X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1955 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Great location, super comfortable beds, with a simple yet satisfying free breakfast in the morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed you stay in our hostel and found your bed super comfortable! We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee, and we are so happy to hear you were satisfied with this little extra! We hope to see you again!

71%

Couldn't charge phone in room as none of the plug ins worked. Other than that it was a good stay

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We have passed on your comments to the hostel manager to look into! We apologize about the lack of charging facilities. We are looking to upgrade our beds to include personal power sockets! We hope if you come back you will see the positive improvement this will make!

49%

You get for what you pay. The problem is bathrooms are extremely small. And its is true. Homeless and drug addict sleep there not just backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

80%

It would have been great if you had some more plates, cups and cutlery in the kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! I have passed your comments onto our hostel manager and hopefully if you come back you will see this improvement implemented into our hostel! We hope to see you again!

54%

Bad hostel in general. It`s cheap, but you feel uncomfortable there all the time. For sure it`s better to spend more money and go to a better place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you found our hostel affordable. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us!

69%

Good location, friendly staff. But bed was too short for me (I'm 6ft 2).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel and the manner of our staff! While our bed length is at an above standard 5 ft 11, we do apologize for the lack of comfort! Our top priority is to provide clean, inexpensive, central and comfortable accommodation for our guests. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers.

71%

A basic British hostel, too many stairs if you have heavy luggage. Rooms were clean and the security was enough though you need to pay more in order to use the lockers (this is just my guess since the staff did not instruct visitors when checking in). The shower was average, it was not possible to shower without getting your hair wet. Anyway, the location is nice and the hostel quiet enough. If you do not plan spending too much time in the hostel, this hostel is a nice choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! While our hostel doesn’t have an elevator, we have strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage up with ease. We are glad you found our room clean and hygienic and that you felt safe in our hostel. We are pleased you liked the central location and we hope to see you again!

80%

Amazing location and well worth putting up with a few inconveniences for the price. No wifi in the rooms (unless you pay) and slow in the TV room. They should change some lumpy mattresses. Some people live there quasi-permenantly (awkward breakfast!). We had a four-bed private and had a great time in Camden. The staff was friendly and responsive, but not so strict about the "show your room card before coming in" rule. Sounds shady, but when I'm back in London, I'm planning on staying here again.


54%

clean and cheap, but genuinely feared for my life in one of the fourteen bed dorms (due to both the loud/aggressive drunks and the fact i nearly melted it was that warm)

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our accommodation affordable and clean! We have passed your comments onto the hostel manager about your fellow guests behaviour. Thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers!

66%

Rooms have so bad air circulation that our towels were always wet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels to remove the restriction of window openings. We hope you come back and see the difference and improvements this will make to our hostel!

54%

Good location but the room was terrible! We stayed three nights and were so happy to finally leave. The bed was a bunk bed in steel, unbelievably uncomfortable and the mattress was too short so your feet didn't fit. Also the sheets were dirty and the chairs in the room were stained and gross. No hot water in our shower. The room was next to the joint toilet so we woke up every time someone used it. Don't stay here unless you plan to spend no time in the room and don't care about good sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the central and convenient location of our hostel. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Each guest that arrives is provided with clean fresh linen for their beds, if you had a problem with the sheets you received you could have exchanged them at our 24 hours reception at any point. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us

77%

The guy at the reception was very welcoming, and the second also very humorous. I enjoyed my stay, the shower rooms were absolutely tiny, and i had problems with how small the rooms were. But i met a lot of lovely travellers, that were in the same situation, and comforted me. The breakfasts were brilliant, everything supplied, apart from weetabix, but i brought my own of that. Thanks

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the manner of our staff and your stay in our hostel! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

100%

As always the service at the SMART HOSTEL was amazing and very professional and it was a pleasure to see the Receptionist TURK again,as it has been ages since I last stay there.Highly recommended if your looking a very clean,cheap,safe Hostel in London.I will definatly be staying there again in the future.


63%

The downsides are the lack of toilet facilities and the shower. The shower in my room was cold and you had hold the button in to make it work - to be fair I never complained at the time so they may have had a problem. For the price it was cheap and cheerful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad your enjoyed your stay in out hostel. We wish you had have taken your problem to reception as we could easily have had our maintenance team change the temperature to suit our valued guest. We hope to see you again!

74%

I didn't enjoy at all, despite of the hostel is well located due to nearby there is an underground station, and there are also some restaurants and supermarkets. I recomend it because the "shared toilet" was always clean, but please considere that some of the guys are not that kind and that you would probably pay for services that must be included in the price as the wifi and the use of the computer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel. We are glad you found our hostel clean and hygienic. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not some extra services as most of our guests won't use them and this way they don’t end up paying for services they do not need! We hope to see you again!

60%

No social area as such.As a songle fale travrller i felt unsafe here as one big irish guy was very aggressive towards everybody and another girl kept talking and laughing to herself which was scary. The dorms are small smelly and full of snorers and people with bad hygiene.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We will pass on your comments to our hostel to look into further. We are sorry your experience was dampened by the guest you stayed with. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

66%

An okay hostel but compulsory bed changes should be made as some long stay travellers use up all the shelving and the rooms smell a bit ferrel. Location OK. Seats in lounge so uncomfortable and kitchen gets too busy in the morning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We will pass on your suggestion to our Hostel Manager! Our hostel is located in a central location right by the Camden Lock markets with convenient public transport links running 24 hours. We aim to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms at budget-friendly prices in central London. We hope to see you again!

69%

Turk's friendliness really made the place warmer, it's really important to have someone who seems to care about the people staying at the hostel. The patio area out back is really nice. Maybe have better ventilation in the larger rooms. Consider offering a lactose free milk substitute.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your valuable feedback. Thank you for your kind comments about our Hostel Manager, our staff are continually receiving training on customer service/care and you can really see the positive improvements with feedback like this! We are in the process of installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels so we can life the restriction on our window openings. We are positive this will be a massive improvement for the ventilation problems. We hope to see you again!

66%

If you want to sleep, is not a good place to do it, or depends in which room you stay, if you stay near to the kitchen you will sufer so much(if you can ovoid it) the staff is not very helpfull but its ok for the price, the location is excellent, a lot of places to eat!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our hostel is also within a short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass your comments onto the hostel! Thanks for staying with us!

57%

No sheets given to me for my matress rm 33. No help with bags as was on the 1st floor, no room is small shower. Mattress uncomfortable and was not full size with no duvet cover on top. Limited breakfast with only small bowl of cornflakes and toast and tea and coffee to choose from. No atmosphere living room not great either. Has a fridge, no oven only microwave.Sheds near back of kitchen for storage that was good. Only.small bowl of vo

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for any problems you encounter, such as lack of sheets. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We have also strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage to up with ease.

(1240 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback