X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
5159 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very good place to stay!!!! Good location, nice and professional staff, clean rooms and showers!!!! Very safe, friendly atmosphere!!!! Highly recommend!!!


51%

Even considering the cheap price, the 20 bed dorm was simply disgusting. It's really a den with no window, no ventilation, no wifi let alone regular phone service. Worst hostel experience by far.


49%

I spent 2 nights at this hostel. It is well located and cheap, however I stayed in the 20 beds room and it was terrible. 3 stories bed and people yelling all night, shaking the beds by climbing on and off them. The toilets/showers are not super clean, the water stopped running while I was in the middle if a shower. The room are hot and wet. The hostel provides earplugs which were very appreciated. But the people working at the reception were alright and smiling.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our aim is to ensure that everybody can have a good night sleep, please let us know at the reception and we will sort out any problem (noise, smell, etc). Sorry that you had to cope with shaking bed issue, hope you have reported it to the front desk. Our rooms, toilets and showers are serviced everyday however if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let us know and we'll help you.Best regards, Hide Park Inn hostel Team

54%

Very old furnitures and decoration of inside and the design is of rooms were stupid and really small, totally just because for a cheap price and good location

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Just finished the renovation of our reception; next are the common area and 4 rooms. Please report the reception for any cleaning problem and we will be happy to send the house keeping :). Give us another visit and you will see the difference. Have a safe trip, Smart Hostels team

80%

Really nice - perfect location. Although the beds are quite small!!

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was really good and value for money. We stayed 2 nights there, please keep some extra change to rent lockers as they aren't provided for free. The only thing that was poorly managed was the numbering on beds, I was told by the staff to put my luggage on any empty bed, so I did. I checked in at 11 in the morning and made the bed and everything and put my luggage there and went out. When I came back, they shifted my stuff to another bed without any prior notice. that was a confusion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Our new rooms come with free locker, but you need to bring your own padlock. We charge £1.50 per night for use of a locker and we're planning to extend the free lockers to other rooms. The idea of leaving your luggage on your bed when you leave the room is making sure the housekeeping is cleaning the rooms very well. Also, if you put your bed tag in the plastic sleeve visible in your bed, we won’t touch your things. Thank you and best regards, Smart Hostels Team!

54%

This hostel is very well located, but it's not worth the price paid. First, they make a mess with reservations and my advice would be to not let people check in before 11 and to pre-select the beds. This is not my favorite, but in their case the staff doesn't communicate a lot and the place is very big, so it's hard to be organized. Also, lockers are paid and there are three plugs in each room (20 and 16 people for 3?). It's not the worst place, but it's easy to improve it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review! There is no mess at all, you have been allocated to the same room type that you have booked. Check-in time is after 11am. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care and we are disappointed you didn't enjoy the manner of our staff.We charge £1.50 per night for use of a locker; we don't include this price in the bookings as some guests don't require their use. We're currently in the process of having individual power sockets

83%

It offers basic hostel atmosphere. Price is quite fair for the location. Staff are great and cooperative.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much for your review! We loved having you stay with us :) Best regards, Smart Hostels Team.

49%

The worst! If I hadn't arrived at 2am I would have left. Climbing up 3 high bunks & trying to make it in the dark (no individual lights) was bad enough, then I unfolded the sheets to find a huge (dead) bedbug! Sure enough woke up with a couple of bites.. The room was cluttered with everyone's bags (lockers cost extra) so I had to leave mine on the other side of the rm. hardly any powerpoints. Shower dirty, cold & bad flow. Wasn't told about breakfast at checkin so missed out on that too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We have different types of dorms available to suit different types of travelers,depending on their budget. We are giving a fresh bed linen at the point of check in.Our rooms are serviced everyday however if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let our reception staff know and we'll be there to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. Sorry that you had to cope with some maintenance issues, hope you have reported it to the front desk. Thank you, Smart Hostel team!

43%

This hostel is horrible! The staff is rude and the rooms are cramped and hot (the beds are stacked three high with no air flow whatsoever). The rooms for breakfast are tiny for how many people need to fit in there. When there was nowhere to sit, I STOOD to eat my breakfast and then was scolded by housekeeping to find a seat when there clearly wasn't any. This is the most awful hostel I have ever stayed in.

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are disappointed you didn't enjoy the manner of our staff. We rigorously review our performance to improve our standards of service. We offer different sized dormitories for a low price in Central London and as every inch counts, some rooms might be overcrowded but it is not the case for all of them. We have a plan to extend the breakfast area too. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

94%

I was very impressed with my stay at this hostel. Especially for a central London hostel, it was very good value for money, staff are very helpful and friendly (especially at the check-in desk) , there is a variety of breakfast to have in the morning (with juice) and the location is ideal and great. As an improvement, I recommend that hand-dryers are installed in the toilets and have a newer TV in the TV room. (Also keep more original, period features in the whole house to add more character.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the awesome review and your suggestion! We loved having you in our hostel :) Best regards, Smart Hostel Team

94%

If the beds could be a little more longer+wider, put more sockets in the rooms as just 2 in a 20 dorm room is not fairly enough. And the internet sucked, if they could put some more amplifiers and buy a higher rate internet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Sorry to hear that you have issue with the size of the bed, but we are using (the standard UK sizes for beds 80 cm x 190 cm) our new rooms all the beds come with built in socket. We have a plan to extend it to all the rooms. We already got our IT guys to take closer look on the WIFI stability and it works very fine now. Best regards and happy travels from the Smart Hostels Team :)

69%

Great location for West End shopping and sight-seeing. Loved jogging in Hyde Park. Decent breakfast, not too many facilities e.g. games room, small kitchen. The rooms are too small, some guests are smelly. Loved the curtains, which offers privacy... Internet works best early in the morning or later at night. Some unfriendly male staff on night shifts, need training in hospitality. Otherwise, good value for money!

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We take note of your comments and we hope to see you again. Smart Hostels Team

80%

Nice hostel right by Hyde Park, so sentral and good transportation conncetions. The staff is nice and breakfast is included. The wifi isn't too great and the dorms doesn't have that much space (no space to put your stuff, so you basically have to have them in your bed). If you want lockers that cost extra (1,50 pound per night).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made :). Cheers and happy travels! Smart Hostels Team

80%

Breakfast could have been better by adding few extra pounds to the charges.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We have taken on board the comments. We always are looking for ways to improve our continental breakfast :) Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

57%

The showers are definitely unacceptable. You must press the button every 10 seconds to get water and its not even hot. And on Facilities they don't mention the lockers in the rooms are not for free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Natalia! We are going to look at the timer in the showers, but we have some new showers with no timer at all. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Smart Hyde Park Inn

77%

Breakfast is good lots of cereals. Plenty of showers and toilets. Could do with a better lounge with comfy seats!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nick, thank you for your suggestion! We have just changed our lounge with brand new seats, we hope you'll enjoy the new benefits on your next visit :) Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

63%

Good: 2 minutes walk to tube stations (Bayswater and Queensway), 5 bus routes and Hyde Park. Clean showers/toilets, seem to be new as they don't show signs of decaying. Beds have curtains. Bad: Room 80, 16 beds mixed, small window, is crowded (people+luggage). No bed lamps. Extra money for everything except breakfast and linen. £10 cash deposit for linen and room key. Can't fit a trolley of 55x35x25cm inside a locker yet it was close. Odd room access through the showers/toilets corridor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We hope you had a good stay with our hostel and you'll be back soon to enjoy our new changes and benefits :) The £10 security deposit is fully refundable if there has been no damages during the stay. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team.

71%

Toilet was clean wow! Only complaint I have was the stairs, you'd die of heart attack if you weren't healthy enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the review! We hope to see you next time you're in London! Smart Hyde Park Inn Team

80%

Pretty nice hotel for London. Really good location, near Hyde park and Bayswater station. Room are fine a bit tiny but well organised and you've got curtains around the bed for privacy, which is a plus. Really busy hostel thought which can make there a bit noisy,but they've got earplug for free, then it's an hostel, you must expect noise in a hostel! Facilities are not the best, shower are a bit tiny but I've seen way worse,they are cleaned often during the day which is a really good thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. We will have some changes in our hostel, so next time you'll be back you'll try our new benefits and rooms and feel like home! :) Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

(164 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback