X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
5166 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

Dirty and no age limit bad locks on doors filthy shower rooms. All communal every time min went to my room the door was open so anyone could walk in I woke up to what looked to be 40 year old crack head eyeing my stuff up in suitcase not good at all only card entry for safe under bed would be easy to say another number and get card re programmed and to pay 1.50 for it was a joke try getting padlocks .... If you ever need a hostel book with astor they are way way cleaner and more friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our rooms are serviced everyday however if you ever need additional cleaning services please let us know at reception We have a key card system to make sure no one gets in to the wrong room. Guests need to make sure the door is closed when they leave the room. No key card is issued without checking guest information. Some rooms benefit from free locker service, we are planning to extend this service to the rest. Cheers and happy travels!

100%

Had a great stay. Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much and hope to see you soon :)! Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team.

74%

Everything was good in Smart Hyde Inn except for the room temperature. I don't know what happen, but our nights were very uncomfortable. It was very hot to the extend that we can't even sleep. I try to touch the heater but the heater didn't feel that hot either. Please fix this problem so that your customers will feel comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Sorry that you had to cope with some maintenance issues, hope you have reported it to the front desk too :(. Cheers and happy travels, Smart Hyde Park inn Team

71%

2 GBP to leave 1 bag and collect it later, in an already expensive city, is a bit pricey good breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review! We are charging small fees for the luggage (cheaper than the stations' luggage storage - £6.50). We have a future plan to offer it free for regular customers. We hope to see you real soon!! Kind regards, Smart Hyde Park Inn

86%

This is the first hostel i have stayed in, i stayed in the 9 bed female dorm and the people were friendly but if i had chosen the mixed i think it would have been very uncomfortable, plus it was on suite so i could have showers in privacy, the shower was hot and the room was clean and generally it was very good, i can't have any complaints because it was very good value. their was not enough cutery or cups, only 1 microwave so had to wait ages to use, i enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We have increased the cutlery and the mugs up to 200. Some of our guests are throwing the cutlery rather than washing them. You are right about 1 microwave, but there a cooker too :). We hope to see you next time you're in London! Smart Hyde Park Inn team

86%

good choice to stay there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We hope to see you soon in our hostels! :) Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

57%

Please provide free towel and locker.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! For health and safety purposes, we don’t hire or give away towels, but we do sell them. Our new rooms have free locker, but you need to use your own padlock. We have a plan to extend the free lockers to all the rooms. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn

100%

Nice and comfortable place to stay!!!! Great location, friendly atmosphere, good value for money!!! Very clean!!! Staff are friendly and help full, free breakfast on the morning!!! Will stay again there!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn :)

54%

The 25 people room was terrible. Only 1 plug, 1 small sink, you don't have your own light, no ventilation system so we had to leave the Windows open during the night. Moreover you have to pay 2 pounds for day for having a medium size drawer, otherwise you will have to leave your luggage in the middle of the room...just think about 25 luggages in a room which is big enough for only 6/8 people and you will have an idea of how much space you will have for your own.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! The biggest room we have is 20 bed (not 25). We're working hard to ensure the numbers of sockets is matching the number of beds. 4 rooms have already benefit from built in sockets. All our rooms designed in natural ventilation way, the position of the beds and the window are the main factors. We charge £1.50 per night (not £2.00) for use of a locker, we do not include this price in the bookings as some guest do not require their use.We hope to see you soon in our hostel

94%

Very good hostel, great location, staff very helpful and very clean hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn

100%

Excellent atmosphere, friendly staff. Great location as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you next time you're in London! Smart Hyde Park Inn

69%

The rooms suck ,smell as .... And are definitely too croweded plus is not hard to find a mouse or a cockroach in the room or toilette The wifi never works and the amenities aren't enough The only good things are the location and the receptionists


100%

Really good place to stay!!! Good location, near Bayswater and hyde park!!! Good prices!!! Rooms and showers are clean, big and fully equiped kitchen!!! Nice, friendly and helpfull staff!!!! Good, free breakfast on the morning, good connection with city centre and west london!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn

91%

This was our first stay at a hostel ever, and it was a great experience! The staff were super friendly and helpful and it's in a perfect location! The only thing I wasn't a fan of was that the rooms had poor circulation. We were in a 12-bunk room, and the smell could be bothersome at times and it was consistently very warm in there. We are planning to come back to this hostel on our way back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I will be sure to pass your compliments along to my staff, especially Lada who checked you in. This room benefits from big balcony door (you may ask the staff to open it for extra air circulation). We will be happy to give you free upgrade as well, just please pop in to the reception. We hope to see you next time you're in London! Smart Hostels Team

100%

Very good place to stay in London, just minute walk from Hyde park!!! Very nice, friendly and help full staff, clean rooms and showers, good breakfast and kitchen!!! Very good connection to all most famous tourist sites, close to bayswater and queensway underground stations!!! Will stay there again!!!


86%

Very nice place, warm atmosphere, very friendly, and so close to central london

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you next time you're in London! Smart Hostels Team

97%

My stay was absolutely great. The only thing you guys could improve would be to install simple power extensions on the bedsides, on a way that every guest could charge their phones as they slept. Cheap, but great improvement. The best thing about the hostel was the staff: every single one of the staff members were eager to help, always smiling, and keeping the order! Definitely gonna stay there again on my next trip to london. Only downside is my own fault, I forgot my towel on the room :(

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Sockets in beds are coming soon to our hostel. We have a lost and found section where we keep them for 1 week, but if someone can come to collect it (we could keep it longer). Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn

60%

The rooms suck and lots of rooms have rats or have mice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I think your comment is harsh and it does not reflect the truth as you are still staying with us since September 2015. If you believe in what you have written; you are not going to stay with us more than a night. I wish you a smart stay for the rest of your bookings, HPI Team

63%

To crowded. To noise, I'll never come back to this one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! About the noise: we are patrolling the hostel inside/outside every day between (6 pm-6am) to ensure that everybody can have good nights sleep! If the noise is bothering you at any time, please let us know at the reception to take care of it. We may help you with changing the room, if you think your room is crowded. Cheers and happy travels from HPI Team

80%

The staff were extremely hospitable and finished all requests in such a timely fashion. The two of us on the trip stayed in a room of 15, with 13 strangers and checked in extremely late. I would recommend heckling in early in the day to see more available beds and to stay in a room with fewer people if your group is small simply because at night there would be so many people coming and going between 2 am and 6 am. The hostel was great in general and I highly recommend it.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I will be sure to pass your compliments along to my staff, especially Fahad who checked you in. You can check in at any time after 11am. If you arrive late, we could give you a torch and help to take you to the right bed for you. For future reference, we have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travelers, depending on their budget; in case you want to be in private room with your friends. Cheers and happy travels!

(160 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback