X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1979 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The check-in guy did not give us sheets. We didn't realize this until the next morning when we were checking out. Your only 2 jobs are your hand keys over and give sheets. We were totally grossed out. We had to sit and wait for him to "hopefully" return from his break. Also, they ran out of towels. Not that it mattered because the water is the shower was so unbearably cold. The breakfast was a joke.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Hostel in great location. The hostel is tucked off a road behind main road so thought it would be quiet but could hear loud music and noise every night from nearby bars tilll very late from our room. Staff friendly enough upon arrival, was given keys and linen when we paid. Booked to stay in a 6 dorm mixed room, VERY SMALL AND CRAMPED. En suite room was tiny too, just enough room for a toilet and a shower that wet everything in there. Room V.dusty and found rat trap at end of our bed.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value, precisely what I expected, would use again

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Would not recommend this hostel for people on holidays.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The room was nice and in reasonable price. First night we cant reach hot water for shower in second night we know theres have hot water out. Free map down the reception and the place was close to the underground station only 3 min walking, so convenience.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macau
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel itself was nothing really special however the location is great and the outdoor patio outback was really nice. The rooms were kinda stuffy but it was manageable. It is really close to the metro though which is really great for transport. (If you go to London look into getting an Oyster card if you plan on using the tube.)


63%

Perfect location if you plan to going out at night, loads of great pubs near, but easy bus and metro traffic to the center, too. Rooms are very tiny, the whole place is so midget you feel yourself an elephant in a porcelain store. Quite loud and not so clean and don't build any plan upon the breakfast but for this price it was OK anyway.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is not really smart, the rooms are far to small as well as the bathrooms so it's hard to keep it clean - even though they try. The guy at the office in the morning was very nice but the one during the evening is impolite and unwellcomed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and review. We are upset that you found our trained staff not as welcoming as we would hope and your comments will be passed on to the relevant departments. Thank you again staying with us at smart hostels and we hope you will visit us again.

63%

As average as a punch to the balls by a chinchilla

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is situated in a top location, but has the benefit of being on the street parallel to the High St. - so not so noisy at night. Good price, but needs work to make it comfortable - and up to date. Some rooms can be a bit cramped. This was my 3rd stay, and for the 2nd time the room was compact. I've slept in a 4-bed dorm in the past with more room than the 6-bed dorm this time. Also, the under-bed locker (set by computer at reception) didn't work for a spell - locking my things inside.


69%

Pretty basic accomodation. No lounge, very few toilets, everything very tight. The showers have only one temperature which is boiling hot. Can hear everyone's footsteps from eveywhere when in your room. Just a descent,clean place to sleep in, and in a great location near Camden Town's centre and then off you go. Some weird (long term??) visitors that make the atmosphere....well, weird.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This is one of the best hostels in London that I have stayed in. The location is ideal especially for seeing Camden. The staff are always friendly and polite and I shall continue to go back there. I love the fact that they have large lockers at a reasonable price. You get what you pay for and this is definitely worth the price.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and very kind comments, we hope to see you again soon.

71%

Friendly host when walked in who made me feel welcome. However lights not working in the dorm bathroom meant had to wait for the public shower for a while in hallway. When eventually got in the water was ice cold so only put my head under, no shower.


80%

Fab hostel, couldn't fault the location and place for the cost. Only thing was the motion sensitive lights in bathroom. Showering ended up being in pitch black. All in all really happy and would come again.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Basic but good clean hostel, in an excellent quirky location. I don't think anyone should expect luxury conditions for a London hostel at this price.


100%

This hostel is great, it's like a big family here, everyone here is ready to lend a hand for wathever you need, the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Turkey, which always helped me a lot with all my requests! totally recommended, great location and good price.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is my second time here and i`m looking foward to go again soon thank you..


60%

No towells, no gel. Breakfaste included

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent hostel with character. Not very comfy, since building is quite old, with rather narrow stairways and hallways. But since I don't care much about that, I was fine. Breakfast choice is poor and the kitchen is too small for also serving as breakfast room. I should mention that we (4 people) stayed in a 4 bed ensuite. It was clean and perfectly fine for the price we paid. If you are looking for a nice stay without luxury in a good location, this one is ok.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

*Staff on the whole - rude and unwelcoming *Very small, felt very on top of each other - too many beds in too small a room *Shower had no heat control, was so small (like a caravan shower) *Unclean (hairs in the linen, tissues in the beds and waste bins) *People drinking on the front door and in the common room until early hours, being very loud - not great for Room 11 which was next to Common Room and facing street *Room far too hot, no ventilation *Kitchen closed off at midnight!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback