X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1999 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I had a great time when i was there and everyone was very friendly and i will be going again very soon..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're glad you had a great time and thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

89%

This hostel is excellent value for the money.. cheap.. clean and friendly staff just out of the busy Camden high street...No TV but if you are there to site see it did not matter to me... I will go again 😀

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. You are welcome anytime!

100%

VERY GOOD!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

if you take into account cleanliness....that´s not your hostel definetely....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Thanks again.

80%

I got all i need. Good value for the money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, offers and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

69%

Nice hostel to stay in Camden. Ideal for 2-3 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, the only problem - we waited for age for the hot water in shower.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have relayed your feedback to our maintenance team regarding the hot water. As a result, we are in the process of completing major refurbishment and very soon any issues regarding our hot water supply will be resolved. I hope this has not hindered your stay with us too much, we look forward to seeing you again!

31%

Horrible and dirty place with a very unprofessional and rude staff. Stay away from this hostel you can certainly find a better one.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeepers work relentlessly throughout the day to ensure the hostel is kept clean and hygienic. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. All our staff are highly trained in customer service and care. We review our performance regularly to improve our standards of service. We hope if you do come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

80%

It is a good place to stay on low buget.You can not expect a lot for that kind of money, but it was nice, the people were nice and it is a great location. You have store, bar, club, undergraund station, coffee shop all in between 10 minutes around hostel.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The whole kitchen was dirty and they were mice in it. The location as good but the whole place was not a pretty comfy place where you wanted to stay. Extra fees for the wifi in the room, which didn't work great i the common room, and lockers ... The facilities like the shower often didn't work and the toilets and bathroom were dirty most of the time. Neither the common room nor our dorm were comfy places to stay ...

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Thin walls so couldn't sleep at night as people hanged around loudly in the common room. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to get dressed. The shower was a nightmare, it took ages for the water changed from cold to warm. Had to go 2 floors up to use a toilet, where there was often no toilet paper. The whole place didn't seem clean and needed to get painted again. The room was tiny and I couldn't use the lockers under the bed as they were locked. The stuff didn't seem friendly or very helpful

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. Our hostels are located within beautiful listed buildings, any modifications we are permitted to make are limited. Every square meter counts in this city; whilst our rooms may be relatively smaller than elsewhere, our prices are very competitive for central London. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment; very soon the majority of our dorms will have been repainted complete with new beds. Please come back to see the positive improvements we have made.

80%

Really enjoyed my stay, was good value, would be nice if you could lock the under bed storage in the room (i was in 4 bed shared room) but otherwise great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your recent Smart Backpacker experience. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. For future reference, our lockers are available to purchase at £1.50 per night, from our Reception desk. They are linked to your personal key card. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest offers, news and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

71%

I stayed 5 nights but only booked 1 through Hostelworld. Very helpful reception staff; 24hr opening is great! Housekeeping staff in the kitchen at breakfast time are not very friendly. They seem to like yelling at guest about toaster/microwave. 2 comments: Please put some more tables/chairs in the large common room during breakfast as there are only 8 seats in the kitchen. Please stop using disposable plastic cutlery? Creates too much rubbish! Why not just use reusable, Ikea plastic ones?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We have listened to your comments and relayed them back to the relevant departments. Our team are all highly trained in customer service and care. We regularly assess our performance to improve our standards of service. We have recently upgraded our breakfast menu and have improved our breakfast service. We hope if you come back you will notice the positive upgrades we have made.

57%

Terrible beds, very loud lockers and just an old, loud, creaky building. The mattresses were banana shaped so sleeping was pretty difficult. The radiators are left locked on high with windows chained so it was roasting. Location is decent and price is cheap, but still, £12 isn't worth not being able to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We regret if there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. Our hostels are located in beautiful architectural listed buildings. The modifications we are permitted to make are however limited. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests uo to 5ft 10 which is taller than the avereage; however we looking in to extending this for the comfort of our guests!

83%

A perfect location for moving in London

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please like us on Facebook to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome back at anytime!

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We offer a complimentary all-you-can-eat basic breakfast for our valued guests, it includes toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. The hostel is undergoing renovations, whereby some of the things you have mentioned are already being resolved. We apologise for our faulty alarm system during your stay, our alarms are regularly tested and serviced in accordance to our health and safety obligations. We hope to see you again soon.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(55 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback