Hostelworld.com

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto Located at 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto.
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 603-8175 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku
78% 264
35.0435685 135.7513028
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2016
7.4

Overall nice. In a safe area but mostly out of the way from the major transit routes in Kyoto for visiting what one would come to see. No locker to store luggage. The owner is nice, but often seemed frustrated or gave off an unwelcoming vibe. Very cold (in early May), but the blankets provided are more than adequate. Minimal communal space due to the layout of the 4 person gendered rooms. Small kitchen facilities for anyone staying long-term. Good Wi-Fi, and open late for arrival which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Good experience, although the owner needs to step up his customer service game and smile more often :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
6.0

You basically get what you pay for. The 4 bed room for people who consider themselves male is narrow, has paper thin walls, the lower beds don't really get any light, it has two doors as it is kind of a pathway through the hostel, no keys. Being a tall person, I bumped my head a couple of time per day so I escaped onto the roof tops which are quite nice. I'd say its alright for two days but if you are planning on staying longer in Kyoto (like us), I would recommend looking for a different place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.1

A cozy and cool place to stay. It's a bit far from a lot of the sights and the common room could be a bit more comfortable I guess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

Location far from tourist spot except kinkakuji. Live in a truly Japanese style room. Allowed to deliver luggage to or from Kyoto station or other hotel so that you don't need to carry a luggage along with u to tour around kyoto before check in or put in locker where u need to come back & collect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
7.4

The Guesthouse is lovely and very traditional. Perfect for those who want to experience living in Kyoto like the locals.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Mar 2016
6.6

Just a very average hostel. Pretty far away from everything, pretty average service, small and cute but I struggled to meet people here for some reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2016
8.3

This hostel in an old authentic japanese small house is really cute! The dorm was small but cosy. It was really cold, especially at night, but there's a very efficient heater in the room and electric blankets for each bed, so it was good. The owner seemed pretty shy but was always very helpful and kind at all times. The location, a little bit north, was ok since there's a metro and bus station really close. I would definitely recommend the place to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.6

Very nice ambience. You feel Kyoto in 1800. The showe might be a bit cold during winter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
7.7

nice place, in a quiet part of the city, and unique atmosphere. Not everyone will like it though. When I stayed it was early March and since this is a more traditional style Japan building there is no heat. The rooms have a little kerosene heater, and electric blankets, so I was comfortable all the time. One more thing to mention, it's about a ten minute walk from the subway/bus station. So in summary: If you like camping, you'll like this place, if you don't you won't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.