X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2000 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

small hostel, very small rooms, but friendly staff, free breakfast coffee and toast & free WiFi in one of the best areas in London. The prize is also okay for London.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

when I visit to London again, I don't go there


100%

I love this Hostel and whenever I come to London I stay here the diversity of people you meet are amazing! The rooms are cleaned every day and are quite comfortable ! The staff are exceptionally friendly and will do their best to help you in any way they can , can't wait to see you again inseptember x


80%

Io ho prenotato la camera doppia con bagno in comune e devo dire che mi sono trovata bene, la doccia e il lavandino erano in camera quindi di fatto in comune c'era solo il wc. Ambiente tranquillo.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Die Räume waren sehr eng, sechs Betten in einem kleinen Zimmer war nicht so toll.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

La habitación de 6 camas es muy pequeña y la limpieza dudosa. Nuestro baño (para 6) parecía las Ramblas, venía gente de otras habitaciones. En mitad de la noche el recepcionista entró en nuestra habitación a preguntar si alguien había pedido un taxi y se quedó ahí plantado un rato, a pesar de que era evidente que no, estando los 6 en nuestras camas intentando dormir. No hay conexión wi-fi gratis. Lo bueno: la ubicación, el desayuno y el precio.


34%

Unwelcoming and unprofessional staff. Rooms were small, prison-like and had a horrible smell. No room flexibility for groups ( we were separated into from one in our group and we were made to share with a middle-aged man who had been living there for a year). The shower for our room was awful. It was like a power hose of cold water and made us establish the prison-like feeling of he hostel. Overall did not feel safe in this hostel,felt incredibly uncomfortable.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It wasn't that bad but wouldn't stay there for more than a few days.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

The room was jam packed. Internet only worked in the common room/kitchen. had to pay for two key deposit when we only needed 1. Not enough outlets to charge phone. One shower for 14 people. During my stay someone slept and someone else's bed and she also got her makeup bag stolen. Room was hot and jammed. They had lockers in the rooms but i think you had to pay extra to use it. would not recommend to anyone. pay a bit more for a better place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Sorry about the experience you had with us. As this is London and our prices are cheap, every inch counts for us and its why our rooms may seem overcrowded. We are trying to change our internet provider and get Wi-Fi into our rooms, we have started to refurbish some of the rooms. Each of guest needs a key card, so nobody sneaks in and we know who's and guest and who's not. Again as our prices are cheap, we are forced to charge for locker usage. Best Regards

54%

The beds and showers need improvement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are working on refurbishing our rooms and showers. Best Regards

80%

Ok experience, dorms a bit small, no hot showers, still great breakfast and good value for your money, location is great so much nightlife, hostel does the job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate you taking your time to write a review. We are working on refurbishing our rooms and showers. It gives us pleasure that you enjoyed your experience. Best Regards

74%

I think it needs to be supplied with some fans in summer.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sudan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Sorry about not having fans in the rooms, we have learnt from out mistake and are in the process of placing fans in most if not all our rooms, not just in the hostel but all our hostels. Best Regards

66%

I chose this hostel because the location cannot be beat-- only a 5 minute walk from the Camden Town Underground station. The hostel itself is decent. Nothing fancy, just a place to sleep after a long day of sightseeing. My 14-person dorm was very small and tight/not much space to move around. Really the only inconvenience for me was that the free wifi was only available in the common room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment and we are please you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately as our prices are very cheap, and this is London we are forced to have our rooms to be a little cramped. Best Regards

37%

Improve cleanliness . Decrease your rates. Only location is good but there were no curtains in the room . It was very noisy . I couldn't sleep whole night. I booked it for two days and I left aftr one day. Only students can live in such a place . It's not a place where professions can live.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The check-in guy did not give us sheets. We didn't realize this until the next morning when we were checking out. Your only 2 jobs are your hand keys over and give sheets. We were totally grossed out. We had to sit and wait for him to "hopefully" return from his break. Also, they ran out of towels. Not that it mattered because the water is the shower was so unbearably cold. The breakfast was a joke.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

paying extra for lock and internet is not acceptable nowadays in hostels, but above all cleanliness is very very poor and quality of showers, toilets are disgusting, moreover one guy was puke very laud most of the night in our toilet and we couldn't sleep

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is in a great location and that's pretty much it. You're definitely getting what you've paid for so if you're on a tight budget in London then this is for you. Just don't expect a whole lot.


43%

Rooms awful close and they disproportionately accommodated many people. In the dining room on the ground floor, I saw a rat in the afternoon! Very low level of living conditions.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Quartos apertados, cozinha feia, sala de televisão sem nada além de uma televisão. O Hostel não tem atrativos.


63%

Hostel in great location. The hostel is tucked off a road behind main road so thought it would be quiet but could hear loud music and noise every night from nearby bars tilll very late from our room. Staff friendly enough upon arrival, was given keys and linen when we paid. Booked to stay in a 6 dorm mixed room, VERY SMALL AND CRAMPED. En suite room was tiny too, just enough room for a toilet and a shower that wet everything in there. Room V.dusty and found rat trap at end of our bed.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are are happy you enjoyed our great location near the centre of Camden Town is a very lively area well known for its live music venues. Being so central in London, space its at a premium , but we have a range of room sizes to suite a great variety of guest needs. Our room are cleaned daily by our dedicated housekeepers , if there are any issues our reception is always open, allowing us to take care of any problems. Thank you again for staying at Smart Hostels.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback