the directions were a bit outdated. Other than that the staff was very friendly and the common kitchen is a big plus!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Quite expensive for a hostel but the location is excellent. The place was clean and overall quite good. The security at night was a bit too much-getting us to go to bed when we were just chilling in the common area after arriving back. I felt like he treated us like school children a bit.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great kitchen and good breakfast. The bathroom isn't all that bad, the shower runs for 5 seconds and you have to keep pushing the button... Not the cleanest room and people can get noisy at night because the common rooms close. Friendly staff and good location.


89%

Very clean and hospitable. The kitchen facilities were exceptional and small group sitting rooms were cosy and appreciated. Laundry facilities on site were useful. Downsides-9 women packed into one tiny room. Limited power sockets available and only on lower bunks.


97%

Great place, lovely staff.


89%

Excellent situation in eyre square, staff very friendly and over all very good!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The name is such a sick & ironic joke because I didn't get a single second of sleep while I was there. The walls are paper thin, so you hear everyone shouting and playing music. It should be called party zone. Condoms in the toilet. The facilities are in such a state, no wonder I felt sick after leaving. The left luggage room smells like a yeast infection, and my bags still smell like it a week after checking out. They were only in that room for an hour. Thanks for ruining my stay in Galway!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the noise - this was the biggest night of the annual Galway Races so the town and the hostel were full on busy. It sounds like the experience has ruined your life - and we're sorry for that also. Sleepzone

97%

Loved this hostel. Great location, very clean, and well run. Couldn't ask for more.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Parking was just around the corner for €4 per day. It would be a good idea to post this on the website or on a sign in the hostel. An additional €85 was taken from the car holders account however as an extra security deposit. The cardholder wasn't informed of this when paying on arrival. They were then made aware that this was written in the conditions. It would have been better to have told the cardholder this when they were paying the €25 on arrival.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic family- friendly hostel in great location. Kids loved it. Spotless kitchen which was constantly kept clean by staff. We stayed with 3 young children.


94%

We had a great stay at the hostel, we picked it for the price but the day we were due to arrive money came out of my bank account incase we didn't show up. The girl on reception assured me it would be put back in but im still waiting. I just wish i was told this!

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the very positive review. Don't worry - that just was just a standard pre-authorisation of your card. Best regards. Sleepzone

91%

I really enjoyed my stay the staff was very nice and the location could not have been better literally around the corner from eyers square and numerous pubs and clubs

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The desk receptionists for all the shifts (day and night) were all excellent, very friendly and helpful. I also liked the good kitchen facilities for cooking, and the three reading rooms were very comfy and nice. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that it's so big and noisy, with so many people. It felt a little like a factory of people, especially at breakfast. But they are perfect for accommodating big groups. And for such a big hostel, they are very good, friendly, efficient, safe.


100%

Excellent stay, kind and helpful staff, perfect location very central. The rooms and common spaces are super clean and very convenient. Highly recommended !


89%

Great private rooms would use again.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great stay, front desk staff were excellent and helpful.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed in apartment 1 which was perfect except the wifi didn't work and we were right beside an electric gate which woke us up every morning! Otherwise, it was a great apartment and we had a very enjoyable stay!

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(173 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback