X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1955 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

No towells, no gel. Breakfaste included

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent hostel with character. Not very comfy, since building is quite old, with rather narrow stairways and hallways. But since I don't care much about that, I was fine. Breakfast choice is poor and the kitchen is too small for also serving as breakfast room. I should mention that we (4 people) stayed in a 4 bed ensuite. It was clean and perfectly fine for the price we paid. If you are looking for a nice stay without luxury in a good location, this one is ok.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

*Staff on the whole - rude and unwelcoming *Very small, felt very on top of each other - too many beds in too small a room *Shower had no heat control, was so small (like a caravan shower) *Unclean (hairs in the linen, tissues in the beds and waste bins) *People drinking on the front door and in the common room until early hours, being very loud - not great for Room 11 which was next to Common Room and facing street *Room far too hot, no ventilation *Kitchen closed off at midnight!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hello, we were a group of 4 and stayed for one night only, unluckily- because the hostel is way better than people write about it. So, when we arrived at the hostel, a friendly young man explained us everything and gave us the room keys. We had a small but nice room on the first floor with a shower included(unfortunately no toilet on our floor but that wasn't too bad). The hostel itself is in the middle of Camden town& easy to find. breakfast was awesome! get some earplugs,it may be loud sometim


37%

The hostel was dirty, noisy, unkept and had an uncomfortable shabby atmosphere to it. Would definitely recommend avoiding this hostel to not waste your money

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Pior hostel... MUITO CARO, quarto minúsculo.. Fiquei em um de 6 camas.. Não cabe nada alem das camas no quarto.. A luz do banheiro queimada.. Além que o banheiro mesmo que sendo privativo era minusculooo!!! Mas cabia alguém! Jamais retornaria ali!


60%

Bien a rasgos generales. Está muy bien ubicado y no hemos tenido ningún problema de hurtos, robos, o cosas similares. Es una zona super tranquila y se puede dormir y descansar sin problemas. Como pegas tenemos que decir que la habitación tenía la ventana rota y no se podía cerrar, aunque no pasamos frío. La habitación estaba llena de hormigas y hemos tenido serios problemas para conseguir agua caliente en la ducha. El agua caliente sale si aprietas el pulsador cada 5 segundos.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Wasn't sure how to operate the security boxes in room, card didn't seem to operate it wasn't a big deal for me but for security purposes probably not the best. Location was just off Camden High street which was great with two close tube stations but the road it's on had a weird atmosphere and some strange characters. You need to press the shower button 7 times to get hot water once thats done it's good but it does take about 3 or more minutes. overall you get what you pay for so all okay!


77%

L accueil à été satisfaisant Le hic qu il faut la Wi-Fi et les bagages (bagage )

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

When our mates bag was nicked by a guy who'd been living in the hostel for a year the staff didn't seem to bothered. The theif gave us death threats but then the staff let him back into the hostel the net day.. There was barely any plugs and the ones there were were in awkward places near other people's beds. And there was apparently a mouse


37%

this was the worst hostel I habe been. It was incredibly tinny, it didnt have any human conditions, the bathroom was horrible, the water was cold and it was impossible to get warmer, our room was one of the worst, since it was close to the kitchen and to the "common" area, so it get really loud when we were trying to sleep. I hated this hostel and please dont go to there, you wont get a good experience, trust me. This in Portugal by many reasons NEVER would open in here, really bad conditions.


49%

This hostel tries to charge you extra for everything and the staff is uncaring. Not a recommended location for a long term stay. (more than one night). Only useful if you need a place to crash after a late night in Camden

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the hostel and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) We hope you'll consider staying again, perhaps after your next night out in Camden. Cheers

89%

I had a great time when i was there and everyone was very friendly and i will be going again very soon..

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're glad you had a great time and thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

89%

This hostel is excellent value for the money.. cheap.. clean and friendly staff just out of the busy Camden high street...No TV but if you are there to site see it did not matter to me... I will go again 😀

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. You are welcome anytime!

74%

Me gusto mucho la posibilidad de usar la cocina para cocinar, puesto que mi hijo necesita una dieta dificil de encontrar en restaurantes, por lo que cocinamos a nuestro aire, el resto todo bastante bien.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you with the self catering facilities. We hope to see you again.

100%

VERY GOOD!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

if you take into account cleanliness....that´s not your hostel definetely....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Thanks again.

54%

Unser Zimmer befand sich direkt neben der Toilette, deren Tür klemmte, so dass wir die ganze Nacht durchweg die Tür knallen hörten. Zudem war die Heizung kaputt und lief auf voller Pulle, im Gegenzug dazu konnte man das Fenster nicht richtig schließen. Der Fußboden unseres Zimmers sah aus, als wäre dort seit einger ganze Weile nicht mehr sauber gemacht worden und unsere Dusche hatte kein warmes Wasser. Das einzige gute war dass das Hostel gleich an der Bushaltestelle und nah bei der UBahnliegt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our Housekeepers and Maintenance crews work very hard to make Guests comfortable. Please, if you feel that something is not up to scratch, please let the Reception Team know (at the time) and we will do our best to sort it out.

34%

La pire auberge que j'ai jamais vu jusqu'à maintenant. Pas une douche qui fonctionne, entassés a 6 dans une minuscule chambre, si on arrive avec une valise on n'a a peine la place de la poser dans un coin. C'est sale... Bien située mais j'aurai préféré prendre dans un quartier un peu plus excentré et pouvoir dormir et me doucher correctement.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Clearly you didn't have a good time, which is unfortunate. Our largest dorm has 14 beds which are usually sold for ridiculously low prices. They're not for everyone though. Can we suggest a smaller dorm next time, the experience will probably be different for you. Thanks for the review.

74%

L'auberge se trouve dans un quartier génial , pleins de choses à voir notamment le marché qui est génial. En revanche le petit déjeuner laisse à desirer.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast service, it includes, toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. We provide this service free of charge to all our valued guests. We regret you were dissatisfied with the breakfast service we offer. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope to see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback