X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
4442 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Don't think I'll be staying here again which is a shame as the location, building and staff are some of the best. Unfortunately, there are no beds only five-sided boxes, stacked floor to ceiling covering all the wallspace, which means climbing a ladder to the top to squeeze into a confined space in a crowded, airless room. no sleep for me. Breakfast is eaten standing up as it's in a small, overcrowded room.


71%

It makes sense that it's hard to stay on top of cleaning with so many people there, so the shower had a lot of hair in it and the room was pretty smelly. It was nice to have curtains on the beds. Charging phone was difficult. Bring flip flops for walking around/showering and earplugs. Breakfast was fine, just crowded. Great location near the underground and some stores. Staff was friendly but gave me wrong directions to the airport...no express train in early morning from Victoria to Heathrow.


63%

I really liked the sturdy beds and the curtains on each bed. It would be nice to have individual lights on the beds so that you could read etc. even if the others are already asleep.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect location, you got supermarkets, restaurants, underground, bus stop generally everything you need just 2mins walk from hostel, staff is cool and helpfull bed are with curtains wich is nice. you wont regret staying here.. but i bet you will if you choose an other hostel (i wont name it) close there couse i tried one and i thought im in a warzone lol

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

As a work in London but live somewhere else, Smart Hyde Park Inn is a great choice. It is very close to where I work and shops, foods and park are nearby. The only drawback i would like to say is that it is a bit noise, espcially in the night. A pair of ear plug is definitely needed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our location setting met with your expectations. We are also very proud of our central and convenient locations. Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels we hope to see you again.

69%

Beware the 10 GBP deposit. Shower/ bathroom facilities decent. Location a quick tube ride away from city center, and very close to hyde park which is nice. Included breakfast is very basic. lockers cost extra to rent. Limited power outlet access in room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Hostel experience after your recent stay. Our breakfast service is offered as a complimentary service for all our valued guests, on an eat-as-much-as-you like basis which we have recently upgraded. Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels we hope to see you again

86%

Have to say, these guys are really care about what people's experience stay with Hyde park Inn, and they are really keen to improve there service. This time I got free ear plugs and free locker as well (not the first time they give me free locker!)--thanks!


43%

This is one of the worst hostels I've stayed at (from more than 50 worldwide). Then again, it was very cheap. + Price + Centrally located near Hyde Park - Awful atmosphere and a feeling of unfreshness (needs renovation badly) - No lights by beds, forcing the ceiling light to be on until after midnight - The taps by the sinks need to be depressed every 0,5 seconds - Wifi impossibly slow (taking about 20 minutes to log on to Facebook) - Tiny toilets - Overcrowded - Charges extra for locker

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Of all the hostels i've visited this hostel has the nicest receptionists by far! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think you're pretty wonderful too! Thanks

94%

Wonderful friendly hostel. Always kept clean. Lots of different nationalities staying. Great staff. Really its them more than anything else at this hostel that keeps me coming back. It would be nice if there was a book shelf for book exchange. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your positive feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are really happy you enjoyed the manner of our team. We'll pass your great idea of a book exchange on to the relevant people. Cheers for that.

91%

It has been really good to be there! The room was a bit small but enough for two people. We were pleased with the cleaning conditions and there were no noises or any further inconvenients. Congratulations!!!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope we will see you again!

80%

The place had a funky smell

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for the review. Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! Hopefully it's just a case of them going a little overboard with one of the cleaning products. If you notice it again next time you're staying, please let the Reception team know and they'll check it out.

100%

The manager and staff where very professional in executing their duties as usual.The whole atmosphere in the hostel was boisterous.Everyone wants to stay in a clean environment.Smart hyde park inn never disappoints when it comes to cleanliness.The rooms right down to the toilets,shower rooms, hallways ,kitchen as well as the t.v/eating areas is always clean.For me its a real priviledge to stay in this environment where everywhere is clean and everyone is all smiles.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks so much for the amazing review. We hope to see you again really soon. Cheers

97%

Possibly the best hostel in London - the best thing was the friendly atmosphere, almost feels like a family after staying for a few days. Staffs members are always charming and helpful, thumbs up to the manager for that! I met some lovely people here during my stay. If only there could be 2 microwaves instead one and the central heating cooled down a bit, it would absolutely perfect!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for the feedback. Of course you are welcome back at any time :)

86%

Great Hostel, great staff very friendly. The only things I could recommend make the breakfast place bigger so that everyone can sit. And the shower had a very small range for spreading water and it go's out to soon.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

74%

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was nervous because I needed to get to Stansted Airport (almost 2 hours away) extremely early in the morning and I didn't know how to get there but someone at the front desk knew exactly what I needed to do. Close to underground, slightly dirtier than most hostels I've stayed at, smelled of bleach, wifi never worked, also the people in my room were rude and slammed the door and turned the lights on at all hours.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Hostels by definition are a place for sharing. Thankfully most of our wonderful Guests remember this and take into consideration their fellow Guests. Every now and then some people need reminding though. Next time you stay with us, please, If the wi-fi (or anything else) is not working or in need of attention, see the friendly reception team (at the time) and they will do their best to rectify the matter.

29%

The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen is very poor.


31%

We found four cockroaches, dirty sheets, compresses with blood under some mattreses, food in our beds...the floor of our roon was always sticky. We reported all of this things, the stuff just stared at us with pokerface and shriked their shoulders like: "your problem. Not mine" So, a super bad stay.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

The worst hostel. Staffs were so rude and unhelpful to us. When we were seeking help from them, they seemed not willing to answer and sent us away. We were informed to changed the room on the second day. The room was really in a poor condition. There was no fresh air in the room, I felt like can't breath. When we reported the problem and sickness to the staff, they were intolerant of our request. We really had the worst experience in London while staying at this hostel.


89%

Very conveniently located, close to underground station and supermarket. Rooms are very crowded and the hostel smells of bleach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travellers. Our lovely housekeeping team work tirelessly to ensure the hostel remains clean and hygienic We hope to see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback