X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2133 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

never saw a hostel like this before. This place is really not a place for anyone. Noisy ,small, dirty. when one of the receptionists was talking to me I was very astonished that I didnt even know how to respond, was it real that I just got an attitude like that from a staff? I was even too shocked to be mad. Definitely never going back.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

It would be useful to put people who snor in a room all together

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Price is low compare to other possibilities. Some people are also low. You can meet anybody or I would rather say anything.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Took awhile to get a working card key, once that was sorted it was a good stay.


74%

An ok, clean place in a good area. Not really suitable for travelling on your own and hoping to make friends at the hostel, great if you are just looking for a place to stay. Rooms were quite small and had 3 levels bunk beds but they were cleaned almost every day (including the bathroom). People from various ages stay there so it's not exactly a youth hostel - although in my room it was mostly young people. Common rooms not very cozy or inviting (although they have a large screen TV).


57%

The rooms were very small, also the bathroom. And a lot of old people lived in the hostel.


57%

should have more space to put our belongings. Put hangers or some stands at least. thanks

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The whole experience was awful. It was like trying to fit as many beds into a small room as you can leaving very little space to move around. I've stayed in hostles in a lot of places and I have never seen one as bad as this. It was smelly, dirty, very little space, not enough lockers to put personal belonging away. The shower we had to share had pubic hair in it and looked like it hadn't been cleaned at all.' Over all I would not recommend this hostle to anyone.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The rooms are too small for the number of beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! :) Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. We hope to see you again, Smart Hostels Team

80%

Really Postive: small shared 4-bed dorm has en-suite! Great for for price.


60%

The Hostel is very diferent from what we see in the pictures, is very old, the space is too small and have a bad smell.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your time, we really appreciate your review. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and services. We wish having you back at Camden Inn Hostel soon . Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

46%

inefficient service and unconfirmed booking modifications done without consent, modified dorm was small and lacking the value for money that is paid of.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. If there is anything bothering you, please let us know and the receptionists maybe give a free upgrade to another room. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Overall a good hostel in a good location. Unfortunately they decided to do some painting in the hallways during our stay, we always had to get past the painters whenever we wanted to go up/downstairs. They should just have closed the hostel for one day to do all the painting in peace instead of interruptions from the tourists. And there was no "wet paint" sign on the walls, just some (folded!) on the radiators. Breakfast room very tiny and hardly any space. Beds were good, with curtains.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your helpful review about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations and you had some problems with our maintenance team. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and make sure that you have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team

66%

Very disappointed on my last visit, I booked for Dec 24/25/26 as i was volunteering with Crisis at Xmas up the road, & later added Dec 27th, but there was painting going on during my stay in room/hall - I had a migraine headache for the 3 nights I stayed, which was annoying as I was working 9 hour shifts at the Homeless centre so needed to rest between shifts...I had to stay somewhere else on 27th Dec but I was still charged for this night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review about the hostel! We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and make sure that you have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel :) Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team

100%

Excellent atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

91%

This was my second time at the Smart Camden Inn, absolutely love the location. It's very clean and you get super comfy beds with curtains. Unfortunately this was also my second time with horrendously loud snorers in my dorm so I would recommend you to pick up some earplugs... Other than that I really like this hostel in London!

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to give us your amazing feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Happy Travels, Smart Hostels Team

80%

First time checking into a hostel. The receptionists were friendly, the cleaners do their job well. The linen were not so clean. I recommend the staff laundering linen at 60 °C- 90°C / using a more effective detergent. The lockers were big enough for my 10kg suitcase + a few other bags! :D The bathroom is not for the average dress sized woman (the bathroom is very small) The 6 bed dorm is not for the claustrophobic nor the shy either. Who you meet makes or breaks your experience.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Your feedback about the bed linens not being so clean will be taken into account in order to improve our standards. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

40%

I left a deposit out of a good will from previous booking with sMart and when I went lay time they did not refunded to me and they write it was paid back. And that was not true. The staff are noisy and they talk loud early in the morning decorators want to paint rooms by forcing customers to come out of the room by certain time and that is absolutely outrageous.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Please note that all our booking deposits are non-refundable in any circumstances for all our guests, according to our online Terms and Conditions Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to make sure that you will have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel again. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

54%

Got a towel stolen and the staff didnt seem to care about it. Very little space and small beds. Not Very good breakfast even tho it was free. No lockers to keep valuables in. Hot in rooms, shower was hot and wouldn't change temperature while showering. Only good thing was wi-fi. We won't stay there again.


57%

This hostel could be awesome. The location is fab, being in the heart of Camden . Unfortunatelty, the hostel needs some renovation. Our room felt more like a sleeper train. I've stayed in a more spacious capsule hostel in Japan; there really isn't enough space in the rooms. Also, the shower light needs a switch, not a scensor. Sticking your arm out to turn on the light every 10 seconds is not cool. Staff were pleasant. Beds were unclean. Toilets and showers were reasonably sanitary.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better stay if you decide to stay at our hostel again in the future. Kind regards, Laura

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback