X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Brighton Beach Reviews

First floor 79-81 West Street, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
310 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Wonderful stay at a wonderful hostel. Staff was friendly, people were cool, WiFi worked great. My one note is that in a larger rooms (21 people) we had just two showers. A third would've been ideal but it wasn't a huge issues. The showers themselves were clean and worked great. Again, highly recommend this hostel, great location and a great spot.


46%

Large club underneath, meaning the beds were literally shaking from the bass of the club music. The atmosphere: there were some friendly people but it was filled with construction workers and the entire vibe was incredibly uncomfortable for two mid 20 aged women. There was absolutely nowhere to lock your belongings, and to even fasten or lock belongings to a bed was hard because there were so many people. Showers WERE FILTHY, SMELLY, like a trailer park. Never again!


60%

Could not sleep unless moved to the second floor as there's a nightclub downstairs opened til 3am every night


60%

Small room for 15 people, triple bunks with privacy curtains. No air conditioning or fan, just a small window which let very little air in, so the room was stifling and almost unbearably hot. Arrangement of bathrooms is that there is a single cubicle (toilet, shower, washstand) in the corner of the shared dorm, which means that queues build up.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Read some pretty bad reviews before going, and for 8 pounds per night my expectations for this place was not high. But it was definitely over expectations! I only stayed for one night. The duvet you get is nice and warm and I slept like a baby. The room you sleep in is connected to a room with a clean and fresh shower. Perfect location, right next to the beach and close to the pier. Super helpful staff!! I came on a Sunday and it was very quiet. Not sure how it is during the rest of the week.


54%

This hostel has been the noisiest I have ever stayed in. We were in a room directly above a nightclub dance-floor, and the bass was so loud it actually shook the bunk beds. The music in the club didn't stop until 3am, even though it was a Sunday. There was no warning upon booking or check-in about the noise levels. We complained and asked for a refund and just got blank refusal from the staff. To top it off, cleaning staff came in at 10am and refused to let us shower after this time.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms were really nice! Best hostel I've ever stayed in :) Plus it's right on the main road on the beach so location couldn't be any better! Highly recommend it!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really good but Room 114 felt like we were basically inside the Walkabout to the point that our beds were shaking from the bass and music all Friday night and then Saturday until we complained and got moved. Otherwise a good hostel... just not room 114.


100%

Fantastic hostel. So clean throughout and staff were helpful. Handy location too. Good showers. Loved the breakfast room with sea views. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Intrusive security staff, prison like beds that shake due to the club below.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, security comes first and we were not intrusive, you invited us into your room, just we had strong suspicions about your room that we had discussed with you and thought we was very clear at the time of issue.

80%

Nothing particularly wrong with this hostel, and would definitely stay here again. You cannot beat the location: a close walk to the Brighton rail station, the Brighton pier, and Churchill Square. Only a few minor faults such as the two tiny bathrooms which have been mentioned before and the lack of lockers. Met some awesome people and the staff was very friendly.


83%

Great staff,and very clean!


69%

The location of this hostel is great, as it is right next to the beach and just down the street from the train station. However, there are no lockers in the rooms (the only way to lock up any valuables is in a safety box at the front desk and it costs £2 per day). The hostel is also right on top of a really loud club which is great if you want to party but just a warning for anybody trying to get a good sleep, it is exceptionally loud.


80%

It is very close to the beach and has happening pubs right below. Value for money for bachelors or groups. But not a place for family. We were in a 12 bed dorm. It was clean, beds well maintained and enough space to walk around. Drawback is, it does not have any changing room apart from a tiny bathroom. Also no drawers or side stands, etc. to keep things...all have to be kept on floor or bed which might not be convenient for all.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

The ensuite private room is directly above a club. It was SO loud in our room the bed shock and we couldn't hear each other till 3.30am. Then everyone came back from the club and sat, shouted and smoked outside our window. The toilet blocked and we couldn't use it and the shower drain wasn't working properly and so flooded into main room. We spent £160 a night and sleeping was impossible under the circumstances.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Unfortunately, with the hostel being over the Walkabout pub, it was extremely noisy to the early hours. The heavy bass of the music made loud vibrations even through two floors making it very difficult to sleep. I would've made other arrangements but it would've ment losing my payment.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great stay here! People were friendly, staff nice. Amazing location. Only downside was the bar/club downstairs was really loud so not a place to stay if you want a good early nights rest.


69%

The breakfast was a darned cheek. No savory spread and just one kind of jam, not even honey! The rooms and beds were okay, but ours didn't have curtains, which all the other rooms had....

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, right next to the beach and the bars (meant it was a bit noisey at night but that didn't bother us). Very clean. friendly, helpful staff. Comfy beds.


71%

Staff where friendly and helpful and had good suggestions about activities! When arriving at a hostel in a new area it's always good to have maps available this hostel didn't have any maps or visitor information! breakfast was good and facilities were basic but clean! The atmosphere was pretty average


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback