X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1931 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

To many stairs for people who have a lot of baggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smart Backpackers. While our hostel doesn’t have an elevator, we have strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage up with ease! We hope to see you again!

43%

The staff here are so unhelpful, rude and make you feel unwelcome. Its not a nice hostel to stay in for youth, I would avoid it in future, and suggest anyone under 30 looking for a good time do so to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Hostel Manager. Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers.

43%

This hostel is weird, the atmosphere is so strange. There are unemployed locals living there. the staff are rude, unfriendly, unhelpful and very unwelcoming. I felt very uncomfortable here and to be honest could not wait to leave. The only good thing about this place is the price, which is low, however, I have moved around London and never paid more then this, and let me tell you there are far better hostels to stay in. I would never stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Hostel Manager. We hope you enjoyed the location of the hostel as well. A short walking distance to the lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye.

63%

Deposit Ł10 is rather high. Conception what the continental breakfast is, is rather misguided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We charge a £10 security deposit when you check in which is refundable to you on check out. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests.

57%

Stuff was poor and unhelpful. Company policy was bad.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. I will pass on your comments to our Hostel manager.

60%

We stayed in the twin room which was actually just a tiny room with a bunk bed. Had staff on at least 3 occasions barge into our room with their staff key access either without knocking or knocking and coming in 2 seconds later anyway without waiting for our response. This happened over a number of days. They make you pay for luggage storage per item after check-out which is ridiculous.Otherwise in a great location in Camden, few minutes walk from the underground. The free internet's pretty slow

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are sorry that you felt your privacy was invaded by our staff, however our housekeeping team clean each rooms daily for the guests comfort. This was probably just a miscommunication however we will investigate this further. Our luggage storage rates are a low £2/bag (until midnight). If you compare this to the price you would pay at a train station/airport (£6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is affordable for our Backpackers!

100%

Stayed at this hostel LOADS of times and it was fab as per usual. The only thing I would comment on for improvement would be the bathroom light, which turns on and off every 30 seconds. I know it's all carbon emissions but when I need the light on I need it on. Secondly I know it's a 'backpacking' hostel but not all of us can pack a weeks worth of stuff into a backpack. Therefore a lift would be useful if it's possible to install one. Otherwise everything was brilliant. Thanks again guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

40%

It's not very clean. And it smells bad. And it looks super sketchy. Felt very uncomfortable there. The staff wasn't very friendly. And didn't provide good service. It seemed like they didn't care. The rooms are small and you can't fit your suitcase nicely in the rooms. Avoid this place at all cost. Location is poor too.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

80%

What happened to the free wi-fi in all the rooms :-/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for staying with us and for writing a review. Recently we have installed faster wifi in the dorms. It only costs £1 for 1 day. Free wifi is still available in the common areas. Cheers.

77%

The place is ok near to the high street and buses but quite noisy specially if your room is near the road youll hear group of people talking outside even in the late night you cant hardly sleep cos of this the wifi is not free even their lockers you need to pay including the linen but if youre leaving you need to bring the linen with you and theyll return back the money the kitchen n the food they serve were so simple help yourself attitude you need to wash your own plates n cups after food

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. The receptionists do try to keep outside of the building clear of a night time but often are busy helping other guests inside. We will try to do more. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV. All guests should note they are required to pay a £10 deposit which is fully refunded upon departure. Hope to see you again :)

89%

I had a great stay here! The staff were super nice and helpful, the location is great- Camden is such a cool neighbourhood! There was a kitchen, common area and average free breakfast. I guess there are a lot of stairs if you have a big bag but they didn't bother me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the electric Camden Town vibes! We hope we will see you again!

63%

Noisie room at the front of the building. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Great location and the tiny rooms are perfect for a few hours sleep while on a weekend in London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback, we will make sure to pass on your feedback to the Hostel manager.

40%

This place was a horror show. Tiny cramped shower that shuts off every 2 minutes unless you keep pressig the button. You have to pay for lockers and wifi. Staff is ridiculously unfriendly and unhelpful. No AC which in a 3 rd or 4th story room is disgusting. Breakfast is literally jam butter and toast, maybe cornflakes if you get there early. Also demanded a 40£ cash deposit once we arrived that wasnt mentioned in the email or website. Such a disappointing place to come back to at night.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Every guest is required to pay a £10 cash security deposit which is fully refunded (assuming there is no trouble/damage). We suggest guests check the "Important Information" sections.

60%

On arrival we were given our bed sheets and sent up to the third floor where our pokey twin room awaited us where we then had to make our beds. The shower was a swimming pool style shower, you press the button and water comes out for thirty seconds or so, when it did come out it tended to be scorching hot which made it very hard to wash properly. On top of this there were no towels about so we had to go down to reception to buy one. Makes me wander what the money we paid actually went towards.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like towels. It is quite common at Hostels for guests to make their own beds, otherwise we'd be called a Hotel and have to charge a lot more money. We hope you had fun in Camden though. Cheers

51%

kind of an odd place. the staff wasn't very helpful...wifi was spotty and there was a lack of community areas in the hostel to meet other people. just a dark basement and a porch area that closed after 11 pm

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Next time for better wifi, we have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common areas..on the topic of common areas, our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London, we leave the entertainment up to our fabulous guests and funky Camden.

71%

The shower only has boiling water and stays on for only five seconds and you have to keep pushing the button to stay on. Very annoying. The rest is pretty good. Worth the money except for the shower

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for the review. We'll have the maintenance team see what they can do about adjusting the water temp. Glad you enjoyed Camden.

80%

For London it was good but compared to Hostels in the rest of Europe pretty standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for your review, hopefully we will see you again.

46%

This hostel is cheap for a reason. With no A/C and with 14 people crammed together in the dorm it was waaay to hot to sleep. The breakfast, the facilities and everything was just sad. And you had to pay extra for everything. I will definitly recommend that you stay in Camden, it's the place to be, but try to find another hostel. You will regret booking this one.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. London has been hotter than usual and we have all been feeling it. Can we suggest a smaller dorm next time might be more comfortable. Thanks again.

80%

Had a short but lovely stay with my sister. Thanks Turkey!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

While the location was good the staff were a little rude (cleaning and desk staff) the rooms were crowded the shower and bathroom facilities tiny (knees touch door while on toilet im 5'4" and shower about 500mm square.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Your comments about our staff have been passed onto the Hostel Manager to add to our on going staff training!

(1229 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback