X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Slottsskogens Youth Hostel Reviews

Vegagatan 21, Gothenburg, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1389 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Free linen would be nice, without providing linen, prices are too high. Helpful staff, good organisation of parking (map to best and cheapest parking places). Spent a night in a room without windows. There was no hint of that during the booking process.


80%

Not much atmosphere, even though the hostel was full. The staff were great.


54%

The staff were not very helpful. They gave me insufficient info that, tickets could be bought on bus or tram, easily. In reality, drivers don't always speak english, there are different machines on board, machines are in the middle of the vehicle. If staff are from that area, give them exercises that help them understand what it is like to be a foreigner without the local language. First time I had such a problem. Usually hostel staff know what its like to have travelled.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service. As said, tickets are sold on the trams. It´s unfortunate that our staff did not specify that you buy them in the actually machine and not from the driver. We hope everthing went okay for you. Hope to see you again and have a great summer. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

80%

Great place, I stayed in the apartment across from the check in. Nice kitchen, bathrooms were okay, and my bed was comfortable. Like others have said, my room had no window, making it really stuffy (and unsanitary! If there were four people sleeping and breathing in a closed off space like that!) luckily my room was never full.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms with out windows are our budget rooms. They all have approved ventilation in them. We also have extra fans in reception if the rooms would get too warm. Hope to see you again and have a great summer! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

86%

It was a nice stay and we had two other nice room mates. but the room had no locker. if you can provide locker for all the rooms that would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay. We have a few rooms without lockers and looking into fixing that. Sorry for any inconvenience. Hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

97%

Exept the location was little bit remoted from the center, the hostel itself was perfect. It is really worth to stay when you visit Gothenburg. I stayed in the room without window but the ventilation was fully worked so you wouldn't feel stuffy.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you you again. Have a nice summer. Kind Regards Slottsskogen Hotel & Hostel

94%

Very organized hostel, several bathrooms available on each floor and no burocracy to use the luggage room. Highly recommended.


80%

No issues with the stay, it was very smooth and enjoyable. Small but nice bunk-rooms and very nice lounge areas. However, every time I went to the front desk there were at least 4 people waiting to be helped. Once there were even ~12 people! Faster customer service would be great... especially just to ask a quick question. Breakfast was pretty simple and typical, ok but slightly over-priced.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hostel. Sorry to hear that there was a long wait at time. During high season sometimes many guest come at the same time to check in. We have now brought in more staff to be able to handle the busy periods. Have a great summer and hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

71%

decent rooms, plugs in each room. good time allocated for laundry which was very helpful. it's not really a youth hostel as you get families and old people staying there as well. So I'm not really sure why they advertise it as such.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have many different types of rooms, from backpackers to hotel rooms and apartments. So part of us is a hostel. Hope too see you again and have a great summer! Kind regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel.

94%

Great facilities, decent atmosphere and common space, a bit outside of city centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel.

77%

great breakfast!

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Welcome back! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

80%

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel. Distance from the centre is ok (walkable) but tram is a lot easier. Lovely staff, very helpful and good with location knowledge. The kitchen is good too. Although we stayed in a 4 bed mixed room, which did not have a window or lockers in the room. We were surprised to find a tv and hair dryer in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There really is so much to do in Gothenburg. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogen Hotel & Hostel.

89%

Just one of the best hostels ever tried out. Also there's a sauna and a billiard. Good position, altough it's better if you take a tram to go to the center or in the north part of the city. Tram stop is next to the hostel. The streets around are full of restaurants and pubs as well. There is a botanical garden here in Goteborg, that is quite well known as attraction of the city, and it's near to the hostel, as well as the Naturhistoriska museet. Overall is reccomended for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

69%

Everything went well without complications, seems reliable to me. The only annoying thing is that you have to bring your own bad sheets.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. About the bed sheets, it is very common that our guests bring there own bed linen. That is we we offer the option to either do that or to rent from us. This makes it possible for us to keep our prices down.Glad to hear that you did have a good stay with us and hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

66%

bedsheets should be included within the price of the hostel, it's quite a ridiculous idea to think people will travel with bedsheets with them. There would also be a cleaning charge if the visitors left without vacuuming the room! Surely there should be dedicated cleaners for the hostel.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. About the bed sheets, it is very common that our guests bring there own bed linen. That is we we offer the option to either do that or to rent from us. This makes it possible for us to keep our prices down. All guest should clean the rooms but our cleaners also check all the rooms to make sure it is clean. We apologize if this was not the case when you checked in. We are always striving to be better and appreciate your comments so we can approve. // Slottsskogens Hotel

86%

Easy to access and good value for money

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • sendmegbrev5206
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you are happy with your stay. Welcome back! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

97%

We LOVE the sauna! it's not expensive at all and it's nice! The staff are really nice, they upgraded our room without charging us extra money because the room reserved for us was not yet available when we wanted to check in. We really appreciated that! It would be super nice if we stayed longer and joined the movie night everyday!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review! So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel.

60%

I didn't like the fact they ask you to clean your room when you leave (pass the vacuum cleaner and empty the trash bin, etc). I was wondering if I my room was only cleaned by the previous guest (although it seemed cleaned, but still). They charge you extra for the bed sheets (I didn't know that when I made the booking). The atmosphere was very quiet but OK, I went in a week day and almost didn't cross any other guest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. As we are a hostel we give our guest the choice of cleaning the rooms yourself or booking cleaning. Our cleaners of course always go in to the rooms after check out and make sure everything is cleaned properly. Bringing your own sheets or hiring is also an option we have. We are going to see if this can be made more clear on Hostelworlds website while booking. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again! Kind regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

86%

Nice hostel, great value, good location - loads of bars and restaurants nearby and the city centre was easily within walking distance. I brought a padlock with me for the under bed storage in the room but the handle didn't actually work so I couldn't lock it. The breakfast was great for the cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had to queue for a bathroom in the morning but otherwise it was fine.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Gothenburg. We have now fixed the locker in your room and apologize for the inconvenience. Hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

80%

The Hostel was very clean and everyone was friendly but make sure that you bring your own sheets (not a sleeping bag). They are pretty expensive if you rent them. Overall a good stay and a decent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guest bring there own bed linen, that why we have the option to either do that or rent sheets and towel for 65 SEK. Have a nice summer and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel



View all Gothenburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback