X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
3716 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good location, your given a sheet and pillowcase to put on your bed. Is quite tight and hot in 15 dorm, but beds comfy ish. Took aged to check in and out I'm not sure wot they was typing on computer. £4 full English breakfast at the pizza factory was good but the service was terrible. When I asked for an orange juice she snapped you'll have to pay for that! I was site I would and when I asked for veggie breakfast she said I wasn't possible because I only paid £4. But she did in the end

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

For that price it was great, everything was clean but there really wasn´t much room. all in all, satisfied

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

There are other hostels of a similar or better price in london that will have cleaner facilities and friendlier staff. If I could go back in time and never stay at Smart Hyde Park Inn I would never do so. There was mold everywhere. The rooms were so hot that I couldn't sleep at night even though the outside temperature was cool. Choose a different hostel -- don't waste your money at SHPI.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This is a nice place as long as you stay on the very top level in a private room. The shared rooms and showers are disgusting! Only thing is there is soo many stairs to get to the top!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This is a very old building in an excellent location. One minute walk to the Bayswater station and Tesco where you can have fresh fruits and not-so-bad sandwich with less than 3 pounds. The girl at the reception table was sweet and helpful with a big smile. Room has FREE wifi. They also offer continental breakfast in a nearby pizza restaurant but I didn't have chance to try it given my tight schedule during my two days there. But beyond that, the building is PACKED and the building smelled badly


46%

The location was excellent but everything was terrible. I was in the 20 person room and it had bunks stacked 3 high and everyones belongings were all over the floor. When the lights were out it was nearly impossible to navigate from the top bunk to the floor without feeling like I was going to fall. It looks like a fire hazard to have that many people crammed into that small of a room. Also, the shower door did not lock. We switched hostels after one night.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Not a very fun hostel. I always role my eyes when I see people charge for a weight scale as this place did. No elevator for nearly 6 flights of stairs. Not the most friendly service either. Blah!


71%

It was ok


63%

if your room has the window by the street, be prepared: at night, it is very noisy. the beds are not made for tall people, so if you're taller than 1.80 you will feel like as you were sleeping in a small coffin. the position is excellent: very close to both Queensway and Bayswater tube station. Breakfast in not served in the hostel, but in a pretty awful restorant quite close: it is very poor. Compared to what you get, the hostel is expensive.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

In theory this hostel should be of lesser quality than most because it was cheaper than anything around; but not this bad. The staff were very rude and very unaccommodating. They did not know the area and were not helpful. The facilities are confusing/uncomfortable. Wifi only in lobby. Rooms were decent but little chargers very cramped. The breakfast was toast cereal and coffee but you had to leave the area to get to it. Plus side you're by a tube stop so you can escape the hostel.


51%

Toilets and showers unbelievably dirty and impractical. No space for luggage and movements in dorms. Lockers, safe and luggage room too expensive. Breakfast dismal Wifi NOT working

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The showers, toilets, and bathrooms should be cleaned on a consistent basis.


83%

Location is perfect for the price. By hostel standards the staff are a little cold and impersonal. Beds were quite comfortable and the common/dining room area was great but I had to literally walk through a shower/toilet area to get to my room which isn't very hygenic. You have to ask reception for cutlery which is ridiculous but for £8 a night it was a bargain.


31%

Worst Hostel ever. Terrible, dead slow and extremely rude staff that can barely speak any english. Worst sanitary conditions I´ve ever seen on a hostel. Smelly dirty rooms and beds. The only good things are the location (right next to Hyde Park and Bayswater station), the bed curtains and a big common room downstairs. Worst shower in Europe. Pro tip: If you're brave enough to book here, there's a Shop Mall called Whiteleys nearby with a great WC when the duty calls.


80%

There are nice ensuits rooms and very friendly and hepful staff. Kitchen is not prfect and the dinner room somehow lacks atmosphere but overall it is friendly hostel.


51%

Close to Bayswater station. Friendly staff and decent breakfast. Otherwise, rooms were very cramped, dirty, smelly and unhygenic. Rooms and toilets were pretty much a dump. Have to pay extra for lockers too. Glad to be gone after a day. Unimaginable that they won best hostel in 2002.


29%

Worst hostel ever. Rude and slow staff that don't speak English, lockers are paid. Rooms extremely dirt and smelly, low speed WiFi, no wifi on the rooms, worst showers in Europe. The only thing nice about the hostel are the bed curtains and it's right next to Hyde park and bayswater station. Everything else is horrible. I've stayed on more than 20 cheap hostels, but this one takes the prize of being the worst.


40%

comparatively cheap but the rooms look like you're in prison. you should also get proper duvet bedsheets. some staff members clearly need to improve their english because they were not able to understand the guests properly. the reception stuff is so slow (most likely due to complicated computer systems) that there were always queues of 20-30 minutes. you have to pay for everything you want extra, like storing luggage which is just a bad joke..

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was very cramped, not enough room for bags, and our window was permanently open, which let in a lot of bugs. The location was great though.


71%

The Hostel location is very good and it was not that expensive. I stayed in a 3 bed room with my family. The room was nice and in suite, but I hated the shower as you had to press a button to have water for a little amount of time. You can't control the water temperature at all, so in the morning it was cold and we had to take a cold shower. The room was in the forth floor, it was hot and there were no air condition, so we had to keep the window open, but it didn't make a big difference.


(2318 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback