X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
4181 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

my room and was not well cleaned, the staff are so rude that I would not recommend to no one, all the receptionists are very rude and are always in a bad mood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

66%

I booked for a 12 people dormitory. It's quite great easy to get there (with the circle or the district line) and there are two supermarkets, three fast food restaurants, a post office and some coffee shops (such as Starbucks). There are even two pubs. However, I won't recommend it if you enjoy to hang out at nights. The room I was in was very small for 12 people (an their luggage). The breakfast room is really small and in my opinion it's not well organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to provide a review for your fellow travelers. Cheers.

66%

Bit worn. Nice beds with curtains but no space in the room. Average hostel all in all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback! Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one :) We hope we will see you again!

69%

I was only there for one night so i chose it for its really convenient location next to the subway. But i wouldnt want to stay longer, the dorms are incredibly crowded. Big plus though is that there are curtains on the bunks for privacy

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI and thanks for the feedback. Perhaps next time you might like to try one of the smaller dorms. 20 bed rooms are incredibly cheap but not always for everyone. Cheers.

43%

VERY cramped rooms. Too many people in too little space! The luggages were all over the little space around the beds... A lot of the services (towels, luggage room...) are not for free, and have to be bought as extra. Very basic "free breakfast" and I felt bad after eating it (either indigestion or food poisoning) so I actually left the place feeling bad and having to stop for half a day on a bench.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. Therefore for some extra services we charge a small fee. We have very limited luggage storage space, therefore we must charge a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) to ensure the space is used appropriately. We also provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and as you mentioned a continental breakfast consisting of toast, cereal, tea and coffee is included.

60%

The staff does its job, always here and they clean showers and toilets once an hour : not the most welcoming hostel i know but it is respectful. I cant blame them for sparing smiles because, and thats the real problem, there is too many people. The dirtiness of the room and the risk of robbery is due to roomates.Always keep your belonging.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing to stay with us! That's very good advise. Hostels are a shared environment and to minimise the risk, we do suggest all our guest keep their valubles with them at all times!

71%

The staff is OK. The rooms are small and not vented. The breakfast is rubbish, but the location is wonderful, close to the metro and a hipercomercial street. A anecdote that I did not like: We rented a private room between two; in a time when we were inside, someone (presumably the staff) opened the door with a magnetic card. When he realized we were inside, he left.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers. We are a little confused about some of your feedback. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding about our shared dormitory. Ordinarily a 4 bedroom dorm is shared between 4 guests unless you and your party purchase all four beds. If you weren't aware of this we fully understand your surprise when someone else entered your dormitory. We will advise our reception staff to make sure our guests are informed of this in the future.

20%

This hostel is like a prison

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

51%

No space for any activity other than sleeping ! Bathing room lighting is poor !


49%

Stealing was a huge issue. Got my phone and money stolen while staying and every night someone else's phone or money got stolen from their beds bags or plug ins. Would not recommend this hostel if you want to keep your belongings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We recommend to all Guests, PLEASE PLEASE keep your valuables with you (or securely locked up.) Do not leave phones etc unattended in power points or on beds etc. Most of the time Guests are sharing with people they do not know and not everyone is as honest as you are! The process if something should happen is to notify Reception who will help you contact the Police.

80%

- No Lift (elevator) - too much stairs; - Very hot inside the bedroom in the summer - no air cond. or fans. - Good hostel, great location - 3 min. walking to tube station. Recommend !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are working on the ventilation in the rooms which hopefully you will notice, if we are lucky enough for you to stay again.

43%

Even if the hostel is in London and it is near to a station, the prize is quite expensive. The people who worked there didn't say that you had free wifi just for 1 hour! On top the girl at reception and the guy who seemed to run the hostel laughed at our face: we asked for 4 knifes and 4 forks, so they asked us in advance 2€ so we gave 8€ but while we were leaving they didn't want to give back our money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Sounds like there was confusion about the wifi. We have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE and unlimited in the common rooms. Your comments about the team have been passed on to the Manager to look in to. We hope it was just some misunderstanding on our part.

83%

Very good value for the money . Perfect for few days f london cheap in london. Also well situated

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully :)

49%

I heard on several occasions of guests having things missing from their rooms, some staff were good but most staff were impatient and rude, had lots of problems with bathrooms not being available, wouldn't recommend to anyone on a budget

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. We recommend to all Guests, PLEASE PLEASE keep your valuables with you (or securely locked up.) Most of the time Guests are sharing with people they do not know. And not everyone is as honest as you are!

80%

The bedroom should be more opened, because when is complete is too hot inside

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. We apologise once again about the ventilation. The unusual heat of late has highlighted some work for the team, and they are working on resolving ventilation in the rooms. Hopefully you will notice an improvement if you stay with us again. Cheers.

60%

The location was great, but the 'vibe' and atmosphere of this hostel totally lacked! The Rooms are incredibly stuffy and in summer are packed, which makes it extremely hot and some of the rooms don't even have windows. It made it quite hard to sleep at night. No individual lights at the beds, so people would come in late at night and flick the lights on. Staff were good, but the security was minimal. Probably not worth the 14 pounds per night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI thanks for the feedback. London has been hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for the rooms. Every guest is issued with a security key-card to gain access from the reception area. In the evening & night guests are required to show these cards or ID before entry. We are always looking to improve value-for-money, so your feedback on 7 days accom, in central London, in summer, average price £14 per night will be passed on to our management team. Thanks again

66%

Staff were friendly enough. I stayed in two rooms over three stays and would not have gone back a third time except I was statig with a friend. The rooms were so hot and muggy it was near impossible to sleep. One room had no windows and the other room had a window but it didn't help much with 16 beds in there. It was extremely hard to sleep. My friend (female) was uncomfortable showering as hardly any of the locks worked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. The recent high temperatures have highlighted our need to work on the ventilation, which we are. Hopefully if you come back you will see the difference :)

49%

Good location, but the hostel has a ton of people all crammed in hot tiny rooms. Not much to speak of at all as far as atmosphere, and the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. They advertise that you can purchase internet in the room, but there are a limited number of passes available, and the internet in the lobby wasn't working when I was there. There are much better budget hostels in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the review. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay but your feedback is appreciated.

94%

Highly recomended room for 2 people

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again.

69%

Great staff! It's a shame there was no secure locker as such (not recommended at least) in the room as stated on the website. A few hidden costs - locker, towels, etc. All in all an OK stay - nothing fancy and not very clean but OK time. Great location!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for providing some feedback. One way we keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) BTW for next time: Every bed has a locker underneath which for £1.50 per night is activated on your door key. Alternatively there are a limited number of safes in reception.

(161 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback