X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Brighton Beach Reviews

First floor 79-81 West Street, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The value for money of this place is terrible. Spend an extra 20 pounds and get a budget hotel. - need to pay 6 pounds for a towel, this isn't mentioned prior to the booking. - need to leave 10 pound cash deposit per key! no card accepted. - bed is too short for anyone taller than 6 feet or 1.83m - beds are cages akin to military barracks

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Locstion, fair price and friendly staff.. As its above a bar its noisy but if your out amongst them, Its the perfect location! Have a great stay :)

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Stayed with a friend at Smart Brighton Beach for three days in a twin private room (ensuite) and we were extremely happy with our stay. The room was clean and nice, we were supplied with fresh towels every day and had a TV in our room. It felt more like a hotel than hostel, there was some noise from the bar on the Thursday but we didn't feel it was exessive. Location is also very good, right by the beach. We will def. Stay there again if we are in Brighton.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Not complaining too much because it was super cheap, but it was missing a lot of very basic hostel things, such as chargers next to the beds and lockers in the rooms. Also the music level was absurd, generally I don't care about noise but the music from the bar was so loud my bed was vibrating. Also, nowhere really to hang out and meet people. Only stay here if you're looking for somewhere super cheap!


69%

Excellent location right next to the beach and only minutes away from Brighton Peer. The train station is about 10min walk. However, very noisy at night.. it feels like you sleep on top of a club and the bathroom wasn't clean at all.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good for price.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Location was great but for the price of the beds in a 6 bed dorm it was small stuffy and really uncomfortable. Upon checking in we found out our group couldn't be in the same room and they had overbooked the hostel. There was 3 of us and we were split over the levels and one of the friends even got put in a full dorm and had to move again. Really disappointed in the price and what we actually got for it. I won't be booking last minute again which meant we had to stay here.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Unhelpful staff, dirty bathrooms, weren't cleaned once during our stay, overpriced and loud due to the nightclub directly bellow the hostel. AVOID, friends stayed in another hostel with a lower rating and it was better than this.


74%

Strategic location near to the bus station and to the sea. You have also the possibility to find very good price opportunity!


63%

Nothing other than beds in room. No space to leave anything other than on the floor. One of our party was a little person and unable to see in the mirror in the bathroom. No full length mirror in room. When informed reception of same not very helpful. A very kind security guard let us into another room with a mirror on the wall so she could get ready. On the plus side great location and no curfew! Very, very basic accommodation. Not on par with other hostels I've stayed in.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This is one of those moneymaking hostels, it might be cheap for English standards, but if I pay 30 pounds for a dorm in which there is absolutely no possibility to sleep, due to the club downstairs, I find this expensive. The loudness is not the hostels fault, but it's their fault to overprice the dorm, if you get to room 110, do not go to the bathroom between 10 pm and 3 am as the mirror might fall on your toe due to the bass downstairs. Getting a refund was not an option, another bed neither.


51%

Someone had an entire suitcase stolen from their room whilst we were there. It was huge too and someone was just able to walk out with it. Great location though.


80%

Great location and a very good option for the budget traveller

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

ROOM 102 - SPENT FOUR NIGHTS AND I DID NOT HAVE ANY SLEEP AS THE CLUB DOWNSTAIRS KEPT PLAYING LOUD BASS MUSIC TILL 3AM. I DONT THINK I WILL COME BACK AND BOOK THIS HOSTEL EVER AGAIN.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds are embarrassingly small.


100%

I fond it very nice and for sure going to come again for sure

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent for a night out in Brighton! :) However... probably not great if you are backpacking or wanting a good nights sleep as it is above a loud and busy bar. We stayed for Brighton Pride - it was perfect for us. Walking distance to Pride Village Party & close to the beach. Rooms were modern, clean and had their own bathrooms. Breakfast - toast & cereal - was included, which was good for what we paid. Staff were friendly & welcoming. Great place to crash after a night out! :)

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was ideal! Absolutely perfect location, short walk from everything we wanted. Staff were friendly and happy to help and answer questions. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Overall a great stay, would definitely go again :)

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a good experience for a budget holiday. Real good value for money.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice friendly staff and rooms were cleaned everyday, very central to everything. For 2£ per 24hr they will store your backpack after checkout, only thing is self catering part of the kitchen quiet small and limited, Id recommend and stay again


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback