X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
5160 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was the best one I stayed at in London. The rooms are clean andand it's possible to book a locker to store belongings safely. Even though there are triple bed bunks they aren't shaky and the bottom one is at a good height (not like other hostels 5cm off the ground). Communal areas are all very clean. washing machine and dryer are compared to other hostels and laundrettes cheap. The staff is very helpful! Always smiling and kind, never seen staff grumpy. Loveliest staff I met here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park Inn

49%

Paid way too much for what we received. Room felt like a dungeon. Wifi never worked.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for review. We try our best to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travelers at very good location in London. You can always contact our Reception team regarding any problems you might have and they will try to help you. Slow internet only occurs when several guests are downloading incredibly large files such as high resolution images or movies at the same time. It's very tricky to go around this regardless of how many gadgets we install. Have a lovely day, Hyde Park Inn

46%

- 12 beds dorm is located inside (or behind) the bathroom! it's wet and smells bad. - nothing except breakfast and linen is not included in the price, you have to pay for a towel, for lockers etc. - deposit of 10 pounds paid only in cash which was not mentioned on the website.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! As our prices as so cheap considering our amazing locations, we have no choice but to charge for such things :(. The prices we offer don't include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers don't need to use them therefore they don't end up paying for things they don't need. However, if you have any issues report it to receptionists and will be dealt with promptly. The security deposit is fully refundable if there has been no damages during their stay (that's why we ask for cash).

80%

We enjoyed our stay the room was basic but did the job, my only complaint would be the noise from other guests.

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

a nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! :) Come back any time. We hope to see you soon! Regards, Hyde Park Inn team

71%

Seems like all lockers were occupied when j came in, maybe the hostel should assign a locker number for each. And it would be lovely to have individual socket and lamp next to bed . Also the bathroom light senser was very insensitive, keeps turning off every 30s during shower! But everything else was good

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback, it’s important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We are currently in the process of having individual power sockets for each bed plus other benefits! They should be ready for your next visit! :) Come back any time. We hope to see you soon! Smart Hostel Team

80%

I stayed at this hostel for 7 days. Overall, I would say it was great value for the location. I agree with some of the pervious reviews on how the bathrooms are very small, but I'm a 5'2 girl, so I didn't find it as a big problem. For the 7 days, I was in a shared room with 20 people. I did find it noisy at times, especially when people were entering and leaving the room. The doors were super heavy so when it closed, it slammed very loudly. They can also work on the smell of the room.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for you review, very helpful and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. Best regards and happy travels, Smart Hostels Team

83%

It was an amazing place to stay, especially because of its location. However, bring a multiple adaptor for plugs: there just arent enough. They should invest in that a bit more. Staying in a room with 15 people and sharing 2 plugs can be stressful.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! :) In our new rooms all the beds come with built in socket. We have a plan to extend it to all the rooms. Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. Hope to see you back sometime soon! Regards from Smart Hostels Team

69%

there are 4 beds in the room I booked and two plugs to charge phones.. TWO plugs!! Are you out of your mind .. It's 2015

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are currently in the process of having individual power sockets for each bed! They should be ready for your next visit! Regards, Smart Hostels Team

43%

Horrible staff members - in particularly two eastern European staff members: Tania and Lena. Some of the rudest people i have ever encountered, do they not realise the business actually requires customers to remain viable? Very hard to communicate with in English also which is ironic with London being the capital of ENGLAND Would not recommend solely due to the very low quality staff.


100%

I've been using this hostel for several months now and I have to admit I am impress by how professional yet very friendly the staff is at all levels. From reception to kitchen to cleaning staff. The place is kept spotless and its cleaned throughout the clock (even late at night) Location wise is so central and it makes it easy to get anywhere in central London In comparison to the other hostels nearby, this one is far better in all possible ways and I highly recommend them

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Orlando and thank you very much for your much appreciated review! We hope to see you very soon, you are welcome anytime :) Smart Hostels Team

60%

Good location just around the corner of Bayswater Underground. Friendly Staff. Generous complimentary breakfast. Spacious and good self-catering kitchen and dinning room. However, should have more basic appliances e.g. microwave, kettle etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review and suggestions :). Have a lovely day from Smart Hostels Team!

49%

We chose this hostel for the price - London is expensive and compared to other hostels is was reasonable. The location was amazing 1min walk to Bayswater underground but that's where the good things end. At check in the women were rude and so slow. The rooms were really small we stayed in a 9 bed dorm which had three storey bunk beds and no storage space - you could hire a locker but they we're so small you couldn't fit your bag in them. Only 4 power outlets for 9 people. Breakfast average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review! We're sorry you had a bad experience with our staff. Usually they're all a bunch of happy and friendly people, We also have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travelers and their budget. Sockets in beds are coming soon to our hostel. But, there are plenty of sockets in common areas and at the reception too. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Smart Hostels Team

37%

Could not wait to leave this place! Rooms were tiny and only had space for one person per bunk to put their belongings. The room I had was at the back of the building and only had one window on one side of the room the size of an A3 sheet of paper for a room full of 16 people! Room was very stuffy and smealt damp and moldy as was located eighth next door to toilets/showers which had no windows at all causing it to be very stuffy and the rooms were tiny so when showering everything for wet.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I am sorry that you found our hostel and our rooms unsatisfactory :(. We've taken on board your comments. For future reference, we have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travelers and their budget. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

31%

Worst night I've ever had in a hostel and booked out early

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Hello, first of all, the worst thing about this hostel is clearly the staff. The guy working on saturday 10/10 around 17h was so unfriendly and even rude. He was very mean when people ask questions and was always rolling his eyes. Honestly, if I was the owner of a place like this, i would definitely kick him out cuz first impression matter in this business. There is no bar and absolutely no activities organized by the hostel. They say they do a pubcrawl, but in fact its the town pubcrawl.

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vincent and thank you very much for your review! We will take in consideration your complaints and forward it to the hostel, we're sorry you had a bad experience with our staff and hostel :(. We're doing already some improvements, so hopefully next time you'll enjoy our hostel much more. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

29%

Customer service was very very poor. Cleanliness was appauling, the whole place needs a deep clean.....

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Our rooms and hostel are serviced everyday however if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let our reception staff know and we'll be there in a flash to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. We hope to see you next time you're in London to enjoy our new improvements, Smart Hostels Team

57%

f you want something cheap, to sleep at night, with the possibility to cook on your own and spend as much time outdoors as possible, this place is for you. If you want something decent and clean, with some privacy and better free breakfast... maybe not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Marta, thank you for your review! Suggestions noted :) We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

66%

Good location, was just surprised that you cannot rent towels, you have to buy one! Also found it strange that they didn't provide a blanket cover and provided two sheets instead. Also there is the common issue of not having enough power sockets for people in the room. Also, there is no locker space to lock up valuables, you have to pay extra for this too!! However it is in a good location, staff were friendly and having curtains on the beds was useful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank for the review! :) We do charge £1.50 per night for use of a locker and £5.00 for towel, we do not include these prices in the bookings as some guest does not require their use. Also, we are planning to extend the free lockers to other rooms. There are plenty of sockets in common areas and at the reception as well. But in our new rooms, all the beds come with built in socket. We have a plan to extend it to all the rooms :). Best regards and happy travels! Smart Hostels

94%

Another atmospheric experience. Excellent.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you James for the excellent review! Cheers and happy travels, Smart Hostels Team :)

(163 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback