X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
4180 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Thr staff was very rude when we arrived. The first impression was bad. We were talking with the receptionist and cheking in. Then suddenly the receptionist had to serve others and fold sheets (not ours) and Said in a rude way: " I Said 2 sec." In the middel if the chek in. Not good service.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff is nice and polite. Facilities are basic but clean. Location is great and the hostel is very easy to find. A tube station is a two minute walk away.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed the polite and friendly manner of our staff. Our wonderful cleaning staff work hard to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic for our valued guests. We are please to hear you found our hostel with ease, we are situated in an central location with awesome transport links including 2 tube stations and 24 hour busses within minutes walk. We hope to see you again!

29%

Serious lack of facilities - what is advertised is either not up to standard or there is an unstated cost to it, i.e. towels are £5 no returns, wifi and lockers also at a cost. Hostel smelt bad, was unclean and the "kitchen" was barely a kitchen. The "continental breakfast" is a joke. White bread and cornflakes is not continental, especially when the jam and butter bowls have become mixed. The main let down was that staff were incredibly rude and incompetent. & my friends phone was stolen,

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Have been staying here for the past 10 years, what more can I say?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for sticking with Smart Backpackers over the last 10 years! We hope to see much more of you in the future as well!

63%

Very large hostel and not the most social place. Rooms are tiny and you have six people crammed in by triple-decker bunks. Clean and good location, but every other aspect is below average. The Gallery hostel is right across the street and is infinitely better (and cheaper).


89%

Nice place, not fancy but it's very clean and the location is perfect. We had a nice stay.


66%

Location - good (close to 2 tubr station on different lines). Free Wi-Fi. Not big rooms. There is NO equipped kitchen. There was NO any plates or spoon :(


54%

there was no wifi available in the rooms, you have to pay an extra fee for that. on the upper bathrooms the water pressure was so low that halfway through a shower there was no more water. inside the rooms there is only a sink and the beds, not even a single chair was available or hooks to hang wet towels. on the plus side, breakfast was provided and the location was really convenient.


94%

The location and staff are excellent. The breakfast is good and bedrooms were clean and shower was hot and with reasonably good pressure.


74%

The receptionists are very helpful, as they let leave my stuff in the room even though it wasn't the time for check-in. Mine was a ensuite room, i shared with 8 other girls, they were all very nice, but we just get on with our journey, so we didn't talked to one another a lot. The bathroom in the room is tiny, and the floor is consistently wet, as they weren't a define area for the shower, just a curtain and the light turns off every 10 seconds. Overall, the cost is low, you can't ask for more.


54%

The hostel was worse than expected. Me and my friends had a bad surprise when we got there. The rooms were very stuffy and the bathroom conditions weren't appropriate. We were disappointed due to the price we payed. I'll give a thumbs up to the cleanliness because my sheets were impecable, but the only good thing about this hostel is its location.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Only problem in relation to price paid for twin room with en suite was no towels, no rent or deposit option but have to buy for £5 each.


77%

It's excellent that the hostel is located near to the Hyde Park (very good public transport!). The room was very-very little (but clean), and there was no table, nor chairs or cupboard, just a bed. And the breakfast was awful!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

We liked the fact that it had curtains on the bed so we could have a bit of privacy in a room of 16 and the location is excellent, but the girl at the reception was rude, the locks in the showers didn't work, the window in the toilet didn't have any cover (e.g. curtain) and we could be seen from another room where resided some creepy italian Peeping Toms, so we had to stop using it and were forced to use the toilet upstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us! We are glad you felt comfortable and private in our beds and were impressed with the location! We will pass your comments onto our hostel manager to look into further. Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems, including the locks for the showers and the window in the toilet, can be resolved ASAP! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we hope to see you again.

97%

Good location and staff great, helpful.. Free wifi Thanks for your hospitality.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and we also pride ourselves in our central and convenient locations. You are welcome back any time!

54%

The showers are not that hot, I took a cood shower almost averyday that I stayed there. The bedroom os kind of a mess. The bathroons are not clean enough and the staff they act like they dont care.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! Our reception is open 24 hours so if any problems arise (including the water temperature) we are able to resolve them as soon as possible! Our rooms are cleaned daily by our hardworking cleaning staff; however a room is only as clean as the guests you share it with. We will pass on your comments about the staff to our hostel manager to look into further. We hope to see you again

94%

Thanks Carla!! Your service was great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying withus at Smart Backpackers! We are glad you thought our staff has great service and we hope to see you again!

83%

Good place and the location were close to the underground station. Perfect for short period traveller tht search for comfy stay at a cheap price.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were satisfied with the price and comfort of our hostel! As you mentioned, we are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Bayswater (district & circle line) and the other Queensway (central line). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We hope to see you again!

83%

Staff were friendly, close to station, 10 min train ride to central London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the manner of our staff friendly! As you mentioned, we are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Bayswater (district & circle line) and the other Queensway (central line). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations. We hope to see you again!

80%

I was very happy with my stay at the hostel. The location is excellent and very easy to find The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful from the initial check in, throughout my stay and check out The hostel has many multi bed dorms thus there are alot of people coming and going but once in your room, only the people there are your disturbance and if you are lucky, like I was, you have a good considerategroup to share with. There is a simple breakfast included which starts your day.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the manner of our wonderful staff and the location of our hostel! We are pleased you enjoyed the free breakfast and that you had considerate guests to share with. We hope to see you again in the future!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback