Hostelworld.com

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 5,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 5,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Located at 48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London.
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
England
London W2 3JA 48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater
73% 5283
51.5123081 -0.1862096
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
7.1

One of the cheapest place to stay in London. Not bad, but not expect too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

It is indeed a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for. Toilet and shower facilities are a bit decadent but they would do for a short stay. Nice and friendly staff, satisfactory breakfast, I'd recommend this hostel for a weekend in London with a group of friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.3

The location was perfect, right across the street was a tube station. The staff was helpful and kind and I totally enjoyed me one night stay...Extra credits to the breakfast! I totally recommend it for a short visit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
3.4

Worst hostel I've ever stayed it. The bed was not clean when I arrived and smelled awful. The staff was rude and unaccomedating and the facilities weren't clean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
5.1

Put it this way. If you enjoy being woken up by a crazy Russian man in your room yelling on the phone to a relative that could probably hear him in Russia then boy oh boy this is the place for you! Additional benefits include not being able to get into you bed because there are so many bags in the room as there are people living in for extended times. The showers have a terrible odour, and my locker was opened somehow by another patron. The positive was when we complained the staff refunded us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
4.9

The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. The kitchen staff and those who cleaned the hostel were awful! So unfriendly and all just seemed like they hated their jobs. Half the time when I would ask them anything I would just get no response. Our nearly 20 bed dorm shared one mirror, which was ALWAYS occupied- and two toilets. One day the toilet paper was out for half the day and wasn't changed until after multiple requests to the staff.We just tried not to be there most of the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Our housekeeping team continues to receive training on customer service and care, we are disappointed you did not enjoy the manner of our staff during your stay, as we rigorously monitor our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. If you book a room and it does not meet your expectation, please come to our reception desk (open 24/7) and we will be happy to upgrade your room. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

12th Apr 2016
7.1

It is normal good place nothing great I can say

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you very much for your time to leave us a review! We hope to see you really soon and make up for it!!! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2016
6.9

The dorm rooms and the kitchen were very cramped. They need bigger facilities. Otherwise the location is good next to Hyde Park.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! 5 years ago, we had no kitchen. After reading a lot of reviews, we have decided to make one with cooker, 2 microwave, 2 fridges and a lot of plates and cutlery. We used to close the kitchen, but now it’s open 24 hours. Hope to see you real soon!! Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
5.4

I must say- know what you're getting into before you go. I was traveling with two other girls and we've stayed in hostels before, but this was our worst experience thus far. It wasn't unlivable, but the bathrooms were pretty gross (a bunch of toilets were clogged and I found throw up in the sink), males and females shower and sleep in the same rooms, they closed breakfast earlier than expected and were not nice about it and you must pay for any and all of your valuables to be locked up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property so if there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. All our showers and toilets doors are lockable. We have 8 new showers to be open by June 2016 (4 for Men and 4 for Women). We also have 2 different types of dorms (mixed dorms and female dorms). You need to choose a suitable type of dorm, in case you make a mistake, then ask the receptionist to upgrade you to a suitable one. Breakfast time is 7:30 to 9:30, so please report it to the reception if you find the breakfast room closed before 09:30AM. Cheers and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
4.0

The hostel was not clean when we checked into our rooms. The hostel was very smelly and it seemed as if some of the other people hadn´t showered in days. It was one of the cheaper hostels but still expensive for what it´s worth. Should spend a little extra and stay somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry to hear that our rooms didn't meet your expectations :(. If you inform our reception staff about any cleaning problems, we have a housekeeping staff available in the evenings and they could clean it one more time for you. We hope to see you really soon. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.