X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
3945 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Wow, where to begin...frankly, it was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. I'll list the cons for you: bed bugs (bites all over our ankles), poor enforcement of rules (kids RUNNING through the halls and slamming doors at 1 am), paper thin walls, all ages were there from 11 year olds to 60 year old men, we had to make and take apart our own bedding, rude male front staff, NO security...I could go on. You also have to pay extra for wifi and lockers in your rooms. It's not worth it to stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bed bugs are a concern for all Hostels and Hotels. After 15 years of running our Hostels, we have systems in place to protect our Guests. First: the mattresses, bedding and rooms are treated so that if any guest should accidentally bring something with them, the bugs die. Second: If a guest reports a problem, we quarantine the room and have the experts fumigate the suspect area and surrounds. All guests are required to ID themselves at night as staying, when entering the security doors.

77%

Room was very warm

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you and your friends next time.

74%

Too small rooms!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again.

86%

Stayed here for concert in Hyde Park, perfect location for the park and Bayswater Tube station. No complaints-Great value for such an excellent location.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Glad you and your friends had a great time in London, hope to see you next time. Cheers.

63%

Even though it's a hostel we booked an ensuite which we got but no towels. Backpackers don't carry towels guys

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. You are correct in saying we don't rent/provide towels. It is one way in which we can keep the price down for our budget conscious guests. You can buy them from our friendly reception team for £5 each though. Thanks for your feedback and hope to see you again.

77%

Everyone writes negative reviews & I don't wanna be that person. I'll start with the good. This location, neighborhood, & price is awesome! 1 block from shops, pubs, restaurants, & transportation. Lots of fun travelers about at all hours. There were some drawbacks. The dorms are small & I couldn't sit upright in my lower bunk. The ladies' showers didn't work, no biggie. The internet on the PCs in the lobbystopped working & the staff was cold at first but warmed to me the second day. Overall good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. We welcome all feedback, especially when our fabulous Guests provide constructive criticism. Cheers.

43%

Hospitality

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback.

74%

basic facility but clean and convenient, everything works except wifi in the rooms.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Just so you know for what we hope will be a next time; we have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common rooms. Cheers

46%

hostel was immediately cramped as soon as you walk in. the halls smelled like an old child care center and the rooms were crowded and messy. i think people were actually living there. best part about stayin there was it was only one block from the underground which means you can be any where in london in on time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

69%

숙소가어두움. 창문하나에 12명방. 위치짱.근처슈퍼많음. 씻고 저녁먹고 하이드파크 가기좋음ㅎㅎ 스탭도괜춘 세탁 2.8 건조1.8 파운드 .

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing a review, all feedback is welcome.

46%

Bathrooms dirty, staff not very helpfull, bed stiil not with white sheets my stay was horrible. Maybe im too old for this kind of hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will.

66%

The location was nice, close to Notting Hill and Hyde Park, but the facilities were really crowded and our dorm was right next to the showers which meant the air in our room was always thick and really warm. The beds did have curtains though, which was nice. It was alright for a few nights, but I wouldn't want to stay there longer than that. It was cheap but still not cheaper than hostels in other cities which were much better than this one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

57%

Bathrooms and showers were smelly and not clean. Showers turn on for all of 2 seconds and not all had hot water. We had to check out after one night as there was someone in our room who made us too uncomfortable to sleep. This was the case for many others in our room however we were not given a refund for our remaining night, extremely disappointing. The lady at the desk tried hard to help us but the manager would not agree to a refund. Location is the only good thing about this hostel.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort. Hostels attract all kinds of people. If any guest feels threatened or intimidated by another guest, we strongly recommend you speak to the Reception Team AT THE TIME so that we can help you.

91%

beaucoup trop de "slamming" doors all evening and nightt : could the hostel manage some "noise smothering" stuff on the room side of the doors ????grooms are not enough!! then it would be perfect

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your comments. We'll pass them on to the appropriate team for (hopefully) action. We hope to see you again. Cheers

49%

the staff did not know what room we were staying in. when we were finally allocated a room there was only one single bed free as oppose to the two beds we had booked. the staff member simply picked up someone's belongings and put them in a corner and said that bed is free. it would of been better if there was more organisation at the hostel. however the included breakfast was ok, it was just lacking in variety. the location of the hostel was its best feature. situated right at Hyde Park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your feedback. At present we do not allocate beds inside of the dorms. It is up to the guests to choose an available bed. The bed tag you are given then marks it as your bed. Sometimes people spread out and leave items on unused beds so from time to time we need to move these items for arriving guests. Doesn't happen very often, but it does happen.

60%

Too tiny roomś

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the feedback.

71%

Wi fi should be also in the rooms, and also electrical things- more in every room ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. I guess our reception team weren't able to properly communicate to you that wi-fi is available in the rooms for £1 for 1 day OR in the common areas where it is FREE! We're trying to make sure everyone knows for next time. Hope to see you again. Cheers.

60%

Overall is ok . However, there is no wifi connection in the room and the bathroom not able to lock.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Our reception team may not have explained clearly so if we are lucky enough that you should come to stay at any of our Hostels, Wi-fi in the rooms costs £1 for 1 day OR it is FREE in the common areas. Next time if you have any trouble using any of the facilities, please see the friendly reception team who will be more than happy to help. Thanks.

49%

The staff was really umpolite. Almost all of them. I had a cold shower, and they didnt have not even one fork. It was expensive and not good.


86%

I stayed at the Smart Hyde Park Inn for only 2 days and had an overall great experience. The cleanliness and atmosphere were its best qualities. The fun and friendly guests and the atmosphere they created were the prime reason I enjoyed my stay. The location is relatively close to central London where the sightseeing is (Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, London Eye, etc). I will definitely plan on coming back here next time I'm in London and would recommend it to anyone traveling there.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks so much for the kind words and recommendation. You're welcome back anytime! Cheers.

(119 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback