Hostelworld.com

Smart Brighton Beach

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Smart Brighton Beach Located at First floor 79-81 West Street, , Brighton.
Smart Brighton Beach
England
Brighton BN1 2RA First floor 79-81 West Street
80% 584
50.8209400 -0.1445387
Smart Brighton Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
6.9

The room was clean and secure. Location good. Communication via email with questions was patchy - had to chase up after going over a week with no reply. Unhappy with the 5% surcharge for paying with a debit card, which isn't mentioned in any of the T&C's. Also, room card deposit was advertised at £5 - we were charged £10 and this also had to be cash, which again we found no mention of prior to arriving - difficult and inconvenient for large groups.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
3.4

This hostel is located directly over a nightclub. I don't expect much when paying 25£ per night but a bed that is 6 foot long is to short and as its an enclosed bunk I could not stretch out at all. To put it bluntly regardless of facilities at least being able to sleep is expected!!I am taller than the average person but it still made comfort difficult!! However until 3:00 am it was not important as the music from night club literally vibrated the whole room and all the metal bed frames in it!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

I would like to have seen lockers available to lock up medium sized valuables like a laptop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Welcoming staff, clean and comfortable. Perfect what I needed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
6.9

Stayed in cheapest 21 bed mixed dorm, 7£p/n. All rooms had ensuite bathrooms (2x shower/toilet) but are only ones you can access. No other toilets throughout building, when in common room have to go back to own room to use toilet. Kitchen tiny & always pretty unclean with very minimal utensils. Staff friendly. Location pretty good, right on marina/seaside. Not an overly enjoyable place to stay but get what you pay for. Most reviews complain about noise but this was no issue for us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
6.6

The location of this hostel was really good and the staff was friendly and tried to help with our requests. Unfortunately were the beds not really confortable and the blanket sheets haven't been changed. It was really noisy during the night as there is a club directly under the hostel. The 12-bed-dorm we stayed in had only 1 tiny bathroom which was completely dirty in the morning. No extra toilets or sinks anywhere in the hostel. Luggage storage costs 2£ per item.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.4

We had a decent stay at smart Brighton beach. The best part of the hostel was the fact that we had curtains in our bunks aswell as a really nice common area. Unfortunately you had to pay for luggage storage and the nightclub downstairs was a bit of a bother. A couple of nights was ok but would not be able to stay for longer. All the best

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.4

Very comfortable, nice staff, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.9

Totally functional. Excellent location for station, seafront and Lanes. Exceptionally clean. Run as a very tight ship. Expensive although we were staying over the Brighton Marathon weekend. Lacks personality/atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.4

Great location but extremely noisy at night. Clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.