Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Brighton Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
4.9

Excellent location, fairly substantial breakfast for the price. The room had a horrible atmosphere~ lights could not be turned off, constantly noisy. Room consisted of 21 beds, organised into rows of triple bunk beds, with curtains for privacy. Even though mine and my friend's beds were numbered 14 and 15, they were nowhere near eachother. There were no lockers, so if you didn't want to risk having your stuff stolen, you had to sleep with your bag. Satisfactory for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
6.3

An okay cheap place to just drop down and sleep--assuming you can find a dorm bed with a working curtain and aren't too bothered by lingering smells. During my stay the electric sockets didn't function in our room, so phones couldn't be charged. The free breakfast (and the breakfast area's sockets) made the stay a bit more worth the money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Everything you would expect from a basic hostel stay. The atmosphere rating is only affected by the arguments that took place in the middle of the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
4.9

Very unclean, cramped, not a very pleasant experience. It was cheap and it's very close to the beach but it was disgusting. Worth forking out a bit more for a Travelodge or somewhere less gross.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • CBubble
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
8.6

Close to the Beach, Cinema and Nightlife. It's located above a club but the noise wasn't too loud to keep me awake. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are cleaned daily. I wish the breakfast had more variety but was good. There is no age limit to whom can stay at the hostel, but everyone who I ruined with were GREAT. Will visit again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2017
8.9

Great Locartion. Reasonably priced. Good Value for money and great atmosphere :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Jun 2017
6.9

The rooms are tiny and 3 bunks tall. 1 bathroom for everyone and no toilets anywhere else. Staff are super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
4.3

The major problem with this hostel was its cleanliness: They provided sheets for mattress and pillow, but none for the duvets - making them dirty and very smelly. Furthermore, the showers were missing curtains resulting in the whole bathroom and toilets being flooded and constantly covered in water, making hair and dirt stay all over the place. However, the breakfast was better than we expected for this price, the usual toast, butter, jam and cornflakes, but instant coffee, tea and cocoa on top.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2017
4.6

My stayed was uncomfortable from the beginning. Hard to find the place, they had no towels to rent. I could not reach wi-fi & when I asked for help they do nothing. There is not lockers in the rooms; the duvet was not clean. I stayed in a share room, I cannot rest due to the music from outside and my roommates were really unrespectful. The atmosphere is tense in the kitchen, people who stay/live there has arguments and fight. Staff cleaners are kind and nice, not the rest of the staff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
4.9

The advertising of the hotel is misleading. It does not correspond with reality. The beds are curled in the form of barracks in the rooms. Stations of 25 people with only two showers. The breakfast quality is appalling. They indicate that the employees speak English and only one speaks. Noise at weekends, even though they warn you, is unbearable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.