X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2135 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

This hostel could be awesome. The location is fab, being in the heart of Camden . Unfortunatelty, the hostel needs some renovation. Our room felt more like a sleeper train. I've stayed in a more spacious capsule hostel in Japan; there really isn't enough space in the rooms. Also, the shower light needs a switch, not a scensor. Sticking your arm out to turn on the light every 10 seconds is not cool. Staff were pleasant. Beds were unclean. Toilets and showers were reasonably sanitary.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better stay if you decide to stay at our hostel again in the future. Kind regards, Laura

54%

Unfortunately the place is what you pay for - next to nothing. Dirty, smelly, small / cluttered dorms, small and dirty shower, tiny kitchen and "lounge". Staff was fine, location is great.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better stay if you decide to stay at our hostel in the future. Kind Regards, Laura

60%

+ Excellent breakfast; acceptable price; quiet good location; cleaning ladies are nice and hardworking - Beds are not suitable for tall guests (185cm long with plank); unhelpful staff; corridors are narrow and atmosphere is sometimes claustrophobic; showers are really small and it's difficult to fit in; lockers are payable (1,50£/day) and most of them are not working; hairdryer not available to rent for whole 4 days of our stay; they don't rent an adapter for sockets; many old guests (50+)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better experience if you decide to stay at our hostel in the future. Kind regards, Laura

80%

It's a good place for what you pay for, I found the bed difficult to sleep on but it's close to some cool places and over all I thought it was good. Could use some curtains for the window though :')

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay at our hostel. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards. Kind Regards, Laura

77%

The hostel is small but for the price it's real good. The location is amazing, close to great pubs, camden market and easy access with both buses and metro to all over the city. The beds are comfy but a bit short so for a very tall person not the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay at our hostel. Your feedback about the beds being too small for a very tall person will be taken into account in order to improve our standards. Kind Regards, Laura

60%

if sou are used to the, as I now realize very high, standard of NZ backpacker hostels, this place will be shockingly small and unpersonal. It was very quiet though, and of course the location is great. The free wifi worked perfectly for me (only available in common area/kitchen), and the complementary breakfast saved me a load of money. All in all this hostel is a good place to keep yor stuff (you pay for lockers though) and sleep at- in my experience not for meeting people or hanging out though

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

49%

This was the worst hostel I stayed at in my whole life. The staff were nice especially the guy who checked us in. Location is also good but it is not worth it. Arriving into our room the only thing we wanted to do was leave but it being a Saturday night we couldn't find any other place to stay at. The room was cramped - 8 beds in this tiny space, no room to move around. Some shady characters around the hostel, we did not feel safe. I'm not fussy about hostels but this one was a nightmare.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

74%

Very basic but very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked our hostel. Kind regards, Laura

83%

Don't listen to the horror stories of the bad reviews. It was a good nice place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

57%

Hostel location was absolutely perfect. Very central easy to find and to get around London. It's an old hostel and the interiour is therefor old and worn down. The beds are quite uncomfortable and small. Kitchen and living room was dirty. Complimentary breakfast was great. Staff were friendly.

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you stay at the hostel. Kind Regards, Laura

49%

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights, it's an ok place if you wanna save money and stay in a good location. Camden is great. Bad: it's almost impossible to sleep because the doors in the hallway make such noise everytime someone goes in or out. The facilities are a joke, in the shower the light goes off every 10 seconds so you have to open the shower door to trigger the motion detector, The sink construction makes it impossible to properly wash. Kitchen was quite shabby, weird atmosphere

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards. We hope that you will have a better experience the next time you stay at the hostel. Kind Regards, Laura

57%

The room was way too small and cramped for 6 people and the cleaning lady told us it had been a 4 bed room. There were only 2 plugs in the whole room. The area isn't the greatest, it seems a little unsafe but at least you need a key card to get in and the tube station is really close. There's a lovely Italian restaurant around the corner on pratt street called Il sugo, great food and cocktails at a good price

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you stay at the hostel. Kind Regards, Laura

69%

Fire alarm kept going off. My security box could easily be pulled open with hand power. Beds så small I weren't able to lie down properly (188cm tall).

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. We will take your feedback into account in order to improve our standards. We hope that you will have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Kind regards, Laura

66%

Alright hostel, had an average experience due to other guests rather than the hostel itself

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that you had an average experience in our hostel. We hope that you will have a better stay the next time you will stay at the hostel. Kind Regards, Laura

83%

Rooms are very clean and good value for money, we stayed in a 2 bedroom and payed around £45 for the night for 2 people. There was a toilet right outside our room and it was very clean, bedroom was quite warm as the heating was on but with the window open it was comfortable and there was a fan provided. Altogether a nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

89%

staff at reception were lovely

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

100%

Friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hostel. Kind regards, Laura

71%

The room was hit, so the window was open at night . But the noise of the traffic and people in the stret could be heard at night time. The breakfast was good , self service.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and to ensure that you will have a better stay if you decide to stay at our hostel again in the future. Kind regards, Laura

100%

Very happy. Thanks guys

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hostel. Kind Regards, Laura

80%

the shared toilet was almost always impeccable. the bedsheets average, the bunk bed a little noisy.. what to say, perfect for a hostel, anyways

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(66 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback