Hostelworld.com

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 2,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 2,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.0
Smart Camden Inn Hostel Located at 55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London.
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
England
London NW1 0AA 55/57 Bayham Street, Camden
71% 2177
51.5388483 -0.1412343
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Apr 2016
4.6

The photos on HostelWorld are really deceiving. I'm fully aware this is a hostel and not a 5 star hotel, but I've stayed in plenty of hostels before and this was hands down the worst. While the location was great, the room was extremely cramped, I slept with my bag in the bed because I did not feel safe, the shower was gross, the toilet was in the hall and only 1 per floor, nowhere to put anything in the room...Not a fun experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
6.9

What you see is what you get. With London pricing do not expect to find anything cheeper. The location is fantastic however the place really utilises every inch of the surface :) Would come back again if traveling on a budget. Would not if I had a little extra to spare.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
6.6

Positives: location, free breakfast, good wifi Negatives: tiny, crowded rooms, must pay for security lockers, not enough showers/toilets, small common area

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.3

Good location, beds are a little crammed but I liked that there was a sheet I could use to give myself some privacy. Bathroom and shower is also very small but I had no problem with it. Not recommended for claustrophobic people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel, much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay with our hostel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

19th Mar 2016
5.1

The worst place I have ever been. The cage-like place for people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations. We understand that some dorms can seem too small and overcrowded mainly due to the number of the guests that can be allocated inside. However we offer different types of dorms. Therefore why don’t you try to book a room with fewer beds the next time you choose to stay at our hostel? We hope your next stay will be better. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
8.6

I had a lovely few days there. But having to pay for the lockers is something I don't find fair. Secure storage for your luggage should be basic service, not something that has to be purchased extra.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that our room prices are extremely cheap if you consider the fact that our hostel is located in the centre of London. Therefore we need to charge for extra services, like the use of the locker and luggage storage, in order to keep our prices low. We look forward to your next stay and best regards from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Mar 2016
4.6

We had a 6 people dorm but it was so small that one could hardly put the luggage in the room. The window was so small that you couldn't get any fresh air which is quite annoying when you're sleeping with five other people in a 8 m² room! The shower was ok, but the toilets were very dirty! I wonder if they were ever cleaned. If you want to leave your luggage in the hostel after checking out you have to pay two pounds for each suitcase/backpack. This isn't very backpacker friendly at all!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. We offer different types of dorms, ranging from 14 beds to private rooms with only 2 beds inside. Therefore if you think that the 6 mixed dorm, in which you stayed, is too small, maybe you can try to book a room with fewer beds, like the 4 bed mixed dorm or the private room, the next time you choose our hostel. Also, regarding your feedback about the dirty toilets, please note that all the rooms and toilets are cleaned each day by our housekeeper staff. Finally, our room prices are extremely cheap considering the central location of our hostel. Therefore in order to keep our prices low, we need to charge for some extra services, like the use of the luggage storage after check-out. We hope you will have a better stay the next time you choose to stay at our hostel. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
8.3

I've stayed in quite a few hostels around London and was highly impressed with this one. We received a friendly welcome from the reception guy and were provided with all of the information we needed. rooms were clean, with a private bathroom and shower in the same room. its small but nice . t its a great place to stay if you're looking to stay close to London center . but i find out that CAMDEN is a great place. they do free breakfast ..love it. will recommend it for sure.😋

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2016
7.7

Loved the location, and the staff were fine, but: my room window would not close properly and it opened onto a rooftop; the automatic light in both toilet and shower was set way too short, so you were left in the dark waving madly at the sensor. The stairs are very narrow and quite steep (nothing they can do about that!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that if you notice something is broken, like in the case of the window or the light, you can report it to the reception, which is open 24 hours, and the receptionist will make sure that it will get fixed. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
9.1

Great value considering the location. breakfast and drinks every morning and it FREE. If you are on a budget, and still want to be close to any major attractions and clubs i recommend it. The good you can buy shampoo or shower items at reception., clean room and shower , friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you very much for your review! :) Best regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.