Hostelworld.com

Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel Located at Vegagatan 21, , Gothenburg.
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
Sweden
Gothenburg 413 11 Vegagatan 21
82% 1506
57.6926234 11.9479537
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay at Slottsskogens. The staff were really helpful and friendly and it was very easy to book, check-in and check-out. Although my room was fine, it did not look like the photos of rooms advertised. It was small with no windows. However, there was a very large kitchen area with lovely big windows and comfortable seats as well as a cafe area downstairs. The only negative was that there were no locked cupboards in the room. Great value for money for a basic 2 night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We do have many different types of rooms and not all have photos online unfortunately. We are looking in to this, also to be able to get lockers for all rooms. We are happy to hear that you found our place to have great value! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
31st Mar 2016
6.3

The door to our dorm room didn't close properly unless you slam it. they let a very drunk guy into the hostel and he ended up in our room thinking he was staying there, and he ended up being kicked out, before that I didn't feel very safe. I don't really understand why we had to pay extra for our sheets and towels and then they expected us to vacuum the floor and clean the whole room before leaving. the staff were helpful and the location is within walking distance to the main

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review! We are very sorry to hear about what happened during your stay. We do not wish to have guests that make others feel unsafe. Many of our guests choose to bring there own bed linen with them. That´s why we have the option to rent. It also helps us keep the room prices lower. Same with the cleaning of the room. This is optional. Glad to hear that you liked our staff and location! Hope to see you hear again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.0

Did what it says on the tin. I was happy with my stay because it did all the things it was supposed to do. Friendly staff, clean, warm, convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2016
8.3

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made the stay very welcoming. The staff gave us free bed sheets and linens, when usually it came with an additional cost. The room and bathrooms were very clean. There were a lot of bathrooms under renovation near our room, which was a bit of an inconvenience as it was a bit of a long wait for the shower in the mornings. The atmosphere in the hostel was great, there were free pub crawls and walking tours. The breakfast buffet was not worth the $

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Great to hear that you liked our staff and also joined in on the free pub crawl and free walking tour! Our renovations are almost finished and we are sorry for any inconvenience. We hope you come back soon and will see how nice the bathrooms became! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Feb 2016
8.3

We were warmly welcomed and the woman at the front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable. The hostel itself felt more like a hotel, so we didn't interact with/see anyone else. However, it was very clean and comfortable. The best part was all of the bathrooms/showers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review! Great to here that you liked our staff and got a lot of information. Maybe at your next stay ask to sleep in our backpackers building which is a little more social and single travelers. We just renovated our bathrooms so really great that you enjoyed them! Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel.

24th Jan 2016
8.0

Nice bathrooms, showers and beds. Kitchen was also really nice. Not the most ideal location but there is lots of buses and trams that can get you anywhere in town. It is however, really close to the large park in Gothenburg where you can see a number of different animals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
6.3

Good beds but no hostel atmosphere. Very quiet. No common room except for the kitchen. The kitchen facilities are pretty bad, no kettle or toaster that work, and it looks like the fridges haven't been cleaned out in years.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review! Nice to hear that you liked our beds. Unfortunately it is a little quite at the moment. But we do also have another building were more backpackers and solo travelers stay. Maybe this would have been a better option for you. We also have free walking tours and pub crawls during the weekends. Thank you for your comments about the kitchen. We will have to look at this. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2016
8.9

Our stay for 4 persons was great. We would recommend this hostel to our friends or even repeat our stay. There was one thing we were a bit disappointed about - the staff recommended us visiting a Stadtsmuset even though it was closed that day (Monday). I explicitly asked about this and he said that it is open... Of course, can happen :) .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2016
8.9

65sek for a MANDATORY linen rent its totally upsetting and awful welcome gift

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We do have bedlinen to rent as many of our guest choose to bring there own. It also helps us keep a lower price on our beds. It is stated online that bed linen are not included in the price so we are sorry to hear that were not aware of this. Hope you still had a good stay with us and in Gothenburg! Kind regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
8.0

really loved to building and staff very helpfull and also very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.