X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1772 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stayed at this hostel LOADS of times and it was fab as per usual. The only thing I would comment on for improvement would be the bathroom light, which turns on and off every 30 seconds. I know it's all carbon emissions but when I need the light on I need it on. Secondly I know it's a 'backpacking' hostel but not all of us can pack a weeks worth of stuff into a backpack. Therefore a lift would be useful if it's possible to install one. Otherwise everything was brilliant. Thanks again guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

40%

It's not very clean. And it smells bad. And it looks super sketchy. Felt very uncomfortable there. The staff wasn't very friendly. And didn't provide good service. It seemed like they didn't care. The rooms are small and you can't fit your suitcase nicely in the rooms. Avoid this place at all cost. Location is poor too.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

80%

What happened to the free wi-fi in all the rooms :-/

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for staying with us and for writing a review. Recently we have installed faster wifi in the dorms. It only costs £1 for 1 day. Free wifi is still available in the common areas. Cheers.

77%

The place is ok near to the high street and buses but quite noisy specially if your room is near the road youll hear group of people talking outside even in the late night you cant hardly sleep cos of this the wifi is not free even their lockers you need to pay including the linen but if youre leaving you need to bring the linen with you and theyll return back the money the kitchen n the food they serve were so simple help yourself attitude you need to wash your own plates n cups after food

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. The receptionists do try to keep outside of the building clear of a night time but often are busy helping other guests inside. We will try to do more. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV. All guests should note they are required to pay a £10 deposit which is fully refunded upon departure. Hope to see you again :)

89%

I had a great stay here! The staff were super nice and helpful, the location is great- Camden is such a cool neighbourhood! There was a kitchen, common area and average free breakfast. I guess there are a lot of stairs if you have a big bag but they didn't bother me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the electric Camden Town vibes! We hope we will see you again!

63%

Noisie room at the front of the building. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Great location and the tiny rooms are perfect for a few hours sleep while on a weekend in London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback, we will make sure to pass on your feedback to the Hostel manager.

40%

This place was a horror show. Tiny cramped shower that shuts off every 2 minutes unless you keep pressig the button. You have to pay for lockers and wifi. Staff is ridiculously unfriendly and unhelpful. No AC which in a 3 rd or 4th story room is disgusting. Breakfast is literally jam butter and toast, maybe cornflakes if you get there early. Also demanded a 40£ cash deposit once we arrived that wasnt mentioned in the email or website. Such a disappointing place to come back to at night.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Every guest is required to pay a £10 cash security deposit which is fully refunded (assuming there is no trouble/damage). We suggest guests check the "Important Information" sections.

60%

On arrival we were given our bed sheets and sent up to the third floor where our pokey twin room awaited us where we then had to make our beds. The shower was a swimming pool style shower, you press the button and water comes out for thirty seconds or so, when it did come out it tended to be scorching hot which made it very hard to wash properly. On top of this there were no towels about so we had to go down to reception to buy one. Makes me wander what the money we paid actually went towards.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like towels. It is quite common at Hostels for guests to make their own beds, otherwise we'd be called a Hotel and have to charge a lot more money. We hope you had fun in Camden though. Cheers

51%

kind of an odd place. the staff wasn't very helpful...wifi was spotty and there was a lack of community areas in the hostel to meet other people. just a dark basement and a porch area that closed after 11 pm

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Next time for better wifi, we have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common areas..on the topic of common areas, our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London, we leave the entertainment up to our fabulous guests and funky Camden.

71%

The shower only has boiling water and stays on for only five seconds and you have to keep pushing the button to stay on. Very annoying. The rest is pretty good. Worth the money except for the shower

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for the review. We'll have the maintenance team see what they can do about adjusting the water temp. Glad you enjoyed Camden.

80%

For London it was good but compared to Hostels in the rest of Europe pretty standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for your review, hopefully we will see you again.

46%

This hostel is cheap for a reason. With no A/C and with 14 people crammed together in the dorm it was waaay to hot to sleep. The breakfast, the facilities and everything was just sad. And you had to pay extra for everything. I will definitly recommend that you stay in Camden, it's the place to be, but try to find another hostel. You will regret booking this one.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. London has been hotter than usual and we have all been feeling it. Can we suggest a smaller dorm next time might be more comfortable. Thanks again.

71%

While the location was good the staff were a little rude (cleaning and desk staff) the rooms were crowded the shower and bathroom facilities tiny (knees touch door while on toilet im 5'4" and shower about 500mm square.


51%

Really small bathrooms, the water does not have a continuous temperature during the shower (too hot sometimes), staff not friendly.Location excellent and breakfast OK.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is fed back in to our staff training so that we can constantly improve.

57%

I stayed in a room with 10 people. There was one toilet for those 10 people and in the morning it was clogged. There is very little floor space so to get in and out of bed was difficult and even though there are lockers, they're not big enough for your bag and they charge extra for using them. They also charge extra for storing your bag for the day. I left mine for less than 1 hr only and asked the guy to refund me and he said no, 5 pounds. Maybe a diff. kind of room is better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write your review. It's unfortunate that you had a toilet malfunction in the room. Our maintenance team work tirelessly to keep things flowing. Perhaps if we can suggest next time a smaller dorm, often less people create less issues. If you leave your bag at one of London's Train Stations it will cost £6 per bag just for the first 3 hours,! As a service, we charge our guests a nominal £2 from checkout time in the morning until midnight.

60%

If you are unlucky to get a room in the third floor be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. Staff is a little unfriendly and not very proned to help with information as in other places (but they attented most of my requests). Other guests were nice (but most of them live there and work so don't expect them to go party with you). Location is good, 5 minutes to the underground. Not very clean but not as dirty as some reviewers said (didn't see anything really dirty there).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback so that we can do better next time. Cheers.

71%

free wi-fi not true

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. It seems you must have had a problem with the wi-fi. At all of our Hostels we offer free wi-fi in the reception and common rooms. In the bedrooms wi-fi is available for just £1 for 1 day.

77%

Nice staff, definitelly great location in Camden town, minutes from Camden town. Rooms not well suited for claustrophobics but safe (you can rent a locker for £1.5) and overall good price/quality for this location in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your review. Camden's one of those great London places we all love. Hope to see you again. Cheers

94%

The staff works hard to keep everything clean. Other people were polite. Not too noisy - even during World Cup. No bugs. Bathroom kept clean daily. Beds were comfortable with mattresses in good order. All of the things that I worried about because of reading hostel reviews were not problems. Two Underground stations close with a bus stop right across the street. Many places to eat and buy food. The space is a little tight, but you didn't plan a trip to London to stay in the room.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place to stay cheap and easy


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback