Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sloth Backpackers Hostel and Bed & Breakfast

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th May 2017
8.3

The street in front is very loud with the trucks and cars; bring earplugs. Otherwise nice hostel, close to the city center, clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

Super clean and very organised. Great location, fantastic kitchen with free tea and coffee all day. Not a party hostel but if you're looking for calm, clean and hot showers, then this is for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

This is a very nice, we'll kept hostel.(even made beds) The breakfast was very good and surpassed my expectations. The owner-receptonist was very nice and helped us with our tours. Although it is listed online that cards are excepted, they are not. This wasn't an issue because she let us pay later. Don't expect to have any late nights here. The owner is a little over the top strict and watches guest like a hawk. All in all it was an enjoyable stay and I'd book it again. Great location is a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Breakfast was super, and they even cleaned the rooms while we were out. There's lockers that you can fit your stuff in and my 4 bedroom dorm had its own private bathroom. Loved my stay and would definitely stay here again if I came back to Monteverde.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.4

This was a good hostel, with the exception of the staff. The gal running the place was anything but friendly and welcoming. At check-in she was very short with me. My dorm mates had similar experiences. Additionally, she is VERY strict about her rules. They are laws, not guidelines. Quite time is 9:30 PM, on the dot! Absolutely no outside guests, unless you want to pay a $50 fine. I would recommend travelers stay at Nina's Place instead (I also stayed there). It's only a couple blocks away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.3

No real common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jan 2017
6.9

Great location right in the middle of town, and really nice breakfast of pancakes, bacon, eggs fruit etc. Girl on reception very sweet, funny and helpful, and you can book any excursion that takes your fancy direct with them. Only real complaint is that my bed was damp?! The mattress itself. I appreciate the air up in a cloud forest is also damp but something needs to be done to rectify that as it wasn't comfortable to sleep in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.0

Central location in town. Helpful staff. We booked all of tours through the reception. Overall good experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.