X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1981 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

A perfect location for moving in London

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please like us on Facebook to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome back at anytime!

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We offer a complimentary all-you-can-eat basic breakfast for our valued guests, it includes toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. The hostel is undergoing renovations, whereby some of the things you have mentioned are already being resolved. We apologise for our faulty alarm system during your stay, our alarms are regularly tested and serviced in accordance to our health and safety obligations. We hope to see you again soon.

54%

heating in the room - worked not so well, I'd cold many times, and there was no extra (warm) blanket.. :(

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. For future reference, please report any issues of this nature to our Reception desk, they are open 24/7 and have been trained to manage any instances promptly and effectively. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

37%

worst hostel i've ever stayed in and would not reccomend to anybody. the rooms are incredibly small, nowhere to even sit down to take your shoes off and they will charge you for using the lockers (per night). also, we were mistreated by the staff at reception, spent only one night and asked our money back. really dissapointing and an unnecessary stress.


69%

Random people in the morning for the kitchen was a bit strange , but for a hostel I guess is normal .and not having like a room to hang sometime if someone has to wait for a taxi etc etc ...

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. For future reference, please note you can use the communal areas to relax whilst you are waiting for a taxi service. We welcome guests from all walks of life; our diverse range of guests can lead to some interesting conversations and possibly the start of new friendships. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

51%

Staff were very helpful on my arrival, but it kinda went downhill from there.. The room (6 bed dorm in the basement) was tiny & smelt awful, the shower/toilet facilities were woefully inadequate (1 per floor, in a hostel with 40+ rooms??!), only cornflakes & toast for breakfast (ok for me, I guess..).. Only stayed one night & i'd be hard pushed to recommend staying any longer..


69%

Ok place! Fine if you want a cheap place jn londen to stay with a friend. Walls are a bit thin, so if your hotelmates are noisy, your sleep will be disturbed. Use earplugs Cleanliness is ok! Totally not a place to stay with your love ;)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We apologise for any disturbance caused due to noise, please note we do provide free earplugs to all our guests. Our night staff also ask our guests to adhere to the quite hours (between 10pm and 6am). Our housekeepers clean throughout the day, rooms are cleaned daily and communal areas are cleaned hourly. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(47 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback