X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
4081 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I stayed there for a week and it was very good for sleeping. Not that good for spending time in, slow internet and very few electric plug. So sleep here and spend the day in the city :)


37%

This hostel is by far the dirtiest and filthiest hostel. The showers and bathrooms are the worst I have ever seen. Windows do not open and it stinks like hell in every single room. The kitchen has mice. There are mice in every place in the hostel. Staff are aggressive and not friendly. There are no facilities in the kitchen. Cant use spoons - Had to pay deposit at the reception to get a spoon or a fork to eat. Disaster staying at this hostel. My food in the fridge very often went missing.


46%

Overpriced for what you receive. Kitchen way too small for quest numbers. As such, free breakfast is a joke as you queue for a very long time for access to minimal resources.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. HPI Staff

100%

I've been staying here twice a year for the past ten years and it's a brilliant hostel. Absolutely the best.


54%

Not the best hostel I've ever been.. it's cheap but always crowded and you have to pay for every extra you ask for (like watching your luggage, witch usually it's not a problem). Also noisy on weekend nights and nobody makes sure people stay quiet (even beyond midnight). Good location, not so good service and feeling. PS: the breakfast is toasts with butter and one type of jam, some CornFlakes with milk, tea and instant coffe. That's it. no cacao, no real coffe.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. We are doing the best we can to keep our guests quiet during the night time, though some of our guest don't respect the rules. The prices we offer do not include lockers charges so our customers do not end up paying for things they do not need. HPI Staff

51%

Dirty, small rooms, breakfest was a horribly. Slices of whute toast and a cup of cereals... Plus for all this our room mates were unkind. They didnt respect each other and respect that some of people would like to sleep. Only one good thin was that there was curtains on your bed.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. Our housekeeping/cleaning times are between 06:30 am- 23:00. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. HPI Staff

34%

The stuff are neither friendly nor efficient. Cleanliness is not what it is supposed to be and facilities below average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you got a bad impression abut our staff we take all the comments very seriously. Our housekeeping/cleaning times are between 06:30 am- 23:00. CesidBs of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. HPI Staff

80%

The location is pretty good, with some shops and fast-food around. The staff is helpful. Unfortunately, I have seen none of them smiling but I can understand it as they have to work under pressure (managing hundred of young people is terrible). The shower is not very clean, unless you go first. The beds are fine, and the breakfast was good. It's the perfect place if you want to get out of your comfort zone. I will definitely try it again! I can't understand why people complain with this price!


71%

So average


89%

Not a bad hostel for what you pay. In a great location. The staff were nice. The beds were fine and if you have no problem sleeping in rooms with lots of other people then it's grand. Each bed has a little curtain at least so you have a little privacy. The facilities were good as well for the price. Cheep and cheerful! Don't go there for a quiet time though. Lots of young people.


74%

Breakfast was on time and plentiful. We were a little discouraged that we only had wifi in the downstairs meeting areas. The beds were marked with nametags, which helped with security. Good location near the underground, but we were able to walk almost everywhere we needed to go. There is a Tesco food store just across the street for convenience. The outside look was a little deceiving, but the room served our purpose. It was obvious the hostel gets a lot of visitors.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location not even 2 minutes to the tube. Staff was friendly, however the shower was disgusting and the toilet wasn't working properly as well. Breakast was standard bread and jam, tea, milk and cereals which is complletle satisfying for me. All in all for the price it was ok.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think it the hostel was worth what we paid. Cheap but still had everything we needed (shower, breakfast, linens, good staff etc.). Location was good, it was really near to tube station and walking distance from Oxford Street, park and we found everything we needed nearby as market, café, restaurants, shops and everything. I could definitely go again!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

i like this hostel a lot .....


74%

The location of the hostel was quite good as the Tube is at only 2 min walk. It's close to Hyde park and Oxford Street (like 20 min walk). The breakfast is included in the price (toast, coffee, tea, jam...). The staff was nice and helpful. However, the cleanliness of the room was bad... I was wondering if the room was really cleaned once a day... Same for the bathroom... It worths the money if it's just for sleeping and you plan to visit all the day. If you want a quiet time, don't go there.


34%

My friend and I are backpackers from the US with decent standards...this place was the dirtiest and unsafe hostel we have ever stayed in. I would especially not recommend it to girls. The customer service was terrible. The employees were minimally helpful and we're not concerned with the welfare of their guests. They were rude unlike most people who work at hostels.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and you got the wrong impression about our staff. We give our 100% to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Our housekeeping times between 06:30 am- 23:00. Besides of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. HPI Staff

57%

Not very clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. HPI Staff

83%

Mattresses need to be changed they are overused and uncomfortable, I was in a female dorm I found it too small. It was a good job that I was there in the fall. I cannot imagine the room in summer! Hot water was luckywarm. Otherwise excellent location and staff was friendly.


69%

en-suite bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable and the sink was outside the bathroom! The pillows were way too thin but the sheets were clean and comfortable. Just a walking distance form the tubes and good bus connections just around the block :D The stairway was cramped and the breakfast was OK (toast, cereal, tea and instant coffee) wending machines is a plus, and also the ATM. Not particularly fancy, but if you only plan on sleeping there, then Hyde Park Inn is a good choice.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words and we will note all your comments to improve our services. HPI Staff

74%

The hostel is very centrally locaded, which we regarded as well :) The staff was friendly and polite. The hostel was easy to find :) To critize is the cleanliness and the space. We slept in a room at the very top of the hostel and the stairway was quite tight. The toilet and the shower of our habitation were together in one room and if we wanted to take a shower, we flooded automatically the toilet. The shower curtain was mouldy and in the night there was a green light shining over the bed.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(2468 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback