X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
4611 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Pros: Location and friendly staff Cons: Facilities are old, broken toilet, doors in the shower room and toilets cannot be locked, very crowded because of little space. Ventilation of the room is poor


49%

I booked my last night in London at the last moment, so I was forced to stay at this hostel. Still don't quite believe that I paid 25 pounds for a bed on the top level of 3-level bed (in a 9-bed dorm room) and 2 burnt toasts with jam for breakfast. The rooms were very hot, the breakfast inadequately poor, the staff tired and inefficient, and every small thing (such as weighting your luggage) required additional money. Don't ever approach this place unless you absolutely have no other choice.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was okay but the room needed more ventilation. Especially during the recent UK heatwave


60%

Don't give towels, rooms are hot and humid, showers are jank, no soap for free, only 4 wall outlets for 16 person dorm, wifi only works in basement, I am 5'10" and bed was small and cramped, staff was effective but grumpy, not much social interaction. Perfect location, however.


100%

Nice place to stay. Good location.


60%

Unexpected extra fees are charged with quite unreasonable amount, even the small locker in the room are charged on daily base. very disappointed. And the ATM on the ground floor always have problem, very unsafe.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We had a great time in this hostel. Everything was ok, except that the room was very hot.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

the staff that helped me check in was very rude. He looked like he had already given his two weeks notice or something. I was shocked because other hostels I've been to had very nice staff. The wifi was consistently horrible. I felt like I was connecting at dial-up speed. The showers were archaic. You had to push for more water every five seconds. It was like it was designed for a faucet. The bed was comfortable, but the dorming area was cramped. So difficult to even access my suitcase.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Cool curtains in some bunks for privacy. Needed more electrical outlets. Tight security which was nice. Internet sucked. And locker space in rooms didn't exist. Had some weird room to store bags but need permission or paid for it. Idk.


83%

The location was really good which made the price of the twin private some what worth it. The only issues I had was that plugs didn't seem to fit in the plug sockets so I felt like I was going to get electrocuted! And the bunk bed we had moved about so much it was impossible to sleep as each slight movement rocked the bed bashing it into the wall waking you up Other than that everything was clean and fine great if your only staying 1-2 nights

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I thought the hostel was clean and comfortable, with plenty of bathrooms. However the breakfast was very poor. Additionally, we stayed in the 12 bed dorm and as beds are not allocated my friend and I had to sleep on opposite sides of the room as these were the only free beds. Furthermore, the room had no air conditioning with only one fan and a small window and it was almost impossible to sleep as the room was so hot.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff was pushy and unwelcoming. The beds were way too small for normal sized people, and packed way too close together. "Free breakfast" was bread.


57%

Some of the cleaning staff is quite rude, they should have clear that they are part of the image and reputation of the hostel. It is a pricey hostel and still everything is charged extra: things that normally are included, like lockers and saving luggage.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Personel was great, location is great. Unfortunatelly I grade them poorly because people need to know that it is not a good place to rest and stay. They have no rules to guests, I payed for a 4 bedroom (more expensive) but it was next to a 20 bedroom with people whi didn't care about others, they partied all night. Doors slaming, music, loud talks Nightmare and no rest at all, complained at front desk 3:45 didn't solve anything No refund either Don't STAY IF YOU WANT TO REST

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Power is not enough to charge phone.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Not bad if you're passing through for the night. Great location and friendly staff but beds very small and shower was cold.


71%

This time wasn't very satisfied.


60%

Mixed 4 bed rooms are smaller than a prison cell. The picture online must be fake....

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Very crowded place! Smelly, dirty! There's no wifi in the rooms only in the lobby! Felt like I was sleeping in a coffin the beds were horrible felt disgusted sleeping in them! The hostel isn't quite close to the city centre it's about a 30 minute walk to get to the city center. The overall feeling is not very comforting it just feels dirty from the minute you walk in. The only good thing was there are near by restaurants and its close to the underground.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Location. There's a local Sainsbury's and Tesco across the street with all sorts of other supermarkets.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback