Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel Located at Vegagatan 21, , Gothenburg.
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
Sweden
Gothenburg 413 11 Vegagatan 21
84% 1633
57.6926234 11.9479537
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
9.4

I thought the staff where very nice and helped me with the city and offered me directions via a local map. They also hosted special events for guests to take part in the evenings which was taken on by a very nice guy called Francesco who got the hostel guests involved with games, chat and even made us a wonderful dinner. Would recommend this place anytime..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.0

Reception was not helpful. They asked money for surfaces. I haven't see any hostel before asking for bed surfaces. And when I try to check out early I could not find anyone to pay back my deposit. At the same time lot's of guest also was waiting for check in. Even we find some staff they say it's not their duties. I can summarize like that. The worse accommodation in my life was that hostel. On the other hand bathrooms were nice. There was a sauna also but you should pay extra for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments! Sorry that we couldn't live up to your expectations. Many hostels in Scandinavia still offers you that you can bring your own bed linen, so that's why it's not included in the price. We are considering to change that. Kind regards Dennis, Slottsskogens Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Really, really good breakfast that's definitely worth the money. Staff was very nice and helpful and the rooms/showers clean and had everything it needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast! Welcome back! Kind regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

11th Sep 2016
7.1

Bog- standard backpacker hostel , staff very good, no atmosphere, my room was only good for sleeping, but that's all I needed,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinions. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff. Hope you come back and try one of our better rooms with windows, Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogen Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Friendly staff. Great location and facilities. Awesome hostel 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Dan! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you with us again soon!! Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogens Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.9

Really good hostel! I stayed for 2 nights, the location is not super close to central station but the surrounding area has some shopping and a nice strip of cafes for during the day and a couple of bars for nightlife. The staff were great, the hostel organises an activity every night and I went to both nights (drinking games and free pizza). Francesco, who plays the host, is a great guy easy to get along with and knows how to break the ice between groups of awkward strangers. Thumbs up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinions. Great to hear that you took part in our social events with Francesco. Welcome back! Kind regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, but too spread out and difficult to meet people during the day. However at night they organise activities. Quite close to everything and tram stop only a 2 minute walk down the road, supermarket close to. Kitchen is nice and it's clean. Beds are not the most comfortable. Good wifi connection. Staff were helpful. I thought it was a bit expensive for Gothenburg though. Also do not like paying for bed linen although that seems to be a Scandinavian thing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Priyanka! Thanks for leaving a review! We are quite a big hostel but great to hear that you got to socialize a bit with our other guests. In most hostels in Scandinavia bed linen are not included, that is to keep the prices down and give you a choice to bring your own. Welcome back! Kind regards, Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.7

I only had a quick stay at the hostel, the rooms and beds are nice and the bathrooms are clean, that's all I saw. The staff are super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Anthony! Thanks for leaving a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a fantastic time at the hostel. The room was nice, however there weren't enough lockers for the room and one couldn't be opened due to a bunk bed ladder obstructing it. The staff were fantastic, especially Francesco, the social manager. He had some activities planned for each night ranging from a barbecue to drinking games and a karaoke. I met lots of people this way and it really made my trip worthwhile! The hostel had a nice kitchen/living area and free wifi. It was well situated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice words and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The ladder will be moved shortly to a better place so that you can use the locker properly. Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

30th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place for young travelers. Organized social events (meeting for dinner and drinks), free walking tours, lots of showers, close to transit lines that go directly to Central Station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Grahamn! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back! Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.