Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel Located at Vegagatan 21, , Gothenburg.
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
Sweden
Gothenburg 413 11 Vegagatan 21
84% 1559
57.6926234 11.9479537
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Amazing people, clean rooms with nice beads. Only downside was that some rooms don't have windows, but that's just a minor point.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here! Next time try our rooms with windows :). Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

We stayed in the same room as Francesco, the one who's in charge of the hostel's animation. He informed us about the activities the day we arrived, which turned out to be awesome! We had such a great time at the bar (free food when you order a drink) while meeting the other people from the hostel. We love Francesco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that Francesco took good care of you! Hope to see you here again! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
4.3

The staff were not accommodating, there was a mix up with our reservation when we checked in so my sister and I were separated. The rooms were very small and cramped, and smelt horrible. Not to mention the humidity. There were little to no windows to help with how hot the rooms were.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback! We always try to improve our hostel and appreciate your respond! We are very sorry to hear that it was some trouble when you checked in and that you got separated. If it is hot in your room we have fans you can borrow from the reception. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.1

The dorm was very small and there were no lockers available. The entertainment however is great. Almost every evening(except Sunday and Monday) there are events organised. The atmosphere is also nice. I would recommend this hostel if you want to party and/or have a good time. If you just want a place to sleep and do your own thing, then there are probably better hostels for that than this one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback! We always try to improve our hostel and appreciate your respond. If your room doesn't have lockers you can leave your luggage in the reception. We have four different buildings within the hostel, if you want to stay in a more quit area just let us know and we can sort that out! Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Had a great time here. Francesco organises great activities and the hostel really has a community vibe which is nice. Its a bit of a walk from the station but close to a state liqour store and multiple restaurants and bars. Ended up staying here four nights when originally I was only planning one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you here again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.9

I enjoyed my stay! The location felt safe and all of Gothenburg's attractions were very accessible by public transit, with the downtown area and Haga being a 15-25 minute walk away. The hostel was clean and the kitchen facilities were great. Compared to Backpackers next door, Slottskogens had a very family-oriented, hotel feel. However, I was there on a Friday & Saturday night, and the social events, which were open to both hostels, were a great way to meet other travellers and explore!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your reply! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. If you want to meet new people while travelling, this hostel is absolutely perfect for you! The staff organise events every night which are super fun! The location is really good too. Just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful garden. The rooms were not very big but I didn't think of that to be a problem! Bathrooms were clean and security was also good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope we will see you again. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
9.1

Wonderful hostel with the nicest staff. Francesco organizes events pretty much every evening which are loads of fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and liked the activities that Francesco hosts. Kind Regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

23rd Jun 2016
6.0

This place was a disappointment. Not for backpackers - it all feels very impersonal. No lockers to store belongings, the rooms are cramped and it lacks atmosphere. It wasn't terrible, just bland.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We always tries to make our hostel better and appreciate your respond. However we do have a member of staff that only works with arranging activities for our guests, if you are unsure what happens during your stay you can always come to the reception and we will let you know what activities you can join. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

Positives- TV in the room, plenty of bathrooms/showers, great kitchen, free food, clean, really good restaurants around Negatives- dorm rooms don't look like the pictures and there are no windows (could be a pro if you want to sleep in), no lockers in the room, need your own linen My experience- nothing much was going on the night I stayed here but it was the night before midsommar. Suggestions- provide directions specifically from the airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your feedback! Our main dorms do have windows, however you can book a bed in some of our smaller rooms of 4 or 6 beds and these rooms comes with or whiteout windows, that is up to you if you book a bed in a room without window or with. Next time book in our male/female doorm. If you need directions from the airport you can just give us a call or send us an email and we will sen you directions. Hope to see you soon again! Best regards Slottsskogen Youth Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.