X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1911 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Thin walls so couldn't sleep at night as people hanged around loudly in the common room. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to get dressed. The shower was a nightmare, it took ages for the water changed from cold to warm. Had to go 2 floors up to use a toilet, where there was often no toilet paper. The whole place didn't seem clean and needed to get painted again. The room was tiny and I couldn't use the lockers under the bed as they were locked. The stuff didn't seem friendly or very helpful

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really enjoyed my stay, was good value, would be nice if you could lock the under bed storage in the room (i was in 4 bed shared room) but otherwise great.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I stayed 5 nights but only booked 1 through Hostelworld. Very helpful reception staff; 24hr opening is great! Housekeeping staff in the kitchen at breakfast time are not very friendly. They seem to like yelling at guest about toaster/microwave. 2 comments: Please put some more tables/chairs in the large common room during breakfast as there are only 8 seats in the kitchen. Please stop using disposable plastic cutlery? Creates too much rubbish! Why not just use reusable, Ikea plastic ones?


71%

Habitacion muy pequeña. Poca limpieza.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We have invested a lot of money in to our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests fresh, clean and hygenic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers, depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide fresh, clean, budget-conscious accomodation in Central London. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly!

57%

Terrible beds, very loud lockers and just an old, loud, creaky building. The mattresses were banana shaped so sleeping was pretty difficult. The radiators are left locked on high with windows chained so it was roasting. Location is decent and price is cheap, but still, £12 isn't worth not being able to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We regret if there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. Our hostels are located in beautiful architectural listed buildings. The modifications we are permitted to make are however limited. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests uo to 5ft 10 which is taller than the avereage; however we looking in to extending this for the comfort of our guests!

83%

A perfect location for moving in London

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please like us on Facebook to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome back at anytime!

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.


54%

heating in the room - worked not so well, I'd cold many times, and there was no extra (warm) blanket.. :(

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

worst hostel i've ever stayed in and would not reccomend to anybody. the rooms are incredibly small, nowhere to even sit down to take your shoes off and they will charge you for using the lockers (per night). also, we were mistreated by the staff at reception, spent only one night and asked our money back. really dissapointing and an unnecessary stress.


57%

me parece un poco caro pero bueno es londres . El personal muy atento ,buena calefaccion , muy buena limpieza , pero la ducha no tenia agua caliente , para mi gusto una excelente ubicaccion


69%

Random people in the morning for the kitchen was a bit strange , but for a hostel I guess is normal .and not having like a room to hang sometime if someone has to wait for a taxi etc etc ...

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Lo mejor de este Hostel es la localización y el precio. Sin problemas, nuestra estancia fue muy buena, y además conocimos a otros compañeros, con los que disfrutamos y nos reímos en las zonas comunes. Lo peor, los baños de las habitaciones compartidos son bastante pequeños, que haya que pagar por tener tu taquilla, y sin ser algo insufrible, quizás un poco de ambientador por los pasillos, mejoraría aún más el entorno.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff were very helpful on my arrival, but it kinda went downhill from there.. The room (6 bed dorm in the basement) was tiny & smelt awful, the shower/toilet facilities were woefully inadequate (1 per floor, in a hostel with 40+ rooms??!), only cornflakes & toast for breakfast (ok for me, I guess..).. Only stayed one night & i'd be hard pushed to recommend staying any longer..


69%

Ok place! Fine if you want a cheap place jn londen to stay with a friend. Walls are a bit thin, so if your hotelmates are noisy, your sleep will be disturbed. Use earplugs Cleanliness is ok! Totally not a place to stay with your love ;)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Over all very poor service and filthy rooms.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular checks every hour durng these times of the shared toilets and facilities to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, any cleaning issues reported to receptionists by guests will be dealt with promptly.

40%

so cold! breakfast is bad!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast service consists of an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast which includes fresh toast, cereal, teas and coffee. We provide this service free of charge to all our guests.

66%

Although it's far from the main places, it was good that the hostel is close to the underground, what is very important specially in London. The reception was helpful, the guy that stayed there at night helped me whenever we needed. The major problem was the cleanliness and the cleaners that were not friendly and sometimes were rude. They entered the room many times a day and didn't clean it well. The bathroom was too dirty and small also.


89%

It was my first time in a Hostel but I had a good experience, the location is excellent and the staff are very helpful and kind. I stayed over three weeks and I have to say overall I had a good experience. On weekends it can be a bit noisy and hard to sleep as there are people that only go for one night that have only come to party so that was my only issue. But I do recommend it.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are always pleased to receive positive comments. During your next visit, please speak to our friendly reception team who will be able to provide you with ear plugs to reduce noise levels. Come back and visit us soon.

77%

Nice hostel not far from camden town bus stop, I slept in a six beds room, tidy and clean, quiet and not expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are also a short walking distance to lively Camden Town, bustling Oxford Street and a 30 minute walk from Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye. We are glad you were happy during your stay, our housekeepers work tirelessly to ensure the accomodation is kept clean and tidy for our guests. Please come back and visit us soon.

74%

Very good location. The bed was quite comfy and I slept well, however the toilets needed a good clean and smelt quite bad.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00 to provide continual high standards of service for our guests. During your next visit should any matters arise please speak with our friendly Reception team who will be able to rectify any issues you may have. We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback