X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1787 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Nice zone. Poor breakfast.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

£5 to rent a towell is a bit too much for an hostel like this. Although very good location, ideal to spend a night in Camden.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

By far the worst hostel I have EVER stayed at. Staff were extremely rude, one was drunk and became aggressive towards my friend. Rooms were so over crowded that while asleep I got kicked by someone in another bunk by accident. They make you make your own bed, even if you're checking in at 2am. The wifi is only free in the common room and it's very average. The free breakfast is basic. Do not ingnore all the other bad reviews, avoid this place at all costs.


77%

Way to many stairs, but maybe i thought that because of my bags.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

To many stairs for people who have a lot of baggage.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Deposit Ł10 is rather high. Conception what the continental breakfast is, is rather misguided.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Stuff was poor and unhelpful. Company policy was bad.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. I will pass on your comments to our Hostel manager.

60%

We stayed in the twin room which was actually just a tiny room with a bunk bed. Had staff on at least 3 occasions barge into our room with their staff key access either without knocking or knocking and coming in 2 seconds later anyway without waiting for our response. This happened over a number of days. They make you pay for luggage storage per item after check-out which is ridiculous.Otherwise in a great location in Camden, few minutes walk from the underground. The free internet's pretty slow

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are sorry that you felt your privacy was invaded by our staff, however our housekeeping team clean each rooms daily for the guests comfort. This was probably just a miscommunication however we will investigate this further. Our luggage storage rates are a low £2/bag (until midnight). If you compare this to the price you would pay at a train station/airport (£6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is affordable for our Backpackers!

100%

Stayed at this hostel LOADS of times and it was fab as per usual. The only thing I would comment on for improvement would be the bathroom light, which turns on and off every 30 seconds. I know it's all carbon emissions but when I need the light on I need it on. Secondly I know it's a 'backpacking' hostel but not all of us can pack a weeks worth of stuff into a backpack. Therefore a lift would be useful if it's possible to install one. Otherwise everything was brilliant. Thanks again guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

40%

It's not very clean. And it smells bad. And it looks super sketchy. Felt very uncomfortable there. The staff wasn't very friendly. And didn't provide good service. It seemed like they didn't care. The rooms are small and you can't fit your suitcase nicely in the rooms. Avoid this place at all cost. Location is poor too.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

80%

What happened to the free wi-fi in all the rooms :-/

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for staying with us and for writing a review. Recently we have installed faster wifi in the dorms. It only costs £1 for 1 day. Free wifi is still available in the common areas. Cheers.

77%

The place is ok near to the high street and buses but quite noisy specially if your room is near the road youll hear group of people talking outside even in the late night you cant hardly sleep cos of this the wifi is not free even their lockers you need to pay including the linen but if youre leaving you need to bring the linen with you and theyll return back the money the kitchen n the food they serve were so simple help yourself attitude you need to wash your own plates n cups after food

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. The receptionists do try to keep outside of the building clear of a night time but often are busy helping other guests inside. We will try to do more. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV. All guests should note they are required to pay a £10 deposit which is fully refunded upon departure. Hope to see you again :)

89%

I had a great stay here! The staff were super nice and helpful, the location is great- Camden is such a cool neighbourhood! There was a kitchen, common area and average free breakfast. I guess there are a lot of stairs if you have a big bag but they didn't bother me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the electric Camden Town vibes! We hope we will see you again!

63%

Noisie room at the front of the building. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Great location and the tiny rooms are perfect for a few hours sleep while on a weekend in London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback, we will make sure to pass on your feedback to the Hostel manager.

40%

This place was a horror show. Tiny cramped shower that shuts off every 2 minutes unless you keep pressig the button. You have to pay for lockers and wifi. Staff is ridiculously unfriendly and unhelpful. No AC which in a 3 rd or 4th story room is disgusting. Breakfast is literally jam butter and toast, maybe cornflakes if you get there early. Also demanded a 40£ cash deposit once we arrived that wasnt mentioned in the email or website. Such a disappointing place to come back to at night.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Every guest is required to pay a £10 cash security deposit which is fully refunded (assuming there is no trouble/damage). We suggest guests check the "Important Information" sections.

60%

On arrival we were given our bed sheets and sent up to the third floor where our pokey twin room awaited us where we then had to make our beds. The shower was a swimming pool style shower, you press the button and water comes out for thirty seconds or so, when it did come out it tended to be scorching hot which made it very hard to wash properly. On top of this there were no towels about so we had to go down to reception to buy one. Makes me wander what the money we paid actually went towards.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like towels. It is quite common at Hostels for guests to make their own beds, otherwise we'd be called a Hotel and have to charge a lot more money. We hope you had fun in Camden though. Cheers

51%

kind of an odd place. the staff wasn't very helpful...wifi was spotty and there was a lack of community areas in the hostel to meet other people. just a dark basement and a porch area that closed after 11 pm

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Next time for better wifi, we have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common areas..on the topic of common areas, our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London, we leave the entertainment up to our fabulous guests and funky Camden.

71%

The shower only has boiling water and stays on for only five seconds and you have to keep pushing the button to stay on. Very annoying. The rest is pretty good. Worth the money except for the shower

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for the review. We'll have the maintenance team see what they can do about adjusting the water temp. Glad you enjoyed Camden.

80%

For London it was good but compared to Hostels in the rest of Europe pretty standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for your review, hopefully we will see you again.

46%

This hostel is cheap for a reason. With no A/C and with 14 people crammed together in the dorm it was waaay to hot to sleep. The breakfast, the facilities and everything was just sad. And you had to pay extra for everything. I will definitly recommend that you stay in Camden, it's the place to be, but try to find another hostel. You will regret booking this one.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. London has been hotter than usual and we have all been feeling it. Can we suggest a smaller dorm next time might be more comfortable. Thanks again.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback