X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1871 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very good location. The bed was quite comfy and I slept well, however the toilets needed a good clean and smelt quite bad.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00 to provide continual high standards of service for our guests. During your next visit should any matters arise please speak with our friendly Reception team who will be able to rectify any issues you may have. We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

77%

Très bon emplacement pour les personnes qui aiment Camden et qui y sortent. Dommage que les lockers soient payants même si peu chers (7£/week). Ils sont assez grands pour mettre une petite valise et d'autres affaires. Possible mais difficile de cuisiner : le frigo déborde au point de ne plus fermer. Seulement 3 fourchettes et 1 couteau viable pour 109 couchages. Enfin, nous avons croisé beaucoup de gens qui restent dans cet hostel et qui travaillent, donc qui se couchent tôt et ne sortent pa

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Rooms were lovely and warm..

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget to like us on Facebook to receive the latest new and special offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

94%

We had a bedroom for two but when the shower broke down, we got a four-bedroom just for the two of us. Very friendly and helpfull staf!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the issues you experienced with the shower. Our friendly receptionists work diligently to ensure any matters are handled to the best of our ability. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

77%

brave persone disponibili e cortesi.il posto è strategico , da migliorare la pulizia nelle stanze

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Staff is totally unfriendly. Please smile when you meet guests and say at least hello or goodbye! The atmosphere is cold as staff is not really warm hearted! Our 4 bed room was small - no problem - but there is no air circulation possible so that during the night when 4 people were being asleep water drops gathered on the window and on the wall (!) next to the window. The perfect origin for mould. Please keep an eye on that. Also, it's freezing as windows are too thin. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments in to consideration and will feed them back to the relevant departments.

54%

No lockers, crappy shower, not really any security other than the card for the doors. Really dirty, and tiny beds. 'Accidentally' didn't come back one of the nights so I didn't have to sleep there again. And the Internet sad very basic when it was available, not the best place, but I guess it's somewhere to sleep ?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We supply lockers in every room, in addition our Reception area is manned 24 hours a day and we also have 24 hour CCTV.

63%

It was fine. Everything you need in a hostel but nothing that you want (like atmosphere or group activities to get people involved). I'm so pleased I wasn't staying here as single person because it would have been hard to meet others and feel included. It's not a big hostel and overall it was just a bed in room. The area of Camden is great though if you're looking for something a bit different and full of markets to explore.


74%

Lovely staff and easy to find, good location for underground access and walking up to Camden Lock market for breakfast. Very small rooms, only for sleeping not relaxing. If your backpacking or just staying for a short stay with a packed schedule intending only to sleep in the hostel and have somewhere to store your things, this is a good place.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, super comfortable beds, with a simple yet satisfying free breakfast in the morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed you stay in our hostel and found your bed super comfortable! We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee, and we are so happy to hear you were satisfied with this little extra! We hope to see you again!

71%

Couldn't charge phone in room as none of the plug ins worked. Other than that it was a good stay

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We have passed on your comments to the hostel manager to look into! We apologize about the lack of charging facilities. We are looking to upgrade our beds to include personal power sockets! We hope if you come back you will see the positive improvement this will make!

49%

You get for what you pay. The problem is bathrooms are extremely small. And its is true. Homeless and drug addict sleep there not just backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

80%

It would have been great if you had some more plates, cups and cutlery in the kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! I have passed your comments onto our hostel manager and hopefully if you come back you will see this improvement implemented into our hostel! We hope to see you again!

54%

Pulizia stanza più accurata e stanza da quattro troppo angusta.per il resto bene, la colazione, l' accoglienza la posizione perfetta!!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you found the hostel clean and comfortable. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We are pleased you enjoyed this complementary service. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are glad you enjoyed the location and we hope to see you again!

66%

Auberge bien située mais chambre et douche glaciale. De plus, le personnel a oublié nos draps et le petit déjeuner est très sommaire.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the central location of our hostel! Our reception is open 24 hours, so if you had any problems (including missing bed sheets) we would be able to resolve this immediately. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

54%

Bad hostel in general. It`s cheap, but you feel uncomfortable there all the time. For sure it`s better to spend more money and go to a better place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you found our hostel affordable. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us!

69%

Good location, friendly staff. But bed was too short for me (I'm 6ft 2).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel and the manner of our staff! While our bed length is at an above standard 5 ft 11, we do apologize for the lack of comfort! Our top priority is to provide clean, inexpensive, central and comfortable accommodation for our guests. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers.

71%

A basic British hostel, too many stairs if you have heavy luggage. Rooms were clean and the security was enough though you need to pay more in order to use the lockers (this is just my guess since the staff did not instruct visitors when checking in). The shower was average, it was not possible to shower without getting your hair wet. Anyway, the location is nice and the hostel quiet enough. If you do not plan spending too much time in the hostel, this hostel is a nice choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! While our hostel doesn’t have an elevator, we have strategically ensured the steps are wide enough for our guests to carry larger luggage up with ease. We are glad you found our room clean and hygienic and that you felt safe in our hostel. We are pleased you liked the central location and we hope to see you again!

80%

Amazing location and well worth putting up with a few inconveniences for the price. No wifi in the rooms (unless you pay) and slow in the TV room. They should change some lumpy mattresses. Some people live there quasi-permenantly (awkward breakfast!). We had a four-bed private and had a great time in Camden. The staff was friendly and responsive, but not so strict about the "show your room card before coming in" rule. Sounds shady, but when I'm back in London, I'm planning on staying here again.


54%

clean and cheap, but genuinely feared for my life in one of the fourteen bed dorms (due to both the loud/aggressive drunks and the fact i nearly melted it was that warm)

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our accommodation affordable and clean! We have passed your comments onto the hostel manager about your fellow guests behaviour. Thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback