X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
3716 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Not a bad hostel for what you pay. In a great location. The staff were nice. The beds were fine and if you have no problem sleeping in rooms with lots of other people then it's grand. Each bed has a little curtain at least so you have a little privacy. The facilities were good as well for the price. Cheep and cheerful! Don't go there for a quiet time though. Lots of young people.


74%

Breakfast was on time and plentiful. We were a little discouraged that we only had wifi in the downstairs meeting areas. The beds were marked with nametags, which helped with security. Good location near the underground, but we were able to walk almost everywhere we needed to go. There is a Tesco food store just across the street for convenience. The outside look was a little deceiving, but the room served our purpose. It was obvious the hostel gets a lot of visitors.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location not even 2 minutes to the tube. Staff was friendly, however the shower was disgusting and the toilet wasn't working properly as well. Breakast was standard bread and jam, tea, milk and cereals which is complletle satisfying for me. All in all for the price it was ok.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think it the hostel was worth what we paid. Cheap but still had everything we needed (shower, breakfast, linens, good staff etc.). Location was good, it was really near to tube station and walking distance from Oxford Street, park and we found everything we needed nearby as market, café, restaurants, shops and everything. I could definitely go again!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

i like this hostel a lot .....


74%

The location of the hostel was quite good as the Tube is at only 2 min walk. It's close to Hyde park and Oxford Street (like 20 min walk). The breakfast is included in the price (toast, coffee, tea, jam...). The staff was nice and helpful. However, the cleanliness of the room was bad... I was wondering if the room was really cleaned once a day... Same for the bathroom... It worths the money if it's just for sleeping and you plan to visit all the day. If you want a quiet time, don't go there.


34%

My friend and I are backpackers from the US with decent standards...this place was the dirtiest and unsafe hostel we have ever stayed in. I would especially not recommend it to girls. The customer service was terrible. The employees were minimally helpful and we're not concerned with the welfare of their guests. They were rude unlike most people who work at hostels.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and you got the wrong impression about our staff. We give our 100% to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Our housekeeping times between 06:30 am- 23:00. Besides of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. HPI Staff

57%

Not very clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. HPI Staff

83%

Mattresses need to be changed they are overused and uncomfortable, I was in a female dorm I found it too small. It was a good job that I was there in the fall. I cannot imagine the room in summer! Hot water was luckywarm. Otherwise excellent location and staff was friendly.


69%

en-suite bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable and the sink was outside the bathroom! The pillows were way too thin but the sheets were clean and comfortable. Just a walking distance form the tubes and good bus connections just around the block :D The stairway was cramped and the breakfast was OK (toast, cereal, tea and instant coffee) wending machines is a plus, and also the ATM. Not particularly fancy, but if you only plan on sleeping there, then Hyde Park Inn is a good choice.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words and we will note all your comments to improve our services. HPI Staff

74%

The hostel is very centrally locaded, which we regarded as well :) The staff was friendly and polite. The hostel was easy to find :) To critize is the cleanliness and the space. We slept in a room at the very top of the hostel and the stairway was quite tight. The toilet and the shower of our habitation were together in one room and if we wanted to take a shower, we flooded automatically the toilet. The shower curtain was mouldy and in the night there was a green light shining over the bed.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The guests are not descipline, they make noise, and they don't respect each other. It is highly recommended that the hostel management makes some conditions for the guests... Some guests are muslims, and they want to pray. So, it is very good if the hostel could provide a space for the purpose of praying.


31%

If you like the feel of sleeping in a cofffin then this place is ideal. The amount you pay, you expect the staff to be nicer the facilities (especially kitchen) to be of a certain standard. There is NO atmosphere, a busted tv, a tiny lounge. This place sucked. Also way too any groups and not as many legit travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay fully.e have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. HPI Staff

74%

Great location but the staff seemed a bit disorientated - we've been waiting for half an hour at the reception desk to check in and about 15 mins just to return the key card on our check-out. There were four people behind the desk - one working ant three telling people to wait for their turn ... However it is clean, small but comfortable enough.


77%

It is an exellenct location, and the hostel in average is good, the problem is the refrigerator, just one for all hostel, perhaps you do not have enough space to put your things, and in the bedroom the energy plug is only behind the door, which is bad if you want to charge your device.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Helpfull staff. Sleeping dorm was ok. Shops and cheap restaurants at 100m walk

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Has the minimum conditions, but nothing more than that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. HPI Staff

54%

The rooms did not match the photos online so I was very disappointed. Very small bedrooms, toilet, not very clean, and painters everywhere. Could not sleep as people were yelling in the corridors all night.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you weren't satisfied with your stay. All our photos are accurate and up to date. Also we try our best to make our guests respect our rules but we cannot force them to be considerate of other guests. HPI Staff

60%

make it possible to lock the doors of the bathrooms. but it was good for the price! it wassent very clean, but it is hard to keep it clean when so much people are in the inn.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment and understanding, we will keep you comment in mind. HPI Staff

86%

Great location and really good atmosphere. Im coming Again for sure!

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(80 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback