X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2025 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is great, it's like a big family here, everyone here is ready to lend a hand for wathever you need, the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Turkey, which always helped me a lot with all my requests! totally recommended, great location and good price.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is my second time here and i`m looking foward to go again soon thank you..


60%

No towells, no gel. Breakfaste included

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent hostel with character. Not very comfy, since building is quite old, with rather narrow stairways and hallways. But since I don't care much about that, I was fine. Breakfast choice is poor and the kitchen is too small for also serving as breakfast room. I should mention that we (4 people) stayed in a 4 bed ensuite. It was clean and perfectly fine for the price we paid. If you are looking for a nice stay without luxury in a good location, this one is ok.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

*Staff on the whole - rude and unwelcoming *Very small, felt very on top of each other - too many beds in too small a room *Shower had no heat control, was so small (like a caravan shower) *Unclean (hairs in the linen, tissues in the beds and waste bins) *People drinking on the front door and in the common room until early hours, being very loud - not great for Room 11 which was next to Common Room and facing street *Room far too hot, no ventilation *Kitchen closed off at midnight!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hello, we were a group of 4 and stayed for one night only, unluckily- because the hostel is way better than people write about it. So, when we arrived at the hostel, a friendly young man explained us everything and gave us the room keys. We had a small but nice room on the first floor with a shower included(unfortunately no toilet on our floor but that wasn't too bad). The hostel itself is in the middle of Camden town& easy to find. breakfast was awesome! get some earplugs,it may be loud sometim


66%

Good location, close to venues in Camden. Staff and guests friendly enough but hostel facilities and upkeep very average - it could do with a general tidy and lick of paint.


37%

The hostel was dirty, noisy, unkept and had an uncomfortable shabby atmosphere to it. Would definitely recommend avoiding this hostel to not waste your money

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Wasn't sure how to operate the security boxes in room, card didn't seem to operate it wasn't a big deal for me but for security purposes probably not the best. Location was just off Camden High street which was great with two close tube stations but the road it's on had a weird atmosphere and some strange characters. You need to press the shower button 7 times to get hot water once thats done it's good but it does take about 3 or more minutes. overall you get what you pay for so all okay!


63%

When our mates bag was nicked by a guy who'd been living in the hostel for a year the staff didn't seem to bothered. The theif gave us death threats but then the staff let him back into the hostel the net day.. There was barely any plugs and the ones there were were in awkward places near other people's beds. And there was apparently a mouse


37%

this was the worst hostel I habe been. It was incredibly tinny, it didnt have any human conditions, the bathroom was horrible, the water was cold and it was impossible to get warmer, our room was one of the worst, since it was close to the kitchen and to the "common" area, so it get really loud when we were trying to sleep. I hated this hostel and please dont go to there, you wont get a good experience, trust me. This in Portugal by many reasons NEVER would open in here, really bad conditions.


49%

This hostel tries to charge you extra for everything and the staff is uncaring. Not a recommended location for a long term stay. (more than one night). Only useful if you need a place to crash after a late night in Camden

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the hostel and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) We hope you'll consider staying again, perhaps after your next night out in Camden. Cheers

89%

I had a great time when i was there and everyone was very friendly and i will be going again very soon..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're glad you had a great time and thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

89%

This hostel is excellent value for the money.. cheap.. clean and friendly staff just out of the busy Camden high street...No TV but if you are there to site see it did not matter to me... I will go again 😀

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. You are welcome anytime!

100%

VERY GOOD!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

if you take into account cleanliness....that´s not your hostel definetely....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Thanks again.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

I got all i need. Good value for the money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, offers and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

69%

Nice hostel to stay in Camden. Ideal for 2-3 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, the only problem - we waited for age for the hot water in shower.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have relayed your feedback to our maintenance team regarding the hot water. As a result, we are in the process of completing major refurbishment and very soon any issues regarding our hot water supply will be resolved. I hope this has not hindered your stay with us too much, we look forward to seeing you again!

31%

Horrible and dirty place with a very unprofessional and rude staff. Stay away from this hostel you can certainly find a better one.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeepers work relentlessly throughout the day to ensure the hostel is kept clean and hygienic. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. All our staff are highly trained in customer service and care. We review our performance regularly to improve our standards of service. We hope if you do come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

80%

It is a good place to stay on low buget.You can not expect a lot for that kind of money, but it was nice, the people were nice and it is a great location. You have store, bar, club, undergraund station, coffee shop all in between 10 minutes around hostel.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1283 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback