Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained


4870 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Bad internet. Small rooms and really small beds. Only a few plugs for the +20 people in the room. Good location. Only to stay 1 or 2 nights. Poor breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologies about all the issues you faced. Really soon we will have a better Wi-Fi service, as we will have a new provider. Also our new rooms, will contain beds that have built in sockets in the beds, we are in the process of implementing these in all our rooms. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team


Just an deal oratio. Excellent staff. Rooms lays cleaned daily. Leaders work loopy hard. Considering the number of rooms.. . They are brilliant .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you really soon! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team


Common areas tend to be a bit too crowded and not so cosy. Beds are a bit short, if you are tall (above 1.80) they might be a bit uncomfortable. 3 stacked beds in some of the rooms for 12 are not exactly appealing.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


This hostel was great to stay in! Being my first time in a hostel, I was pleasantly surprised to find it clean, accommodating to my wants and the staff is friendly. It's very close to Hyde Park/Kensington Park and literally a 30 second walk to the Bayswater underground to take you anywhere. Everything you need from groceries to cafes is also there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you really soon. We'll compliment our staff on their excellent customer service. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team


Descent hostel for London. Good location near Hype Park, very close to underground station. There is also a street full of fast food nearby. The hostel is ok clean. Beds are very small, but have curtains so you'll have privacy. Showers are ok but you can't change the water temperature which is insanely hot. No free lockers! You have to pay extra for that... Wifi is barely usable. The best is to pay extra to use the computers in the common area where internet really works.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review and we take pride in providing affordable accommodation at excellent locations. Our beds were made for the average height, we apologies they were small for you. Thank you for pointing out that the showers are too hot, we'll send someone to fix them right away. Also we are in the process of changing our WIFI provider. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team


Very pleasant stay, great staff, thanks a lot


What can I say. I cannot fault the staff. The cleaner's are a credit to themselves. Some guest's need to learn manners.. Dont walk around in your bathrobe when there are young girls at breakfast.. How rude and unsightly.. Apart from that. Can't fault it


Only one mirror and toilet very cramped. Only one fan on one side of room; was VERY hot and humid in summer and did not sleep well. Otherwise, was clean and shower was good. Staff very hospitable. Location was excellent.


Thank you guys for the wonderful time!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The hostel was in a great area and it looked really good from the outside. But the rooms were a bit too small for such a quantity of persons...Still it was a good choice and I think for the price it was a nice hostel!


Love it here..always made welcome elodie makes me laugh..very helpful even when I check out late and check in early... recommend to all.


Had a great time staying at this hostel which gives you great value for what you pay for!


Probably the best cheap hostel you can get in London! Would visit again!


The bathrooms were really tiny and they only had hot water. Think about that when it is summer! The room door has a mechanism that makes a lot of noise. I had a terrible night due to that. Do not stay there if you want some place comfortable.


Well located Youth Hostel. The staff is friendly and the hostel is well kept (clean). The only negative is the heat in the room during the night (no windows).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I will be sure to pass your compliments along to my staff, especially Abdullah who checked you in. There is a window in each room and we have added recently fans as well. Hope to see you real soon!! Lots of love, Smart Hyde Park Inn


A great choice. Well staffed well maintained. Always clean. Highly recommend it.


The staff customer service was poor, not helpful in any way.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are disappointed you did not enjoy the manner of our staff. We rigorously review our performance to improve our standards of service. Hope to see you real soon!! Lots of love, Smart Hyde Park Inn


If you like Hyde Park in London , that is perfect for you for it is only one minute walk away.


The room we were booked into was extremely hot and it was almost impossible to sleep... Especially with the loud roommates we were assigned.


The room was extremely messy and hot!

(219 results)

View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback