X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2023 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The whole kitchen was dirty and they were mice in it. The location as good but the whole place was not a pretty comfy place where you wanted to stay. Extra fees for the wifi in the room, which didn't work great i the common room, and lockers ... The facilities like the shower often didn't work and the toilets and bathroom were dirty most of the time. Neither the common room nor our dorm were comfy places to stay ...

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Thin walls so couldn't sleep at night as people hanged around loudly in the common room. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to get dressed. The shower was a nightmare, it took ages for the water changed from cold to warm. Had to go 2 floors up to use a toilet, where there was often no toilet paper. The whole place didn't seem clean and needed to get painted again. The room was tiny and I couldn't use the lockers under the bed as they were locked. The stuff didn't seem friendly or very helpful

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. Our hostels are located within beautiful listed buildings, any modifications we are permitted to make are limited. Every square meter counts in this city; whilst our rooms may be relatively smaller than elsewhere, our prices are very competitive for central London. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment; very soon the majority of our dorms will have been repainted complete with new beds. Please come back to see the positive improvements we have made.

80%

Really enjoyed my stay, was good value, would be nice if you could lock the under bed storage in the room (i was in 4 bed shared room) but otherwise great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your recent Smart Backpacker experience. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. For future reference, our lockers are available to purchase at £1.50 per night, from our Reception desk. They are linked to your personal key card. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest offers, news and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

71%

I stayed 5 nights but only booked 1 through Hostelworld. Very helpful reception staff; 24hr opening is great! Housekeeping staff in the kitchen at breakfast time are not very friendly. They seem to like yelling at guest about toaster/microwave. 2 comments: Please put some more tables/chairs in the large common room during breakfast as there are only 8 seats in the kitchen. Please stop using disposable plastic cutlery? Creates too much rubbish! Why not just use reusable, Ikea plastic ones?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We have listened to your comments and relayed them back to the relevant departments. Our team are all highly trained in customer service and care. We regularly assess our performance to improve our standards of service. We have recently upgraded our breakfast menu and have improved our breakfast service. We hope if you come back you will notice the positive upgrades we have made.

57%

Terrible beds, very loud lockers and just an old, loud, creaky building. The mattresses were banana shaped so sleeping was pretty difficult. The radiators are left locked on high with windows chained so it was roasting. Location is decent and price is cheap, but still, £12 isn't worth not being able to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We regret if there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We continuously review our performance to improve our standards of service. Our hostels are located in beautiful architectural listed buildings. The modifications we are permitted to make are however limited. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests uo to 5ft 10 which is taller than the avereage; however we looking in to extending this for the comfort of our guests!

83%

A perfect location for moving in London

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please like us on Facebook to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome back at anytime!

60%

Bland breakfast, broken taps in eating area, most of the night was kept up due to a fire alarm going off repeatedly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We offer a complimentary all-you-can-eat basic breakfast for our valued guests, it includes toast, cereals, juice, teas and coffees. The hostel is undergoing renovations, whereby some of the things you have mentioned are already being resolved. We apologise for our faulty alarm system during your stay, our alarms are regularly tested and serviced in accordance to our health and safety obligations. We hope to see you again soon.

54%

heating in the room - worked not so well, I'd cold many times, and there was no extra (warm) blanket.. :(

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. For future reference, please report any issues of this nature to our Reception desk, they are open 24/7 and have been trained to manage any instances promptly and effectively. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

37%

worst hostel i've ever stayed in and would not reccomend to anybody. the rooms are incredibly small, nowhere to even sit down to take your shoes off and they will charge you for using the lockers (per night). also, we were mistreated by the staff at reception, spent only one night and asked our money back. really dissapointing and an unnecessary stress.


69%

Random people in the morning for the kitchen was a bit strange , but for a hostel I guess is normal .and not having like a room to hang sometime if someone has to wait for a taxi etc etc ...

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. For future reference, please note you can use the communal areas to relax whilst you are waiting for a taxi service. We welcome guests from all walks of life; our diverse range of guests can lead to some interesting conversations and possibly the start of new friendships. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers we hope to see you again.

51%

Staff were very helpful on my arrival, but it kinda went downhill from there.. The room (6 bed dorm in the basement) was tiny & smelt awful, the shower/toilet facilities were woefully inadequate (1 per floor, in a hostel with 40+ rooms??!), only cornflakes & toast for breakfast (ok for me, I guess..).. Only stayed one night & i'd be hard pushed to recommend staying any longer..


69%

Ok place! Fine if you want a cheap place jn londen to stay with a friend. Walls are a bit thin, so if your hotelmates are noisy, your sleep will be disturbed. Use earplugs Cleanliness is ok! Totally not a place to stay with your love ;)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We apologise for any disturbance caused due to noise, please note we do provide free earplugs to all our guests. Our night staff also ask our guests to adhere to the quite hours (between 10pm and 6am). Our housekeepers clean throughout the day, rooms are cleaned daily and communal areas are cleaned hourly. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers.

37%

Over all very poor service and filthy rooms.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular checks every hour durng these times of the shared toilets and facilities to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, any cleaning issues reported to receptionists by guests will be dealt with promptly.

40%

so cold! breakfast is bad!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast service consists of an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast which includes fresh toast, cereal, teas and coffee. We provide this service free of charge to all our guests.

66%

Although it's far from the main places, it was good that the hostel is close to the underground, what is very important specially in London. The reception was helpful, the guy that stayed there at night helped me whenever we needed. The major problem was the cleanliness and the cleaners that were not friendly and sometimes were rude. They entered the room many times a day and didn't clean it well. The bathroom was too dirty and small also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret you were not happy with the manner of our housekeepers on duty, during your stay. We have relayed your comments to the relevant departments. Our housekeepers clean throughout the day, rooms are cleaned daily and public areas hourly. We consistently review our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope if you come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

89%

It was my first time in a Hostel but I had a good experience, the location is excellent and the staff are very helpful and kind. I stayed over three weeks and I have to say overall I had a good experience. On weekends it can be a bit noisy and hard to sleep as there are people that only go for one night that have only come to party so that was my only issue. But I do recommend it.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are always pleased to receive positive comments. During your next visit, please speak to our friendly reception team who will be able to provide you with ear plugs to reduce noise levels. Come back and visit us soon.

74%

Very good location. The bed was quite comfy and I slept well, however the toilets needed a good clean and smelt quite bad.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00 to provide continual high standards of service for our guests. During your next visit should any matters arise please speak with our friendly Reception team who will be able to rectify any issues you may have. We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

91%

Rooms were lovely and warm..

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget to like us on Facebook to receive the latest new and special offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

94%

We had a bedroom for two but when the shower broke down, we got a four-bedroom just for the two of us. Very friendly and helpfull staf!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the issues you experienced with the shower. Our friendly receptionists work diligently to ensure any matters are handled to the best of our ability. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

37%

Staff is totally unfriendly. Please smile when you meet guests and say at least hello or goodbye! The atmosphere is cold as staff is not really warm hearted! Our 4 bed room was small - no problem - but there is no air circulation possible so that during the night when 4 people were being asleep water drops gathered on the window and on the wall (!) next to the window. The perfect origin for mould. Please keep an eye on that. Also, it's freezing as windows are too thin. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments in to consideration and will feed them back to the relevant departments.

(1283 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback