X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
4183 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Thr staff was very rude when we arrived. The first impression was bad. We were talking with the receptionist and cheking in. Then suddenly the receptionist had to serve others and fold sheets (not ours) and Said in a rude way: " I Said 2 sec." In the middel if the chek in. Not good service.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry you didn't have a positive experience with our staff. Our Team are all highly trained and are there purely for the comfort and security of our guests and to minimise noise and potential disturbance to guests and local residents. We will pass your comments onto our hostel manager to address in the training of our staff! We hope we will see you again!

66%

I stayed there 1 night in 4 mix room, these are many things I got: 1. On website they said wifi free, but in fact, it is only free at reception area, i have to pay 1 GPB/24hours for wifi in room. 2. The rope to keep curtain of the bed is not good, it should be replaced by new one. 3. The shower should be re-designed. It was fixed so it is very difficult if i want to clean my leg or foot. It should be shower head with flexible hose.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. The internet is free in communal areas (kitchen, dining area, TV room and reception). However if you would like high speed internet in your room, it will cost £1 for 24 hours. We are currently upgrading our ensuite facilities, soon all rooms will come with a temperature and pressure controlled removable shower head! We are so excited to see the positive changes this will make to yours and fellow guests experience.

83%

Staff is nice and polite. Facilities are basic but clean. Location is great and the hostel is very easy to find. A tube station is a two minute walk away.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed the polite and friendly manner of our staff. Our wonderful cleaning staff work hard to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic for our valued guests. We are please to hear you found our hostel with ease, we are situated in an central location with awesome transport links including 2 tube stations and 24 hour busses within minutes walk. We hope to see you again!

29%

Serious lack of facilities - what is advertised is either not up to standard or there is an unstated cost to it, i.e. towels are £5 no returns, wifi and lockers also at a cost. Hostel smelt bad, was unclean and the "kitchen" was barely a kitchen. The "continental breakfast" is a joke. White bread and cornflakes is not continental, especially when the jam and butter bowls have become mixed. The main let down was that staff were incredibly rude and incompetent. & my friends phone was stolen,

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Have been staying here for the past 10 years, what more can I say?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for sticking with Smart Backpackers over the last 10 years! We hope to see much more of you in the future as well!

63%

Very large hostel and not the most social place. Rooms are tiny and you have six people crammed in by triple-decker bunks. Clean and good location, but every other aspect is below average. The Gallery hostel is right across the street and is infinitely better (and cheaper).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We are glad you found our hostel clean and well located! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay.

89%

Nice place, not fancy but it's very clean and the location is perfect. We had a nice stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpackers experience after your recent stay. Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

66%

Location - good (close to 2 tubr station on different lines). Free Wi-Fi. Not big rooms. There is NO equipped kitchen. There was NO any plates or spoon :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! Our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We have an equipped kitchen on our lower floor with all your cooking and eating utensils! We are glad you enjoyed the free wifi and we hope to see you again!

54%

there was no wifi available in the rooms, you have to pay an extra fee for that. on the upper bathrooms the water pressure was so low that halfway through a shower there was no more water. inside the rooms there is only a sink and the beds, not even a single chair was available or hooks to hang wet towels. on the plus side, breakfast was provided and the location was really convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! The internet is free in communal areas (kitchen, dining area, TV room and reception). However if you would like high speed internet in your room, it will cost £1 for 24 hours. We are glad you enjoyed the location and free breakfast provided in our hostel! Our reception is open 24 hours; any problems including water pressure should be immediately reported so we can rectify the problem ASAP! We hope you spoke to our friendly team upon finding the lack of water! We hope to see you again!

94%

The location and staff are excellent. The breakfast is good and bedrooms were clean and shower was hot and with reasonably good pressure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are really happy that you enjoyed manner of our staff as well as our excellent location in Central London! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We are pleased you enjoyed this complementary service. You are welcome back anytime and we do hope to see you again!

74%

The receptionists are very helpful, as they let leave my stuff in the room even though it wasn't the time for check-in. Mine was a ensuite room, i shared with 8 other girls, they were all very nice, but we just get on with our journey, so we didn't talked to one another a lot. The bathroom in the room is tiny, and the floor is consistently wet, as they weren't a define area for the shower, just a curtain and the light turns off every 10 seconds. Overall, the cost is low, you can't ask for more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are really happy that you enjoyed manner of our staff and we hope to see you again. Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We are glad you found your stay value for money and we hope to see you again!

54%

The hostel was worse than expected. Me and my friends had a bad surprise when we got there. The rooms were very stuffy and the bathroom conditions weren't appropriate. We were disappointed due to the price we payed. I'll give a thumbs up to the cleanliness because my sheets were impecable, but the only good thing about this hostel is its location.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you appreciated the cleanliness of our hostel! Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for staying with us!

77%

Only problem in relation to price paid for twin room with en suite was no towels, no rent or deposit option but have to buy for £5 each.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We do sell our towels for £5 each, this is outlined in the terms and conditions when you make your booking. We hope despite this, you enjoyed your stay in our centrally located hostel and hope to see you again!

77%

It's excellent that the hostel is located near to the Hyde Park (very good public transport!). The room was very-very little (but clean), and there was no table, nor chairs or cupboard, just a bed. And the breakfast was awful!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place in a heart of London. Cleanlines is amazing, you always stumble on somebody cleaning..


66%

We liked the fact that it had curtains on the bed so we could have a bit of privacy in a room of 16 and the location is excellent, but the girl at the reception was rude, the locks in the showers didn't work, the window in the toilet didn't have any cover (e.g. curtain) and we could be seen from another room where resided some creepy italian Peeping Toms, so we had to stop using it and were forced to use the toilet upstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us! We are glad you felt comfortable and private in our beds and were impressed with the location! We will pass your comments onto our hostel manager to look into further. Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems, including the locks for the showers and the window in the toilet, can be resolved ASAP! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we hope to see you again.

97%

Good location and staff great, helpful.. Free wifi Thanks for your hospitality.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and we also pride ourselves in our central and convenient locations. You are welcome back any time!

54%

The showers are not that hot, I took a cood shower almost averyday that I stayed there. The bedroom os kind of a mess. The bathroons are not clean enough and the staff they act like they dont care.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! Our reception is open 24 hours so if any problems arise (including the water temperature) we are able to resolve them as soon as possible! Our rooms are cleaned daily by our hardworking cleaning staff; however a room is only as clean as the guests you share it with. We will pass on your comments about the staff to our hostel manager to look into further. We hope to see you again

94%

Thanks Carla!! Your service was great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying withus at Smart Backpackers! We are glad you thought our staff has great service and we hope to see you again!

83%

Good place and the location were close to the underground station. Perfect for short period traveller tht search for comfy stay at a cheap price.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were satisfied with the price and comfort of our hostel! As you mentioned, we are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Bayswater (district & circle line) and the other Queensway (central line). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We hope to see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback