X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2136 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The fire alarm rings at 8am.....it is great when you want to sleep a little ....


49%

Great location but the staff let it down.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our reception team is continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are disappointed you did not enjoy the manner of our staff. We rigorously review our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

63%

Beds were to small for tall people. Rooms to small for 8 people.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Sorry to hear that you have issue with the size of the bed, but we are using the standard UK sizes for beds (80 cm x 190 cm). We have different types of dormitories too available to suit different types of travelers, depending on their budget. Cheers and happy travels!

83%

Estuvimos una familia de 9 miembros del 30 de enero al 2 de febrero de 2016 en una habitación mixta de 9 miembros con baño incluido. El ambiente del hostel es bueno, el desayuno buenisimo, básico pero en cantidad. Lo peor, que no había ni una silla en la habitación, las literas eran de tres pisos ( colchones, almohadas y edredones cómodos) y te piden una fianza de 10 libras que luego nos devolvieron sin problemas. Las fotos que aparecen hace que parezca más grande las instalaciones

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. Please note that our maintenance team is currently renovating our hostel. Therefore we hope that you will see the difference when you come back next time. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

37%

never saw a hostel like this before. This place is really not a place for anyone. Noisy ,small, dirty. when one of the receptionists was talking to me I was very astonished that I didnt even know how to respond, was it real that I just got an attitude like that from a staff? I was even too shocked to be mad. Definitely never going back.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

It would be useful to put people who snor in a room all together

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and make sure that you have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Kind regards, Smart Hostels team

77%

Price is low compare to other possibilities. Some people are also low. You can meet anybody or I would rather say anything.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience didn’t live up to your expectations. We hope you will have a better stay next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

74%

+ günstig und hat was man braucht... perfekte Lage, um Camden Town zu erkunden oder beim Pub crawl mitzumachen - enge Treppe und Räume, Betten nicht für Personen über 1,8m geeignet, Streicharbeiten im Flur, im 8er Zimmer nur im Bad ein Fenster

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Took awhile to get a working card key, once that was sorted it was a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for giving us a part of your valued time to rate our hostel to other travelers. Our key card system is so sensitive and a lot of guests try to enter the room mistakenly with different cards, like Oyster cards. To make your stay more safe and your belongings more secure we have 24/7 open reception and CCTV . Best wishes from Smart Camden Inn

74%

An ok, clean place in a good area. Not really suitable for travelling on your own and hoping to make friends at the hostel, great if you are just looking for a place to stay. Rooms were quite small and had 3 levels bunk beds but they were cleaned almost every day (including the bathroom). People from various ages stay there so it's not exactly a youth hostel - although in my room it was mostly young people. Common rooms not very cozy or inviting (although they have a large screen TV).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. we appreciate your positive feedback about our hostel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can, of course we'll keep improving our services to make sure your next stay will be more comfortable. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thank you and kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

57%

The rooms were very small, also the bathroom. And a lot of old people lived in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for choosing our hostel! :) The rooms and the bathrooms size has been decided after in-depth study based on the health and safety laws and has been approved by the competent authority. We welcome all ages in our hostels and all our guests have the right to choose their private room. Thank you again for your review and kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

57%

should have more space to put our belongings. Put hangers or some stands at least. thanks

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review and for choosing our hostel. We allow our guests to choose their bed location in accordance to their preferences. For the guest’s convenience, we then ask them to choose a locker close to their bed location. The shelves and hangers have been replaced with wide lockers free of charge. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

31%

The whole experience was awful. It was like trying to fit as many beds into a small room as you can leaving very little space to move around. I've stayed in hostles in a lot of places and I have never seen one as bad as this. It was smelly, dirty, very little space, not enough lockers to put personal belonging away. The shower we had to share had pubic hair in it and looked like it hadn't been cleaned at all.' Over all I would not recommend this hostle to anyone.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks very much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with you stay in our hostel. We have invested a lot of experience and work into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London :). We're looking forward to see you very soon in our hostels and notice our improvements! Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

49%

Die Zimmer waren unglaublich beengt. Da so viel Betten wie möglich in dem Zimmer untergebracht waren haben wir auf dem Boden eine Matratze gehabt. Die Dusche wurde brühend heiss, dass man das Gefühl hatte sich zu verbrennen. Einen Temeratueregler gab es nicht.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your time, we appreciate your constructive feedback. Our main priority is to offer comfortable accommodation at reasonable budget, as for the room size and number of beds we are sure that the number of beds in each room is completely identical to the specification of health and safety requirements. We also got a highly trained housekeeping team working in two shifts, from early morning until late, to make sure your stay is as clean as possible. We hope to see you soon in our hostels. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

60%

The rooms are too small for the number of beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! :) Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. We hope to see you again, Smart Hostels Team

80%

Really Postive: small shared 4-bed dorm has en-suite! Great for for price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing our hostel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again in our hostel.Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

60%

The Hostel is very diferent from what we see in the pictures, is very old, the space is too small and have a bad smell.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your time, we really appreciate your review. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and services. We wish having you back at Camden Inn Hostel soon . Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

46%

inefficient service and unconfirmed booking modifications done without consent, modified dorm was small and lacking the value for money that is paid of.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. If there is anything bothering you, please let us know and the receptionists maybe give a free upgrade to another room. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Overall a good hostel in a good location. Unfortunately they decided to do some painting in the hallways during our stay, we always had to get past the painters whenever we wanted to go up/downstairs. They should just have closed the hostel for one day to do all the painting in peace instead of interruptions from the tourists. And there was no "wet paint" sign on the walls, just some (folded!) on the radiators. Breakfast room very tiny and hardly any space. Beds were good, with curtains.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your helpful review about the hostel. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations and you had some problems with our maintenance team. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and make sure that you have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team

66%

Very disappointed on my last visit, I booked for Dec 24/25/26 as i was volunteering with Crisis at Xmas up the road, & later added Dec 27th, but there was painting going on during my stay in room/hall - I had a migraine headache for the 3 nights I stayed, which was annoying as I was working 9 hour shifts at the Homeless centre so needed to rest between shifts...I had to stay somewhere else on 27th Dec but I was still charged for this night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review about the hostel! We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn’t live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and make sure that you have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel :) Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback