X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Brighton Beach Reviews

First floor 79-81 West Street, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Núria Núria was very nice and helpful. Made us feel very welcome. Good area to socialise in. Very good value for money in a great location. Would definitely recommend.


100%

The Staff was awesome, room and bathroom were super clean, great location.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location near to the Beach. Located above a club which played very loud music well into the early morning. Perfect if you are going to Brighton for the weekend and just need a place to crash but I wouldn't recommend if you are a light sleeper! Room was basic and clean but we were only given 2 sheets and no duvet cover for the bed which was a little strange. Staff were very friendly but be warned that you must pay a £10 key deposit on arrival. No lockers in rooms.


94%

friendly staff, good beds, hot showers but the breakfast is not that good.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably one of the best hostels I've ever been. We chose the twin room for a really fair price and it reminded me of a hotel. The bathroom was spotless, the room big and with TV (unusual in hostels) and the bed really comfortable. Free breakfast always a plus, and the atmosphere was great. In the city centre, 1 min waking from the beach. And the staff really helpful, with a super nice Spanish receptionist (Nuria) spreading joy and smiles to everybody. Just great!!! :D


94%

Right on the seafront - perfect location!! Close to all the nightlife! It was end of season so wasn't much going on in the hostel itself but luckily I was visiting a friend so didn't matter much too me! Very clean and very safe hostel! Would definitely stay here again when in Brighton! Staff was very nice and hair dryers are free here ladies :)


80%

Staff was great and ready to help at any time... rooms are ok but the 1 WC/shower for 12people is just not working... need external toilets urgently! The rest just keep the direction you are going and the rates.


71%

Very good location, and the staff was enthusiastic and welcoming. The place lacked bathrooms though (you could only have access to the one of your bedroom, and if you shared it with 12 people, it could become frustrating), and lockers.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We enjoyed our stay and the staff was really friendly and welcoming!! but one bathroom (including shower, toilet, basin and mirror) for 12 people is simply not enough!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A very pleasend,new and clean hostel on a great location in the center of Brighton. But our nights were bad- lots of noice in our room. There were an air condition pipe and a night club next our window.....(the room 202).

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Such a great place to stay in Brighton! Not ideal if you're traveling alone, although I was traveling at the end of travel season if that makes a difference! Very clean, quiet, and staff very helpful. Couldn't be located in a better place! Would definitely stay here again!


91%

The hostel was a great place: the room was clean and big, the receptionist was really nice to us, and there was a positive atmosphere all over. However we had problems finding the hostel, because the entrance is not at West St., is in a small street at the bottom of West St. perpendicular to it, and there was a small sign indicating but it looked like it was from another hostel, since it didn't said SMART Brighton in clear big letters.


57%

The staff was very nice and welcoming. However, when we got there they told us that there was a continental breakfast in the morning, but when we went down there it was toast and powdered orange juice. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone planning to go to bed early. There is a club right underneath the hostel. We heard the base until 3 in the morning. The rooms are also very moist. Our pillows and linens were moist before we went to bed and when we woke up our personal items were wet.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Smart Brighton Beach is excellent place to stay. Staff workers are polite, friedly and ready to help with everything. The best of them is Julia (if it's correct). She knows everything and she always has smile on her face :) I like this place very much!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Beds were a little short. In room lockers would really add to security. Polished surfaces slippery when weather wet: slip hazard. Otherwise, very good.


94%

Nice hostel, well located, all the staff is super friendly and helpful; you can improve your coffee


97%

Brilliant place to stay!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed in Hostels all over the world and this place was actually one of the best. Brand new building. Staff super chilled out and location is probably the best spot in Brighton. Room was Clean and Fresh. Lacked any hostel activitives but as just a place to bed down I would definitely stay again.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

very good stay, no lockers unfortunately


91%

Great place, definitely worth every penny. The only down side is that is very close to some bars and amenities, so it can be noisy during the weekend

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback