Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 87 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 87 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast Located at 200 metres north east from the bus station, , Monteverde.
Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 200 metres north east from the bus station
83% 87
10.3169668 -84.8237120
Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
6.9

Great location right in the middle of town, and really nice breakfast of pancakes, bacon, eggs fruit etc. Girl on reception very sweet, funny and helpful, and you can book any excursion that takes your fancy direct with them. Only real complaint is that my bed was damp?! The mattress itself. I appreciate the air up in a cloud forest is also damp but something needs to be done to rectify that as it wasn't comfortable to sleep in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.0

Central location in town. Helpful staff. We booked all of tours through the reception. Overall good experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
6.9

I wanted to cancel my stay there, but they wouldnt give me money back as they have 14 days (!!!) cancellation period. I find that ridiculous, especially as most backpackers don't know a few days in advance where they will be and what is their next move. At the end i stayed in another hostel and just let them keep the money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cancellation Policy If cancelled or modified up to 14 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. POLICIES exiten, they NEED respect. It would be very sad that you come in high season to find your room already reserved, and that does not have its space. I am responsible with your room, and save your room. HAPPY NEW YEAR

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
12th Dec 2016
8.6

A very centrally located hostel with an accomodating host who is very good at helping sort out transport and tours. Good Wifi, hot showers in all rooms except ours (tap broken) but able to use in another room. Good basic breakfast. Rooms locked (need a key) and small lockers. Only downside was limited availability to use the kitchen ?reason main door entrance was locked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel! In town, very clean and great kitchen for cooking. Yorle and the other staff members were very welcoming, friendly and always helpful. Shower was amazing. Not really a communal space other than the kitchen, but the kitchen is pretty big and has a huge table for chilling, also seating outside for when the weather is nice. Free brekky was absolutely delicious and the staff always happy :) Not a party hostel whatsoever but with all the activities in the area it is nice to relax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Pura Vida Yorle

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.3

Comfy hostel with spacious rooms. We were there during the wet season so it was a good place to hang out and relax. The staff were helpful and provided us with lots of information upon arrival. It was very noisy at night and early morning with trucks, cars and other backpackers getting up early for buses.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
8.0

This hostel was nice, It had everything you need, the pool is great. Just the kitchen appliances could be improved and lots of lockers are broken. At night the communal area has many mosquitoes because it is outside, but there are sloths that hang around the hostel which is awesome! A bus stop outside the hostel takes you to the beach or to town, but if you walk to town it's up and down a hill ( 10-15mins). Would stay again! But price could maybe be cheaper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello your comment is not of Hostel Sloth. we are not on the beach, we are in Monteverde, the kitchen is very well equipped and no broken furniture. The prices are very cheap. No insects outside or inside, the rooms are very clean. thanks Pura Vida...

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my 2 nights s here, it was very quiet due to low season. In a great location and breakfast was amazing :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff were lovely, the rooms were spotless and the free breakfasts and coffee were great. The lady helped us book tours and even helped our friend from another hostel change her tour booking as her hostel (backpackers) wouldn't help her! Couldn't recommend highly enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Pura Vida

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.