X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Camden Inn Hostel Reviews

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2020 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Beyond excellent location (2mins from main highstreet).. great staff who helped throughout and couldn't so enough to for you.. Overall good vibes definitely

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Super bra läge med massa bussar direkt utanför för att ta sig in till stan överallt. Annars fanns även T-bana 5 min därifrån oxå men bussen är mkt billigare. Det tog ca 1tim med T-bana från Heathhrow till Camden town och super smidigt! Rekommenderas varmt 😉.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

I was in 3 people (family group) and booked a room with 4beds. When arrived at Hostel, the guy in reception said they had no room with 4beds available. He puts us in a room with 6beds and only said "sorry our mistake guys". He paid the difference by the bed (£1 per person) and gave 2 locker for us (£1.50 each). When booked a room with 4 bed my plan was to have 1 stranger in the Room, but that's not what happened, had 3 strangers in the room. Was a very bad experience that 2 locker not pay!


83%

For what I was doing in London the hostel was in a great location, just a stones throw from Camden high street. Staff were good, told me everything I needed to know. Breakfast was good: juice, cornflakes, coco pops, toast, jam ect ect was all provided in plentiful qualities. Room was basic but this was expected. Had a shower right adjoining our room which was a nice surprise. Good stay, was happy here.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

There was no atmosphere, just people rushing through the rooms and common area. Breakfast was ok. Not enough power points in the rooms (most were at a bed, so you can only access them if you're sleeping in that bed). It had a feeling of being unloved and uncared for, but you get what you pay for. Having to pay for lockers under the beds is unreasonable I think and it also left no space for luggage outside the lockers.


49%

Wir hatten ein zweier Zimmer gebucht. Wirklich glücklich waren wir in dem Hostel nicht. Duschen: Es gibt nur einen Knopf an der Dusche für Wasser an/aus. Jedoch kann man die Temperatur nicht einstelllen. Ich hab also einmal extrem heiß und einmal eiskalt geduscht. Handtücher muss man für 5 Pfund kaufen, man kann sie nicht leihen. Das Licht im Bad geht mit Sensor an und ist auf 20 Sekunden getaktet. Man duscht also im dunklen. Dusche ist zudem extrem eng.


89%

Abbiamo preso la camera mista con bagno in camera, gli spazi sono limitati, ma tuttavia ci serviva solo per dormire e lavarci!Pulizia ottima, personale cordiale. Eccellente posizione per coloro che desiderino vivere la vita notturna (specialmente rock!) e per coloro che desiderino fare dello shopping molto particolare, grazie al famoso mercato Camden Lock!

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location nothing spectacular but everything it needs to be

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

small hostel, very small rooms, but friendly staff, free breakfast coffee and toast & free WiFi in one of the best areas in London. The prize is also okay for London.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

when I visit to London again, I don't go there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your comment, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. we starting major refurbishments in our hostel to ensure the remarkable hospitality, service and cleanliness we aimed are achieved. We sincerely apologize if you was disappointed . We hope to see you again in the future.

100%

I love this Hostel and whenever I come to London I stay here the diversity of people you meet are amazing! The rooms are cleaned every day and are quite comfortable ! The staff are exceptionally friendly and will do their best to help you in any way they can , can't wait to see you again inseptember x

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hostel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hostel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care and will see you at September.

80%

Io ho prenotato la camera doppia con bagno in comune e devo dire che mi sono trovata bene, la doccia e il lavandino erano in camera quindi di fatto in comune c'era solo il wc. Ambiente tranquillo.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I appreciate your positive feedback about our hostel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re travelling to London gain, don’t hesitate to call us. Thanks

74%

Hated the lack of showers and the ants all over the top floor room, however the kitchen area provided a good atmosphere and the location was extremely central.


49%

Super Lage, jedoch dreckig und sehr laut, aufgrund der dünnen Fenster. Mitarbeiter waren unhöflich. Betten waren extrem niedrig, sodass man nicht aufrecht sitzen kann. Das Licht im Badezimmer geht alle paar Sekunden von selbst aus. Beim Duschen besonders nervig!


83%

Die Räume waren sehr eng, sechs Betten in einem kleinen Zimmer war nicht so toll.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with room size. so, after in-depth study and long experience we believe that the number of beds in each room completely identical to the specification of health and safety requirements. as, our main priority is to be able to offer a accommodation at reasonable budget and comfortable we planning now for major upgrade to number of room

60%

La habitación de 6 camas es muy pequeña y la limpieza dudosa. Nuestro baño (para 6) parecía las Ramblas, venía gente de otras habitaciones. En mitad de la noche el recepcionista entró en nuestra habitación a preguntar si alguien había pedido un taxi y se quedó ahí plantado un rato, a pesar de que era evidente que no, estando los 6 en nuestras camas intentando dormir. No hay conexión wi-fi gratis. Lo bueno: la ubicación, el desayuno y el precio.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hostel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. For that we have 24/7 reception open we try to help guests those catching early flights. WiFi connection it’s free NOW .

34%

Unwelcoming and unprofessional staff. Rooms were small, prison-like and had a horrible smell. No room flexibility for groups ( we were separated into from one in our group and we were made to share with a middle-aged man who had been living there for a year). The shower for our room was awful. It was like a power hose of cold water and made us establish the prison-like feeling of he hostel. Overall did not feel safe in this hostel,felt incredibly uncomfortable.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It wasn't that bad but wouldn't stay there for more than a few days.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

The room was jam packed. Internet only worked in the common room/kitchen. had to pay for two key deposit when we only needed 1. Not enough outlets to charge phone. One shower for 14 people. During my stay someone slept and someone else's bed and she also got her makeup bag stolen. Room was hot and jammed. They had lockers in the rooms but i think you had to pay extra to use it. would not recommend to anyone. pay a bit more for a better place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Sorry about the experience you had with us. As this is London and our prices are cheap, every inch counts for us and its why our rooms may seem overcrowded. We are trying to change our internet provider and get Wi-Fi into our rooms, we have started to refurbish some of the rooms. Each of guest needs a key card, so nobody sneaks in and we know who's and guest and who's not. Again as our prices are cheap, we are forced to charge for locker usage. Best Regards

54%

The beds and showers need improvement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are working on refurbishing our rooms and showers. Best Regards

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback