X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
4032 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

hostel was immediately cramped as soon as you walk in. the halls smelled like an old child care center and the rooms were crowded and messy. i think people were actually living there. best part about stayin there was it was only one block from the underground which means you can be any where in london in on time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

69%

숙소가어두움. 창문하나에 12명방. 위치짱.근처슈퍼많음. 씻고 저녁먹고 하이드파크 가기좋음ㅎㅎ 스탭도괜춘 세탁 2.8 건조1.8 파운드 .

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing a review, all feedback is welcome.

46%

Bathrooms dirty, staff not very helpfull, bed stiil not with white sheets my stay was horrible. Maybe im too old for this kind of hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will.

66%

The location was nice, close to Notting Hill and Hyde Park, but the facilities were really crowded and our dorm was right next to the showers which meant the air in our room was always thick and really warm. The beds did have curtains though, which was nice. It was alright for a few nights, but I wouldn't want to stay there longer than that. It was cheap but still not cheaper than hostels in other cities which were much better than this one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

57%

Bathrooms and showers were smelly and not clean. Showers turn on for all of 2 seconds and not all had hot water. We had to check out after one night as there was someone in our room who made us too uncomfortable to sleep. This was the case for many others in our room however we were not given a refund for our remaining night, extremely disappointing. The lady at the desk tried hard to help us but the manager would not agree to a refund. Location is the only good thing about this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort. Hostels attract all kinds of people. If any guest feels threatened or intimidated by another guest, we strongly recommend you speak to the Reception Team AT THE TIME so that we can help you.

91%

beaucoup trop de "slamming" doors all evening and nightt : could the hostel manage some "noise smothering" stuff on the room side of the doors ????grooms are not enough!! then it would be perfect

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your comments. We'll pass them on to the appropriate team for (hopefully) action. We hope to see you again. Cheers

49%

the staff did not know what room we were staying in. when we were finally allocated a room there was only one single bed free as oppose to the two beds we had booked. the staff member simply picked up someone's belongings and put them in a corner and said that bed is free. it would of been better if there was more organisation at the hostel. however the included breakfast was ok, it was just lacking in variety. the location of the hostel was its best feature. situated right at Hyde Park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your feedback. At present we do not allocate beds inside of the dorms. It is up to the guests to choose an available bed. The bed tag you are given then marks it as your bed. Sometimes people spread out and leave items on unused beds so from time to time we need to move these items for arriving guests. Doesn't happen very often, but it does happen.

60%

Too tiny roomś

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the feedback.

71%

Wi fi should be also in the rooms, and also electrical things- more in every room ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. I guess our reception team weren't able to properly communicate to you that wi-fi is available in the rooms for £1 for 1 day OR in the common areas where it is FREE! We're trying to make sure everyone knows for next time. Hope to see you again. Cheers.

60%

Overall is ok . However, there is no wifi connection in the room and the bathroom not able to lock.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Our reception team may not have explained clearly so if we are lucky enough that you should come to stay at any of our Hostels, Wi-fi in the rooms costs £1 for 1 day OR it is FREE in the common areas. Next time if you have any trouble using any of the facilities, please see the friendly reception team who will be more than happy to help. Thanks.

49%

The staff was really umpolite. Almost all of them. I had a cold shower, and they didnt have not even one fork. It was expensive and not good.


86%

I stayed at the Smart Hyde Park Inn for only 2 days and had an overall great experience. The cleanliness and atmosphere were its best qualities. The fun and friendly guests and the atmosphere they created were the prime reason I enjoyed my stay. The location is relatively close to central London where the sightseeing is (Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, London Eye, etc). I will definitely plan on coming back here next time I'm in London and would recommend it to anyone traveling there.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks so much for the kind words and recommendation. You're welcome back anytime! Cheers.

20%

Try to trick my money

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Terrible hostel. The location is great! Easy to get to center of the city but you have to enjoy a small, damp, chemical smelling, noisy room in the basement with cockroaches crawling on you (no joke). Not a very cooperative or caring staff, not many plugs in rooms (1 in bedroom for 6), fire alarm

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms with lots of bed are really small, it is almost not possible to walk properly between the beds. However, the location is good and safe.


80%

We had a good stay at the hostel but there are a few things that could be done to make it a really great stay. You have to pay for lockers under your bed (that take up all the space), the toilets and bathrooms are on different levels for the non en-suite rooms and for a tall person, they would struggle to be able to sit down as they are pretty small. The common areas are good but need more chairs and they need to get people to move away from the doors and windows when smoking downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you so much for your review. We always welcome feedback from our valued Guests, especially when you provide constructive criticism. Your comments will be fed back into the relevant management teams so we can continue our process of improvement. Thanks again.

71%

The hostel was under construction during our stay so it wasn't as up-to-par as normal. But our family completely understood that. We still enjoyed our stay very much and the location was very close to an underground station and amazing cafe!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are spending a lot of money on upgrading all of our Hostels and hope you'll enjoy the change if we're lucky enough to see you again! Cheers.

54%

The receptionist was very unhelpful and wanted me to pay 6 pounds to store my luggage after I had already checked in. The toilet was multiple flights of stairs away from the room and the rooms were crowded and stuffy. There seemed to be a lot of extra costs for things like storing valuables etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the feedback. We are continually adding our Guests comments into our staff training programme.

40%

I have stayed in multiple hostels across Europe and this one was by far the worst. To start, it is a complete scam and they literally charge you for every extra little thing (wifi in the room, locker use, luggage store). Second, it was cramped, smelled terrible, and INFESTED with cockroach-like bugs. I got up in the middle of the night and four giant bugs were scurrying around the floor...disgusting. My standards for hostels are usually pretty low but this place was absolutely awful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort. Also the maintenance team regularly ensure the building is treated for protection against any pests. They have re-treated the premises. BTW we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

80%

While I was there they hosted lots of school groups. They would stand in the halls and talk loudly til quite late. Ear plug solved the problem, but it would have been nice for someone to send them into their rooms. The beds are interesting, three hard wall and a blackout curtain, very like an old train bed. I really liked it, but if you are tall it would have been bad news as they are not full size twin beds. So short folks will be pleased and tall folks will suffer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for your review, hopefully we'll see you again. Cheers.

(145 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback