X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Slightly Chilled Guest House Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
33 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

When I went it was end of peak season for climbing adams peak and it was very quiet. it's worth noting that at this time of year it's not necessary too book in advance because there are many many hostels in the area which are of equal quality, cheaper price, and have rooms available. That being said, the staff were extremely friendly and eager to help. In particular the cook and the waiter. In summary it might not be best place to stay for the money, but its definitely not the worst.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

Good location for an early start to the peak but not to stay for longer than 1-2 nights. Atmosphere is not really nice, buffet is okay but not special, rooms average, you can hear every other guest rising up or going to bed through the doors. One thing is special: breakfast. Really good! One more thing: lot of brokers in Dalhousie trying to bring you on a van for the journey to Hatton,Galle,Colombo,.... The prices vary extremely!! Take care.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Our room was excellent and the rate included breakfast and dinner. Slightly cheered exceeded our expectations!


94%

Great view from the dinning area, great curry buffet dinner included in price friendly staff and great advice on climbing Adams peak.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

nice room, cute details (compared to other bald rooms), but mildew on the wall, nice view from the balcony, good stay for one night,

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

muld in the rooms, very very overpriced for what it is...

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice guesthouse, friendly and caring manager and staff. Very helpful to organise other activities. Good food from the buffet and rich breakfast. Room clean with small balcony and bath. Perfect location to start the climb of Adam's Peak, as the start of the trail is only 15 minutes away.

  • 2nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

good stay, lot of insects though but i guess it s everywhere the same in the area dinner and breakfast ok nice views

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A good value for money's place specially to climb Adam's peak. Nice dinner, nice people, and excellent breakfast back from Sri pada

  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

very friendly and helpful staff


91%

Slightly Chilled was very welcoming. We arrived at midnight to climb Adam's Peak and left the hire car outside the hotel with a noteas it had closed - there was no problem when we arrived the following morning very tired. We were asked if we wanted breakfast straight away which was great after a very long night ! The location is perfect for anyone wanting to climb Adam,s Peak and the meals are very good too.


89%

I had a very enjoyable stay at Slightly Chilled. A lovely view of Adam's Peak from my balcony, comfortable room and delicious breakfast included each morning. Dinner was a nice buffet selection of Sri Lankan fare and very reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - especially in regards to the climb of Adam's Peak and walks in the surrounding tea plantations. They were also great in organising my taxi back to north of Colombo. Thankyou!

  • 17th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

A decent place to stay based on location. Food is very good. Our bed smelt like wet dog and our door knob broke off every time we left our room. Staff are helpful and friendly.


77%

Beautiful views, great room but no mosquito net, a shame, especially for the price you pay . Dalhousie is not an easy place to get to and the staff didn't seem to be interested in sharing information about taxis and indeed other things to do around Adam's Peak, i.e. tea plantations. Breakfast was the best in Sri Lanka and very well deserved after the climb.

  • 5th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

VERY nice place to stay! Staff was very helpful and kind. Even offered us a breakfast for free. Arranged us a taxi to Negombo. Nice views to Sri Pada.


93%

Highly recommended as a base for Adam's Peak. The superb breakfast was exactly what we needed after the gruelling trek. Very comfortable rooms too.


100%

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night prior to our walk up Adam's Peak. The staff were fantastic, always on hand to provide what advice you needed, and when we suffered from a slight power cut, the delicious evening buffet was turned into a candle lit dinner. We secured a double bedroom, which was a great size, and the views of the peak and surrounding areas were amazing. If your looking to complete Adam's Peak this is the place to stay, and at a very affordable price.


70%

Okay guesthouse but very overpriced compared with the rest of Sri Lanka.


90%

beds in room were very creaky, possibly broken. otherwise we would highly recommend this place to everyone.




View all Adam's Peak Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback