X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
5174 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good place to stay in London


91%

I like the music in the common rooms :D

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

it's all about perfect location, plus a free breakfast (tea, coffee, cereals, juices, toasts, butter, jam and nutella) and a free internet wifi access makes a really good value for money


66%

Building itself and many of the facilities seem a bit old and run down. The rooms are very cramped, very little space between the bottom bunk and the top bun. Not a lot of room to put bags. The ensuite bathroom was terrible. The water turns of every 30 seconds, the light goes off every minute . The shower and toilet are in the same room but there is no elevation between the two meaning the bathroom floor is constantly wet, hours after you shower,. This hostel is just okay.


57%

The kitchen is too small . Often there were no cups. People not cleaning up after themselvesthe room I was in was very small .shower did not work .after one initial spurt of water that was it .I tried other ones but that was the same .


77%

Except for Kristina, the staff is not that good. Location is just perfect, there are bus lines , metro stations, supermarkets and stores walking distance . The hostel is very clean and the room I stayed in has good space. Having to pay for the locker and towels was a bit annoying, though. I think they could improve the breakfast adding fruits and natural juice, but in avarage it was acceptable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback and we apologize if you weren't completely satisfied with our staff :(. Regarding the extra charges, we charge £1.50 per night for the use of a room locker and £5.00 for a towel, we do not include these prices in the bookings as some guests do not require their use (our new rooms have free lockers). Kind regards and a lovely day from Smart Hostels Team

86%

Really good location, very nice people at reception and good facilities.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn team

100%

Very good hostel!!!! Nice and helpful staff, good location!!!! Will stay again!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn hostel

63%

The room was too small. There was not enough place for the luggage. Therefore, it was hard to move inside the room. It was impossible to move or change clothes in the bathroom. I mostly used one of the bathrooms outside where the shower was not working very well. There over it was very warm in the room. I could not sleep very well in two nights because of the bad air. An effect was that approximately half of my roommates were coughing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! There is good space for the luggage if each guest has 1 big and 1 small luggage, but if the guest brings more than 2 luggage, then it will be tight. We have 40 different types of toilets and showers all over the hostel, our guests have the right to use any of them. Sorry that you had to cope with some maintenance issues, hope you have reported it to the front desk, the reception is open 24 hours to ensure that everybody can have a good night sleep! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

94%

Great location, very clean, recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you, we're glad you have enjoyed your stay with us! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

100%

Perfect location, free wifi, very kind staff (on arrival I received a very nice upgrade to a better room) and even housekeeping is always greeting You with a smile and ready to help You with any issue, thank You

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! :) See you soon, Smart Hostels Team

31%

If Hitler was still alive and looking for concentration camps in London i'm sure the Smart Hyde Park Inn would be his first choice. The only good things are the free breakfast and the location near the metro. I don't need to say i'm not going back again there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Can you please give us more details and don't hesitate to write us at hpi.manager@smartbackpackers.com? We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but we hope we can welcome you again in our hostels! Best regards and happy travels, Smart Hostels Team

100%

Perfect location, high speed FREE wifi and most important, staff of the hostel is very helpful, thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this amazing review! We hope to see you really soon!! Best regards, Smart Hyde Park Inn hostel

74%

Staff were a little rude and unhelpful on arrival, they seemed annoyed that I didn't immediately understand how the system works. Room was a little bit hot and stuffy but overall it was a good stay and I would recommend the hostel generally.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're sorry you have had a bad experience with our staff. Usually they are all a bunch of happy and friendly people, and we get very good feedback. Maybe you just caught them on the wrong foot. If you'd like to give us more details about what has happened please don't hesitate to write us to hpi.manager@smartbackpackers.com. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

83%

Nice lounge area, nice staff, the wifi doesnt work too well in the 20 beds room, nice free breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We already got our IT guys to take closer look on the WIFI stability and it works very fine now. Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Your showers do not work and the floors are completely filthy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property so if there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. We are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so letting us know about any concerns you have is appreciated. We hope to see you next time you're in London! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

91%

The staff was great and very helpful with re-arranging my booking. Thanks a lot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much! We're glad you have enjoyed your stay with us! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

83%

It was difficult at times to get moved in dorm. Because of cases and luggage laying around. I booked an extra night though.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! There is a good space for the luggage if each guest has 1 big and 1 small luggage, but if the guest brings more than 2 luggage then it will be tight. We are suggesting each guest to leave his/her luggage on the bed when they leave the room to have more space. We are happy with the extra night' booking, it proofs you have enjoyed your stay nevertheless the space :). Cheers and happy travels! Smart Hostels Team

43%

I have felt like put in a chicken factory.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Please give us more details and don't hesitate to write us to hpi.manager@smartbackpackers.com. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but we hope we can welcome you again! Cheers and happy travels! Smart Hostels Team

43%

I wouldn't stay here again. The room was so small and cramped for 12 people. No room for our luggage. Only 4 outlets for 12 people - wasted an hour in the common area just to charge my phone. Space was so limited throughout the entire hostel. Staff was ok- friendly and helpful. Not really close to any of the central areas. More expensive than most hostels I've stayed in and not even worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your time to leave a comment about your experience in our hostel, we are sorry the room did not match your expectations, I'm glad to tell you that our maintenance team is in process to upgrade the rooms and adding sockets to the beds. We’re sorry to hear you wasted time to charge your phone, every guest is always welcome to put their devices charging behind the desk for no cost. We would say our location is a strongest factor and we'll love to see again at HPI hostel!

(158 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback