X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1923 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

L'auberge se trouve dans un quartier génial , pleins de choses à voir notamment le marché qui est génial. En revanche le petit déjeuner laisse à desirer.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast service, it includes, toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. We provide this service free of charge to all our valued guests. We regret you were dissatisfied with the breakfast service we offer. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope to see you again.

71%

Punto di incontro di persone da tutto il mondo. situato in una posizione comodissima per qualunque spostamento. Luogo molto tranquillo

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, photos and offers. We hope to see you again!

80%

I got all i need. Good value for the money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, offers and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

57%

Accolti da un personale sgradevole, ci siamo recate nella nostra stanza, la quale non assomigliava minimamente alle foto presenti nel sito. I letti sembravano essere sistemati con tanto di cuscini e piumone, mancavano asciugamani che abbiamo dovuto comprare. Al termine del nostro soggiorno scopriamo che il simpatico staff non ci aveva fornito lenzuola pulite, e che ciò' che avevamo trovato in camere era tutto da rivestire e foderare. Vi lascio immaginare il nostro disgusto

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice hostel to stay in Camden. Ideal for 2-3 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, the only problem - we waited for age for the hot water in shower.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have relayed your feedback to our maintenance team regarding the hot water. As a result, we are in the process of completing major refurbishment and very soon any issues regarding our hot water supply will be resolved. I hope this has not hindered your stay with us too much, we look forward to seeing you again!

31%

Horrible and dirty place with a very unprofessional and rude staff. Stay away from this hostel you can certainly find a better one.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeepers work relentlessly throughout the day to ensure the hostel is kept clean and hygienic. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. All our staff are highly trained in customer service and care. We review our performance regularly to improve our standards of service. We hope if you do come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

80%

It is a good place to stay on low buget.You can not expect a lot for that kind of money, but it was nice, the people were nice and it is a great location. You have store, bar, club, undergraund station, coffee shop all in between 10 minutes around hostel.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The whole kitchen was dirty and they were mice in it. The location as good but the whole place was not a pretty comfy place where you wanted to stay. Extra fees for the wifi in the room, which didn't work great i the common room, and lockers ... The facilities like the shower often didn't work and the toilets and bathroom were dirty most of the time. Neither the common room nor our dorm were comfy places to stay ...

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Thin walls so couldn't sleep at night as people hanged around loudly in the common room. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to get dressed. The shower was a nightmare, it took ages for the water changed from cold to warm. Had to go 2 floors up to use a toilet, where there was often no toilet paper. The whole place didn't seem clean and needed to get painted again. The room was tiny and I couldn't use the lockers under the bed as they were locked. The stuff didn't seem friendly or very helpful

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. Our hostels are located within beautiful listed buildings, any modifications we are permitted to make are limited. Every square meter counts in this city; whilst our rooms may be relatively smaller than elsewhere, our prices are very competitive for central London. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment; very soon the majority of our dorms will have been repainted complete with new beds. Please come back to see the positive improvements we have made.

80%

Really enjoyed my stay, was good value, would be nice if you could lock the under bed storage in the room (i was in 4 bed shared room) but otherwise great.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your recent Smart Backpacker experience. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. For future reference, our lockers are available to purchase at £1.50 per night, from our Reception desk. They are linked to your personal key card. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest offers, news and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

71%

I stayed 5 nights but only booked 1 through Hostelworld. Very helpful reception staff; 24hr opening is great! Housekeeping staff in the kitchen at breakfast time are not very friendly. They seem to like yelling at guest about toaster/microwave. 2 comments: Please put some more tables/chairs in the large common room during breakfast as there are only 8 seats in the kitchen. Please stop using disposable plastic cutlery? Creates too much rubbish! Why not just use reusable, Ikea plastic ones?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We have listened to your comments and relayed them back to the relevant departments. Our team are all highly trained in customer service and care. We regularly assess our performance to improve our standards of service. We have recently upgraded our breakfast menu and have improved our breakfast service. We hope if you come back you will notice the positive upgrades we have made.

71%

Habitacion muy pequeña. Poca limpieza.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We have invested a lot of money in to our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests fresh, clean and hygenic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers, depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide fresh, clean, budget-conscious accomodation in Central London. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly!

57%

Terrible beds, very loud lockers and just an old, loud, creaky building. The mattresses were banana shaped so sleeping was pretty difficult. The radiators are left locked on high with windows chained so it was roasting. Location is decent and price is cheap, but still, £12 isn't worth not being able to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We regret if there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. Our hostels are located in beautiful architectural listed buildings. The modifications we are permitted to make are however limited. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests uo to 5ft 10 which is taller than the avereage; however we looking in to extending this for the comfort of our guests!

83%

A perfect location for moving in London

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please like us on Facebook to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome back at anytime!

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We offer a complimentary all-you-can-eat basic breakfast for our valued guests, it includes toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. The hostel is undergoing renovations, whereby some of the things you have mentioned are already being resolved. We apologise for our faulty alarm system during your stay, our alarms are regularly tested and serviced in accordance to our health and safety obligations. We hope to see you again soon.

54%

heating in the room - worked not so well, I'd cold many times, and there was no extra (warm) blanket.. :(

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. For future reference, please report any issues of this nature to our Reception desk, they are open 24/7 and have been trained to manage any instances promptly and effectively. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

37%

worst hostel i've ever stayed in and would not reccomend to anybody. the rooms are incredibly small, nowhere to even sit down to take your shoes off and they will charge you for using the lockers (per night). also, we were mistreated by the staff at reception, spent only one night and asked our money back. really dissapointing and an unnecessary stress.


57%

me parece un poco caro pero bueno es londres . El personal muy atento ,buena calefaccion , muy buena limpieza , pero la ducha no tenia agua caliente , para mi gusto una excelente ubicaccion

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We apologise the hot water was not to your satisfaction on this occasion. For future reference, please report these findings to our reception desk who will be able to manage the situation promptly. We have found on occasion where there has been a high demand the water temperature can fluctuate. The hostel is undergoing a maintenance programme, whereby this matter will be addressed. We hope you will come back to observe the improvements we have made.

69%

Random people in the morning for the kitchen was a bit strange , but for a hostel I guess is normal .and not having like a room to hang sometime if someone has to wait for a taxi etc etc ...

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. For future reference, please note you can use the communal areas to relax whilst you are waiting for a taxi service. We welcome guests from all walks of life; our diverse range of guests can lead to some interesting conversations and possibly the start of new friendships. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

83%

Lo mejor de este Hostel es la localización y el precio. Sin problemas, nuestra estancia fue muy buena, y además conocimos a otros compañeros, con los que disfrutamos y nos reímos en las zonas comunes. Lo peor, los baños de las habitaciones compartidos son bastante pequeños, que haya que pagar por tener tu taquilla, y sin ser algo insufrible, quizás un poco de ambientador por los pasillos, mejoraría aún más el entorno.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Every square meter counts in this city, whilst our room maybe comparatively smaller to others, our prices are very competitive for central London. We charge a small fee for the lockers as they are considered optional for our guests. Our housekeepers clean throughout the day, rooms are cleaned daily and communal areas hourly. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback