X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
1830 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Good location but the room was terrible! We stayed three nights and were so happy to finally leave. The bed was a bunk bed in steel, unbelievably uncomfortable and the mattress was too short so your feet didn't fit. Also the sheets were dirty and the chairs in the room were stained and gross. No hot water in our shower. The room was next to the joint toilet so we woke up every time someone used it. Don't stay here unless you plan to spend no time in the room and don't care about good sleep.


63%

The downsides are the lack of toilet facilities and the shower. The shower in my room was cold and you had hold the button in to make it work - to be fair I never complained at the time so they may have had a problem. For the price it was cheap and cheerful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad your enjoyed your stay in out hostel. We wish you had have taken your problem to reception as we could easily have had our maintenance team change the temperature to suit our valued guest. We hope to see you again!

74%

I didn't enjoy at all, despite of the hostel is well located due to nearby there is an underground station, and there are also some restaurants and supermarkets. I recomend it because the "shared toilet" was always clean, but please considere that some of the guys are not that kind and that you would probably pay for services that must be included in the price as the wifi and the use of the computer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel. We are glad you found our hostel clean and hygienic. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not some extra services as most of our guests won't use them and this way they don’t end up paying for services they do not need! We hope to see you again!

60%

No social area as such.As a songle fale travrller i felt unsafe here as one big irish guy was very aggressive towards everybody and another girl kept talking and laughing to herself which was scary. The dorms are small smelly and full of snorers and people with bad hygiene.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We will pass on your comments to our hostel to look into further. We are sorry your experience was dampened by the guest you stayed with. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

66%

An okay hostel but compulsory bed changes should be made as some long stay travellers use up all the shelving and the rooms smell a bit ferrel. Location OK. Seats in lounge so uncomfortable and kitchen gets too busy in the morning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We will pass on your suggestion to our Hostel Manager! Our hostel is located in a central location right by the Camden Lock markets with convenient public transport links running 24 hours. We aim to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms at budget-friendly prices in central London. We hope to see you again!

69%

Turk's friendliness really made the place warmer, it's really important to have someone who seems to care about the people staying at the hostel. The patio area out back is really nice. Maybe have better ventilation in the larger rooms. Consider offering a lactose free milk substitute.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your valuable feedback. Thank you for your kind comments about our Hostel Manager, our staff are continually receiving training on customer service/care and you can really see the positive improvements with feedback like this! We are in the process of installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels so we can life the restriction on our window openings. We are positive this will be a massive improvement for the ventilation problems. We hope to see you again!

66%

If you want to sleep, is not a good place to do it, or depends in which room you stay, if you stay near to the kitchen you will sufer so much(if you can ovoid it) the staff is not very helpfull but its ok for the price, the location is excellent, a lot of places to eat!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our hostel is also within a short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass your comments onto the hostel! Thanks for staying with us!

57%

No sheets given to me for my matress rm 33. No help with bags as was on the 1st floor, no room is small shower. Mattress uncomfortable and was not full size with no duvet cover on top. Limited breakfast with only small bowl of cornflakes and toast and tea and coffee to choose from. No atmosphere living room not great either. Has a fridge, no oven only microwave.Sheds near back of kitchen for storage that was good. Only.small bowl of vo

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for any problems you encounter, such as lack of sheets. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We have also strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage to up with ease.

29%

Stayed in plenty of hostels and don't expect anything other than the basics but this hostel was pushing it to say the least. Bathroom taps only gave out a trickle, shower too hot to shower properly under. I was put in a room with 'long term residents' I.e. homeless folk. It was all pretty dodgy and I wasn't comfortable sleeping there. One guy in my room threw up and started cleaning it with a sheet, I told reception who went to have a look but did nothing and was very rude. Truly awful.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For our guests convenience, our reception is open 24 hours they are able to report them straight away and we will endeavour to resolve them as soon as possible. Thank you for your feedback and we apologize if you weren't satisfied with our service, if you please could contact us at customercare@smartbackers.com to provide further information on these issues so we can resolve them and improve our services.

80%

I don't like mixed dorms..need more female only dorms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! We do appreciate your comment and while we already have a female dormitory in this hostel, we understand it can be very popular and book out early. We have several other Smart hostels across London which have more female only dorms in the case Camden has sold out for our guests (one just down the road in Russell Square!). We Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers!

66%

Great location and price. Rooms are a bit small and stuffy. Lounge isn't somewhere to spend lots of time but okbfor a few minutes of TV with dinner. A number of long-term residents are there who have a good knowledge of London. Not a place for more than 5 days IMO but perfect for a few nights and close to Camden lock too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our hostel is also within a short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from popular tourist attractions like the Big Ben! Thank you for staying with us again, and we hope to see you again!

94%

The staff are all helpful and at least bi-lingual. Thanks!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are glad our staff could be of assistance to you! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers.

66%

Nice zone. Poor breakfast.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! Our hostel is located in a very central and convenient location. It is within a short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. Thank you for staying with us!

31%

A gloomy, dirty submarine feel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize if you weren't satisfied with our service. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

54%

£5 to rent a towell is a bit too much for an hostel like this. Although very good location, ideal to spend a night in Camden.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smart Backpackers. We don't rent our towels, we sell them and this is why we charge £5. Our hostel is located in a very central and convenient location. It is within a short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye. We hope to see you again in Smart Backpackers

31%

By far the worst hostel I have EVER stayed at. Staff were extremely rude, one was drunk and became aggressive towards my friend. Rooms were so over crowded that while asleep I got kicked by someone in another bunk by accident. They make you make your own bed, even if you're checking in at 2am. The wifi is only free in the common room and it's very average. The free breakfast is basic. Do not ingnore all the other bad reviews, avoid this place at all costs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Hostel Manager to look into further. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We also provide free wifi in common areas!

77%

Way to many stairs, but maybe i thought that because of my bags.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. While our hostel doesn’t have an elevator, we have strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage up with ease! We hope to see you again in Smart Backpackers

71%

To many stairs for people who have a lot of baggage.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smart Backpackers. While our hostel doesn’t have an elevator, we have strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage up with ease! We hope to see you again!

43%

The staff here are so unhelpful, rude and make you feel unwelcome. Its not a nice hostel to stay in for youth, I would avoid it in future, and suggest anyone under 30 looking for a good time do so to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Hostel Manager. Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers.

43%

This hostel is weird, the atmosphere is so strange. There are unemployed locals living there. the staff are rude, unfriendly, unhelpful and very unwelcoming. I felt very uncomfortable here and to be honest could not wait to leave. The only good thing about this place is the price, which is low, however, I have moved around London and never paid more then this, and let me tell you there are far better hostels to stay in. I would never stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Hostel Manager. We hope you enjoyed the location of the hostel as well. A short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback