X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1789 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Nice zone. Poor breakfast.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

A gloomy, dirty submarine feel.


54%

£5 to rent a towell is a bit too much for an hostel like this. Although very good location, ideal to spend a night in Camden.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

By far the worst hostel I have EVER stayed at. Staff were extremely rude, one was drunk and became aggressive towards my friend. Rooms were so over crowded that while asleep I got kicked by someone in another bunk by accident. They make you make your own bed, even if you're checking in at 2am. The wifi is only free in the common room and it's very average. The free breakfast is basic. Do not ingnore all the other bad reviews, avoid this place at all costs.


77%

Way to many stairs, but maybe i thought that because of my bags.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

To many stairs for people who have a lot of baggage.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Deposit Ł10 is rather high. Conception what the continental breakfast is, is rather misguided.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Für einen Kurztrip ausreichend. Sehr kleine saubere Zimmer.Gute Lage .Bushaltestellen vor der Tür .5 min zur Underground . Einkaufsmöglichkeiten um die Ecke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. As you mentioned, we are situated very close to the major tube station, we pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We invest alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygenic rooms. We hope to see you again!

57%

Stuff was poor and unhelpful. Company policy was bad.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. I will pass on your comments to our Hostel manager.

60%

We stayed in the twin room which was actually just a tiny room with a bunk bed. Had staff on at least 3 occasions barge into our room with their staff key access either without knocking or knocking and coming in 2 seconds later anyway without waiting for our response. This happened over a number of days. They make you pay for luggage storage per item after check-out which is ridiculous.Otherwise in a great location in Camden, few minutes walk from the underground. The free internet's pretty slow

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are sorry that you felt your privacy was invaded by our staff, however our housekeeping team clean each rooms daily for the guests comfort. This was probably just a miscommunication however we will investigate this further. Our luggage storage rates are a low £2/bag (until midnight). If you compare this to the price you would pay at a train station/airport (£6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is affordable for our Backpackers!

80%

Ich war mit meiner Tochter - 12 Jahre - eine ganze Woche. Für uns hat es im Vierbettzimmer recht gut gepasst. Mit Ohrenstöpsel konnten wir sogar relativ gut schlafen. Ich empfehle die Preise für alle Wochentage gleich zu gestalten. Das Wochenende im August war relativ teuer. Das Personal ist hilfsbereit und freundlich. Ich würde wieder dort buchen ;-) aber nur in einem Vierbettzimmer. Wenn es Räume mit nur zwei Betten auch geben würde, dann würde ich das vorziehen. Die Lage ist einmalig!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us for providing your valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again!

54%

les lits sont a faire soit même et a défaire le jour du départ pour récupérer sa caution (10 £). Toute chose supplémentaire au lit est payante le Wifi, les coffre pour mettre ses affaires, les serviette (5 £), et ainsi de suite

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. Our strategy is to provide accommodation in the best locations of London at the lowest prices possible. Therefore, guests are charged for some extras they might need while they stay with us. All guests should note that a security deposit of £10 will be charged at Check-In for providing Linens and a Key Card which is fully refunded upon Check-Out. Having said that, we provide Free WiFi in the common areas. Hope to see you soon :-))

100%

Stayed at this hostel LOADS of times and it was fab as per usual. The only thing I would comment on for improvement would be the bathroom light, which turns on and off every 30 seconds. I know it's all carbon emissions but when I need the light on I need it on. Secondly I know it's a 'backpacking' hostel but not all of us can pack a weeks worth of stuff into a backpack. Therefore a lift would be useful if it's possible to install one. Otherwise everything was brilliant. Thanks again guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

40%

It's not very clean. And it smells bad. And it looks super sketchy. Felt very uncomfortable there. The staff wasn't very friendly. And didn't provide good service. It seemed like they didn't care. The rooms are small and you can't fit your suitcase nicely in the rooms. Avoid this place at all cost. Location is poor too.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

80%

What happened to the free wi-fi in all the rooms :-/

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for staying with us and for writing a review. Recently we have installed faster wifi in the dorms. It only costs £1 for 1 day. Free wifi is still available in the common areas. Cheers.

77%

The place is ok near to the high street and buses but quite noisy specially if your room is near the road youll hear group of people talking outside even in the late night you cant hardly sleep cos of this the wifi is not free even their lockers you need to pay including the linen but if youre leaving you need to bring the linen with you and theyll return back the money the kitchen n the food they serve were so simple help yourself attitude you need to wash your own plates n cups after food

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. The receptionists do try to keep outside of the building clear of a night time but often are busy helping other guests inside. We will try to do more. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV. All guests should note they are required to pay a £10 deposit which is fully refunded upon departure. Hope to see you again :)

89%

I had a great stay here! The staff were super nice and helpful, the location is great- Camden is such a cool neighbourhood! There was a kitchen, common area and average free breakfast. I guess there are a lot of stairs if you have a big bag but they didn't bother me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the electric Camden Town vibes! We hope we will see you again!

63%

Noisie room at the front of the building. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Great location and the tiny rooms are perfect for a few hours sleep while on a weekend in London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback, we will make sure to pass on your feedback to the Hostel manager.

40%

This place was a horror show. Tiny cramped shower that shuts off every 2 minutes unless you keep pressig the button. You have to pay for lockers and wifi. Staff is ridiculously unfriendly and unhelpful. No AC which in a 3 rd or 4th story room is disgusting. Breakfast is literally jam butter and toast, maybe cornflakes if you get there early. Also demanded a 40£ cash deposit once we arrived that wasnt mentioned in the email or website. Such a disappointing place to come back to at night.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Every guest is required to pay a £10 cash security deposit which is fully refunded (assuming there is no trouble/damage). We suggest guests check the "Important Information" sections.

49%

Posizione strategica essendo a due passi dalla metro e situato nei pressi del bellissimo quartiere Camden. La posizione però è l'unica cosa positiva poiche le camere da 4 sono invivibili a causa di uno spazio che a stento sarebbe necessario per una persona, per di piú farsi la doccia è quasi impossibile per via dell'alternanza acqua bollente-acqua gelata. I pochi servizi a disposizione sono futili e a pagamento!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. For this reason, we charge a small fee for some additional services.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback