Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
9.4

Perfect location. Clean rooms, well equipped kitchen. No atmosphere however don't expect to party here. Suited our needs. Would book again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your visit. This hostel is not for partying. It's a quiet hostel Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

This is a great place to stay. Besides the great location, the owner lives at the residence and takes a lot of pride in keeping the common areas clean and the rules respected. She runs a tight ship. Breakfast was amazing. Probably the best breakfast I had at a Costa Rica Hostel. You walk in the kitchen and one of the women that works there just starts preparing it for you. The place is clean and it feels like more of a bnb mixed with a hostel. Perfect for the location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
7.7

A really nice hostel. With an excellent breakfast. Hot showers. They made us pay more on the weekend. Which there was no mention of this at the time of booking which was slightly annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.7

Fantastic stay in Monteverde. So central to everywhere you want to go, all tours booked from the reception and they have shuttle buses that go everywhere that you cant easily get to on the public transport. Fantastic stay, fantastic vibe. Would absolutely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th May 2017
8.3

The street in front is very loud with the trucks and cars; bring earplugs. Otherwise nice hostel, close to the city center, clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

Super clean and very organised. Great location, fantastic kitchen with free tea and coffee all day. Not a party hostel but if you're looking for calm, clean and hot showers, then this is for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

This is a very nice, we'll kept hostel.(even made beds) The breakfast was very good and surpassed my expectations. The owner-receptonist was very nice and helped us with our tours. Although it is listed online that cards are excepted, they are not. This wasn't an issue because she let us pay later. Don't expect to have any late nights here. The owner is a little over the top strict and watches guest like a hawk. All in all it was an enjoyable stay and I'd book it again. Great location is a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Breakfast was super, and they even cleaned the rooms while we were out. There's lockers that you can fit your stuff in and my 4 bedroom dorm had its own private bathroom. Loved my stay and would definitely stay here again if I came back to Monteverde.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.4

This was a good hostel, with the exception of the staff. The gal running the place was anything but friendly and welcoming. At check-in she was very short with me. My dorm mates had similar experiences. Additionally, she is VERY strict about her rules. They are laws, not guidelines. Quite time is 9:30 PM, on the dot! Absolutely no outside guests, unless you want to pay a $50 fine. I would recommend travelers stay at Nina's Place instead (I also stayed there). It's only a couple blocks away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.3

No real common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.