X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1691 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

all my experiences with this hostel have been good, except that last night, when someone was watching television at 4am, they were wearing earphones, so had to have the telly turned up high, I turned the television volume to nought, to their amazement, after that it was kept low and got some sleep


74%

My sheet vas dirty, that was kinda uncomfortable. Staff and roommates were nice, location was almost perfect..

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

a friendly and good place in london.


60%

The worst thing is that they dont have adapter for europe and america. So, if you dont have a british cellphone or hairdryer, take your adapter with you! The staff was good, the breakfast is good too (bread, butter, mermelade, milk and cereal). When i was there, there was a looot of people, and i couldnt lock my things without paying. I think they should let some locker for us when the room is crowd

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take our guests feedback very seriously and will look into the matters you have mentioned to improve our services. SCI Staff

43%

The rooms are tiny and you have to pay 1.5 pounds to get a locker. The room smelled too. The good thing was a bathroom within the room. But small... The reception desk wasn't open when I arrive around 11am in the morning. I had to wait there for about 15 mins for someone to come... It's closer to Camden, but farther from the central area. The the whole hostel just gave me the impression of unclean...


66%

Kitchen close to soon.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

never ever again

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Extremely cramped and chlosterphobic. Badly designed bathrooms... Nothing will stay dry with the shower on. Bunk beds are very squeaky. Common room is not comfortable.


80%

Any place is what you make it. So, I wish I'd made the shower a little bigger. Other than that I was quite comfortable and enjoyed my stay.


60%

The house itself is fun and has a cool look. The staff is friendly enough and you can stay two in a room for cheap. However, the location will counter that as the hostel is in Zone 3. The tube to the inner city will end up costing you quite a bit. Everything is pretty much falling apart, the windows are moldy and the floors are creaky. Some parts of the house have a moldy smell. The beds are the most uncomfortable I´ve slept in, with the springs literally piercing the mattress.... and you.


69%

Not a very exciting hostel, but clean enough and the location is brilliant.


77%

Cheap and cheerful - they keep it clean, happy to stay here often.


86%

Very nice staff, they arranged every thing we said very quickly. The heater was broken and we got a new one five minutes later. Theshower is a litlle small, but it is definitely a good value for your money.


69%

Breakfast was a let down and window frames unclean. Otherwise fine


91%

Great location and price. Easy to book and an overal great stay.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The value it's just for the localization

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Our room was in the basement and had very thin windows. Early in the morning someone cleans the stairs in front of the window and makes horrible noises. You can hear all the drunken people in front of the door the whole night. The shower doesn't have warm water. Only hot or ice cold. There was only one toilet for minimum 10 people. The water doesn't drain of. The kitchen is much too small for all the people.


83%

This place was perfectly located for a gig I was attending in Camden, The facilities were average but the price was great.


89%

Love this hostel, second time i have been back. Friendly atmosphere, excellent location, good value for money. Rooms are small but okay. Lots of stairs, good work out each day. Highly reccomended :)


34%

Small room. One toilet for four rooms. Little space for depositing your things. Very dirty room. Unsafe atmosphere. Lockers weren't working.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We take guests feedback very seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. Security was never mentioned by previous guests but we will look into it. SCI Staff

(44 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback