X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1893 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.


69%

Random people in the morning for the kitchen was a bit strange , but for a hostel I guess is normal .and not having like a room to hang sometime if someone has to wait for a taxi etc etc ...

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff were very helpful on my arrival, but it kinda went downhill from there.. The room (6 bed dorm in the basement) was tiny & smelt awful, the shower/toilet facilities were woefully inadequate (1 per floor, in a hostel with 40+ rooms??!), only cornflakes & toast for breakfast (ok for me, I guess..).. Only stayed one night & i'd be hard pushed to recommend staying any longer..


69%

Ok place! Fine if you want a cheap place jn londen to stay with a friend. Walls are a bit thin, so if your hotelmates are noisy, your sleep will be disturbed. Use earplugs Cleanliness is ok! Totally not a place to stay with your love ;)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Over all very poor service and filthy rooms.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular checks every hour durng these times of the shared toilets and facilities to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, any cleaning issues reported to receptionists by guests will be dealt with promptly.

40%

so cold! breakfast is bad!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast service consists of an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast which includes fresh toast, cereal, teas and coffee. We provide this service free of charge to all our guests.

66%

Although it's far from the main places, it was good that the hostel is close to the underground, what is very important specially in London. The reception was helpful, the guy that stayed there at night helped me whenever we needed. The major problem was the cleanliness and the cleaners that were not friendly and sometimes were rude. They entered the room many times a day and didn't clean it well. The bathroom was too dirty and small also.


89%

It was my first time in a Hostel but I had a good experience, the location is excellent and the staff are very helpful and kind. I stayed over three weeks and I have to say overall I had a good experience. On weekends it can be a bit noisy and hard to sleep as there are people that only go for one night that have only come to party so that was my only issue. But I do recommend it.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are always pleased to receive positive comments. During your next visit, please speak to our friendly reception team who will be able to provide you with ear plugs to reduce noise levels. Come back and visit us soon.

74%

Very good location. The bed was quite comfy and I slept well, however the toilets needed a good clean and smelt quite bad.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00 to provide continual high standards of service for our guests. During your next visit should any matters arise please speak with our friendly Reception team who will be able to rectify any issues you may have. We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

91%

Rooms were lovely and warm..

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget to like us on Facebook to receive the latest new and special offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

94%

We had a bedroom for two but when the shower broke down, we got a four-bedroom just for the two of us. Very friendly and helpfull staf!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the issues you experienced with the shower. Our friendly receptionists work diligently to ensure any matters are handled to the best of our ability. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

37%

Staff is totally unfriendly. Please smile when you meet guests and say at least hello or goodbye! The atmosphere is cold as staff is not really warm hearted! Our 4 bed room was small - no problem - but there is no air circulation possible so that during the night when 4 people were being asleep water drops gathered on the window and on the wall (!) next to the window. The perfect origin for mould. Please keep an eye on that. Also, it's freezing as windows are too thin. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments in to consideration and will feed them back to the relevant departments.

54%

No lockers, crappy shower, not really any security other than the card for the doors. Really dirty, and tiny beds. 'Accidentally' didn't come back one of the nights so I didn't have to sleep there again. And the Internet sad very basic when it was available, not the best place, but I guess it's somewhere to sleep ?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We supply lockers in every room, in addition our Reception area is manned 24 hours a day and we also have 24 hour CCTV.

63%

It was fine. Everything you need in a hostel but nothing that you want (like atmosphere or group activities to get people involved). I'm so pleased I wasn't staying here as single person because it would have been hard to meet others and feel included. It's not a big hostel and overall it was just a bed in room. The area of Camden is great though if you're looking for something a bit different and full of markets to explore.


74%

Lovely staff and easy to find, good location for underground access and walking up to Camden Lock market for breakfast. Very small rooms, only for sleeping not relaxing. If your backpacking or just staying for a short stay with a packed schedule intending only to sleep in the hostel and have somewhere to store your things, this is a good place.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, super comfortable beds, with a simple yet satisfying free breakfast in the morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed you stay in our hostel and found your bed super comfortable! We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee, and we are so happy to hear you were satisfied with this little extra! We hope to see you again!

71%

Couldn't charge phone in room as none of the plug ins worked. Other than that it was a good stay

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We have passed on your comments to the hostel manager to look into! We apologize about the lack of charging facilities. We are looking to upgrade our beds to include personal power sockets! We hope if you come back you will see the positive improvement this will make!

49%

You get for what you pay. The problem is bathrooms are extremely small. And its is true. Homeless and drug addict sleep there not just backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

80%

It would have been great if you had some more plates, cups and cutlery in the kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! I have passed your comments onto our hostel manager and hopefully if you come back you will see this improvement implemented into our hostel! We hope to see you again!

54%

Bad hostel in general. It`s cheap, but you feel uncomfortable there all the time. For sure it`s better to spend more money and go to a better place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you found our hostel affordable. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback