Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart City Hostel by Safestay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Smart City Hostel by Safestay Located at 50 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
Smart City Hostel by Safestay
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 1NE 50 Blackfriars Street
86% 1352
55.9492719 -3.1859278
Smart City Hostel by Safestay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.1

I stayed at the Edinburgh Smart City Hostel for a 3 days and really enjoyed my experience. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortablel. But on the other hand,it was too loud. There was like 2 big groups staying in the same Hostel and nobody did something against the screaming all night long. I was in a room just above the Bar,as a result of that,I couldn't sleep for 2 Days. So when you search a place for partying,you are fine here. Maybe I didn't chose the right one for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.7

Quite loud being a bar downstairs (part of hostel) , they keep music loud until late in night. College students (University Nearby) keeps screaming until late. Very hot inside the room with 8 people in a room. No AC. Cannot open window because of noise. Bathroom had mold. Cannot beat the location. Staff is helpful. Find a other place if you like quite and well ventilated place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.9

Great price and atmoshpere, with lively bar and porch areas. Only complaint is bathrooms should be cleaned more frequently and more thouroughly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Sep 2016
8.9

Solid hostel. Friendly staff, particularly Ewen and Kayla behind the bar, good location, and hearty breakfast for £5

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Such a great atmosphere to the place. Rooms and lockers were both spacious! & Only a 5 min walk to the heart of the royal mile. Overall a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.1

Agreed when booking for a quieter located room but was given a room (not double glazed) just above outdoor bar / seating area. Had to row and offer to show emails to get moved.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Staffs are very friendly and nice. The room for 4 beds is small. I don't know if it is normal that not to do room service for dorm everyday because they didn't. The toilet ended up quite disgusting. Ask for higher floor if you want to get sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
5.7

The hostel is distinctly average but in central location which the prices reflect. My impression is that because of its central location, it makes it enough to fill the rooms, resulting in no effort being made to inject character or passion. It felt stale and generic. I was told my ticket did not include breakfast so paid 4.95. The next morning I went with another guest who was told it did cover breakfast, so I showed mine again and she confirmed it covered. For a solo traveller no atmosphere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

I stayed here with two friends in a 4-bed room. Space in the room was OK and en-suite bathroom was clean. Location is perfect and if you like to walk you can get to most of the must-see locations without using public transport. There is a bar/restaurant on the lower floor with a good vibe. The staff is nice and helpful. Keep in mind that Smart City lacks that "real hostel" feeling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel, clean and great atmosphere. Staff excellent espically the woman with the dread locks! Center of the city and the bar is cheap with great food!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.