X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
4117 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Staff were friendly, close to station, 10 min train ride to central London!

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I was very happy with my stay at the hostel. The location is excellent and very easy to find The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful from the initial check in, throughout my stay and check out The hostel has many multi bed dorms thus there are alot of people coming and going but once in your room, only the people there are your disturbance and if you are lucky, like I was, you have a good considerategroup to share with. There is a simple breakfast included which starts your day.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Really cheap, but you get what you pay for. Definitely not up to fire code and quite dingy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We hope to see you again!

66%

no wifi in the room. very small common area. room is super small, so u better not have a big bag. bed is ok and clean and has a curtain. atmosphere was unfriendly... anyway location is great, next to tube and buses, shops etc. it´s a cheap place. over all it´s ok for 1 or 2 nights....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback! We have free Wi-Fi available for our guests in our common areas. We have invested alot of money into ensuring our rooms, while small, are fresh, clean, budget friendly and comfortable. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hostel; we pride ourselves on our convenient and central locations. We will continue our endeavour to provide clean, comfortable, budget-friendly accommodation in central London.

46%

Dirty and very cramped

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Next time we recommend choosing a dormitory with fewer beds and you might find your experience a bit different! We hope to see you again.

80%

This is a simple hostel like hostels are most, but it is situated in a perfect place, close to two tube stations, Hyde Park and many shopping facilities nearby, as well as pubs and restaurants. The hostel is clean and well organized, however has a problem with smells from the sewers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. As you mentioned, we are situated very close to two major tube stations; Bayswater (district & circle line) and Queensway (central line). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel clean. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00, cleaning shared bathroom facilities hourly. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers.

51%

The room was very cramped and hot. The ventilation was very poor so the room was very humid with so many people in such a small space. The staff were not very friendly. On the plus side, there was a sink in the room and curtains on the beds that gave you full privacy to change clothes, sleep etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the privacy curtains, these are found in all of our hostels! We hope to see you again at SmartBackpackers!

71%

Mostly rude, moody and not helpful staff. Other than that the rooms are small but good enough for a weekend trip. EXCELLENT location, stores, restaurants, bars and metro/bus stations very close by.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure to pass your comments onto our hostel manager! We are situated very close to two major tube stations; Bayswater and Queensway. We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers

29%

Staffs don't have service mind. They did bad manners to customer and cannot controll their emotion. It's unpolite. The hotel is also noisy sound at night and then i cannot sleep well. I don't want to recommend to stay here and i will tell all of my friend ' shouldn't stay here'.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will make sure to pass your comments onto our hostel manager! Our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for those catching early flights. This means though you may have people moving around the Hostel at late hours.

97%

I stayed here for one night due to work committments. I slept well, it was cheap and it is in the perfect location! There are many amenities close by also. I will definitely be back again one day! Thanks!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We hope to see you again in the future!

66%

The internet didn´t work well. It was impossible to use skype and it was very hard to do a simple surfing. The nine-beds room is very small, with not enough space between the beds

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer free wifi in our common areas for our guest, we also have computers which guests may use for £1/hr. However we are constantly looking at ways in improve our hostels so we will talk to our IT company about your wifi issue!

31%

Terrible unfriendly staff and house completely full. Disgusting atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers and thanks for your feedback! Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass your feedback onto the Hostel Manager. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

37%

I discovered a huge cockroach wondering around my vanity case. I spoke with another guest and he said, it was happening on a daily basis. When I reported it in the morning on check out I was refused a refund and was given a form to fill up instead. Not once I heard an apology. I still not have heard back from them. Room was with no space for bags not to mention to pass another people. Water in shower was tepid, when I complained I was told I was the only one to complain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We invest substantial amounts of money in pest control. Sometimes cockroaches can be carried into the hostel. They don't last very long thanks to our prevention and eradication methods. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

57%

Booked a 9 bed dorm about the size of a standard 12 bed dorm but cut in half, which they somehow squeezed 3 triple bunk beds in. Couldn't open the door due to 8 other peoples bags thrown over the floor, once inside you can't move. Had a toilet that would be lucky to be 1 metre squared, and a shower down the hall just wide enough to fit my shoulders in. Wifi in the room costs, free Wifi in the lobby doesn't work. Checked in about 6pm, checked out about 8pm the same night it impressed me that much

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We are sorry about the issues with the room size, we have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

91%

I spend an wonderful time, ful of energy and joy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

77%

Great location, decent enough breakfast, good amount of common room space, smoking out the front only which made socialising and drinking hard especially as the night staff thought he was big and tough and kept threatening to kick us out. Rooms are tight and cramped and no wifi in them. Bunks are 3 high and the showers are push button ones and not overly clean. A great place to meet some awesome people. Memories were made.


37%

It is not smart hostel but chicken hostel... it is not the quality it is the impertinence from the owner to offer 16beds in a room in a cellar with a chicken big window looking to a dirty concrete whole... you are basically close to suffocating and in case of emergency no one will come there out alive... WCs are difficult to fit in and close the door behind you, showers are a small hole on the celling... feels like a giant ants hip...and they are cheeky to ask you for extra fee to store luggage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight). When you compare this to the price you would pay at train stations/airports (which start at £6/bag for 3 hrs), we believe this is an affordable option for our Smart Backpackers!

54%

Disgusting. Do yourself a favour and walk to the hostel around the corner--for about the same price, the Royal Bayswater has larger rooms and bathrooms and feels less dank overall. Hyde Park would have been just mediocre enough to justify the low price, but my breaking point came with the dark, hot, windowless rooms stuffing twenty people together and breathing the same stale air all night long. One of the staff members (manager?) has a very strange and cynical approach to dealing with patrons.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care, we will pass your comments on to the Hostel to look into.

86%

It's so cheap to be so central in London, you wait for something bad. Actually, it's a pretty great hostel. The rooms aren't so big, but the beds are comfy. It's quiet, u have all the facilities u need: hot showers, small kitchen, free wifi in the common areas. The staff is helpful and u have everything u need in the neighborhood: supermarket, restaurants, .. And Hyde Park!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We are really happy that you enjoy the area and manner of our staff and hope to see you again!

80%

The rooms are small and full with people - it's getting very warm and stuffy. But it's clean, secure and the value for money is good.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(159 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback