X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1776 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

The main problems I had with the hostel were that they only accept cash, have street only parking (which is very difficult to find in London), and have extremely small and dirty rooms. There's one filthy toilet per floor and although there is a small shower in the room, the light in mine was broken and the staff claimed they were unable to fix it. The biggest problem I had was that the beds were extremely creaky and anyone shifting in their sleep would wake everyone in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry our service didn't meet your expectations. All the mechanical issues our on site staff can fix are resolved promptly. We do accept credit cards but it might be that the PDQ machine was not working at the time of your check in.

83%

Perfect location, helpful staff, rooms all right and clean except for untight windows so you could hear every single noise from outside as if it was inside. Also the light in ensuite bathroom was quite annoying cause it was going off while taking a shower so from time to time had to wave my hand outside the shower, water was pretty difficult to regulate. Also had a bad luck with a roommate which was very rude and did not tolerate whispering at 8 o'clock pm. Overall - good, would go back there.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment and good words. We will look into our timers for the lights issue and consider extending the time of their work.

66%

nice enough for the price, but nothing to shout home about.


69%

Poor staff attitude, rude and uninviting.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully and you've got a bad impression of our staff. Hope you will visit us again in the future.

69%

Hotel is set within underground zone 2, which is an absolutely okay location for a stay in London. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Checking in and out went rather smoothly even though we arrived two hours early. The rooms are small when all 6 people are there, but for this price in London that is to be expected. However, there was mould in some corners of our room, which was not so cool. Other than that, though, decent place to stay when you're on a budget!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words! We take our customer's comments very seriously and we will improve the facilities.

57%

Very cramped and the toilets were very dirty. The staff at reception and at the baggage holder were rude and not very helpful. Great Location though right in Camden and 10 minute walk from the markets.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We will keep your comments in mind to improve our service.

66%

Pros: clean, great location in camden, have female only rooms available Cons: unfriendly male staff, small lounge area, no oven in kitchen, pay for lockers per day, only 1 toilet per floor

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully and you found some of our staff unfriendly. All our rooms are ensuite and we do not have oven due to safety reasons.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(47 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback