Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto Located at 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto.
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 603-8175 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku
76% 299
35.0435685 135.7513028
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.6

The hostel location is not ideal, about 45 mins bus from the train station, but it's close to other tourists attractions such as the zen garden and not too far from the bamboo grove, so for us it worked well. The house is traditional japanese so it's pretty but it's a bit cold outside of the room and not soundproof at all. Facilities were a bit outdated, tiny kitchen so you can be more than one cooking at a time. Staff was really accomodating with keeping our luggage which was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
8.6

We had a pleasant stay at Small World Guesthouse. Although the room was quite small, it was a traditional Japanese style room that was clean and suitable for myself and my partner. We did initially struggle finding the place as it is down a small lane way and easy to miss. I would recommend Small World Guesthouse for those seeking budget friendly accommodation in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.0

The owner has turned his old house into a hostel and it is an interesting place... Almost like being in the Taisho Era of Japan. All facilities you may need are available. Towels and soap and toothbrushes, etc, for a low fee. But it is a bit of a walk to and from the nearest station. About a 20 minute walk. Also while there is no real curfew, the main doors are locked at night we found out when we came home late one night. We had to call to be let in...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
5.4

Overall it was very traditional as many others have said. The location was average and quite a distance from any nightlife or sights (though i hired a bike which made it easier). The western toilet constantly smelt of sewerage, the rooms are very open air and only heated by a small kerosene heater (if you decide to heat it) and on my first night i had a cockroach run across my bed and arm. Cooking facilities aren't that bad, it's just two little cooktop gas stoves. Different experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

Great place, like staying in a Japanese house (because it is one). Excellent value for money. Staff are helpful and non-intrusive. Although it is small, when I was there, all beds were booked and it didn't feel crowded. Always a shower/toilet free when needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
6.6

This is a budget accommodation so it is what it is for the price. I enjoyed the location - in a little quieter part of the city, but still easily bikeable to many locations. There were some safety issues - the water heater for the shower let out a stream of flames that was melting plastic from the roof (the owner moved it the second day I was there), and also the space heater in the room had an exhaust smell, so I opted to keep it off since it was close to my head.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
6.0

If you ever wanted a full Japanese esque experience, the house emits all forms of charisma, and feels very authentic. Floors were tatami, lights are switched on at the lamp, even locks were traditional. For the bad, the western toilet appears to have a real problem with plumbing, with the stench quite overwhelming at times (no such issues with the Japanese toilet though). The room was dusty, and my family started sneezing once we turned on the heater. Shower head wasn't properly fixed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Nov 2016
8.9

Quiet place~ companies with those hostel in the city center, I prefer this one, and old tradition it's really interesting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
7.7

Good staff. The place is old Japanese style hostel which is very cool and unique. However, the beds were very stiff and the place is very remote from all the attractions of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.3

Very interesting traditional machiya style hostel, the location isn't central but thankfully there is bikes you can rent 500yen or all day bus pass 500yen or subway to take. I enjoyed staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.