Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart City Hostel by Safestay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Smart City Hostel by Safestay Located at 50 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
Smart City Hostel by Safestay
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 1NE 50 Blackfriars Street
86% 1331
55.9492719 -3.1859278
Smart City Hostel by Safestay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.1

Agreed when booking for a quieter located room but was given a room (not double glazed) just above outdoor bar / seating area. Had to row and offer to show emails to get moved.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Staffs are very friendly and nice. The room for 4 beds is small. I don't know if it is normal that not to do room service for dorm everyday because they didn't. The toilet ended up quite disgusting. Ask for higher floor if you want to get sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
5.7

The hostel is distinctly average but in central location which the prices reflect. My impression is that because of its central location, it makes it enough to fill the rooms, resulting in no effort being made to inject character or passion. It felt stale and generic. I was told my ticket did not include breakfast so paid 4.95. The next morning I went with another guest who was told it did cover breakfast, so I showed mine again and she confirmed it covered. For a solo traveller no atmosphere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

I stayed here with two friends in a 4-bed room. Space in the room was OK and en-suite bathroom was clean. Location is perfect and if you like to walk you can get to most of the must-see locations without using public transport. There is a bar/restaurant on the lower floor with a good vibe. The staff is nice and helpful. Keep in mind that Smart City lacks that "real hostel" feeling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel, clean and great atmosphere. Staff excellent espically the woman with the dread locks! Center of the city and the bar is cheap with great food!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.0

Modern hostel with big rooms. Location is unbeatable! A little pricy though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
6.6

Many things were lacking. The fastener on the locker cupboard in the room was broken, the toilet could only be flushed once every 20 minutes due to horrid water pressure, and the power outlets were stuck halfway up the wall, far from the bed. Good location though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, convenient pub/restaurant on site, clean, comfortable...couldn't ask for anything more except lockers in the room. Would def stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
8.9

I stayed only two days in there but the place is nice, comfortable and the location is AMAZING! I would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • picturecountry
  • Japan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.7

Everything was perfect! Good location, people at reception are very nice, the room was very clean. Each bed has outlets, lockers and lights. But only thing i didn't like was bath room. Shower and toilet are together, the floor should be separated. But I really enjoyed staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.