X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1940 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Bien a rasgos generales. Está muy bien ubicado y no hemos tenido ningún problema de hurtos, robos, o cosas similares. Es una zona super tranquila y se puede dormir y descansar sin problemas. Como pegas tenemos que decir que la habitación tenía la ventana rota y no se podía cerrar, aunque no pasamos frío. La habitación estaba llena de hormigas y hemos tenido serios problemas para conseguir agua caliente en la ducha. El agua caliente sale si aprietas el pulsador cada 5 segundos.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

this was the worst hostel I habe been. It was incredibly tinny, it didnt have any human conditions, the bathroom was horrible, the water was cold and it was impossible to get warmer, our room was one of the worst, since it was close to the kitchen and to the "common" area, so it get really loud when we were trying to sleep. I hated this hostel and please dont go to there, you wont get a good experience, trust me. This in Portugal by many reasons NEVER would open in here, really bad conditions.


49%

This hostel tries to charge you extra for everything and the staff is uncaring. Not a recommended location for a long term stay. (more than one night). Only useful if you need a place to crash after a late night in Camden

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the hostel and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) We hope you'll consider staying again, perhaps after your next night out in Camden. Cheers

89%

I had a great time when i was there and everyone was very friendly and i will be going again very soon..

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're glad you had a great time and thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

89%

This hostel is excellent value for the money.. cheap.. clean and friendly staff just out of the busy Camden high street...No TV but if you are there to site see it did not matter to me... I will go again 😀

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. You are welcome anytime!

74%

Me gusto mucho la posibilidad de usar la cocina para cocinar, puesto que mi hijo necesita una dieta dificil de encontrar en restaurantes, por lo que cocinamos a nuestro aire, el resto todo bastante bien.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you with the self catering facilities. We hope to see you again.

100%

VERY GOOD!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

if you take into account cleanliness....that´s not your hostel definetely....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Thanks again.

54%

Unser Zimmer befand sich direkt neben der Toilette, deren Tür klemmte, so dass wir die ganze Nacht durchweg die Tür knallen hörten. Zudem war die Heizung kaputt und lief auf voller Pulle, im Gegenzug dazu konnte man das Fenster nicht richtig schließen. Der Fußboden unseres Zimmers sah aus, als wäre dort seit einger ganze Weile nicht mehr sauber gemacht worden und unsere Dusche hatte kein warmes Wasser. Das einzige gute war dass das Hostel gleich an der Bushaltestelle und nah bei der UBahnliegt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our Housekeepers and Maintenance crews work very hard to make Guests comfortable. Please, if you feel that something is not up to scratch, please let the Reception Team know (at the time) and we will do our best to sort it out.

34%

La pire auberge que j'ai jamais vu jusqu'à maintenant. Pas une douche qui fonctionne, entassés a 6 dans une minuscule chambre, si on arrive avec une valise on n'a a peine la place de la poser dans un coin. C'est sale... Bien située mais j'aurai préféré prendre dans un quartier un peu plus excentré et pouvoir dormir et me doucher correctement.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Clearly you didn't have a good time, which is unfortunate. Our largest dorm has 14 beds which are usually sold for ridiculously low prices. They're not for everyone though. Can we suggest a smaller dorm next time, the experience will probably be different for you. Thanks for the review.

74%

L'auberge se trouve dans un quartier génial , pleins de choses à voir notamment le marché qui est génial. En revanche le petit déjeuner laisse à desirer.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast service, it includes, toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. We provide this service free of charge to all our valued guests. We regret you were dissatisfied with the breakfast service we offer. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope to see you again.

71%

Punto di incontro di persone da tutto il mondo. situato in una posizione comodissima per qualunque spostamento. Luogo molto tranquillo

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, photos and offers. We hope to see you again!

80%

I got all i need. Good value for the money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, offers and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

57%

Accolti da un personale sgradevole, ci siamo recate nella nostra stanza, la quale non assomigliava minimamente alle foto presenti nel sito. I letti sembravano essere sistemati con tanto di cuscini e piumone, mancavano asciugamani che abbiamo dovuto comprare. Al termine del nostro soggiorno scopriamo che il simpatico staff non ci aveva fornito lenzuola pulite, e che ciò' che avevamo trovato in camere era tutto da rivestire e foderare. Vi lascio immaginare il nostro disgusto

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice hostel to stay in Camden. Ideal for 2-3 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, the only problem - we waited for age for the hot water in shower.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have relayed your feedback to our maintenance team regarding the hot water. As a result, we are in the process of completing major refurbishment and very soon any issues regarding our hot water supply will be resolved. I hope this has not hindered your stay with us too much, we look forward to seeing you again!

31%

Horrible and dirty place with a very unprofessional and rude staff. Stay away from this hostel you can certainly find a better one.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeepers work relentlessly throughout the day to ensure the hostel is kept clean and hygienic. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. All our staff are highly trained in customer service and care. We review our performance regularly to improve our standards of service. We hope if you do come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

80%

It is a good place to stay on low buget.You can not expect a lot for that kind of money, but it was nice, the people were nice and it is a great location. You have store, bar, club, undergraund station, coffee shop all in between 10 minutes around hostel.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The whole kitchen was dirty and they were mice in it. The location as good but the whole place was not a pretty comfy place where you wanted to stay. Extra fees for the wifi in the room, which didn't work great i the common room, and lockers ... The facilities like the shower often didn't work and the toilets and bathroom were dirty most of the time. Neither the common room nor our dorm were comfy places to stay ...

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Thin walls so couldn't sleep at night as people hanged around loudly in the common room. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to get dressed. The shower was a nightmare, it took ages for the water changed from cold to warm. Had to go 2 floors up to use a toilet, where there was often no toilet paper. The whole place didn't seem clean and needed to get painted again. The room was tiny and I couldn't use the lockers under the bed as they were locked. The stuff didn't seem friendly or very helpful

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. Our hostels are located within beautiful listed buildings, any modifications we are permitted to make are limited. Every square meter counts in this city; whilst our rooms may be relatively smaller than elsewhere, our prices are very competitive for central London. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment; very soon the majority of our dorms will have been repainted complete with new beds. Please come back to see the positive improvements we have made.

80%

Really enjoyed my stay, was good value, would be nice if you could lock the under bed storage in the room (i was in 4 bed shared room) but otherwise great.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your recent Smart Backpacker experience. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. For future reference, our lockers are available to purchase at £1.50 per night, from our Reception desk. They are linked to your personal key card. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest offers, news and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback