X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Slottsskogens Youth Hostel Reviews

Vegagatan 21, Gothenburg, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1421 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Not the best hostel; not a lot of atmosphere. So not the best for solo travelers. Bit of a weird mix of people. Was in the second building so felt isolated. No one really spoke to one another. Showers were good though!


69%

Pretty stay here in Gothenburg! One of cheapest you can find and it's pretty good value. Nice bright rooms with big Windows and bathrooms with showers in them so you can do all your business privately, very nice! Not very good atmosphere for meeting backpackers as there was a lot families there.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a very good hostel with excellent staff who was very serviceminded and helpful. Minor inconvinience with a roomswitch but that was probably most on my behalf since I added days to my stay.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

For a large type hostel the atmosphere isnt bad, but didn't meet any other solo travellers. Good kitchen facilities.


74%

It felt cosy, but it was not as clean as I would like. The bathrooms were tropical after showering (poor ventilation), and one of them only gave scalding hot water. Nothing was filthy, but everything was a bit used looking. My bed had a hollow and the pillow was extremely firm. The neighborhood is very nice, but not central. Overall, it's just ok.


94%

This is a fantastic hostel in a fantastic city! My only complaint is my room didn't have a window, but it was perhaps the best sleep I have ever had in Northern Europe, so a good compromise. Very clean, very quiet, very nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a reply! So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Gothenburg! We think its a fantastic city also. Feel free to try any of of many rooms with windows next time you visit. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

80%

Great hostel in Göteborg. The dorm was good, staff gave us a lot of advice for us to know what to see and do in the city. Great and clean kitchen as well. Would happily recommend ! Too bad we had to bring our own bed linen or pay them as an extra...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Super happy to hear that you had a good stay with us! Hope you had time to see a lot of what the city has to offer. We do offer the option or renting sheets to be able to keep the room prices cheaper. Many of our guest prefer to bring there own with them when they stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

77%

The Rooms were very nice. I really liked it, that there is some place under the bed, where you can put your laguage. it would be good, to put a sigh somewhere in the backpackers room on which stands, that there is a possibility to do laundry and that you can play billiard in the other part. But all in all it was one of the best hostels on our tour through Norway and Sweden.


69%

This place was okay. The rooms were clean as was the whole facility. The people were nice as well. However, the atmosphere was very boring. It was more like a hotel than a hostel in this respect. Also, the location is not very central. Further, the options for parking were terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are both a hostel and a hotel with different buildings. You can ask next time to be on our backpacker if you like. We are located in central Gothenburg with a lot of things around us such as Haga, Andra långgatan and Slottskogen, but yes we are about 15 min away from the central station on bus/tram. We also offer parking for 75 SEKt in our garage. Hope to see you again! // Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

91%

We arrive here after having camped for a number of nights. It's more of a budget hotel than a hostel, and there were quite a few families staying. We didn't make use of the kitchen, but it looked modern and new. Fine place to catch up on sleep, etc. The breakfast was also good, and you won't find cheaper in town - unless you're just after a coffee. Perhaps not the ideal place to meet new folks, although there are movie nights every day, but an ideal base to see Göteborg from.


100%

Pretty good breakfast, good wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Slottsskogesn Hotel & Hostel

71%

Nice hostel but our room had no windows.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you liked our hostel. Most of our rooms are with windows, the ones with out is our budget rooms. Feel free to try a different one next time. Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

100%

Great hostel in a convenient location. The people in Sweden were the nicest and the staff here were no exception. Would stay here again. Wifi was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are stoked to hear that you had such a good time with us and in Sweden! Hope to see you hear again soon. Take care! Kind regards / The crew at Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

29%

For the price we paid (£25 each) we were incredibly disappointed. Had to pay £6 for the bedding and you strictly were not allowed to use your sleeping bag. The corridor carpets reek of cheesy feet and rotting fish for some reason, the windows are huge and look out into the windows across the street which would be okay if there were curtains. We are backpackers with very low expectations but even we were appalled by the quality. Also a woman tried to pickpocket us right outside so be careful.


57%

The staff are fine and my staff was comfortable and acceptable. However, there is NO way on earth that this place is a hostel. An atmosphere is no existent and there are no events or any common rooms that you expect of a so called youth hostel. The location is also a way of town and requires you to use to tram to get in and out of the city. This place is fine if it was recognised as a hotel, but because it is supposedly a youth hostel the most boring and forgettable hostel in the whole of Europe


57%

Free linen would be nice, without providing linen, prices are too high. Helpful staff, good organisation of parking (map to best and cheapest parking places). Spent a night in a room without windows. There was no hint of that during the booking process.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Many of our guests choose to bring there own linen that why we provide this option. Sorry to hear you are not happy with that. Nice to hear that you liked our staff. When you book it should say on your reservation what type of room that you are in. If there are any misunderstandings please feel free to talk about it with our staff during check in. Take care and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

80%

Not much atmosphere, even though the hostel was full. The staff were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Sorry to hear you were not happy with the atmosphere, we do have many different types or guest that stay here. Some more social then others. Glad to here that you like our staff. Hope to see you again and take care! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel and Hostel

54%

The staff were not very helpful. They gave me insufficient info that, tickets could be bought on bus or tram, easily. In reality, drivers don't always speak english, there are different machines on board, machines are in the middle of the vehicle. If staff are from that area, give them exercises that help them understand what it is like to be a foreigner without the local language. First time I had such a problem. Usually hostel staff know what its like to have travelled.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service. As said, tickets are sold on the trams. It´s unfortunate that our staff did not specify that you buy them in the actually machine and not from the driver. We hope everthing went okay for you. Hope to see you again and have a great summer. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

80%

Great place, I stayed in the apartment across from the check in. Nice kitchen, bathrooms were okay, and my bed was comfortable. Like others have said, my room had no window, making it really stuffy (and unsanitary! If there were four people sleeping and breathing in a closed off space like that!) luckily my room was never full.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms with out windows are our budget rooms. They all have approved ventilation in them. We also have extra fans in reception if the rooms would get too warm. Hope to see you again and have a great summer! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

86%

It was a nice stay and we had two other nice room mates. but the room had no locker. if you can provide locker for all the rooms that would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay. We have a few rooms without lockers and looking into fixing that. Sorry for any inconvenience. Hope to see you again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Hotel & Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Gothenburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback