Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 5763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 5763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
3.1

The room was way too small to fit 9 people. It seemed like a safety hazard to have 3 stacks of 3 bunk beds in a tiny room that should have really been for at most 4 people, not 9. The bathroom was also super tiny and didn't seem to get cleaned. This was a non-smoking room but someone in the room was smoking and when staff came in to check the bunks, they did not do or say anything about it. Left early and booked a hotel down the street instead of staying in this dirty place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
4.9

The room is very very small, can't be smaller. I think that people in prisons have bigger rooms. Beds are small also so if your height is more than 190 cm, you can't fit in bed normally. There are no lights near the beds, or places to charge your phone (only 2 places for 9 people). Bathroom also can't be smaller. Stuff is good and friendly, and location is good. All in all, I would not recomend this hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
4.9

Don't stay here. You can find better places in London. The staff were rude. I would constantly hear them talking about guests in a disrespectful manner. The showers are terrible, three days there no hot water, and the cleanliness is terrible! Your crammed into a tinny room with tons of bunks, I've stayed at many hostels and this was by far the worst. It's close to transportation and Hyde Park, but anywhere in London is easy to get to public transportation. Don't be fooled this place is a bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
7.4

This night, we took a 2 persons double room in the so called 'private area'. It is on the top of the building, there isn't any elevator, you have to carry the luggage yourself to the 4rd floor. 20 min walking from Paddington, the tube Bayswater in front is out of service, the substitute Queensway does not connect so well. Anyway good for Hyde Park Walkings. The only 'fruit' in the breakfast is a watered juice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
5.1

Really bad hostel, you have to pay for a locker, never seen this before, I own 2 hostels. I saw a lot of homeless staying there, they just walk in , pay and stay, staffs and manager have no idea about these, seems like they don't know what they are doing, breakfast is ok, staffs cant even speak English properly, there was just one staff ok. No one smile there, no Tv room, no place to hang out. I stayed on third floor, had to go 2 floors down for shower. Good Location. Group kids very loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
8.6

The staff was friendly. I got a locker (for £1.5 a night) and the lock was broken, but they immediately changed it for me without comment. Breakfast was basic but plenty. The rooms were clean. The only downside is that the beds (at least in my room) were on the smaller side. I'm 1.80m (about 6ft) and I literally *just* fit into the bed. Tall people may want to take that into account. Overall, a great stay. 10/10 would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vonvonbu4457
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
5.7

Some of the staff are not really very friendly. Doesn't even smile. Good value for money, very cheap, and provides the basics. Good location, very near the Bayswater Underground station. Rooms not well ventilated. They don't provide lockable lockers, you have to pay to use it. Unusual for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
6.9

The staff was terrific because they were super accommodating with my long-term luggage situation when I arrived/left. However, I didn't particularly care for the layout of the hostel itself. Bathrooms and showers were located on a completely different floor from my room, room had no free lockers, and the rooms were very cramped. I think there needs to be a luggage policy within the rooms because my roommates had so many over-sized suitcases in the room that I couldn't even move around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Jul 2017
5.1

The hostel was very hot at night, had no atmosphere or common area, the staff were unhelpful and didn't appear to know the hostel policies, and the rooms were extremely small with no natural lighting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2017
6.0

Incredibly hot and cramped in the room. No space between bunks to sort your stuff out. Women's showers were nice but all other facilities - toilets etc were unclean and locks on doors were broken. Breakfast was good. Overall, fine for one nights stay. Wouldn't stay any longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.