Hostelworld.com

Smart Brighton Beach

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
Smart Brighton Beach Located at First floor 79-81 West Street, , Brighton.
Smart Brighton Beach
England
Brighton BN1 2RA First floor 79-81 West Street
77% 647
50.8209400 -0.1445387
Smart Brighton Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
9.1

location was incredible! our room was more like a hotel room, with a double bed, ensuite and tv; we were so impressed, succh amazing value for money, especially taking into account the prime location! the people were really friendly and relaxed as well which was lovely :) we'll definitely be coming back whenever we're in brighton next! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
4.6

Location is great but other than that not much going for it. Upon check-in was told that there was a surcharge for paying by card this was not mentioned online. The room only had 2 small bathrooms for 21 people! There were no other toilets available expect for the ones in the room with that many people they became dirty very quickly and are only cleaned in the morning. I was in a mixed dorm and had guys snorting drugs in the bathroom, overall did not feel safe! Would not recommend this hostel!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
6.9

Good value for money. No security lockers. Next to club which means you have to be prepared for some noise. Great central location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chrisj2015a
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jun 2016
2.9

I was there for what was supposed to be a single night as part of a group of four. We found the room was dirty, the shower was flooded and the attitude of the staff was rude beyond belief. We had a bike and the afternoon receptionist made us carry it up the stairs then back down only to find the bike send was full so we then had to carry it all the way back up. He seemed more interested in chatting up anther guest. Will not stay here again nor would I recommended this place to anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
3.1

Filthy dirty and rude staff. We opted to drive home in the wee hours rather than endure a night there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
5.7

Overall it was all we needed however it was let down by it's staff. Whenever I phoned to ask a question the staff told me to call back as they were to busy. They struggled to answer simple questions like do we need towels? Do we need bedding? The answers to these if you want to know is Yes take a towel but they have bedding in the dorm style rooms but you'll need to put the sheets on the beds yourselves. The room was great but the shower overflowed quickly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
6.6

The hostel could be cleaner, specially the mattresses and duvets, a,thought the bathroom i Was very clean. It is located over a walkabout making the hostel very loud. They do charge you for everything, a towel 4 pounds!!! The morning receptionist wasn't very friendly. They don't have a map or any type of recommendations on what to visit.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marianagelhout
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.3

WiFi was not reliable, but it was in a pretty good location. The room I was in was very spacious for the 21 people in it, lots of room to keep bags and such. There were only 2 shower/toilet rooms and we're a little tight. Other than that, hostel was very clean and staff were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
6.6

Very loud disco right next to the hostel is a good prevention of sleeping.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel - Staff super friendly and we even got a free upgrade to a lovely twin room on our last night! Perfect central location and rooms were clean, beds were cosy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.